DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 11 is directed to a recording method of inkjet ejection, but the claim does not recite any method steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narita et al., US 2004/0132863 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Narita teaches an aqueous inkjet composition comprising a resin made from a monomer with a ring structure and an ethylenically-unsaturated bond (Abstract, [0009]-[0011]), corresponding to the claimed “monomer A”.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 15, Narita teaches that the monomer may be an acrylic monomer with an alicyclic or heterocyclic ring structure ([0014]-[0020]).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 16, Narita teaches that the resin may comprise a copolymer of the monomer A and an additional monomer (corresponding to the claimed “monomer B”) with an acidic group or an amino group and an ethylenically-unsaturated bond ([0023]-[0026]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Narita teaches that the resin comprises a polymer fine particle dispersion (Abstract, [0010]).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Narita teaches that the polymer comprising monomer A may be an emulsion polymer ([0032]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Narita teaches numerous examples of monomers having a SP value of 13.0 or less (e.g. the cyclohexyl methacrylate of [0015]).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Narita teaches specific examples of compositions in which the relative proportion of the “monomer A” in the polymer is greater than 50% (e.g. Example 2 of Table 1).
Regarding claims 11-14, Narita teaches that the inks are intended to be jetted onto a substrate via an inkjet printing process to produce a printed article ([0002]-[0003], [0074]).
Conclusion
IAN A. RUMMEL
Examiner
Art Unit 1785
/IAN A RUMMEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785