DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10, 21-25, and 38-42 are pending. Claims 11-20, 26-37, and 43 are cancelled.
Status of Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 national stage patent application of International patent application PCT/US2023/022924, filed on May 19, 2023. This application also claims the benefits of priority to U.S. Provisional Application no.:
63/344,055, filed on May 20, 2022 and
63/464,018, filed on May 4, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on April 2, 2026 lists the following foreign patent document:
WO 2017/189893 A1
Examiner could not locate this reference in the file wrapper and, therefore, the Examiner did not consider this reference. All remaining references cited in the IDS filed on November 19, 2024 and April 2, 2026 were considered.
Specification - Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class.
The abstract of the disclosure is further objected to because it is not in compliance with 37 C.F.R. 1.72 (b). Specifically, the sheet presenting the abstract includes other parts of the application or other material. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Specification - Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections – Improper Markush Grouping
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 21, 22, 24, and 40-42 are rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature.
A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if: (1) the species of the Markush group do not share a single structural similarity,” or (2) the species do not share a common use. Members of a Markush group share a "single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. Members of a Markush group share a common use when they are disclosed in the Specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent (see Federal Register, Vol. 76, No. 27, Wednesday, February 9, 2011, p. 7166, left and middle columns, bridging paragraph).
The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons:
The claimed Markush group encompasses compounds having substantially different core structures. Some example core structures are depicted below:
,
,
and
.
Clearly no ‘‘single structural similarity’’ can be seen amongst the different core structures described above which are fused bicyclic or fused tricyclic ring structures bonded to a triazole wherein, the fused ring structures possess different molecular geometries as well as electronic (and, therefore, chemical) properties.
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. § 134 and 37 CFR41.31 (a) (1) (emphasis provided)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
Claims 1-10, 21-25, and 38-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Currently, the claims are broad insofar as the instant claims recite a compound of instant formula I wherein the compound can possess a structurally diverse range of chemical substituents and substantially different core scaffolds.
Although the instant claims are broad, the instant specification provides limited working examples.
According to MPEP § 2163:
“Satisfactory disclosure of a ‘representative number’ depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the inventor was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. Instead, the disclosure must adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus, either through the disclosure of sufficient species that are ‘representative of the full variety or scope of the genus,’ or by the establishment of ‘a reasonable structure-function correlation.’ Such correlations may be established ‘by the inventor as described in the specification,’ or they may be ‘known in the art at the time of the filing date.’ See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1300-01, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790-91 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
The instant specification provides specific examples of compounds encompassed by instant claim 1 (see the table on pg. 36-39 for structures). The working examples do not adequately represent the full breadth of the claimed genus which was established to be broad. For example, according to instant claim 1, the compound of Formula I can possess many different core structures, wherein each of these core structures can be substituted with structurally diverse substituents. However, in the instant case, the specific examples consistently possess the following structural features:
A and B taken together with the atom to which they are attached form aryl (i.e., unsubstituted phenyl),
R1 = alkyl (i.e., unsubstituted ethyl),
x = 0 (i.e., R2 is absent), and
R3 = aryl (i.e., unsubstituted phenyl).
As such, significant portions of the claimed structural space remain unexplored by the working examples. According to MPEP § 2163 (see above), a very narrow subgenus of compounds does not adequately reflect a claimed genus that is structurally diverse. As stated above, in all the working examples provided in the instant specification:
A and B taken together with the atom to which they are attached form aryl (i.e., unsubstituted phenyl),
R1 = alkyl (i.e., unsubstituted ethyl),
x = 0 (i.e., R2 is absent), and
R3 = aryl (i.e., unsubstituted phenyl)
and, therefore, cannot adequately represent compounds wherein:
A and B taken together with the atom to which they are attached form cycloalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, or heteroaryl; or A and B are independently H, deuterium, halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, cycloalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl, -OH, -CN, amino, amide, alkoxy, carboxy, ester, thioether, sulfoxide, sulfone, sulfonamide;
R1 is H, deuterium, alkenyl, alkynyl, cycloalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl;
each R2 is independently deuterium, halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, cycloalkyl, aryl, -OH, -CN, amino, amide, alkoxy, carboxy, ester, thioether, sulfoxide, sulfone, or sulfonamide;
R3 is halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, cycloalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, heteroaryl, aralkyl, hetaralkyl, hydroxyalkyl, carbocyclylalkyl, heterocyclylalkyl, alkoxyalkyl, aminoalkyl, aryl-(alkoxy), aryl-(aryl), -OH, -CN, amino, amide, alkoxy, carboxy, ester, thioether, sulfoxide, sulfone, or sulfonamide;
x = 1, 2, or 3.
