Applicant’s amendments and comments, received September 4, 2026, have been fully considered by the examiner. The Drawing Objection and 35 USC 112 issues are deemed to have been obviated by the response. The following is a complete response to the September 4, 2026 communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13 and 15-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pate et al (2019/0133678).
Regarding claim 1, Pate et al disclose a catheter comprising a catheter body (Figure 2, for example), a modification device (i.e. electrode) and a nesting region (i.e. magnetic attraction region). The modification device is configured to project from a working site of the catheter (Figure 1, for example) and the nesting region is configured to geometrically engage a nesting region of a second catheter (104 – Figure 1, for example).
Regarding claim 2, the modification device is an electrode (para. [0041], for example) and there is inherently a wire connecting the electrode to the energy source and controller. Regarding claim 3, the nesting region may be proximal to the working site (Figures 11A and 11B with a nesting region (1104) both proximal and distal to the working site (i.e. electrode 1102/1110). Regarding claim 4, the nesting regions is a channel (1100 – i.e. catheter lumen) with the electrode wire (1116) extending through the channel. Regarding claim 5, see again Figures 11A and 11B which shows nesting regions (i.e. magnets) proximal and distal of the electrode. Regarding claim 6, the nesting region is comprised of magnets (Figures 11A and 11B and associated discussion). Regarding claim 7, see again Figures 11A and 11B which show two catheters nesting at their respective nesting regions. Regarding claim 8, see again Figures 11A and 11B. Regarding claim 10, the catheter body comprises a fist portion having a first height (902 – Figure 9D, for example), a transition region (904) having a second height less than the first height and the transition region is positioned between the first portion (902) and the nesting region (908). Regarding claim 12, the catheter body (902 – Figure 9D) has a first height (i.e. diameter) and the maximum height of the nesting region (908) is greater than the first height. Regarding claim 13, the nesting region may comprise a tongue body (610) and a tongue projection (610) extending from the tongue body (Figure 6B, for example). Regarding claim 15, the modification device defines an active side of the catheter and the tongue projection extends from the tongue body from the active side of the catheter (Figure 6B, for example). Regarding claim 16, the nesting region (614) of the second catheter comprises a recess configured to receive the tongue of the first catheter (Figure 6B). Regarding claim 17, the nesting region comprises a groove body and a (606) and a groove recess (614) in the groove body (Figure 6B). Regarding claim 18, the modification device defines and active side of the catheter and the groove recess (614) is positioned on the active side of the catheter (Figure 6B). Regarding claim 19, the nesting region of the second catheter comprises a tongue projection (610 – Figure 6B) configured to be received in the groove recess.
Regarding claim 20, Pate et al provide a system for forming a fistula between two blood vessels (Abstract and para. [0003]) comprising a first catheter (600) comprising a first catheter body and a tongue, wherein the tongue comprises a tongue body and a tongue projection (610) that extends from the tongue body and the second catheter (606) comprises a second catheter body and a groove, the groove comprises a groove body and a groove recess (614) in the groove body and the groove recess is configured to receive the tongue projection (Figure 6B). The device includes a modification device (i.e. energy delivery means) to treat tissue as described throughout the specification. See, also, paragraph [0036]. Also note figures 7 and 8 which show one catheter (700) with a tongue (706) and a second catheter (800) with a groove having a recess (806) for receiving the tongue.
Regarding claim 21, the two catheters of Figure 6B and the two catheters of Figures 7 and 8 are designed to interlock to treat tissue as disclosed. Regarding claim 22, the first and second catheters are configured to be placed in first and second blood vessels (Abstract, for example). Regarding claim 23, the walls of the blood vessels are positioned within the groove and recess of the two catheters to capture tissue as claimed. Regarding claims 24 and 25, the Pate et al disclosure discusses the use of magnetic materials to attract the two catheters throughout the disclosure. Regarding claim 26, each catheter has a working site at the location of the nesting location (i.e. tongue and groove) as disclosed by Pate et al.
Claims 1-8, 10, 11, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohn et al (5,830,224).
