Detailed Action
Office Action is in response to the reply filed by Applicant on 7/13/2026. Claims 1-15, 18, 20, 21, 25 and 26 are pending. This Office Action is Final.
Response to Arguments
A) Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 25 and 26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 13-15, 18, 20, 21, 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillenberger (US 2017/0177898) in view of Sun et al. (US 2022/0405770).
As per claim 1, Dillenberger teaches a computer-implemented method of journaling messages sent to and/or from a first party, wherein the method comprises: determining a first message to be journaled, wherein the first message is sent to or from the first party; generating a first journaled message, wherein the first journaled message comprises a copy of the first message; storing the first journaled message and/or an encrypted version of the first journaled message at a storage location (Dillenberger, Paragraph 0037 recites “A computing node receives are request from a user or entity. The computing node is one of multiple computing nodes in a system using a blockchain protocol to share a transaction database. As described above, the transactions 250 are data to be stored in the blockchain 200 and the record blocks 210 are records that confirm when and in what sequence certain transaction became journaled as part of the blockchain 200.”).
But fails to teach causing a first blockchain transaction to be sent to a blockchain network to be recorded on a blockchain, wherein the first blockchain transaction comprises, in an output of the first blockchain transaction, a first hash generated by hashing at least the first journaled message.
However, in an analogous art Sun teaches causing a first blockchain transaction to be sent to a blockchain network to be recorded on a blockchain, wherein the first blockchain transaction comprises, in an output of the first blockchain transaction, a first hash generated by hashing at least the first journaled message (Sun, Paragraph 0088 recites “The system 100 may comprise one or more blockchain applications 144. A blockchain application 144 may comprise or function as blockchain logic stored in a memory 310, 410, which may be executable by the processor 302, 402, of a system server 300A and/or a client device 400. In some embodiments, a blockchain application 144 may perform interactions and transactions with a blockchain network 111 and generate one or more hash outputs which may be stored in a blockchain database 113. In further embodiments, a blockchain application 144 may generate, manage, create, or perform other functions relating to one or more cryptocurrency wallets 115 and their addresses. A blockchain application 144 may also perform one or more other functions as described herein.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use Sun’s
system and methods for verifying merchandise authenticity with Dillenberger’s Personal ledger blockchain because it offers the advantage of being able to verify the authenticity of the product in a blockchain transaction.
As per claim 2, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 1, Dillenberger further teaches wherein the first blockchain transaction has a first transaction identifier, and wherein the first journaled message and/or the encrypted version thereof is mapped to the first transaction identifier at the storage location (Dillenberger, Paragraph 0041 recites “In step 308, a block or record block 210 is added that records the new transaction with additional data in the blockchain 200. A transaction ID 218, 228, which is unique to each transaction in the blockchain is included. Optionally, a timestamp 214, 222, and/or category 216, 226 of the additional data is included 216, 226. Also, a hash 292 of a previous block 212, 290 combined with the current block 222 may be included as well to make tampering or changes to the blockchain 200 difficult.”).
As per claim 3, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 2, Dillenberger further teaches wherein the first blockchain transaction is recorded in a first block of the blockchain, wherein the first block has a first block number, and wherein the first journaled message and/or the encrypted version thereof is mapped to the first block number at the storage location (Dillenberger, Paragraph 0041 recites “In step 308, a block or record block 210 is added that records the new transaction with additional data in the blockchain 200. A transaction ID 218, 228, which is unique to each transaction in the blockchain is included. Optionally, a timestamp 214, 222, and/or category 216, 226 of the additional data is included 216, 226. Also, a hash 292 of a previous block 212, 290 combined with the current block 222 may be included as well to make tampering or changes to the blockchain 200 difficult.”).
As per claim 7, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 1, Dillenberger further teaches comprising: encrypting the first journaled message to generate the encrypted version of the first journaled message; and storing the encrypted version of the first journaled message at the storage location (Dillenberger, Paragraph 0038 recites “Typically the request received is signed by a user system to include a new transaction with additional data in the blockchain, where the additional data has been encrypted with an encryption key in step 306. The encryption key may be a symmetrical key, public-private key, other cryptographic key, or a combination thereof.”)