Accordingly, the disclosed species do not adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus and do not demonstrate possession of the full scope of compounds recited in instant claims 1-10, 21-25, and 40-42.
Claims 38 and 39, which are dependent on claim 1, are also rejected for further requiring and/or reciting elements that do not have written description support.
The instant specification also fails to demonstrate possession of the full scope of the claimed therapeutic methods. The experimental studies disclosed in the instant specification primarily evaluate the claimed compounds in breast cancer cell lines. There are also experimental studies disclosed that evaluate a single compound (i.e., instant compound 4c) in a single lung cancer cell line (i.e., A549 cell line; see pg. 59, lines 16-35), a single pancreatic cancer cell line (i.e., PANC-1; see pg. 61, lines 1-11) and macrophage/fibroblast cell lines (see pg. 61, lines 13-29). However, the demonstrated therapeutic efficacy of a single instant compound in limited cell lines or the in vitro activity of the limited instant compounds in selected breast cancer cell lines does not adequately support the full scope of the claimed methods of treating any disease or any cancer in a patient, which encompass conditions with diverse underlying pathologies, including those for which GTPases Rac and Cdc42 inhibition has no established therapeutic relevance.
Recall: according to MPEP § 2163, “adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.” Therefore, a single compound species (i.e., instant compound 4c) being evaluated in a single lung cancer/pancreatic cancer cell line and a single macrophage cell line does not adequately support the full scope of treating all lung cancers, pancreatic cancers, and autoimmune diseases, much less all cancers and all diseases.
Scope of Enablement
Claims 1-10, 21-25, and 38-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for:
A compound of the formula (I),
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof,
wherein:
A and B taken together with the atom to which they are attached form an unsubstituted phenyl,
R1 = unsubstituted ethyl,
x = 0 (i.e., R2 is absent),
R3 = unsubstituted phenyl, and
R4 = aralkyl, hetaralkyl, ketone, CN, ester, carboxy, or amide;
The compound of point (1) above, selected from the group consisting of the compounds recited in instant claim 38;
The compound of point (1) above, selected from the group consisting of the compounds recited in instant claim 39;
A pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound according to point (1) above and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient;
A method of treating breast cancer in a patient, the method comprising administering to the patient in need thereof an effective amount of a compound according to point (1) above;
does not reasonably provide enablement for elements that are outside the scope of the enabling elements listed above. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
As stated in the MPEP 2164.01(a), “There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue.”
In evaluating the enablement question, several factors are to be considered. According to In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988), these factors include:
1) The nature of the invention,
2) the state of the prior art,
3) the predictability or lack thereof in the art,
4) the amount of direction or guidance present,
5) the presence or absence of working examples,
6) the breadth of the claims, and
7) the quantity of experimentation needed to make and use the invention based on the content of the disclosure, and
8) the level of the skill in the art.
In the instant case, the Wands factors are relevant for the following reasons:
The nature of the invention
The nature of the invention claims cancer metastasis inhibitors, pharmaceutical compositions containing the compounds, and methods of using such compounds to treat disease, such as cancer.
State of the prior art and the predictability or lack thereof in the art
Prior art referenced:
Ruiz-Moreno et al. (Ruiz-Moreno, A. J. et al. Guide for Selection of Relevant Cell Lines During the Evaluation of new Anti-Cancer Compounds. Anti-Cancer Agents in Medicinal Chemistry 2018, 18, 1072-1081.)
Ruiz-Moreno explicitly teaches the following (see abstract, 1st three sentences):
Human cancer cell lines are valuable models for anti-cancer drug development.
Although all cancer cells share common biological features, each cancer cell line has unique genotypic/ phenotypic characteristics that affect drug response.
Thus, the information obtained with a specific cancer cell line cannot be easily extrapolated to other cancer cells.
Therefore, Ruiz-Moreno explains that therapeutic efficacy of a GTPases Rac and Cdc42 inhibitor in one cancer type does not necessarily predict efficacy of the same inhibitor in other cancer types, much less all diseases.
