DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final office action.
Claims [1-3, 5-8, 10-16, 18-19, 23-24, and 26-27] are currently pending and have been examined based on their merits.
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 15, and 23 are newly amended see REMARKS May 29, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-16, 18-19, 23-24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception that is an abstract idea without a practical application or significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-16, and 18-19 recite a method (i.e. a process such as an act or series of steps), claims 23 and 26 recite an electronic device, and claim 24 and 27 recite a non-transitory computer-readable medium and therefore each claim falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A prong 1 (Is a judicial exception recited?):
The representative claims 1 and 23-24 recite: A method for ensuring data security of applications while enabling third-party access to the application, comprising: receiving a service order, the service order comprising an identifier of a first user, an identifier of a second user, and a service personnel list indicating a list of service personnel associated with the second user, wherein the service order indicates that the second user is to provide services for the first user; in response to the service order taking effect, granting a service personnel in the service personnel list access to log in as a collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user by establishing an association between the second user and the first user, wherein the restriction operation that can be performed by the service personnel during the real-time collaboration with the first user to limit interaction with data of the first user by the service personnel; and in response to terminating a service relationship between the service personnel and the first user deleting the association between the fie second user and the first user such that the target service personnel can no longer log in as the collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user.
Claims 15 and 26-27: An information processing method, comprising: generating a service order, the service order comprising an identifier of a first user, an identifier of a second user, and a service personnel list indicating a list of service personnel associated with the second user, the second user providing services for the first user; sending the service order to the first user to cause: grant a service personnel in the service personnel list access to log in as a collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user by establishing an association between the second user and the first user, wherein restricts operations that can be performed by the service personnel during the real-time collaboration with the first user to limit interaction with data of the fist user by the service personnel; and in response to terminating a service relationship between the servicer personnel and the first user, deleting the association between the second user and the first user such that the service personnel can no longer log in as the collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user.
The claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity. The claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity as the disclosure recites managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. The claims simply recite a series of steps to establish a relationship between a service personnel and a first user for providing service relating to a service order. The claims recite receiving a service order from a user and establishing an association between a user and a service personnel to provide services to the user. Therefore, the claims recite a method of managing the personal behavior of a user providing services in response to a service order from a user.
Alternatively, the claims recite a mental process. The claims merely recite a method for receiving a service order and establishing an association between a second user and a first user, wherein the second user is capable of providing services for the first user. The claims are found to merely recite a series of steps that can be performed in the human mind or with the use of a simple tool such as pen and paper. The claimed invention is found to be similar to concepts the courts have defined as a mental process including observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions. As a person would be capable of mentally receiving a service order including a service personnel list and establishing an association between a user and a service personnel that was included on the list that is capable of providing a service to the user as a collaborator.
Therefore, the claims are found to recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 (Is the exception integrated into a practical application?): The claims additionally recite additional elements, including;
Claim 1: a first application, a second application, the first application corresponding to the first user, the second application corresponding to the second user, login to the first application.
Claim 15: a first application and a second application, login to the first application.
Claim 23: An electronic device, the device comprises: a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured for storing instructions or a computer program; and the processor is configured for executing the instructions or computer program in the memory, a first application and a second application, login to the first application.
Claim 24: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed by a device, cause the device to implement the method.
Claim 26: An electronic device, the device comprises: a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured for storing instructions or a computer program; and the processor is configured for executing the instructions or computer program in the memory, to cause the electronic device to implement the method.
Claim 27: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed by a device, cause the device to implement the method.
The additional elements of a system of a generic computer elements performing the abstract idea are directed to merely reciting instructions to apply a generic computer and technology to execute the method in the recited claim limitations.
The claim limitations recite mere instructions to implement the abstract idea of receiving a service order sent by a user and establishing an association between a first and second user by using generic computer elements such as a first and second client.
Therefore, the limitations merely amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) to the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, a method for transmitting, receiving, and processing information does not amount to improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a), applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(b), effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(c), or applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(e).
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As the claims are merely directed to utilizing a computer to perform the steps of storing, determining, and outputting information which are not significant improvements to the functionality of a generic computer and are directed to merely “apply it” or applying the abstract idea on a computer.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?):
As discussed above, the additional imitations amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, and merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements of a system comprising generic computer elements to receive a service order and establish an association between a first user corresponding to a first client and a second user corresponding to a second client but are merely used to perform the abstract idea of generating a request and obtaining the one or more requested content items. Therefore, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 2-3, 5-8, 10-14, 16, and 18-19 further narrow the abstract idea of managing the association between a first user and a second user in a service personnel list for providing a service as recited in the independent claims 1, 15, 23-24 and 26-27.
