DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed November 19, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 13-27 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 19, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino et al. (US 20140319936 A1, hereafter referred to as Makino) in view of Savin et al. (US 5252632 A, hereafter referred to as Savin).
Regarding Claim 13, Makino discloses (see Figures 2-6) a method for producing a stator (23, ¶ [0034]) of a dynamoelectric rotating machine (1, ¶ [0032]), the method comprising:
arranging a winding system (232, ¶ [0039]) in a magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]) in grooves (¶ [0039]: “In this embodiment, the conducting wire that forms the coil 232 is disposed in multiple layers in the periphery of the teeth 42.”) facing an interior bore such as to create respective winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3) on end faces of the magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]); connecting the magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]) for conjoint rotation to a housing (21, ¶ [0034]) which extends axially, on both sides of the magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]), at least to an axial outer edge of the winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3) so as to create a circumferential gap (233, ¶ [0037]) between a radial outer side of the winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3) and an inner edge of the housing (21, ¶ [0034]) in a region of the winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3); and
filling the circumferential gap (233, ¶ [0037]) with a potting compound, so as to thermally connect (¶ [0053]: “Therefore, as indicated by the arrows A2 and A3 with the broken lines in FIG. 3, another part of the heat generated by the coil 232 is conducted to the housing flat plate portion 212 via the resin portion 233 and the holder flat plate portion 222.”) the winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3) to the housing (21, ¶ [0034]), with the potting compound penetrating radial outer regions of the winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3) to such an extent that the potting compound is prevented from escaping at a radial inner edge of the winding heads (¶ [0081]: “In addition, the inner end surface of the resin portion 233 is molded by the outer circumferential surface of the first jig 71. As a result, as illustrated in FIG. 3, the radial position of the inner end portion of the teeth 42 and the radial position of the inner end portion of the resin portion 233 are substantially the same.”).
Makino does not disclose does not explicitly disclose that the potting compound has a rheologically optimized additive.
However, Savin, in the same field of technology, does disclose that the potting compound has a rheologically optimized additive (C2L45-50: “The agent for control of rheological characteristics comprises at least one pyrogenic silica and optionally at least one natural or transformation silica having an oil absorption value preferably not greater than 90 and more preferably not greater than 40.”) (C3L46-49: “Glass microspheres, not coated with a metal, heretofore have been used primarily in non-paint related uses such as: polymeric panels which form a part of airplanes; syntactic foams, electrical potting compounds,”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by [] such that [], as disclosed by Savin, in order to improve cost effectiveness (C3L60-C4L2: “In all of the above listed uses, some of the characteristics of "non-coated" microspheres which are of greatest significance are: the lightness (weight) and resulting lower composite density; spherical shape; inherent strength because of the sphericity, as compared to other fillers; cost effectiveness due to the lower composite density (cost is even lower for the "non-coated" microspheres compared to the metal-coated microspheres); chemical resistance; excellent moisture resistance; low dielectric constant; low electric conductivity; decreased application and drying time, etc.”).
Regarding Claim 14/13, Makino in view of Savin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Makino discloses (see Figures 2-3 above) that the magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]) is an axially layered laminated core (231, ¶ [0038]: “The stator core 231 is made of a laminated steel sheet in which an electronic steel sheet is laminated in the axial direction.”).
Regarding Claim 15/13, Makino in view of Savin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Makino discloses (see Figure 3 above) that the housing (21, ¶ [0034]) is thermally conductive (231, ¶ [0038]: “The stator core 231 is made of a laminated steel sheet in which an electronic steel sheet is laminated in the axial direction.”) (¶ [0054]: “In addition, another part of the heat conducted to the housing flat plate portion 212 is dissipated to the outside air from the upper surface of the housing flat plate portion 212 as indicated by the arrow A3 with the broken line.”).
Regarding Claim 16/13, Makino in view of Savin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Makino discloses shrink-fitting the magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]) into the housing (¶ [0074]: “As such, in this embodiment, the stator holder 22 and the stator core 231 are fixed to each other by shrink-fitting. However, the stator holder 22 and the stator core 231 may also be fixed to each other by press-fitting or adhesion.”).