As per claim 8, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 1, Dillenberger further teaches wherein the encrypted version of the first journaled message is generated using a symmetric encryption scheme (Dillenberger, Paragraph 0034 recites “The data in each block 252, 272 can be encrypted with a symmetrical key, a public-private key or other cryptographic key.”).
As per claim 13, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 1, Dillenberger further teaches wherein said determining comprises determining whether the first message satisfies one or more conditions for journaling messages (Dillenberger, Paragraph 0037 recites “A computing node receives are request from a user or entity. The computing node is one of multiple computing nodes in a system using a blockchain protocol to share a transaction database. As described above, the transactions 250 are data to be stored in the blockchain 200 and the record blocks 210 are records that confirm when and in what sequence certain transaction became journaled as part of the blockchain 200.”).
As per claim 14, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 1, Dillenberger further teaches comprising: determining a plurality of respective messages to be journaled; generating a plurality of respective journaled messages, wherein each respective journaled message comprises a copy of the respective message; storing the plurality of respective journaled messages and/or respective encrypted versions of the respective journaled messages at the storage location; for each of the plurality of respective journaled messages, causing a respective blockchain transaction to be sent to the blockchain network to be recorded on the blockchain, wherein the respective blockchain transaction comprises a respective hash generated by hashing at least the respective journaled message (Dillenberger, Paragraph 0037 recites “A computing node receives are request from a user or entity. The computing node is one of multiple computing nodes in a system using a blockchain protocol to share a transaction database. As described above, the transactions 250 are data to be stored in the blockchain 200 and the record blocks 210 are records that confirm when and in what sequence certain transaction became journaled as part of the blockchain 200.”).
As per claim 15, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 14, Dillenberger further teaches comprising: encrypting each respective journaled message to generate the respective encrypted version of the respective journaled message; and storing each respective encrypted version of the respective journaled message at the storage location (Dillenberger, Paragraph 0038 recites “Typically the request received is signed by a user system to include a new transaction with additional data in the blockchain, where the additional data has been encrypted with an encryption key in step 306. The encryption key may be a symmetrical key, public-private key, other cryptographic key, or a combination thereof.”)
As per claim 18, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 2, Dillenberger further teaches comprising: receiving, from a requestor, a request to access the first journaled message; sending the first journaled message to the requestor (Dillenberger, Paragraphs 0044-0046 recites “In step 406, after the request is received with a transaction identifier 218, 228 and a decryption key from a user system to access data journaled as part of a blockchain 200. The transaction database is searched using the identifier for a corresponding block in the blockchain 200. In response to finding the corresponding block in the blockchain 200, decrypting the data using the decryption key in step 408. The data that has been decrypted is made available to the user system in step 410. A test is made in step 412 to determine if there is another request. In response to another request being received, the process returns to step 406, otherwise the process ends in step 414.”).
As per claim 20, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 18, Dillenberger further teaches comprising: providing a first transaction identifier to the requestor, wherein the first transaction identifier is associated with the first blockchain transaction (Dillenberger, Paragraphs 0044-0046 recites “In step 406, after the request is received with a transaction identifier 218, 228 and a decryption key from a user system to access data journaled as part of a blockchain 200. The transaction database is searched using the identifier for a corresponding block in the blockchain 200. In response to finding the corresponding block in the blockchain 200, decrypting the data using the decryption key in step 408. The data that has been decrypted is made available to the user system in step 410. A test is made in step 412 to determine if there is another request. In response to another request being received, the process returns to step 406, otherwise the process ends in step 414.”).
As per claim 21, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 18, Dillenberger further teaches comprising: causing a second blockchain transaction to be sent to the blockchain network to be recorded on the blockchain, wherein the second blockchain transaction comprises a second hash generated by double-hashing at least the first journaled message (Dillenberger, Paragraph 0033 recites “A hash function 290 and 292 is shown as part of the record blocks 210. In one implementation of a blockchain, the previously hash function 290 is input to a subsequent hash function 292, along with the transaction 1 as shown. This ensures that there has been no tampering or alteration of the data in the record blockchain.”).