The dependent claims do not recite any further additional elements that were not disclosed in the above analysis.
Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-16, 18-19, 23-24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11, 15, 23-24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan (US 2016/0352908) in view of Ellingson (US 2014/0032670).
Claims 1 and 23-24: Sloan discloses (Claim 1) a method for ensuring data security of applications while enabling third-party access to the application, comprising: (Claim 23) An electronic device, the device comprises: a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured for storing instructions or a computer program; and the processor is configured for executing the instructions or computer program in the memory, to cause the electronic device to implement an information processing method, applied to a first client, comprising: (Claim 24) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed by a device, cause the device to implement the method according to claim 1 (Paragraph [0022-0024]): receiving, by a first application, a service order sent by a second application, the service order comprising an identifier of a first user associated with the first application, an identifier of a second user associated with the second application, and a service personnel list of the service personnel associated with the second user, wherein the service order indicates that the second user is to provide services for the first user (Paragraph [0004]; [0021]; [0079-0080] embodiments of the invention provide systems and methods for providing a roster of recommended subject matter experts on a topic related to an ongoing customer contact session. Facilitating collaboration in a contact center can comprise initiating a session between a customer contact and a customer service agent in response to a request from the customer. The customer service agent can be selected from a plurality of customer service agents based on incident information related to the request from the customer and skills information for each of the plurality of customer service agents. In other embodiments, one or more of the components of the system and/or the services provided by these components may also be implemented by one or more of the client computing devices. Users operating the client computing devices may then utilize one or more client applications to use the services provided by the components. The customer relationship management (CRM) system can support any number of users, such as end users of a product or service, can receive requests for support or service from those users, and process those requests in order to connect or direct the requesting users to one or more agents for answers to questions posed in the request. For example, a support interface module of the CRM system can provide one or more interfaces including but not limited to web pages, email addresses, phone lines, chat and/or instant messaging, and/or any of a variety of other communication channels to customer users for the system. Once received, these requests and/or customer contacts can be evaluated by the agent workflow module to select an agent workflow. The product information, selected workflow, and other information received with the request can be forwarded to a routing module of an automated call distribution system which can then direct the request or contact to a selected agent);
Sloan discloses a system for recommending a roster of subject matter experts to help a user to resolve an issue. However, Sloan does not specifically disclose the following claim limitations: in response to the service order taking effect, granting a service personnel in the service personnel list access to log into the first application as a collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user by establishing an association within the first application between the second user and the first user, wherein the first application restricts operations that can be performed by the service personnel during the real-time collaboration with the first user to limit interaction with data of the first user by the service personnel; in response to terminating a service relationship between the service personnel and the first user, deleting the association within the first application between the second user and the first user such that the service personnel can no longer log into the first application as the collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user.
In the same field of endeavor of managing a collaboration communication session Ellingson teaches in response to the service order taking effect, granting a service personnel in the service personnel list access to log into the first application as a collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user by establishing an association within the first application between the second user and the first user, wherein the first application restricts operations that can be performed by the service personnel during the real-time collaboration with the first user to limit interaction with data of the first user by the service personnel (Paragraph [0003-0004]; [0009]; [0028]; [0033]; Fig. 3, the subject matter relates to computer implemented method including receiving a request form a user to add one or more user groups to a communication session. The method further includes determining if one or more access rights restrictions are associated with the session, wherein the one or more access rights of user authorized to join the communication session. Wherein the one or more access rights restrictions comprise a list of one or more users authorized to join the session. The entire communication environment may be associated with one or more access control lists. An access control list is a list of permissions attached to one or more objects. The list specifies which users are granted access to objects. User groups are dynamic such that users may be added or removed form a group. The operations may include user access rights to remove other users, to edit objects, to modify session restrictions, etc.);
in response to terminating a service relationship between the service personnel and the first user, deleting the association within the first application between the second user and the first user such that the service personnel can no longer log into the first application as the collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user (Paragraph [0003-0004]; [0009]; [0028]; [0033]; Fig. 3, the subject matter relates to computer implemented method including receiving a request form a user to add one or more user groups to a communication session. The method further includes determining if one or more access rights restrictions are associated with the session, wherein the one or more access rights of user authorized to join the communication session. Wherein the one or more access rights restrictions comprise a list of one or more users authorized to join the session. The entire communication environment may be associated with one or more access control lists. An access control list is a list of permissions attached to one or more objects. The list specifies which users are granted access to objects. User groups are dynamic such that users may be added or removed form a group. The operations may include user access rights to remove other users, to edit objects, to modify session restrictions, etc.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing a roster of collaborators for a service ticket as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of in response to the service order taking effect, granting a service personnel in the service personnel list access to log into the first application as a collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user by establishing an association within the first application between the second user and the first user, wherein the first application restricts operations that can be performed by the service personnel during the real-time collaboration with the first user to limit interaction with data of the first user by the service personnel; in response to terminating a service relationship between the service personnel and the first user, deleting the association within the first application between the second user and the first user such that the service personnel can no longer log into the first application as the collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user as taught by Ellingson. With the motivation of helping to manage user access during a real-time collaboration or communication session (Ellingson [0002]).