Regarding claim 1, Cohn et al disclose a catheter comprising a catheter body (20), a modification device (i.e. electrode 114) and a nesting region (100A and 100B) wherein the modification device is configured to project from a working site of the catheter (Figures 9A-9D, for example) and the nesting region is configured to geometrically engage a nesting region of a second catheter (see Figure 12, for example, which shows both catheters engaged at their nesting regions).
Regarding claim 2, the modification device is an electrode (114) and an electrode wire (not shown in Figure 9, but inherently necessary and shown in Figure 14, for example). Regarding claim 3, the nesting region (100A) is proximal the working site (Figure 9). Regarding claim 4, the nesting region comprises a channel (112) and the electrode wire would have to extend through the channel to reach the electrode (114). Regarding claim 5, the nesting region (100B) is distal the working site. Regarding claims 6 and 7, the nesting region is made up of magnets that mate with the nesting region of a second catheter (Figure 12, for example). Regarding claim 8, the nesting region is made up of an array of magnets (100A and 100B) longitudinally positioned along the catheter body. Regarding claim 10, the catheter body comprises a first portion (proximal to 112 in Figure 9A) having a first height and a transition region (112) having a second height less that the first height, and the transition region is positioned between the first portion and the nesting region (100B). Regarding claim 11, the maximum height of the nesting region (100B) is equal to the first height of the catheter body. Regarding claims 17 and 18, the nesting region (i.e. distal end of the catheter) comprises a groove body (112) and a groove recess (110) positioned along an active side of the catheter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pate et al (2019/0133678) in view of the teaching of Verin et al (8,048,072).
Pate et al fail to disclose a ball bearing associated with either of the catheters. Verin et al disclose another device that includes two catheters disposed on opposing sides of tissue, with each catheter having a magnetic nesting region for attracting the other catheter. See Figure 9, for example. In particular, Verin et al teach that it is known to provide a ball bearing (25 – Figure 12) positioned adjacent the nesting region to allow for motion of the second catheter along tissue and to determine a distance traveled by the catheter. See also column 7, lines 13-20.
To have provided the Pate et al device with a ball bearing positioned adjacent the nesting region to allow the catheter to move along tissue would have been an obvious consideration for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since Verin et al fairly teach it is known to use such a ball bearing in a similar catheter system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Pate et al reference, applicant asserts that the Office Action does not identify a single Pate embodiment containing the three distinct structural elements of claim 1. The examiner disagrees. As asserted in the Office action, Pate et al provide a catheter body (clearly shown in the Figures, designated as 100 or 104 in Figure 1), a modification device (i.e. electrode, as clearly shown in all Figures and thoroughly discussed throughout the specification) and a nesting region (i.e. a magnetic surface as shown in the figures and thoroughly discussed throughout the specification). Nothing in the claim limitations require the modification device (i.e. electrode) or the nesting region (i.e. magnetic region) to be two distinct elements. That is, the electrode of Pate et al may be considered the modification device (since it delivers energy to tissue to modify tissue) and the magnetic surface of the electrode may be considered the “nesting region” as this is the surface that attracts the nesting region located on a second catheter. Additionally, it is noted that Pate et al do disclose the structure may be made from distinct elements comprising an electrode with a magnet attached thereto (Figure 10, for example). The examiner’s reliance on different figures/embodiments in no way affects the interpretation of the claim as each embodiment merely shows more detail of specific features or different arrangements for the same features. That is, there is a catheter, a modification device and a nesting region in every embodiment. Different embodiments may have a slightly different arrangements and/or shapes for the components, but they are present in all embodiments. As such, the reliance on different figures for different features does not involve a different combination of elements. For example, with regards to claim 3, the examiner makes reference to Figures 11A and 11B which has the same components from claim 1 of a catheter (1100 or 1108), a modification device (1102 or 1110) and a nesting region (1104 or 1112). Similarly, claim 13 recites a tongue projection, and Figure 6B shows a modification device and nesting region that includes these features. The modification and nesting device of Figure 6B would be for use in the same catheter embodiments disclosed by Pate et al as alternative “adhesion elements”. The examiner again asserts that the use of different figures does not involve the picking, choosing and combining various unrelated embodiments as argued by applicant. Rather, the use of different figures merely shows alternative options having different options for the same general features.