Regarding Claim 18/13, Makino in view of Savin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Savin further discloses that silica is used as the additive (C2L45-50: “The agent for control of rheological characteristics comprises at least one pyrogenic silica and optionally at least one natural or transformation silica having an oil absorption value preferably not greater than 90 and more preferably not greater than 40.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Makino in view of Savin such that silica is used as the additive, as further disclosed by Savin, in order to improve cost effectiveness (C3L60-C4L2: “In all of the above listed uses, some of the characteristics of "non-coated" microspheres which are of greatest significance are: the lightness (weight) and resulting lower composite density; spherical shape; inherent strength because of the sphericity, as compared to other fillers; cost effectiveness due to the lower composite density (cost is even lower for the "non-coated" microspheres compared to the metal-coated microspheres); chemical resistance; excellent moisture resistance; low dielectric constant; low electric conductivity; decreased application and drying time, etc.”).
Regarding Claim 19/13, Makino in view of Savin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Savin further discloses that pyrogenic silica is used as the additive (C2L45-50: “The agent for control of rheological characteristics comprises at least one pyrogenic silica and optionally at least one natural or transformation silica having an oil absorption value preferably not greater than 90 and more preferably not greater than 40.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Makino in view of Savin such that pyrogenic silica is used as the additive, as further disclosed by Savin, in order to improve cost effectiveness (C3L60-C4L2: “In all of the above listed uses, some of the characteristics of "non-coated" microspheres which are of greatest significance are: the lightness (weight) and resulting lower composite density; spherical shape; inherent strength because of the sphericity, as compared to other fillers; cost effectiveness due to the lower composite density (cost is even lower for the "non-coated" microspheres compared to the metal-coated microspheres); chemical resistance; excellent moisture resistance; low dielectric constant; low electric conductivity; decreased application and drying time, etc.”).
Regarding Claim 20/13, Makino in view of Savin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Savin discloses that the potting compound comprises a two-component reactive resin and/or a filler to increase overall viscosity and thermal conductivity (C2L45-50: “The agent for control of rheological characteristics comprises at least one pyrogenic silica and optionally at least one natural or transformation silica having an oil absorption value preferably not greater than 90 and more preferably not greater than 40.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Makino in view of Savin such that the potting compound comprises a two-component reactive resin and/or a filler to increase overall viscosity and thermal conductivity, as further disclosed by Savin, in order to improve cost effectiveness (C3L60-C4L2: “In all of the above listed uses, some of the characteristics of "non-coated" microspheres which are of greatest significance are: the lightness (weight) and resulting lower composite density; spherical shape; inherent strength because of the sphericity, as compared to other fillers; cost effectiveness due to the lower composite density (cost is even lower for the "non-coated" microspheres compared to the metal-coated microspheres); chemical resistance; excellent moisture resistance; low dielectric constant; low electric conductivity; decreased application and drying time, etc.”).
Regarding Claim 21/13, Makino in view of Savin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Makino discloses (see Figure 6 above) that the stator (23, ¶ [0034]) is filled with a vertical axis or with an inclination of the axis of max. 45 degrees (¶ [0080]: “In addition, in FIG. 6, the stator core 231, the coil 232, and the stator holder 22 are drawn in directions that follow the definition of the up and down direction in the present application. However, during the injection of the molding material, the stator core 231, the coil 232, and the stator holder 22 are disposed in a reverse direction to the up and down direction.”).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino in view of Savin as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Lund et al. (US 3453468 A, hereafter referred to as Lund).
Regarding Claim 17/13, Makino in view of Savin has been discussed above.
Makino in view of Savin does not explicitly disclose that the winding system has preformed shaped coils or wires.
