DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “a hardening agent that has hardened through a chemical reaction in a state of being mixed with the ash powder” is requiring that the hardening agent reacts with the ash powder to cause the hardening. Applicant’s disclosure appears to state that hardening of materials like gypsum hemihydrate or slaked lime occurs when reacted with water (instant specification at paragraph [0017]), and that the ash powder is simply combined with the hardening agent. Claim 7 is indefinite for the same reason.
Claim 6 is indefinite because one skilled in the art would not understand what exactly is meant by the recitation “attached in advance”.
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood. Claims 2-6, depending on rejected claim 1 above, are rejected the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichimura et al. (JP 2017093425 A), hereafter referred to as “Ichimura”.
Regarding claim 1, Ichimura discloses an algal reef (see attached machine translation, paragraph [0001] and figs. 1-5), comprising:
ash powder obtained by burning coal or biomass (machine translation, paragraphs [0020]-[0021], e.g., teaching fly ash); and
a hardening agent (machine translation, paragraph [0020], e.g., teaching cement and gypsum) that has hardened through a chemical reaction in a state of being mixed with the ash powder (machine translation, paragraph [0020] disclosing that the hardening agents are mixed with the ash powder and hardens as a result of a chemical reaction, as best understood).
Regarding claim 3, Ichimura discloses the algal reef according to claim 1, and further discloses a granule containing calcium carbonate as an aggregate (machine translation, paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 4, Ichimura discloses the algal reef according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the granule containing calcium carbonate (machine translation, paragraph [0012]) is produced by the reaction of calcium hydroxide with carbon dioxide in a carbon dioxide absorption facility (machine translation, paragraph [0012]; Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966).
Regarding claim 5, Ichimura discloses the algal reef according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein a pellet (1; fig. 1) comprising the ash powder and the hardening agent (machine translation, paragraphs [0020]-[0022]) is put into a liquid-permeable bag (2; fig. 1 and machine translation, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Ichimura discloses a method for manufacturing an algal reef (see attached machine translation, paragraph [0001] and figs. 1-5), comprising:
kneading ash powder obtained by burning coal or biomass (machine translation, paragraphs [0020]-[0021], e.g., teaching fly ash) and a hardening agent (machine translation, paragraph [0020], e.g., teaching cement and gypsum; machine translation at paragraphs [0015]-[0016] teaching kneading) that hardens through a chemical reaction in a state of being mixed with the ash powder (machine translation, paragraph [0020] disclosing that the hardening agents are mixed with the ash powder and hardens as a result of a chemical reaction, as best understood),
shaping the kneaded materials (machine translation, paragraph [0018]), and
hardening the shaped material (machine translation, paragraph [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichimura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Son (KR 20090126929 A), hereafter referred to as “Son”.
Regarding claim 2, Ichimura teaches the algal reef according to claim 1, and further teaches that the hardening agent comprises gypsum that hardens with water (machine translation, paragraph [0020]), but does not explicitly teach gypsum hemihydrate.
Son teaches an algal reef (fig. 1) including gypsum hemihydrate (see machine translation, page 4, second to last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the algal reef of Ichimura, such that the gypsum is gypsum hemihydrate, as taught by Son, in order to provide a quickly acting hardening agent.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichimura as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 20110100408 A), hereafter referred to as “Lee”.
Regarding claim 6, Ichimura teaches the algal reef according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach that an algae seedling cultured in filtered seawater or a medium is attached in advance to a surface of the pellet.
Lee teaches an algal reef (figs. 1-2; see also machine translation, abstract) including an algae seedling (130; fig. 2) cultured in filtered seawater or a medium is attached in advance to a surface of a pellet (150; fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the algal reef of Ichimura to include an algae seedling cultured in filtered seawater or a medium is attached in advance to a surface of the pellet, as taught by Lee, in order to further promote marine life (machine translation, abstract).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. The references have many of the elements in the applicant’s disclosure and claims.
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646