Regarding applicant’s arguments beginning on the last paragraph of page 10 of the response, the examiner maintains that the nesting region of Pate et al is made from magnetic material, and the nesting region (i.e. magnetic surface) is shaped to geometrically nest with a similar nesting region from a second catheter. The claim language does not require two different structures. Rather, there are two different properties, namely a geometric configuration and a magnetic property. The examiner maintains the Pate et al reference clearly meets the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 8, the claim language does not specifically require an array of magnets in addition to the nesting region. The claim merely calls for an array of magnets, which Pate et al clearly show in Figures 11A and 11B. It is the examiner’s position that the array of magnets of Pate et al may also serve as the “nesting region” within a reasonable interpretation of the claim language.
Regarding the arguments on pages 11 and 12 of the response, the examiner maintains that Pate et al anticipate the language as rejected. Regarding claim 20, applicant argues that Figures 7 and 8 do not read specifically on the claim. However, the examiner has primarily used Figure 6B, which clearly shows a tongue body and tongue projection. That the structure of Pate et al is unitary and does not provide a separate label for the main portion of the body and the projection (i.e. only label 610 is provided) does not mean that the structural elements are not clearly visible to the skilled artisan. Clearly Figure 6B provides a tongue body (i.e. the main block portion) and a tongue projection (labeled 610) that extends from the tongue body. Likewise, Figure 6B shows a groove body (i.e. main block portion not labeled) and a groove recess (labeled 614) within the groove body. It is not necessary for Pate et al to individually label each portion of the elements, particularly where the claims do not specifically require separate structures and the elements may be comprised of a solitary component.
Regarding claim 10 (arguments at pages 13 and 14 of the response), the applicant argues that an element that slides within another component is positioned inside it and is not a transition positioned between the element and the component. The examiner disagrees. Pate et al expressly state that the inner member (904) is slidable within and extendable from the outer catheter (902). As such, then the inner member is advanced from the outer catheter, there is a transition portion between the outer catheter and the nesting region. The claim does not provide any structural limitations that would define over such an interpretation of the elements. And while Pate et al does not use phrases such as “height”, or “transition region” or “nesting”, it is clear from the Figures that the claimed relationship is present. The outer catheter necessarily has a greater “height” than the transition region (i.e. inner catheter) as the inner catheter is located within the outer catheter and must have a smaller diameter (i.e. height). Regarding claim 12, the examiner maintains the relative height (i.e. diameter) of the elements is clearly shown in the drawings as described.
Regarding the Cohn reference, applicant argues that the Cohn attraction is produced solely by magnetic attraction, and not by complementary geometry. The examiner disagrees. There is no specific structural requirement for the recitation “geometrically engage”. Any two surfaces that may contact each other could broadly be said to “geometrically engage”, even if the two surfaces are not congruent. In the case of Cohn, the catheters have a linear section which are brought together by magnetic attraction from magnets located within the catheter such that the linear sections of the catheter may engage one another. The examiner maintains this is sufficient to read on the claimed limitations. Regarding claim 17, the examiner maintains that an opening in a catheter may be broadly interpreted as a “groove” as there is no structural limitation requiring more than an opening in a surface. Likewise, the “ramp” (110) may be considered a “groove recess” in that it is located within the groove and recessed relative to the catheter. Again, there is no explicit structural limitations in the claims that define the features beyond this broad interpretation.
Regarding claim 9, the examiner maintains there is sufficient suggestion for one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the ball bearing of Verin in the catheter system of Pate. In Verin, the ball bearing is located between the nesting area (i.e. magnets) and a proximal portion of the catheter as seen in Figure 12. As such, the examiner maintains all limitations are clearly shown by the prior art and there is sufficient suggestion to make the modification as presented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner agrees with applicant’s regarding the Drawing Objection and the 35 USC 112 issues regarding this claim. The prior art fails to disclose the specific spring biased tongue projection required by this claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/M.F.P/October 14, 2026