DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo (US Pub. 2014/0115523 A1)(hereinafter Seo).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a method for generating a set of characters of a phonetic language using key presses inputted on a QWERTY keyboard, (Seo, ¶0028; A keyboard layout provided by the keyboard application may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another.)
the method comprising: receiving, at the QWERTY keyboard, a first keystroke; receiving, at the QWERTY keyboard, a second keystroke; determining whether a first keystroke was pressed during the second keystroke; generating, when the first keystroke of the QWERTY keyboard was pressed during the second keystroke, a first character; (Seo, ¶0023; a first input key assigned to a first character and a second input key assigned to a second character differing from the first character, a second command set to determine whether a user input corresponds to a combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key, when the user input is sensed by the sensor, and a third command set to determine a third character differing from the first character and the second character to be an input value corresponding to the user input, when the user input corresponds to the combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key.)
generating, when the first keystroke of the QWERTY keyboard was not pressed during the second keystroke, a second character different from the first character; (Seo, ¶0023; a first input key assigned to a first character and a second input key assigned to a second character differing from the first character,)
and rendering the first character and the second character to a display,(Fig. 2 and ¶0081; case in which a user inputs a character V to a position of a cursor 201 included in a text entry application portion 210 will be described.)
wherein each character of the set of characters can be generated using a maximum of three keystrokes. (Seo, ¶0023; and a third command set to determine a third character differing from the first character and the second character to be an input value corresponding to the user input, when the user input corresponds to the combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key)
Regarding claim 9, Seo discloses a method for generating a set of characters of a phonetic language using key presses inputted on a QWERTY keyboard, (Seo, ¶0028; A keyboard layout provided by the keyboard application may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another.)
the method comprising: receiving, at the QWERTY keyboard, a first keystroke; receiving, at the QWERTY keyboard, a second keystroke; receiving, at the QWERTY keyboard, a third keystroke; (Seo, ¶0082; The user inputting a text "Dear my daughter, I love you" needs to input a character V to the current position of the cursor 201.)
determining whether the first keystroke of the QWERTY keyboard kept a first key depressed during the second keystroke; generating, when the first key of the QWERTY keyboard was depressed during the second keystroke, a first character; (Seo, ¶0023; determine whether a user input corresponds to a combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key, when the user input is sensed by the sensor, and a third command set to determine a third character differing from the first character and the second character to be an input value corresponding to the user input, when the user input corresponds to the combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key.)
generating, when the first key of the QWERTY keyboard was not depressed during the second keystroke, a second character different from the first character; (Seo, ¶0023; a first input key assigned to a first character and a second input key assigned to a second character differing from the first character,)
and rendering the first character or the second character to a display, (Seo, ¶0082; The user inputting a text "Dear my daughter, I love you" needs to input a character V to the current position of the cursor 201.)
wherein each character of the set of characters can be generated using a maximum of three keystrokes. (Seo, ¶0023; and a third command set to determine a third character differing from the first character and the second character to be an input value corresponding to the user input, when the user input corresponds to the combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key)
Regarding claim 17, Seo discloses a system, (Seo, Fig. 1 and Abstract; An apparatus for providing a user interface, which provides a keyboard layout, is provided)
comprising: a QWERTY keyboard; (Seo, ¶0028; A keyboard layout provided by the keyboard application may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another.)
a processor coupled to the QWERTY keyboard; (Seo, ¶0055; A processor 130 may control the display 110 to display the keyboard layouts according to embodiments of the present invention, and receive a result of the sensing performed by the sensor 120 and perform a series of operations for determining a current input value corresponding to the user input.)
and a memory coupled to the processor and storing instructions thereon that, when processed by the processor, (Seo, ¶0056; A memory 140 may store at least one keyboard layout, and the processor 130 may read a specific keyboard layout among the keyboard layouts stored in the memory 140, as necessary.)
cause the processor to: determining whether a first keystroke kept a first key pressed during a second keystroke; generate, when the first key of the QWERTY keyboard was pressed during the second keystroke, a first character; (Seo, ¶0018; The processor may determine the third character differing from the first character and the second character to be the current input value corresponding to the user input; ¶0023; determine whether a user input corresponds to a combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key, when the user input is sensed by the sensor, and a third command set to determine a third character differing from the first character and the second character to be an input value corresponding to the user input, when the user input corresponds to the combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key.)
generate, when the first key of the QWERTY keyboard was not pressed during the second keystroke, a second character different from the first character; (Seo, ¶0023; a first input key assigned to a first character and a second input key assigned to a second character differing from the first character,)
and render the first character or the second character to a display, (Seo, ¶0082; The user inputting a text "Dear my daughter, I love you" needs to input a character V to the current position of the cursor 201.)
wherein each character of a set of characters of a phonetic language can be generated using a maximum of three keystrokes. (Seo, ¶0023; and a third command set to determine a third character differing from the first character and the second character to be an input value corresponding to the user input, when the user input corresponds to the combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key)
Regarding claim 2, which depends form claim 1, Seo discloses wherein a first set of keystrokes on the QWERTY keyboard is associated with a set of vowels. (Seo, ¶0082; The user inputting a text "Dear my daughter, I love you" needs to input a character V to the current position of the cursor 201.)
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2, Seo discloses wherein a second set of keystrokes on the QWERTY keyboard is associated with a set of consonants. (Seo, ¶0082; The user inputting a text "Dear my daughter, I love you" needs to input a character V to the current position of the cursor 201.)
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 9, Seo discloses wherein a first set of keystrokes on the QWERTY keyboard is associated with a set of vowels. (Seo, ¶0082; The user inputting a text "Dear my daughter, I love you" needs to input a character V to the current position of the cursor 201.)