Prior art referenced:
Stumpfe et al. (Stumpfe) (Stumpfe, D. et al. Advances in exploring activity cliffs. Journal of Computer-Aided Molecular Design 2020, 34, 929-942.)
Stumpfe teaches that structurally similar compounds can differ substantially in biological potency, even when they differ by only a small chemical modification (see abstract and introduction section). Accordingly, the activity demonstrated for instant compound 4c does not, based on structural similarity alone, provide a reliable basis for predicting the activity of untested compounds encompassed by the entire broad genus currently claimed.
Prior art referenced:
Murray et al. (Murray) (Murray, P. J. et al. Protective and pathogenic functions of macrophage subsets. Nature Reviews Immunology 2011, 11, 723-737.)
Murray teaches (see key points of article, 1st two bullet points):
“Macrophages are highly heterogenous cells that can rapidly change their function in response to local microenvironmental signals.”
“Although distinct macrophage subsets with unique functional abilities have been described, it is generally believed that macrophages represent a spectrum of activated phenotypes rather than discrete stable subpopulations. They adopt context-dependent phenotypes that either promote or inhibit host antimicrobial defence, antitumour immune responses and inflammatory responses.”
In other words, macrophages do not belong to fixed categories with permanently assigned functions. Instead, the function of macrophages changes in response to signals from their surroundings.
The level of the skill in the art
The level of ordinary skill in the art is relatively high. A person of ordinary skill would typically have formal training in medicinal chemistry and organic synthesis and would be familiar with standard methods for evaluating therapeutic efficacy of compounds.
The breadth of the claims
The claims are broad insofar as the instant claims recite a compound of instant formula I wherein the compound can possess a structurally diverse range of chemical substituents and substantially different core scaffolds.
The method claims are also broad insofar as they encompass treatment of a wide range of diseases, including any cancer and any disease.
The presence or absence of working examples
The instant specification provides specific examples of compounds encompassed by instant claim 1 (see the table on pg. 36-39 for structures).
The experimental studies disclosed in the instant specification primarily evaluate the claimed compounds in breast cancer cell lines. There are also experimental studies disclosed that evaluate a single instant compound (i.e., instant compound 4c) in a single lung cancer cell line (i.e., A549 cell line; see pg. 59), a single pancreatic cancer cell line (i.e., PANC-1) and a single macrophage cell line (see pg. 61).
The working examples do not adequately represent the full breadth of the claimed compound and method genus which was established to be broad.
The amount of direction or guidance present; and the quantity of experimentation needed to make and use the invention based on the content of the disclosure
Although the specification provides synthetic procedures for the 14 specific examples, it provides limited direction and guidance regarding which structural features of the GTPases Rac and Cdc42 inhibitors of instant formula I are responsible for GTPases Rac and Cdc42 inhibitory activity and how modifications to the GTPases Rac and Cdc42 inhibitors (such as modifications of the A, B, R1, R2, R3, and R4 groups) affect such activity. In the instant case, all 14 specific examples have the same A, B, R1, x, R2, and R3. Specifically, in all 14 examples:
A and B taken together with the atom to which they are attached form aryl (i.e., unsubstituted phenyl),
R1 = alkyl (i.e., unsubstituted ethyl),
x = 0 (i.e., R2 is absent), and
R3 = aryl (i.e., unsubstituted phenyl).
The only variable that is being varied amongst the 14 working examples is R4. The specification does not provide guidance regarding the effect of modifying A, B, R1, R2, and R3 with a varying R4 in GTPases Rac and Cdc42 inhibitory activity. The instant specification also does not provide a structure-activity relationship that would allow a POSITA to predict which structural features of a compound of instant claim 1 would retain or improve GTPases Rac and Cdc42 inhibitory activity of the compound and which features would destroy such activity.
Because the claims encompass numerous variables, the required experimentation would involve not mere routine verification of activity but extensive exploration of the claimed genus to identify operative species which involves undue experimentation. Although a POSITA possesses expertise in medicinal chemistry and organic synthesis, such expertise cannot substitute for the absence of guidance in the specification. The issue is not whether a POSITA is capable of synthesizing and testing compounds encompassed by the claims. Rather, the issue is that the specification provides insufficient information to identify which structural modifications (e.g., which combinations of A, B, R1, R2, R3, and R4) preserve or improve GTPases Rac and Cdc42 inhibitory activity and which modifications destroy such activity. Consequently, a POSITA would be required to undertake a substantial medicinal chemistry research program to establish the relevant structure-activity relationships before the full scope of the claimed novel and nonobvious genus could be practiced.
