DETAILED ACTION
Status
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for application no. 18867406 on November 19, 2024. Please note claims 1-19 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20190121115 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Zhang discloses: A display device (see Figs. 3-5), comprising:
a display (Fig. 2, [0022], [0023], display 175),
wherein the display device is configured to display, using light including infrared light, a high-temperature image portion representing a high-temperature object having a temperature higher than a predetermined temperature in response to an image displayed by the display including the high-temperature image portion (Figs. 3-5, [0023]-[0029], discloses the display device comprising relay optical system in which infrared light 122a will form an image on a photomultiplier tube 141 having a high gain through the display 175, a very weak infrared signal can be detected through the photomultiplier tube 141. Certainly, since a threshold is set to the infrared image, only the infrared target object having a temperature higher than the threshold (such as, human, animals, and vehicles) can be appeared in a clear starlight background. Since only the infrared targets having a temperature above a threshold (such as, vehicles, humans and animals having a temperature of 35-40° C.) can be embedded in the clear night vision background image, so that red (pseudo-color) humans or animals can be seen in the green fields and forests, which will be very helpful for night war and hunting).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Zhang discloses: An aerial image display device (see Fig. 3-5), comprising:
a display including a display surface (Fig. 2, [0022], [0023], display 175); and
a reflective optical system configured to reflect image light of an image displayed on the display surface and form an aerial image as a real image (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0021]-[0025], discloses the relay optical system for displaying the image of the object),
wherein the aerial image display device is configured to display, using light including infrared light, a high-temperature image portion representing a high-temperature object having a temperature higher than a predetermined temperature on the display surface in response to the image including the high-temperature image portion (Figs. 3-5, [0023]-[0029], discloses the display device comprising relay optical system in which infrared light 122a will form an image on a photomultiplier tube 141 having a high gain through the display 175, a very weak infrared signal can be detected through the photomultiplier tube 141. Certainly, since a threshold is set to the infrared image, only the infrared target object having a temperature higher than the threshold (such as, human, animals, and vehicles) can be appeared in a clear starlight background. Since only the infrared targets having a temperature above a threshold (such as, vehicles, humans and animals having a temperature of 35-40° C.) can be embedded in the clear night vision background image, so that red (pseudo-color) humans or animals can be seen in the green fields and forests, which will be very helpful for night war and hunting).
Regarding clam 13 (Currently Amended), Zhang teaches the limitations of parent claim 2. Zhang further teaches wherein the high-temperature object includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a person, an animal, a character, and a heat generating object ([0026], [0028], discloses the high temperature objects such as vehicles, humans and animals).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 3-12 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Kobayashi et al. (US 20150015460 A1) discloses general teachings of head mounted display system comprising specific-image control unit 165 identifies a region having temperature equal to or higher than the threshold on the basis of a temperature distribution image acquired by the thermography 62. The specific-image control unit 165 creates specific image data indicating a red image in a size same as the size of the identified region in order to cause the user to visually recognize that the temperature is equal to or higher than the threshold (Fig. 26, [0088]).
Mino et al. (US 20230019596 A1) discloses general teachings of relay optical system using concave/convex mirrors in projection type head mounted display device for projecting the image formed in display to user’s eye (see Fig. 6).
Uhlig (US 12007549 B1) discloses general teachings of a thermal sensor that detects infrared radiation emitted from the environment and generates an emission-based image (see abstract, Figs. 2-3).
However, the prior art, whether considered alone or in combination, fail to disclose the technical features of dependent claims 3-12 and 14-19, in the context of detailed structure/driving method of aerial image display device for displaying a high-temperature image portion representing a high-temperature object having a temperature higher than a predetermined temperature on the display surface in response to the image including the high- temperature image portion using light including infrared light, as a whole, in the manner claimed is not sufficiently taught or suggested in the prior art.
Conclusion
/KRISHNA P NEUPANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629