DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-21 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/03/2026. The Applicant has cancelled claims 19-21 in the reply filed 08/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 2-8, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 2 recites: “[…]wherein each of a plurality of electrodes is arranged so as to be positioned over the proximal phalanx of a respective digit.” The claim is positively reciting a human organism and therefore necessitates a “digit.” The Examiner recommends amending to recite: “wherein each of a plurality of electrodes is configured to be arranged over the proximal phalanx of a respective digit.”
Claim 3 recites: “[…]wherein each of a plurality of electrodes is arranged so as to be positioned over the intermediate phalanx of a respective digit.” The claim is positively reciting a human organism and therefore necessitates a “digit.” The Examiner recommends amending to recite: “wherein each of a plurality of electrodes is configured to be arranged over the intermediate phalanx of a respective digit.”
Claim 4 recites: “[…]wherein each of a plurality of electrodes is arranged so as to be positioned over the distal phalanx of a respective digit.” The claim is positively reciting a human organism and therefore necessitates a “digit.” The Examiner recommends amending to recite: “wherein each of a plurality of electrodes is configured to be arranged over the distal phalanx of a respective digit.”
Claim 5 recites: “[…] wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is arranged so as to be positioned over the proximal and intermediate phalanges of a respective digit.” The claim is positively reciting a human organism and therefore necessitates “phalanges of a respective digit.” The Examiner recommends amending to recite: “[…] wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is configured arranged to be positioned over the proximal and intermediate phalanges of a respective digit.”
Claim 6 recites: “[…] wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is arranged so as to be positioned over all of the phalanges of a respective digit.” The claim is positively reciting a human organism and therefore necessitates “phalanges of a respective digit.” The Examiner recommends amending to recite: “[…] wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is configured arranged to be positioned over all of the phalanges of a respective digit.”
Claim 7 recites: “[…]one or more reference electrodes positioned on the hand or foot[…].” The claim is positively reciting a human organism and therefore necessitates “the hand or foot.” The Examiner recommends amending to recite: “[…]one or more reference electrodes configured to be positioned on the hand or foot[…].”
Claim 8 recites: “[…]wherein a sensor is positioned on a digit[…].” The claim is positively reciting a human organism and therefore necessitates “a digit.” The Examiner recommends amending to recite: ““[…]wherein a sensor is configured to be positioned on a digit[…].”
Claim 14 recites: “[…]each of the plurality of sensors positioned on a respective digit.” The claim is positively reciting a human organism and therefore necessitates a “digit.” The Examiner recommends amending to recite: ““[…]each of the plurality of sensors configured to be positioned on a respective digit.”
Claim 16 recites: “[…]a secondary electrode arranged to be positioned on the forearm or foreleg[…].” The claim is positively reciting a human organism and therefore necessitates a “forearm or foreleg.” The Examiner recommends amending to recite: “[…]a secondary electrode configured to be positioned on the forearm or foreleg[…].”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the hand or foot” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim should be correct to recite, “a hand or foot.”
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the application of signals” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim should be correct to recite, “an application of signals”.
Claims 2-18 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 16 recites, “the forearm or foreleg” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ollerenshaw et al. (US 20200023183 A1, "Ollerenshaw").
Regarding claim 1, Ollerenshaw teaches an apparatus configured to be worn on the hand or foot (Fig. 1-6; Abstract: "Articles and methods for non-invasively treating peripheral neuropathy via transcutaneous electrical stimulation of target nerve tissue are described"; para. [0010]: "In one particular embodiment, the target nerve tissue can be located in a foot, a hand, a distal phalanx of a toe, a distal phalanx of a finger, or a combination thereof."; Claim 1), the apparatus comprising: a plurality of electrodes arranged so as to be positioned over one or more respective phalanges when the apparatus is attached to the hand or foot (Fig. 2-6; electrodes 20 and 28); para. [0088]-[0089]; [0098]-[0102]); a supporting structure (support 50) configured to attach the apparatus to the hand or foot and to retain the plurality of electrodes (Fig. 2-6; sock 80, glove 90, and other examples listed in para. [0075]); para. [0089]); and a controller (Fig. 1; controller 60) configured to control the application of signals to the plurality of electrodes (Fig. 1; controller 60; para. [0075], [0095]).