However, Lund, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 1-4) that the winding system has preformed shaped coils (14, C3L23) or wires (C3L23-27: “A plurality of the coil groups 14 are preformed, a preferable method and apparatus being hereinafter described and then assembled within the slots 4 of the stator core 2 with the flared outer end extensions 12 projecting generally axially of the core 2.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Makino in view of Savin such that the winding system has preformed shaped coils or wires, as disclosed by Lund, in order to reduce cost and improve production speed (C5L36-39: “The present invention thus provides an improved electromagnetic stator construction for an alternator or the like which can be constructed in a rapid and economical manner.”).
Claims 22-23, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino et al. (US 20140319936 A1, hereafter referred to as Makino) in view of Bethge et al. (DE 10258456 A1, hereafter referred to as Bethge) and Savin et al. (US 5252632 A, hereafter referred to as Savin).
Regarding Claim 22, Makino discloses (see Figures 2-6) a dynamoelectric rotating machine (1, ¶ [0032]), comprising:
a housing (21, ¶ [0034]);
a stator (23, ¶ [0034]) connected (¶ [0059]: “In addition, the O-ring 52 may be interposed between the housing cylindrical portion 211 and the holder cylindrical portion 221 on the side upper than the upper end portion of the flow path 25.”) to the housing (21, ¶ [0034]) for conjoint rotation, said stator (23, ¶ [0034]) including a magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]: “The stator core 231 is made of a laminated steel sheet in which an electronic steel sheet is laminated in the axial direction.”) and a winding system (232, ¶ [0039]) which is arranged in grooves (¶ [0039]: “In this embodiment, the conducting wire that forms the coil 232 is disposed in multiple layers in the periphery of the teeth 42.”) of the magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]) in facing relation to an interior bore (Annotated Figures 2-3) of the stator (23, ¶ [0034]), and which includes conductors (¶ [0007]: “a coil which is made of a conducting wire”) arranged in the grooves (¶ [0007]: “a coil which is made of a conducting wire wound around the teeth”), said winding system (232, ¶ [0039]) forming a winding head (Annotated Figures 2-3) on end faces of the magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]), with the winding head (Annotated Figures 2-3) including a bead (Annotated Figures 2-3) and a winding neck (Annotated Figures 2-3), wherein the housing (21, ¶ [0034]) extends axially on both sides of the magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]) at least to an axial outer edge of the winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3) so as to create a circumferential gap (233, ¶ [0037]) between a radial outer side of the winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3) and an inner edge of the housing (21, ¶ [0034]) in a region of the winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3);
a potting compound (¶ [0040]: “The resin portion 233 is made of a resin which has a higher thermal conductivity than the air and is an insulating material. The resin portion 233 covers the coil 232.”) for filling the circumferential gap (233, ¶ [0037]) so as to thermally connect the winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3) to the housing (¶ [0053]: “Therefore, as indicated by the arrows A2 and A3 with the broken lines in FIG. 3, another part of the heat generated by the coil 232 is conducted to the housing flat plate portion 212 via the resin portion 233 and the holder flat plate portion 222.”), with the winding heads (Annotated Figures 2-3) having an axial extension which corresponds to a filling level of the potting compound (¶ [0040]: “The resin portion 233 covers the coil 232.”), wherein the interior bore (Annotated Figures 2-3) of the stator (23, ¶ [0034]) is free of potting compound (¶ [0081]: “In addition, the inner end surface of the resin portion 233 is molded by the outer circumferential surface of the first jig 71. As a result, as illustrated in FIG. 3, the radial position of the inner end portion of the teeth 42 and the radial position of the inner end portion of the resin portion 233 are substantially the same.”); and
a rotor (32, ¶ [0035]) arranged in spaced-apart relation to the stator (23, ¶ [0034]) to define an air gap (Annotated Figures 2-3) there between.
Makino does not explicitly disclose that the packing density of the conductors increases radially inward, and that the potting compound has a rheologically optimized additive.
However, Bethge, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1 below) that the packing density of the conductors (4, Page 2, ¶ 14) increases radially inward (Page 2, ¶ 14: “From the front 5 of the stator 2 the winding protrudes 4 looped out that a winding head in this area 6 forms.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the dynamoelectric rotating machine disclosed by Makino such that the packing density of the conductors increases radially inward, as disclosed by Bethge, in order to improve heat dissipation (Page 2, ¶ 14: “The winding head 6 is for heat dissipation of the heat generated during engine operation into a powder 7 embedded.”).