Regarding claims 25 and 26, claims 25 and 26 are directed to a system and a non-transitory readable storage media associated with the method of claim 1. Claims 25 and 26 are of similar scope to claim 1, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillenberger (US 2017/0177898) and Sun et al. (US 2022/0405770) and in further view of Liu (US 2022/0239668).
As per claim 4, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the first message has a first message index, and wherein the first journaled message and/or the encrypted version thereof is mapped to the first message index at the storage location.
However, in an analogous art Liu teaches wherein the first message has a first message index, and wherein the first journaled message and/or the encrypted version thereof is mapped to the first message index at the storage location (Liu, Paragraph 0078 recites “The consensus parameters may include, but are not limited to: identification information of a message transmission node (also referred to as message index information), pointer data included in a message, block data included in the message, a block hash value in the block data, and an execution result of transaction data in the block data.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liu’s Blockchain-based message processing method and apparatus, device, and storage medium with Dillenberger’s Personal ledger blockchain because it offers the advantage of being able to help properly track and identify data in the network.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillenberger (US 2017/0177898) and Sun et al. (US 2022/0405770) and in further view of Triola et al. (US 2019/0319948).
As per claim 5, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to teach, wherein the first journaled message comprises first metadata associated with the first message.
However, in an analogous art Triola teaches wherein the first journaled message comprises first metadata associated with the first message (Triola, Paragraph 0030 recites “In another embodiment, application code may be configured for submitting, registering, transferring, recording submitting and/or storing transaction-related data, such as transaction ID, document ID and metadata (date and timestamp, author/owner) in a blockchain or other similar cryptography enabled digital ledger platforms.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use Triola’s Remote authentication and identification proofing systems and methods with Dillenberger’s Personal ledger blockchain because it offers the advantage of metadata which provides essential context and information about data assets, enabling organizations to manage, locate, and utilize their data effectively.
As per claim 6, Dillenberger in combination with Triola teaches the method of claim 5, Triola further teaches wherein the first metadata comprises one or more of: a sender of the first message, a recipient of the first message, a timestamp, a message type (Triola, Paragraph 0030 recites “In another embodiment, application code may be configured for submitting, registering, transferring, recording submitting and/or storing transaction-related data, such as transaction ID, document ID and metadata (date and timestamp, author/owner) in a blockchain or other similar cryptography enabled digital ledger platforms.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use Triola’s Remote authentication and identification proofing systems and methods with Dillenberger’s Personal ledger blockchain because it offers the advantage of metadata which provides essential context and information about data assets, enabling organizations to manage, locate, and utilize their data effectively.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillenberger (US 2017/0177898) and Sun et al. (US 2022/0405770) and in further view of Liao et al. (US 11,283,595).
As per claim 9, Dillenberger in combination with Sun teaches the method of claim 7, but fails to teach wherein the first journaled message has a first journaled message index, and wherein the method comprises: generating a hierarchal key structure comprising one or more layers of keys, each layer comprises one or more respective keys having respective key indexes, wherein the hierarchical key structure comprises a first branch of keys, and wherein encrypting the first journaled message comprises using a first encryption key derived from a first message key in the first branch of keys and having a first key index corresponding to the first journaled message index.
However, in an analogous art Liao teaches wherein the first journaled message has a first journaled message index, and wherein the method comprises: generating a hierarchal key structure comprising one or more layers of keys, each layer comprises one or more respective keys having respective key indexes, wherein the hierarchical key structure comprises a first branch of keys, and wherein encrypting the first journaled message comprises using a first encryption key derived from a first message key in the first branch of keys and having a first key index corresponding to the first journaled message index (Liao, Col. 9 Lines 14-27 recites “FIG. 5 illustrates a process 500 for deriving the storage key/address based on the user private key and the data cache identifier unique to the data cache, such as the data cache name. An example implementation for deriving the storage key/address implements a hierarchal deterministic key creation and transfer protocol that allows creating child keys from parent keys in a hierarchy, such as BIP32. The process begins in element 501. In element 503, the frontend client calls a procedure to obtain the user private key. In element 505, the client calls a procedure to determine a cache-specific index based on the data cache identifier. In element 507, the client calls a procedure to derive the storage key/address as a child key of the user private key, using the cache-specific identifier as the index.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liao’s Systems And Methods For Securing Cached Data Stored Off-chain In A Blockchain-based Network with Dillenberger’s Personal ledger blockchain because it offers the advantage of increasing the amount of storage available in the context of a blockchain-based network.