Regarding claim 2, Ollerenshaw teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is arranged so as to be positioned over the proximal phalanx of a respective digit. (Fig. 4; electrodes 20 and 28 arranged over proximal phalanx of respective digits).
Regarding claim 3, Ollerenshaw teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is arranged so as to be positioned over the intermediate phalanx of a respective digit (Fig. 4; electrodes 20 and 28 shown positioned over the intermediate phalanx of a respective digit).
Regarding claim 4, Ollerenshaw teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is arranged so as to be positioned over the distal phalanx of a respective digit (Fig. 2; para. [0098]: "Specifically, the electrodes 20 and 28 are positioned along a distal phalanx 81 of a toe so that the electrodes 20 and 28 can make contact with a dorsal surface 82 of the toe. However, although not shown, it is also to be understood that, alternatively, the electrodes 20 and 28 can be positioned along a distal phalanx 81 of a toe so that the electrodes 20 and 28 can make contact with a plantar surface 83 of the toe.").
Regarding claim 5, Ollerenshaw teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is arranged so as to be positioned over the proximal and intermediate phalanges of a respective digit (Fig. 4; electrodes 20 and 28 shown over the proximal and intermediate phalanges).
Regarding claim 6, Ollerenshaw teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein each of the plurality of electrodes is arranged so as to be positioned over all of the phalanges of a respective digit. (Fig. 4; electrodes 20 and 28 shown over the all the phalanges of a respective digit).
Regarding claim 16, Ollerenshaw teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein the apparatus further comprises a secondary electrode (Fig. 10; electrode 20) arranged to be positioned on the forearm or foreleg (electrode 20, which can be considered to be secondary to electrode 28, is shown on the foreleg in Fig. 10) when the apparatus is attached to the hand or foot (Fig. 4; electrode 28 is shown on a foot).
Regarding claim 17, Ollerenshaw teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein the apparatus comprises a garment configured to be worn on the hand and optionally wherein the garment is a glove or mitt (Fig. 2-6; para. [0075]: "As discussed in more detail with respect to FIGS. 2-9, the electrodes can be positioned on a support 50 (e.g. a sock 80, a glove 90, a finger cot 96, or a wrap 97 or 98) to deliver electrical stimulation to target nerve tissue in a desired location (e.g., ankles, feet, toes, wrists, hands, fingers, etc.).").
Regarding claim 18, Ollerenshaw teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), wherein the apparatus comprises a garment configured to be worn on the foot and optionally wherein the garment is a sock or shoe (Fig. 2-6; para. [0075]: "As discussed in more detail with respect to FIGS. 2-9, the electrodes can be positioned on a support 50 (e.g. a sock 80, a glove 90, a finger cot 96, or a wrap 97 or 98) to deliver electrical stimulation to target nerve tissue in a desired location (e.g., ankles, feet, toes, wrists, hands, fingers, etc.).").
Claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hyde et al. (US 10279200 B2, "Hyde").
