DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on August 13, 2026. Claims 1-
30 are pending. Claims 1-30 represent NETWORK NODE CAPABILITY DETECTION FOR DATA CHANNEL APPLICATIONS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He et al. U.S. 9,948,608.
He teaches the invention as claimed including Systems Ana Methods For Using An HTTP-aware Client Agent (see abstract).
As to claim 1, He teaches a first network node (figure 1C) comprising:
a memory having first code stored thereon (figure 1C, item 122); and
at least one processor (figure 1C, 101) coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the first code to cause the first network node to:
connect to a second network node (column 19, lines 43-48);
transmit a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) request for first application information to the second network node (abstract; figure 5, item 505);
receive an HTTP response including the first application information from the second network node (figure 5, item 507);
determine one or more applications supported by the first network node based on the first application information (column 5, line 63 to column 6, line 3); and at least one of:
display information indicative of the one or more applications, or select a first application of the one or more applications (column 6, lines 3-5).
As to claim 2, He teaches the first network node of claim 1, wherein the first application information includes respective capability requirement information corresponding to each respective application of the one or more applications, and wherein to determine the one or more applications supported by the first network node, the at least one processor is configured to execute the first code to cause the first network node to determine the one or more applications supported by the first network node based on network node capability information of the first network node and the first application information (column 20, lines 34-50).
As to claim 3, He teaches the first network node of claim 1, wherein the HTTP request includes network node capability information of the first network node, and wherein the first application information includes information indicative of whether the network node capability information satisfies one or more respective capability requirements of each respective application of the one or more applications (column 30, lines 28-45).
As to claim 4, He teaches the first network node of claim 3, wherein the network node capability information comprises at least one of. codec capability information; artificial intelligence capability information; positioning capability information; augmented reality communication capability information; short message service (SMS) capability information; multimedia messaging service (MMS) capability information; storage capability information; camera capability information; microphone capability information; speaker capability information; WiFi capability information; Bluetooth capability information; haptic sensor capability information; electrical heart sensor capability information; infrared scanner capability information; drone control capability information; gyroscopic sensor capability information; or infrared unit capability information (figure 1C).
As to claim 5, He teaches the first network node of claim 1, wherein to connect to the second network node, the at least one processor is configured to execute the first code to cause the first network node to establish a bootstrap internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) data channel between the first network node and the second network node, wherein to transmit the HTTP request, the at least one processor is configured to execute the first code to cause the first network node to transmit the HTTP request via the bootstrap IMS data channel, and wherein to receive the HTTP request, the at least one processor is configured to execute the first code to cause the first network node to receive the HTTP response via the bootstrap IMS data channel (abstract).
As to claim 6, He teaches the first network node of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the first code to cause the first network node to: download a menu application from the second network node, wherein the menu application comprises second code for at least one of: causing the first network node to determine network node capability information of the first network node, causing the first network node to transmit the HTTP request, or causing the first network node to determine one or more applications supported by the first network node based on the first application information (abstract).
As to claim 7, He teaches the first network node of claim 1, wherein the first network node comprises a user equipment (UE), and wherein the second network node comprises a data channel server (figure 1A).
As to claim 8, He teaches the first network node of claim 1, wherein the one or more applications comprise at least one of: a voice chat application; a text chat application; or a video chat application (column 32, lines 4-8).
As to claim 9, He teaches the first network node of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the first code to cause the first network node to: establish a data channel between the first network node and a third network node for the first application of the one or more applications (column 2, lines 22-31).
Claims 10-30 did not teach anything different from the above rejected claims, therefore are rejected similarly.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed August 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (A), He fails to disclose or suggest at least one processor configured to "determine one or more applications supported by the first network node based on the first application information," as recited in claim 1.
As to point (A), Examiner respectively disagrees.
In column 5, line 63 to column 6, line 3, He discloses an application identified by enumeration of applications. Such identified application is construed as the “determine one or more application supported by the first network based on the first application information.” i.e. the client 102 communicating directly with the server 106 (node) to access the identified application.
As to point (B), He fails to disclose that "the first application information includes respective capability requirement information corresponding to each respective application of the one or more applications,” as in claim 2.
As to point (B), Examiner respectively disagrees.
In column 20, lines 34-50, He discloses the network layer or layer 2 of the network packet identifies a destination server 106, the appliance 200 determines the server 106 to distribute the network packet by “first” application information and data carried as payload of the transport layer packet. Such teaching clearly discloses “the first application information including respective capability requirement information corresponding to each respective application.” Furthermore, He disclose one or more applications may communicate via the network stack 310 to a network 104, one of the applications such as web browser may include program 322 (column 21, lines 50-67).
Conclusion
4. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EL HADJI M SALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457