As per claim 10, Dillenberger in combination with Liao teaches the method of claim 9, Liao further teaches wherein the first blockchain transaction comprises a first spendable output locked to a first payment public key, wherein the hierarchical key structure comprises a second branch of keys, wherein the first payment public key is derived from a first payment key, and wherein the first payment key is derived from a first message key in the second branch of keys and having a first key index corresponding to the first journaled message index (Liao, Col. 2 Line 61 – Col. 3 Line 8 recites “First, a blockchain consists of a series of digital “blocks” that are securely linked together in sequential order using cryptography to create a virtual chain of data. These blocks record information such as financial transactions, agreements between parties, and ownership records, as shown in FIG. 1, which provides an overview of a blockchain network 100. In block 101 of FIG. 1, a transaction to transfer a digital coin from user A to user B is initiated by user A. In block 103, the transaction is broadcast to every node in the network. In block 105, the nodes form a consensus on whether the transaction is valid. In block 107, the nodes add valid transactions to a “block.” In step 109, the block is added to the blockchain. In step 111, the transaction is complete and the digital coin transfers to user B (e.g., user B).”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liao’s Systems And Methods For Securing Cached Data Stored Off-chain In A Blockchain-based Network with Dillenberger’s Personal ledger blockchain because it offers the advantage of increasing the amount of storage available in the context of a blockchain-based network.
As per claim 11, Dillenberger in combination with Liao teaches the method of claim 10, Liao further teaches wherein the first hash is stored in the first spendable output (Liao, Col. 9 Lines 28-42 recites “FIG. 6 shows an example implementation 600 of element 505. The process begins in element 601. In element 601, the frontend client creates a hash based at least on an identifier for the data cache. The identifier can be a name of the cache, such as “cache.contacts” or “collections.contacts.” The hash can also be based on a salt (data that is used as an additional input). The salt can be secret or non-secret, depending on the implementation. The salt can be based, for example, on the user's username and/or address used to login to the frontend client or other secret or non-secret information. The data cache identifier and the salt, if included, are input to a hash function. An example hash function can include the SHA-256 algorithm. The output of hash (hereinafter, the “hash”) can be, for example, hexadecimal value. The process ends at element 605.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liao’s Systems And Methods For Securing Cached Data Stored Off-chain In A Blockchain-based Network with Dillenberger’s Personal ledger blockchain because it offers the advantage of increasing the amount of storage available in the context of a blockchain-based network.
As per claim 12, Dillenberger in combination with Liao teaches the method of claim 10, Liao further teaches wherein the first hash is stored in an output other than the first spendable output (Liao, Col. 9 Lines 28-42 recites “FIG. 6 shows an example implementation 600 of element 505. The process begins in element 601. In element 601, the frontend client creates a hash based at least on an identifier for the data cache. The identifier can be a name of the cache, such as “cache.contacts” or “collections.contacts.” The hash can also be based on a salt (data that is used as an additional input). The salt can be secret or non-secret, depending on the implementation. The salt can be based, for example, on the user's username and/or address used to login to the frontend client or other secret or non-secret information. The data cache identifier and the salt, if included, are input to a hash function. An example hash function can include the SHA-256 algorithm. The output of hash (hereinafter, the “hash”) can be, for example, hexadecimal value. The process ends at element 605.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liao’s Systems And Methods For Securing Cached Data Stored Off-chain In A Blockchain-based Network with Dillenberger’s Personal ledger blockchain because it offers the advantage of increasing the amount of storage available in the context of a blockchain-based network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RODERICK . TOLENTINO
Examiner
Art Unit 2439
/RODERICK TOLENTINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439