The instant specification also provides insufficient direction and guidance regarding the full scope of the claimed therapeutic methods. The working examples demonstrate that selected compounds have therapeutic efficacy in the context of breast cancer cell lines, a single pancreatic cancer cell line, a single lung cancer cell line, and a single macrophage cell line. However, the specification does not provide sufficient guidance demonstrating how these results can be extrapolated to the full scope of claimed methods including the treatment of any cancer or any disease. GTPases Rac and Cdc42 inhibitory activity in the context of specific cell lines does not establish that the claimed genus of compounds would provide therapeutic benefit across all cancers or all diseases having different genetic drivers and mechanisms of disease progression. This is consistent with the prior art teaching of Ruiz-Moreno which teaches that therapeutic efficacy of a compound in one cancer type does not necessarily predict efficacy of the same compound in other cancer types, much less all diseases (see the “2. State of the prior art and the predictability or lack thereof in the art” subsection above for details).
Furthermore, Stumpfe teaches that even small structural changes in compounds can produce large differences in biological potency. Thus, structural similarity alone does not establish that all untested compounds encompassed by the instant claims will retain the activity of instant compound 4c. Murray also teaches that macrophages are highly heterogenous cells that can rapidly change their function in response to local microenvironmental signals. Therefore, inhibiting macrophage cell migration in one specific murine macrophage cell line by a single compound does not establish that a broad genus of compounds encompassed by instant claim 1 can provide a therapeutic benefit in all autoimmune diseases, much less all diseases in general.
To practice the claimed methods across their full scope, a POSITA would need to identify which untested compounds retain the relevant activity, determine which diseases respond beneficially to those compounds, and establish conditions for effective treatment. The instant specification does not provide a sufficiently predictive relationship between compound structure and activity, or explain how to identify diseases in which the observed cellular effects would produce a therapeutic benefit. Given the broad range of claimed compounds and diseases, the limited working examples, and the unpredictability described in the cited references, this work would require a substantial program of compound screening and disease-specific evaluation rather than routine confirmation of the disclosed results.
Thus, practicing the full scope of the instant compound and method claims extends beyond routine optimization and would require a substantial medicinal chemistry research program to identify operative species within the claimed genus, thereby amounting to undue experimentation.
Claims 38 and 39, which are dependent on claim 1, are also rejected for further requiring and/or reciting the non-enabling elements listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 24, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Note on 35 USC § 102 and § 103 Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 25, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
Zhang et al. (Zhang) (Zhang, X. et al. Base-Promoted Regiospecific Synthesis of Fully Substituted 1,2,3-Triazoles and 1,5-Disubstituted 1,2,3-Triazoles. Asian J. Org. Chem. 2020, 9, 2176-2183.)
Zhang teaches the synthesis of fully substituted 1,2,3-triazoles and 1,5-disubstituted 1,2,3-triazoles. One of these substituted triazoles disclosed in Zhang is the following:
(see pg. 2178, scheme 2, compound 3as; herein, referred to as Zhang-compound).
Zhang-compound is a compound encompassed by the instant claims wherein:
A and B taken together with the atom to which they are attached form aryl (i.e., phenyl),
R1 = alkyl (i.e., ethyl),
x = 0 (i.e., R2 is absent),
R3 = aryl (i.e., phenyl), and
R4 = ketone = -C(O)R7 (wherein R7 = aryl [i.e., phenyl])
Note: according to the instant specification on pg. 23, lines 24-25:
Ketone = -C(O)R7 wherein examples of R7 include alkyl, aryl, heteroaryl.
Therefore, Zhang-compound anticipates instant claims 1-7 and 25.
Furthermore, to extract the Zhang-compound from the reaction mixture, aqueous brine was added to the reaction mixture (see pg. 2179, left col., section “A typical procedure for the synthesis of (1,5-diphenyl-1H-1,2,3-triazol-4-yl)(phenyl)methanon (3aa)” and right col., lines 6-7). Therefore, Zhang also discloses a composition comprising Zhang-compound and water (i.e., a known pharmaceutically acceptable excipient; see Baldrick, P. Regulatory Toxicology and Pharmacology 2000, 32, 210-218.; pg. 210, right col., middle of 1st paragraph, sentence starts with “Indeed, the 12 most common excipients…”) and anticipates instant claim 40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Vlaar et al. (Vlaar) (US 2018/0251470 A1; published September 6, 2018) and
Patani et al. (Patani) (Patani, G. A. et al. Bioisosterism: A Rational Approach in Drug Design. Chem. Rev. 1996, 96, 3147-3176.)