Makino in view of Bethge does not explicitly disclose that the potting compound has a rheologically optimized additive.
However, Savin, in the same field of technology, does disclose a potting compound with a rheologically optimized additive (C2L45-50: “The agent for control of rheological characteristics comprises at least one pyrogenic silica and optionally at least one natural or transformation silica having an oil absorption value preferably not greater than 90 and more preferably not greater than 40.”) (C3L46-49: “Glass microspheres, not coated with a metal, heretofore have been used primarily in non-paint related uses such as: polymeric panels which form a part of airplanes; syntactic foams, electrical potting compounds,”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the dynamoelectric rotating machine disclosed by Makino in view of Bethge such that the potting compound has a rheologically optimized additive, as disclosed by Savin, in order to improve cost effectiveness (C3L60-C4L2: “In all of the above listed uses, some of the characteristics of "non-coated" microspheres which are of greatest significance are: the lightness (weight) and resulting lower composite density; spherical shape; inherent strength because of the sphericity, as compared to other fillers; cost effectiveness due to the lower composite density (cost is even lower for the "non-coated" microspheres compared to the metal-coated microspheres); chemical resistance; excellent moisture resistance; low dielectric constant; low electric conductivity; decreased application and drying time, etc.”).
Regarding Claim 23/22, Makino in view of Bethge and Savin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Makino discloses (see Figures 2-3 above) that the magnetically conductive body (231, ¶ [0038]) is an axially layered laminated core (231, ¶ [0038]: “The stator core 231 is made of a laminated steel sheet in which an electronic steel sheet is laminated in the axial direction.”).
Regarding Claim 25/22, Makino in view of Bethge and Savin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Makino discloses (see Figures 2-3 above) that the housing (21, ¶ [0034]) is designed to include a water jacket cooling (25, ¶ [0042]) or a closed internal air cooling circuit (¶ [0042]: “During the driving of the motor 1, a cooling fluid which is a heat medium flows from the inlet port to the outlet port through the flow path 25. The cooling fluid absorbs heat from the housing 21 and the stator holder 22. As the cooling fluid, for example, water is used. However, instead of water, other liquids such as an oil and ethylene glycol or gas such as the air may be used as the cooling fluid.”).
Regarding Claim 26/22, Makino in view of Bethge and Savin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Makino discloses that the housing (21, ¶ [0034]) is made of aluminum or another thermally conductive material (¶ [0035]: “The housing 21 is a case which accommodates the stator holder 22, the stator 23, and a rotor 32 which will be described later. The housing 21 is formed of metal such as aluminum.”).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino in view of Bethge and Savin as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Inoue et al. (US 20130099606 A1, hereafter referred to as Inoue).
Regarding Claim 24/22, Makino in view of Bethge and Savin has been discussed above.
Makino in view of Bethge and Savin does not explicitly disclose that the housing includes ribs having at least one section which projects when viewed in a circumferential direction and/or axial direction.
However, Inoue, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1 below) that the housing (3, ¶ [0015]) includes ribs (Annotated Figure 1) having at least one section which projects when viewed in a circumferential direction and/or axial direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the dynamoelectric rotating machine disclosed by Makino in view of Bethge and Savin such that the housing includes ribs having at least one section which projects when viewed in a circumferential direction and/or axial direction, as disclosed by Inoue, in order to improve cooling of the stator (¶ [0036]: “In the stator 1 according to the embodiment, a cooling liquid path 8 for cooling the core body 11 is formed at a peripheral wall of the frame 3. At the peripheral wall of the frame 3, the cooling liquid path 8 according to the embodiment is spirally provided within a predetermined area opposite the core body 11.”).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Link et al. (US 3530417 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-8.
Hein et al. (US 20020027396 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 2.
McDaniel et al. (US 20100210745 A1) discloses the properties of additives to potting materials, including pyrogenic silica.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834