Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 – 14 and 23 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 112713670 A) in view of Bossecker et al. (WO 2021058052 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang et al. discloses a stator (100) (Zhang et al. Fig. 1) for an electric axial flux machine (Zhang et al. Para [n0005] line 1), comprising:
a support structure that has two support disks (first fixing frame 105 and second fixing frame 106) (Zhang et al. Fig. 2), which are arranged coaxially in relation to each other and are axially spaced apart from each other (Zhang et al. Fig. 2),
and a rotor shaft bearing (109) (Zhang et al. Fig. 4),
wherein the two support disks each have discrete star extensions (first fixing arms 1052 of first fixing frame 105 and second fixing arms 1062 of second fixing frame 106) that extend radially outward away from a circular ring portion (first fixing ring 1051 of first fixing frame 105 and second fixing ring 1061 of second fixing frame 106) of the support disks (Zhang et al. Fig. 6);
coil units (windings 107) that are each arranged between two pairs of star extensions (Zhang et al. Fig. 4), which follow one another in a circumferential direction (Zhang et al. Fig. 4), of the support disks and directly adjoin the pairs of star extensions (Zhang et al. Fig. 4), as a result of which the coil units are fixed with respect to the support structure in the circumferential direction (Zhang et al. Fig. 4),
wherein radially external fixing ends of the star extensions project radially outward beyond the coil units (Zhang et al. Fig. 4);
and a stator outer shell (motor end cover 101) that is arranged between the support disks and surrounds the coil units in a radially covering manner in the circumferential direction (Zhang et al. Fig. 1 and Fig. 2),
and is attached to the fixing ends of the star extensions for conjoint rotation with respect to the support structure (Zhang et al. Para [n0053] whole paragraph).
Zhang et al. does not disclose:
wherein respective end sections of each laminated core of the coil units project beyond the support structure in the axial direction,
a clamping ring that is clamped around the end sections of the coil units in the circumferential direction, as a result of which the coil units are radially clamped in the direction of the rotor shaft bearing.
Bossecker et al. discloses:
wherein respective end sections of each laminated core (iron cores 10) of the coil units (25) project beyond the support structure (central support flange 4) in the axial direction (Bossecker et al. Fig. 9).
Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. structurally disclose:
a clamping ring (outer ring 22A and inner ring 22B) (of Bossecker et al. Fig. 6) that is clamped around the end sections of the coil units in the circumferential direction (of Zhang et al. Fig. 3), as a result of which the coil units are radially clamped in the direction of the rotor shaft bearing (bearing sleeve 30) (of Bossecker et al. Fig. 3).
Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. disclose stators with laminated segmented iron cores therefore, Bossecker et al. constitutes as prior art. Bossecker et al. discloses a plurality of laminated segmented iron cores that extend axially beyond a central support flange and clamping rings that radially clamp the iron cores in the direction of a rotor shaft bearing. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein respective end sections of each laminated core of the coil units project beyond the support structure in the axial direction of Bossecker et al., and a clamping ring that is clamped around the end sections of the coil units in the circumferential direction, as a result of which the coil units are radially clamped in the direction of the rotor shaft bearing of structurally disclosed Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. for the purpose of 1) allowing pre-wound coils to be placed on each laminated core of respective coil units and 2) radially fixing respective coil units in the direction of the rotor shaft bearing.
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. disclose the stator according to claim 13.
Zhang et al. does not disclose:
wherein the support structure has a rotor bearing cylinder,
and a respective support disk is connected to the rotor bearing cylinder at a respective end face of the rotor bearing cylinder, so that the support disks are axially spaced apart from each other over a length of the rotor bearing cylinder.
Bossecker et al. discloses:
wherein the support structure has a rotor bearing cylinder (also bearing sleeve 30) (Bossecker et al. Fig. 3).
Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. structurally disclose:
a respective support disk (of Zhang et al. Fig. 6) is connected to the rotor bearing cylinder at a respective end face of the rotor bearing cylinder (of Bossecker et al. Fig. 3), so that the support disks are axially spaced apart from each other (of Zhang et al. Fig. 6) over a length of the rotor bearing cylinder (of Bossecker et al. Fig. 3).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the support structure has a rotor bearing cylinder of Bossecker et al., and a respective support disk is connected to the rotor bearing cylinder at a respective end face of the rotor bearing cylinder, so that the support disks are axially spaced apart from each other over a length of the rotor bearing cylinder of structurally disclosed Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. for the purpose of 1) supporting the rotating shaft and 2) provide a rigid connection such that the rotor can rotate efficiently.
Regarding Claim 23, Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. disclose an axial flux machine (Zhang et al. Fig. 1) comprising: the stator according to claim 13 (see above in rejection of claim 13).