Claim 2: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 1. Sloan further discloses wherein after receiving the service order, the method further comprising: in response to receiving a confirmation operation triggered for the service order and a selection operation triggered in the service personnel list, selecting the service personnel from the service personnel list, and adding the selected service personnel as a collaborator of the first application (Paragraph [0004]; [0018]; [0079-0080] embodiments of the invention provide systems and methods for providing a roster of recommended subject matter experts on a topic related to an ongoing customer contact session. Facilitating collaboration in a contact center can comprise initiating a session between a customer contact and a customer service agent in response to a request from the customer. The customer service agent can be selected from a plurality of customer service agents based on incident information related to the request from the customer and skills information for each of the plurality of customer service agents. Embodiments of the invention provide system and methods for facilitating collaboration in a contact center. Embodiments of the present invention provide a roster of recommended subject matter experts on a topic related to an ongoing customer contact session. The system can then recommend possible contributors in a ranked order based on how well each collaborator’s skills match the requirements of the incident. The customer relationship management (CRM) system can support any number of users, such as end users of a product or service, can receive requests for support or service from those users, and process those requests in order to connect or direct the requesting users to one or more agents for answers to questions posed in the request. For example, a support interface module of the CRM system can provide one or more interfaces including but not limited to web pages, email addresses, phone lines, chat and/or instant messaging, and/or any of a variety of other communication channels to customer users for the system. Once received, these requests and/or customer contacts can be evaluated by the agent workflow module to select an agent workflow. The product information, selected workflow, and other information received with the request can be forwarded to a routing module of an automated call distribution system which can then direct the request or contact to a selected agent).
Claim 10: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 1. Sloan further discloses the method further comprising: displaying a collaborator list, the collaborator list comprising service personnels in the service personnel list (Paragraph [0082-0084]; [0088]; Fig. 6, according to one embodiment, a list or roster of potential collaborators can be generated and provided to the agent in response to the request so that the agent can quickly and easily select an appropriate subject matter expert to collaborate with).
Claim 11: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 10. Sloan further discloses wherein the collaborator list further comprises an external identifier configured to indicate that the service personnel is an external collaborator (Paragraph [0082-0084] according to one embodiment, a list or roster of potential collaborators can be generated and provided to the agent in response to the request so that the agent can quickly and easily select an appropriate subject matter expert to collaborate with. These subject matter experts can be other customer service agents, or other users such as developers, managers, etc.).