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 10, Seo discloses wherein a second set of keystrokes on the QWERTY keyboard is associated with a set of consonants. (Seo, ¶0082; The user inputting a text "Dear my daughter, I love you" needs to input a character V to the current position of the cursor 201.)
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1, Seo discloses further comprising: enabling the QWERTY keyboard to generate the set of characters in the phonetic language while the QWERTY keyboard is in a first mode; and enabling the QWERTY keyboard to generate a second set of characters in a second phonetic language while the QWERTY keyboard is in a second mode. (Seo, ¶0029; the first input key assigned for mode switching among at least a portion of a first language mode corresponding to a first language, a first language mode corresponding to a second language differing from the first language, a numeral input mode, and a special key input mode; ¶0153; ...languages of many European countries, for example, Russia, including characters other than 26 Roman alphabet characters may be covered by example embodiments of the present invention. [Seo also clearly discloses English, Fig. 2 and ¶0082])
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 4, Seo discloses wherein the QWERTY keyboard is switchable between the first mode and the second mode with at least one keystroke. (Seo, ¶0029; the first input key assigned for mode switching among at least a portion of a first language mode corresponding to a first language, a first language mode corresponding to a second language differing from the first language, a numeral input mode, and a special key input mode;)
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 9, Seo discloses further comprising: enabling the QWERTY keyboard to generate the set of characters in the phonetic language while the QWERTY keyboard is in a first mode; and enabling the QWERTY keyboard to generate a second set of characters in a second phonetic language while the QWERTY keyboard is in a second mode. (Seo, ¶0029; the first input key assigned for mode switching among at least a portion of a first language mode corresponding to a first language, a first language mode corresponding to a second language differing from the first language, a numeral input mode, and a special key input mode; ¶0153; ...languages of many European countries, for example, Russia, including characters other than 26 Roman alphabet characters may be covered by example embodiments of the present invention. [Seo also clearly discloses English, Fig. 2 and ¶0082])
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 12 Seo discloses wherein the QWERTY keyboard is switchable between the first mode and the second mode with at least one keystroke. (Seo, ¶0029; the first input key assigned for mode switching among at least a portion of a first language mode corresponding to a first language, a first language mode corresponding to a second language differing from the first language, a numeral input mode, and a special key input mode;)
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 1, Seo discloses wherein the QWERTY keyboard is a virtual keyboard or a physical keyboard. (Seo, ¶0020; there is also provided an apparatus for providing a UI providing a keyboard layout, the apparatus including a display to display a plurality of input keys included in the keyboard layout,)
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 9, Seo discloses wherein the QWERTY keyboard is a virtual keyboard or a physical keyboard. (Seo, ¶0020; there is also provided an apparatus for providing a UI providing a keyboard layout, the apparatus including a display to display a plurality of input keys included in the keyboard layout,)
Regarding claim 18, which depends from claim 17, Seo discloses wherein the QWERTY keyboard is a virtual keyboard or a physical keyboard. (Seo, ¶0020; there is also provided an apparatus for providing a UI providing a keyboard layout, the apparatus including a display to display a plurality of input keys included in the keyboard layout,)
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1, Seo discloses wherein the set of characters can be generated using a maximum of 26 keys on the QWERTY keyboard and the ten number keys. (Seo, ¶0016; The keyboard layout may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another; ¶0028; A keyboard layout provided by the keyboard application may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another.)
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1, Seo discloses wherein at least one character of the set of characters can be generated by the QWERTY keyboard using two or more different combinations of keystrokes. (Seo, ¶0023; determine whether a user input corresponds to a combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key, when the user input is sensed by the sensor, and a third command set to determine a third character differing from the first character and the second character to be an input value corresponding to the user input, when the user input corresponds to the combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key. ¶0028; A keyboard layout provided by the keyboard application may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another.)
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 9, Seo discloses wherein the set of characters can be generated using a maximum of 26 keys on the QWERTY keyboard and the number keys. (Seo, ¶0016; The keyboard layout may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another; ¶0028; A keyboard layout provided by the keyboard application may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another.)
Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 9, Seo discloses wherein at least one character of the set of characters can be generated by the QWERTY keyboard using two or more different combinations of keystrokes. (Seo, ¶0023; determine whether a user input corresponds to a combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key, when the user input is sensed by the sensor, and a third command set to determine a third character differing from the first character and the second character to be an input value corresponding to the user input, when the user input corresponds to the combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key. ¶0028; A keyboard layout provided by the keyboard application may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another.)
Regarding claim 19, which depends from claim 17, Seo discloses wherein the set of characters can be generated using a maximum of 26 keys on the QWERTY keyboard and the ten number keys. (Seo, ¶0016; The keyboard layout may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another; ¶0028; A keyboard layout provided by the keyboard application may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another.)
Regarding claim 20, which depends from claim 17, Seo discloses wherein at least one character of the set of characters can be generated by the QWERTY keyboard using two or more different combinations of keystrokes. (Seo, ¶0023; determine whether a user input corresponds to a combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key, when the user input is sensed by the sensor, and a third command set to determine a third character differing from the first character and the second character to be an input value corresponding to the user input, when the user input corresponds to the combinational input with respect to the first input key and the second input key. ¶0028; A keyboard layout provided by the keyboard application may display at least a portion of a plurality of input keys included in a QWERTY keyboard layout and omit a remaining portion, by alternately displaying one of a plurality of alphabetic characters arranged sequentially in the QWERTY keyboard layout and omitting another.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rahmato (US-20130057478-A1); Molla (US-20150212592-A1); Molla (US-20170185164-A1); Molla (US-20180032149-A1); and Woo (US-20120326988-A1).
/JEROLD B MURPHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2687 /CURTIS A KUNTZ/SPE AU 2687, Art Unit 2687