Regarding claim 1, Hyde teaches an apparatus configured to be worn on the hand or foot (Fig. 9-16 and 31-36; the system 1000; Fig. 15; second device 1602; Fig. 16; 1708 and 1720; para. (118): "The substrate 1002 can also be configured for interaction with a skin surface of a particular body portion. In example embodiments, the body portion includes one or more of a finger, a hand, a wrist, a toe, a foot, an ankle, an arm, an elbow, a leg, a knee, a shoulder, a hip, a spinal portion (e.g., a region proximate to one or more of a cervical spine, a thoracic spine, a lumbar spine, a sacral spine, and a coccygeal spine), a rib portion (e.g., a region proximate to a rib, such as where the rib attaches the spine), a torso, a neck, and a head region (e.g., face, scalp)."), the apparatus comprising: a plurality of electrodes (Fig. 9-15; Effector 1008 and effector 1610; Fig. 16 shows effectors 1718 and 1730 in the same environment, which can be considered an apparatus) arranged so as to be positioned over one or more respective phalanges (Fig. 15; para. (132): "For example, as shown in FIG. 15A, the system 1000 includes a second device 1602 positioned on another finger 1600b of the same hand of the subject, although other positional configurations can be utilized, including but not limited to, positioning the second device 1602 on a different portion of the same finger 1600a, or positioning the second device 1602 on a hand, a wrist, a toe, a foot, an ankle, an arm, an elbow, a leg, a knee, a shoulder, a hip, a spinal portion (e.g., a region proximate to one or more of a cervical spine, a thoracic spine, a lumbar spine, a sacral spine, and a coccygeal spine), a rib portion (e.g., a region proximate to a rib, such as where the rib attaches the spine), a torso, a neck, and a head region (e.g., face, scalp).") when the apparatus is attached to the hand or foot (para. (132)); a supporting structure (substrate 1002) configured to attach the apparatus to the hand or foot and to retain the plurality of electrodes (para. (162): "The substrate 1002 can be positioned in proximity with the skin surface according to various mechanisms including, but not limited to, affixed to the skin via an adhesive material, held in place by an external pressure, such as pressure provided by a material wrapped around or about a body portion (e.g., a fabric, a garment, a glove, a bandage, etc.), affixed in a textile, fabric, garment, accessory (e.g., a glove, a sock, a finger cot, etc.), or so forth."; ); and a controller (processor 1006) configured to control the application of signals to the plurality of electrodes (para. (122): "The processor 1006 is configured to receive one or more sense signals from the sensor assembly 1004 and to process the sense signals in order to provide control signals to portions of the system 1000, such as to the effector 1008.").
Regarding claim 8, Hyde teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see above), the apparatus further comprising a sensor (para. (170); Fig. 32; physiological sensor 1012; para. (187); oximeter 3328) retained by the supporting structure (Fig. 9; para. (162): "The substrate 1002 can be positioned in proximity with the skin surface according to various mechanisms including, but not limited to, affixed to the skin via an adhesive material, held in place by an external pressure, such as pressure provided by a material wrapped around or about a body portion (e.g., a fabric, a garment, a glove, a bandage, etc.), affixed in a textile, fabric, garment, accessory (e.g., a glove, a sock, a finger cot, etc.), or so forth."; Fig. 9 shows the physiological sensor 1012 included in the substrate 1002), wherein the sensor is positioned on a digit (para. (170): "The physiological sensor 1012 is configured to detect one or more physiological parameters of the individual subject on which the system 1000 is positioned, where such physiological parameters can provide an indication as to whether the individual subject is experiencing pain, or to what degree the individual subject is experiencing pain. In an embodiment, the physiological sensor 1012 detects a localized physiological parameter provided by one or more of a body portion with which the system 1000 interfaces and a body portion proximate the portion with which the system 1000 interfaces"; Fig. 15a 1000, including 1012, is located on a digit) and is configured to monitor a property of underlying tissue (any of the sensors described in 170 monitor properties of underlying tissue).
Regarding claim 9, Hyde teaches the apparatus of claim 8 (see above), wherein the sensor comprises a photoplethysmography sensor configured to output signals to the controller (para. (170): "The physiological sensor 1012 can also or instead be configured to detect systemic physiological parameters of the subject on which the system 1000 is positioned. In an embodiment, shown in FIG. 32, the physiological sensor 1012 can include… an oximeter 3328…”; para. (187): " For example, the oximeter 3328 (e.g., a pulse oximeter or photo-plethysmograph) can be configured to assess vasoconstriction; a reduction in the photo-plethysmographic waveform amplitude caused by peripheral vasoconstriction and detectable by the oximeter 3328 can be indicative of pain.").