Claims 15 and 26-27: Sloan discloses (Claim 15) An information processing method, applied to a second application, comprising: (Claim 26) An electronic device, the device comprises: a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured for storing instructions or a computer program; and the processor is configured for executing the instructions or computer program in the memory, to cause the electronic device to implement the method according to claim 15 (Claim 27) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed by a device, cause the device to implement the method according to claim 15 (Paragraph [0022-0024]): generating a service order, the service order comprising an identifier of a first user, an identifier of a second user, and a service personnel list indicating a list of service personnel associated with the second user, the second user corresponding to the second application, the second user providing services for the first user (Paragraph [0004]; [0021]; [0079-0080] embodiments of the invention provide systems and methods for providing a roster of recommended subject matter experts on a topic related to an ongoing customer contact session. Facilitating collaboration in a contact center can comprise initiating a session between a customer contact and a customer service agent in response to a request from the customer. The customer service agent can be selected from a plurality of customer service agents based on incident information related to the request from the customer and skills information for each of the plurality of customer service agents. In other embodiments, one or more of the components of the system and/or the services provided by these components may also be implemented by one or more of the client computing devices. Users operating the client computing devices may then utilize one or more client applications to use the services provided by the components. The customer relationship management (CRM) system can support any number of users, such as end users of a product or service, can receive requests for support or service from those users, and process those requests in order to connect or direct the requesting users to one or more agents for answers to questions posed in the request. For example, a support interface module of the CRM system can provide one or more interfaces including but not limited to web pages, email addresses, phone lines, chat and/or instant messaging, and/or any of a variety of other communication channels to customer users for the system. Once received, these requests and/or customer contacts can be evaluated by the agent workflow module to select an agent workflow. The product information, selected workflow, and other information received with the request can be forwarded to a routing module of an automated call distribution system which can then direct the request or contact to a selected agent);
sending the service order to a first application corresponding to the first user to cause the first application to: (Paragraph [0004]; [0079]; Fig. 4, embodiments of the invention provide systems and method for providing a roster of recommended subject matter experts on a topic related to an ongoing customer contact session. Facilitating collaboration in a contact center can comprise initiating a session between a customer contact and a customer service agent in response to a request from the customer. The customer service agent can be selected from a plurality of agents. The CRM system can support a number of users, such as end users, can receive request for support or service from those users, and process those requests in order to connect the requesting user or one or more agents).
Sloan discloses a system for recommending a roster of subject matter experts to help a user to resolve an issue. However, Sloan does not specifically disclose the following claim limitations: grant a service personnel in the service personnel list access to log into the first application as a collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user by establishing an association within the first application between the second user and the first user, wherein the first application restricts operations that can be performed by the service personnel during the real-time collaboration with the first user to limit interaction with data of the first user by the service personnel; and in response to terminating a service relationship between the service personnel and the first user, deleting the association within the first application between the second suer and the first user such that the service personnel can no longer log into the first application as the collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user.
In the same field of endeavor of grating a third party user access to a service to provide help Ellingson teaches grant a service personnel in the service personnel list access to log into the first application as a collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user by establishing an association within the first application between the second user and the first user, wherein the first application restricts operations that can be performed by the service personnel during the real-time collaboration with the first user to limit interaction with data of the first user by the service personnel ([Col. 1 ll. 53-67]; [Col. 2 ll. 53-Col. 3 ll. 18]; [Col. 5 ll. 3-27]; [Col. 11 ll. 7-56]; Figs. 3 and 11, techniques are described that facilitate a user granting permission to another user to impersonate the user while interacting with a network-based resource for a specified period. For example, in the context of a computing service, in order for a customer service or technical support representative to identify a problem the user is experiencing, it is desirable for the network-based resource to function in the same manner. The present disclosure allows for the user to grant a permission allowing the support representative to impersonate the user for a specified period. The service provider environment may comprise a plurality of server computers or any other computing devices or systems providing computing capability. In one embodiment, the service provider environment includes one or more systems configured to effectuate a user identification and authentication service which can be used to authenticate a user that attempts to log into a network-based resource by the service provider to access information from a user’s account or to access applications or data that is attached to the authenticated user. Users may not all have the same access rights within the service provider environment. Particular access rights are attached or assigned to particular users that define what services a user is entitled to access. In one embodiment, a third-party support group or entity not directly associated with the network-based resource may be enlisted by the user to provide technical support and thereby be granted permission by the user to access the user data. In one embodiment the user may have a management software tool for granting permission to a technical support representative. At some point the grant of permission expires. Expiry can take place when any of the following events occur: after a predetermined time period, or some other time period selectable by the user; upon command by the user; or upon any combination);
and in response to terminating a service relationship between the service personnel and the first user, deleting the association within the first application between the second suer and the first user such that the service personnel can no longer log into the first application as the collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user (Paragraph [0003-0004]; [0009]; [0028]; [0033]; Fig. 3, the subject matter relates to computer implemented method including receiving a request form a user to add one or more user groups to a communication session. The method further includes determining if one or more access rights restrictions are associated with the session, wherein the one or more access rights of user authorized to join the communication session. Wherein the one or more access rights restrictions comprise a list of one or more users authorized to join the session. The entire communication environment may be associated with one or more access control lists. An access control list is a list of permissions attached to one or more objects. The list specifies which users are granted access to objects. User groups are dynamic such that users may be added or removed form a group. The operations may include user access rights to remove other users, to edit objects, to modify session restrictions, etc.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing a roster of collaborators for a service ticket as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of in response to the service order taking effect, granting a service personnel in the service personnel list access to log into the first application as a collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user by establishing an association within the first application between the second user and the first user, wherein the first application restricts operations that can be performed by the service personnel during the real-time collaboration with the first user to limit interaction with data of the first user by the service personnel; in response to terminating a service relationship between the service personnel and the first user, deleting the association within the first application between the second user and the first user such that the service personnel can no longer log into the first application as the collaborator for real-time collaboration with the first user as taught by Ellingson. With the motivation of helping to manage user access during a real-time collaboration or communication session (Ellingson [0002]).