Similar to the instant invention, Vlaar discloses substituted 1, 2, 3-triazoles as inhibitors of Rac/Cdc42 GTPases (see abstract). One of the Rac/Cdc42 GTPases inhibitors disclosed by Vlaar is the following:
(see Vlaar, pg. 33, Table 1A, compound I-1; herein, referred to as Vlaar-compound-1). Currently, only one of the carbon atoms of the triazole ring in Vlaar-compound-1 is substituted. Besides being bonded to the ring atoms, the other carbon atom of the triazole is bonded to H.
Vlaar does not disclose replacing H atoms in a drug candidate with F. Patani is relied upon for this disclosure.
Patani discloses:
“the ability of fluorine to replace hydrogen is an effective method of exploring the affinity of an agent to the target site (receptor or enzyme) by virtue of its greater electronegativity while other parameters such as steric size and lipophilicity are maintained” (pg. 3150, left col., paragraph right before “2. Interchange of Hydroxyl and Amino Groups” subsection).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vlaar-compound-1 by replacing the H atom bonded to the other C atom in the triazole ring with a F atom to obtain the following compound:
(herein referred to as Vlaar-compound-1-modified).
Vlaar-compound-1-modified is a compound encompassed by instant claims 1-6, 25, and 40-42 wherein:
A and B taken together with the atom to which they are attached form aryl (i.e., unsubstituted phenyl),
R1 = alkyl (i.e., unsubstituted ethyl),
x = 0 (i.e., R2 is absent),
R3 = aryl (i.e., unsubstituted phenyl), and
R4 = halogen (i.e., F)
A POSITA would have been motivated to make the isosteric modification to synthesize
similar compounds or
pharmaceutical compositions comprising said similar compounds and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient
that could retain biological activity, but have improved physiochemical properties and better pharmacokinetic behavior. Although Patani does not identify the specific position for fluorination, Vlaar-compound-1 presents a finite number of H-bearing positions available for this substitution. These positions represent a limited set of identified, predictable options, which a POSITA would have found it obvious to try fluorination at these positions and, subsequently, evaluate its effects on biological activity, physicochemical properties, and pharmacokinetic behavior.
Therefore, instant claims 1-6 and 40 are rendered obvious.
Furthermore, a POSITA would have had a reasonable expectation that the resulting compound (i.e., Vlaar-compound-1-modified) would retain Rac/Cdc42 GTPases inhibitory activity and be useful in:
a method of treating a disease, such as cancer, in a patient by administering to the patient in need thereof an effective amount of said compound
because Patani explicitly identifies -F as an isostere of -H having similar steric parameters. Patani also teaches how:
the “substitution of hydrogen by fluorine is one of the more commonly employed monovalent isosteric replacements”
(pg. 3149, left col., “1. Fluorine vs Hydrogen Replacements” subsection, 1st paragraph, 1st sentence)
and that
this monovalent isosteric replacement is an “effective method of exploring the affinity of an agent to the target site (receptor or enzyme) by virtue of its greater electronegativity while other parameters such as steric size and lipophilicity are maintained”
(pg. 3150, left col., paragraph right before “2. Interchange of Hydroxyl and Amino Groups” subsection).
A POSITA would have been motivated to make the isosteric modification to synthesize similar compounds that retain biological activity, but have improved physiochemical properties and better pharmacokinetic behavior, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, instant claims 41 and 42 are rendered obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 40-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 9,981,980 B2 (‘980B2),
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,392,396 B2 (‘396B2),
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,947,247 B2 (‘247B2),
claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,995,096 B2 (‘096B2),
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,390,629 B2 (‘629B2),
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11/939,337 B2 (‘337B2),
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,753,183 B2 (‘183B2), and
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 19/806,430 (‘430)
in view of:
Patani et al. (Patani) (Patani, G. A. et al. Bioisosterism: A Rational Approach in Drug Design. Chem. Rev. 1996, 96, 3147-3176.)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims represent an obvious variation of the claims of the granted patents and the co-pending application. A more detailed example is discussed below.