Regarding claim 11, Hyde teaches the apparatus of claim 8 (see above), wherein the sensor comprises a peripheral autonomic surface potential sensor configured to measure activity of autonomic nervous tissue underlying the sensor (para. (187): " In an embodiment, the physiological sensor 1012 is configured to detect changes in one or more physiological parameters indicative of autonomic nervous system responses, including, but not limited to changes in biopotentials, electrophysiological signals, heart rate, heart rate variability, arterial blood pressure, plethysmograph wave amplitude, skin conductance level, number of skin conductance fluctuations and their time derivatives, etc. Changes in the autonomic nervous system, including changes in biopotentials and electrophysiological signals, can be indicators of the presence of pain."), or wherein the sensor comprises a surface electromyography sensor configured to measure activity of somatic nervous tissue underlying the sensor (para. (121): "The physiological sensor 1012 can also be configured to detect systemic physiological parameters of the subject on which the system 1000 is positioned. In an embodiment, the physiological sensor 1012 includes an electromyograph (EMG) (FIG. 13 shows electromyograph 1408), such as sensor electrodes configured to monitor the electrophysiological activity of muscle tissue proximate to the body portion on which the system 1000 is positioned.").
Regarding claim 13, Hyde teaches the apparatus of claim 8 (see above), wherein the controller (processor 1006) is configured to dynamically adjust a property of the signals applied to the plurality of electrodes (effector 1008) based on signals received from the sensor. (para. (122): " The processor 1006 is configured to receive one or more sense signals from the sensor assembly 1004 and to process the sense signals in order to provide control signals to portions of the system 1000, such as to the effector 1008.").
Regarding claim 14, Hyde teaches the apparatus of claim 8 (see above), wherein the apparatus comprises a plurality of sensors (Fig. 14; system 1000 includes physiological sensor 1012; Fig. 15A includes 1000 on one finger and second system 1602 on another finger; para. (133 discloses that 1602 has sensor assembly 1602), each of the plurality of sensors positioned on a respective digit (Fig. 15A and 15B; para. (132): " As shown, the system 1000 is positioned on a finger 1600a of a subject…"; Fig. 15B; para. (133): " In an embodiment, an example of which is shown in FIG. 15B, the second device 1602 includes…a sensor assembly 1606…"; Each respective sensor assembly 1012a and 1606 is on a respective digit 1600a and 1600b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyde et al. (US 10279200 B2, "Hyde") in view of Kerner et al. (US 20120083684 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Hyde teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see 102 rejection above). Hyde further teaches the apparatus further comprising one or more reference electrodes (para. [0094]: "It should also be understood that monopolar stimulation, where just one electrode is placed within a specified distance from the target nerve tissue and a reference electrode is located elsewhere."). However, Hyde does not teach where the reference electrode is positioned on the hand or foot.
Kerner, in the same field of endeavor of treating neuropathy, discloses a method of performing a nerve conduction study using a reference electrode (reference electrode 5). Kerner discloses where the refence electrode (5) is positioned on the hand or foot, away from the fingers (Fig. 1, reference electrode 5 is placed on the back of the hand; para. [0025]: "Turning to the drawings for a better understanding, FIG. 1 provides an illustration of a contemporary nerve conduction study, this one being performed on an arm nerve. A reference electrode 5 is placed at an initial position, here on the hand near the wrist of the subject.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use Kerner’s technique of placing a reference electrode on the hand in the apparatus of Hyde. One of ordinary skill would recognize the back of the hand as being a location for successfully positioning a reference electrode. One would further recognize, based on the teachings of Kerner, that conduction studies can be used to for evaluating peripheral neuropathy using a reference electrode (see Kerner para. [0004]). One would expect with a reasonable expectation of success that a reference electrode could successfully be implemented on the hand of a subject. By incorporating a reference electrode on the hand, one would be able to improve the device of Hyde to evaluate the conduction of peripheral nerves, as taught by Kerner.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyde et al. (US 10279200 B2, "Hyde") in view of Lange (US 20190015014 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Hyde teaches the apparatus of claim 9 (see above). However, Hyde does not teach wherein the controller is configured to derive a peripheral perfusion index in the underlying tissue based on the signals.