Regarding Claim 24, Zhang et al. discloses a method for producing a stator (100) (Zhang et al. Fig. 1) for an axial flux machine (Zhang et al. Para [n0005] line 1), comprising:
providing a support structure comprising two support disks (first fixing frame 105 and second fixing frame 106) (Zhang et al. Fig. 2);
arranging coil units (windings 107) between two pairs of star extensions (first fixing arms 1052 of first fixing frame 105 and second fixing arms 1062 of second fixing frame 106), which follow one another in a circumferential direction (Zhang et al. Fig. 6), of the support disks, as a result of which, the coil units are fixed with respect to the support structure in the circumferential direction (Zhang et al. Fig. 4);
and attaching a stator outer shell (motor end cover 101) to fixing ends of the star extensions for conjoint rotation with respect to the support disks (Zhang et al. Para [n0053] whole paragraph), as a result of which the stator outer shell is arranged between the support disks (Zhang et al. Para [n0053] whole paragraph), and the coil units are surrounded by the stator outer shell in a radially covering manner in the circumferential direction (Zhang et al. Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
Zhang et al. does not disclose:
radially clamping the coil units in a direction of the rotor shaft bearing by way of a clamping ring being clamped around end sections of the coil units in the circumferential direction.
Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. structurally disclose:
radially clamping the coil units (of Zhang et al. Fig. 3) in a direction of the rotor shaft bearing by way of a clamping ring (outer ring 22A and inner ring 22B) (of Bossecker et al. Fig. 6) being clamped around end sections of the coil units in the circumferential direction (of Zhang et al. Fig. 3).
Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. disclose stators with laminated segmented iron cores therefore, Bossecker et al. constitutes as prior art. Bossecker et al. discloses a plurality of laminated segmented iron cores that extend axially beyond a central support flange and clamping rings that radially clamp the iron cores in the direction of a rotor shaft bearing. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have radially clamping the coil units in a direction of the rotor shaft bearing by way of a clamping ring being clamped around end sections of the coil units in the circumferential direction of structurally disclosed Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. for the purpose of radially fixing respective coil units in the direction of the rotor shaft bearing.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Bossecker et al. and further in view of Whaley et al. (US 20190165634 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. disclose the stator according to claim 13.
Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. do not disclose:
wherein a respective coil unit has an electric coil and the stator has a busbar arrangement which has, on an outer circumference between the stator outer shell and the coil units, a plurality of busbars which are axially spaced apart from each other,
wherein a respective busbar is electrically contact-connected to two or more of the electric coils.
Whaley et al. discloses:
wherein a respective coil unit (stator coils 16) has an electric coil and the stator has a busbar arrangement (10) (Whaley et al. Para [0023] first sentence) which has, on an outer circumference between the stator outer shell (motor housing 12) and the coil units (Whaley et al. Para [0026] whole paragraph), a plurality of busbars (also 10) which are axially spaced apart from each other (Whaley et al. Fig. 1),
wherein a respective busbar is electrically contact-connected to two or more of the electric coils (Whaley et al. Para [0023] first sentence).
Zhang et al., Bossecker et al., Whaley et al. disclose stators with coil units therefore Whaley et al. constitutes as prior art. Whaley et al. discloses a plurality of axially spaced busbars that are radially between a stator with coils and a motor housing. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a respective coil unit has an electric coil and the stator has a busbar arrangement which has, on an outer circumference between the stator outer shell and the coil units, a plurality of busbars which are axially spaced apart from each other, and wherein a respective busbar is electrically contact-connected to two or more of the electric coils of Whaley et al. for the purpose of electrically connecting the busbars to the respective coil units to energize the coil units.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Bossecker et al. and further in view of Qin et al. (CN 203827147 U).
Regarding Claim 22, Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. disclose the stator according to claim 13.
Zhang et al. and Bossecker et al. do not disclose:
wherein the stator outer shell has two half-shells which butt against each other and are connected to each other in the circumferential direction by means of two connecting blocks.
Qin et al. discloses:
two half shells (7) are connected to each other in the circumferential direction by means matching magnet grooves fixed to each other by bolts (Qin et al. Fig. 4).
Zhang et al. and Qin et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the stator outer shell (of Zhang et al. Fig. 2) has two half-shells which butt against each other and are connected to each other in the circumferential direction by means of two connecting blocks (Qin et al. Fig. 4).
Zhang et al., Bossecker et al., and Qin et al. disclose housings therefore, Qin et al. constitutes as prior art. Qin et al. discloses two half rings that are joined together via matching magnet grooves and bolts. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the stator outer shell has two half-shells which butt against each other and are connected to each other in the circumferential direction by means of two connecting blocks of structurally disclosed Zhang et al. and Qin et al. for the purpose of having a tight circumferential stator housing to protect the respective coil units.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 – 18 and 20 – 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 15, the prior art discloses various stators with support disks. However, the structure in combination with previously recited features, having a centering cylinder arranged coaxially on the circular ring portion of the support disk and which extends axially away from the coil units, wherein the coil units, by way of their end sections, are supported on an outer circumferential surface of the centering cylinder and are clamped between the centering cylinder and the clamping ring in the radial direction is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 16, it is objected because it is dependent on allowable claim 15.
Regarding Claim 17, the prior art discloses various stators with respective coil units. However, the structure in combination with previously recited features, having respective coil unit has a bar support body which is formed from an electrically insulating material and has two supporting blocks at which the bar support body ends along its axial longitudinal extent, wherein the bar support body is radially supported on the clamping ring by the supporting blocks is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 18, it is objected because it is dependent on allowable claim 17.
Regarding Claim 20, the prior art discloses various stators with respective coil units. However, the structure in combination with previously recited features, having a respective coil unit has a bar support body, wherein the bar support body has two coil contacting elements that are electrically insulated from each other and are each electrically conductively connected to a respective busbar contacting element of the bar support body is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 21, it is objected because it is dependent on allowable claim 20.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834