Similar to the instant invention, all the granted patents disclose substituted 1, 2, 3-triazoles as inhibitors of Rac/Cdc42 GTPases (see abstract of all). One of the Rac/Cdc42 GTPases inhibitors disclosed by the claims of the granted patents (specifically, ‘980B2, ‘396B2, ‘247B2, ‘096B2, ‘337B2, and ‘183B2) is the following:
(will still refer to this compound as Vlaar-compound-1). Currently, only one of the carbon atoms of the triazole ring in Vlaar-compound-1 is substituted. Besides being bonded to the ring atoms, the other carbon atom of the triazole is bonded to H.
The granted patents disclosing Vlaar-compound-1 do not disclose replacing H atoms in a drug candidate with F. Patani is relied upon for this disclosure.
Patani discloses:
“the ability of fluorine to replace hydrogen is an effective method of exploring the affinity of an agent to the target site (receptor or enzyme) by virtue of its greater electronegativity while other parameters such as steric size and lipophilicity are maintained” (pg. 3150, left col., paragraph right before “2. Interchange of Hydroxyl and Amino Groups” subsection).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vlaar-compound-1 by replacing the H atom bonded to the other C atom in the triazole ring with a F atom to obtain the following compound:
(herein referred to as Vlaar-compound-1-modified).
Vlaar-compound-1-modified is a compound encompassed by instant claims 1-6, 25, and 40-42 wherein:
A and B taken together with the atom to which they are attached form aryl (i.e., phenyl),
R1 = alkyl (i.e., ethyl),
x = 0 (i.e., R2 is absent),
R3 = aryl (i.e., phenyl), and
R4 = halogen (i.e., F)
A POSITA would have been motivated to make the isosteric modification to synthesize
similar compounds or
pharmaceutical compositions comprising said similar compounds and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient
that could retain biological activity, but have improved physiochemical properties and better pharmacokinetic behavior. Although Patani does not identify the specific position for fluorination, Vlaar-compound-1 presents a finite number of H-bearing positions available for this substitution. These positions represent a limited set of identified, predictable options, which a POSITA would have found it obvious to try fluorination at these positions and, subsequently, evaluate its effects on biological activity, physicochemical properties, and pharmacokinetic behavior.
Therefore, instant claims 1-6 and 40 are not patentably distinct from the claims of the granted patents.
Furthermore, a POSITA would have had a reasonable expectation that the resulting compound (i.e., Vlaar-compound-1-modified) would retain Rac/Cdc42 GTPases inhibitory activity and be useful in:
a method of treating a disease, such as cancer, in a patient by administering to the patient in need thereof an effective amount of said compound
because Patani explicitly identifies -F as an isostere of -H having similar steric parameters. Patani also teaches how:
the “substitution of hydrogen by fluorine is one of the more commonly employed monovalent isosteric replacements”
(pg. 3149, left col., “1. Fluorine vs Hydrogen Replacements” subsection, 1st paragraph)
and that
this monovalent isosteric replacement is an “effective method of exploring the affinity of an agent to the target site (receptor or enzyme) by virtue of its greater electronegativity while other parameters such as steric size and lipophilicity are maintained”
(pg. 3150, left col., paragraph right before “2. Interchange of Hydroxyl and Amino Groups” subsection).
A POSITA would have been motivated to make the isosteric modification to synthesize similar compounds that retain biological activity, but have improved physiochemical properties and better pharmacokinetic behavior, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, instant claims 41 and 42 are not patentably distinct from the claims of the granted patents.
Thus, the instant claims represent an obvious variation of the claims of the granted patents.
Note: Examiner explains the NSDP rejection using a specific parent compound (i.e., Vlaar-compound-1) that is disclosed in the claim sets of ‘980B2, ‘396B2, ‘247B2, ‘096B2, ‘337B2, and ‘183B2. However, fluorination of a different parent compound (encompassed by the other claims of ‘980B2, ‘396B2, ‘247B2, ‘096B2, ‘337B2, and ‘183B2 or encompassed by the claims of ‘629B2, and the co-pending application) could have also been used to support this NSDP rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTEN ROMERO whose telephone number is (571)272-6478. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM ET.
/KRISTEN W ROMERO/Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624