Lange, in the same field of endeavor of wearable devices for monitoring physiological parameters, discloses a system and method for measuring respiratory rate in a patient. Lange discloses deriving a peripheral perfusion index in the underlying tissue based on PPG signals (para. [0077]: "FIG. 6A shows a plot 600A of an example PPG signal 610 which represents an amount of light received by a photodetector of sensor 222b. The perfusion index can be calculated as a ratio of difference 620 of the amount of light received by the photodetector between vasoconstriction and vascular dilation to the total amount 630 of light received by the photodetector. Typically, the larger the perfusion index, the more accurate the measurement of oxygen saturation. Therefore, the perfusion index can be used as an indicator of quality of the PPG signal."; para. [0011]: "The processor can be further configured to determine, based on the first ratio and the second ratio, a third ratio to be used for obtaining an oxygen saturation. The processor can be further configured to determine, based on the third ratio, a value of the oxygen saturation."; para. [0012]: "The third ratio can be determined by formula R=αR.sub.a+(1−α)R.sub.b, wherein the α is a weight between 0 and 1, the R.sub.a is the first ratio, and the R.sub.b is the second ratio. The weight α can be a function of a perfusion index. The perfusion index can be determined based on the second red wavelength PPG signal or the second infrared wavelength PPG signal. The weight α increases when the perfusion index increases. A shape of the function is pre-determined during a calibration process.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus, specifically the controller (processor 1006), of Hyde to include configurations to derive a peripheral perfusion index in the underlying tissue based on PPG signals. One would recognize that a perfusion index is indicative of the accuracy of the oxygen saturation measurement, and that the perfusion index is indicative of the quality of a PPG signal (see Lange para. [0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to modify the controller of Hyde to derive a perfusion index to ensure the accuracy of blood oxygen saturation measurements and PPG signal quality.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ollerenshaw et al. (US 20200023183 A1, "Ollerenshaw") in view of Ganguly et al. (US 20200061378 A1, "Ganguly").
Regarding claim 15, Ollerenshaw teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see 102 rejection above). However, Ollerenshaw does not teach wherein the controller is configured to apply signals to the plurality of electrodes periodically, with a duty cycle of 50%.
Ganguly, in the same field of endeavor of improving peripheral nerve function with electrical stimulation, discloses a method and apparatus for peripheral nerve stimulation. Ganguly discloses wherein a controller (para. [0044]: “a controller configured to deliver an electrical stimulation from the electrodes.”) is configured to apply signals to the plurality of electrodes periodically (abstract: “These apparatuses and methods may be used for physical training and mental training (to improve memory and functional performance including motor coordination, limb-eye coordination, occupational and recreational skills) through periodic or sustained sensory electrical stimulation.”), with a duty cycle of 50% (para. [0149]: "Results of the gross effects of two-hours of peripheral nerve stimulation of the radial, ulnar and median nerves (2 hours, 1 Hz trains, single pulses at 10 Hz over 500 ms, 50% duty cycle, 1 ms pulse width) are shown in FIG. 22 A, B. Specifically, there was a significant reduction in spasticity or MAS and significant improvement in ARAT total score.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ollerenshaw to include a controller that applies stimulation signals periodically with a duty cycle of 50%, as disclosed by Ganguly. One of ordinary skill would recognize that the stimulation with a duty cycle of 50% would demonstrate a reduction in spasticity and improvement in motor function of peripheral nerves. It would have been obvious to include the duty cycle and periodic stimulation of Ganguly in the apparatus of Ollerenshaw to improve the peripheral nerve function of patients with peripheral neuropathy.
Conclusion
/O.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796