Claims 3, 5-7, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan (US 2016/0352908) in view of Ellingson (US 2014/0032670) further in view of Lim (US 2021/0012270).
Claim 3: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Sloan does not disclose the method further comprising at least one of: in response to receiving an add request for adding a new service personnel in the service personnel list and a confirmation operation triggered for the add request, determining the added new service personnel as a collaborator of the first application; or in response to a rejection operation triggered for the add request or no operation triggered for the add request within a first preset time, deleting the added new service personnel from the service personnel list.
In the same field of endeavor of managing users for a collaborative project Lim teaches the method further comprising at least one of: in response to receiving an add request for adding a new service personnel in the service personnel list and a confirmation operation triggered for the add request, determining the added new service personnel as a collaborator of the first application; or in response to a rejection operation triggered for the add request or no operation triggered for the add request within a first preset time, deleting the added new service personnel from the service personnel list (Paragraph [0018]; [0042-0044]; [0051]; [0093] the sharing workflow allows the user to identify one or more other users with which to chare the collaboration project. As part of the sharing workflow, the user can input a request via the collaboration system UI to manage (e.g. create or edit) a group. A group refers to a collection of multiple individual users. In response to a request to share the collaboration project with the group the collaboration system UI causes an invitation to access the project to be sent to the members of the group. The system interface module also receives responses to these requests from the contact management module and provides those responses to the project collaboration system. Similarly, the group editing module allows a user to edit a group while in the collaboration project sharing workflow. The group editing module receives user requests to change information regarding groups (e.g. add members, remove members, change permissions, and so forth). Thus the information for the group can be changed through the same UI as is used to create and share the collaboration project. In one or more implementation, the group creation module also allows the user to specify, via the UI, permissions for the group. Permissions for the group include an indication of who can edit the group information (e.g. add users, remove users, change permissions, and so forth). For example, one permission setting may be that any member of the group can edit the group information. Another example of the system UI. A “x” symbol is displayed adjacent to the group name and selection of the “x” symbol causes the group creation module to remove that group from the invitees to access the collaboration project).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing a roster of collaborators for a service ticket as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of the method further comprising at least one of: in response to receiving an add request for adding a new service personnel in the service personnel list and a confirmation operation triggered for the add request, determining the added new service personnel as a collaborator of the first client; or in response to a rejection operation triggered for the add request or no operation triggered for the add request within a first preset time, deleting the added new service personnel from the service personnel list as taught by Lim (Lim [0018]). With the motivation of helping to provide an interface for managing collaborators on a project and designated permissions of users (Lim [0002]).
Claim 5: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Sloan does not disclose the method further comprising: deleting the service personnel from the service personnel list.
In the same field of endeavor of managing users for a collaborative project Lim teaches the method further comprising: deleting the service personnel from the service personnel list (Paragraph [0018]; [0042-0044]; [0051]; [0093] the sharing workflow allows the user to identify one or more other users with which to chare the collaboration project. As part of the sharing workflow, the user can input a request via the collaboration system UI to manage (e.g. create or edit) a group. A group refers to a collection of multiple individual users. In response to a request to share the collaboration project with the group the collaboration system UI causes an invitation to access the project to be sent to the members of the group. The system interface module also receives responses to these requests from the contact management module and provides those responses to the project collaboration system. Similarly, the group editing module allows a user to edit a group while in the collaboration project sharing workflow. The group editing module receives user requests to change information regarding groups (e.g. add members, remove members, change permissions, and so forth). Thus the information for the group can be changed through the same UI as is used to create and share the collaboration project. In one or more implementation, the group creation module also allows the user to specify, via the UI, permissions for the group. Permissions for the group include an indication of who can edit the group information (e.g. add users, remove users, change permissions, and so forth). For example, one permission setting may be that any member of the group can edit the group information. Another example of the system UI. A “x” symbol is displayed adjacent to the group name and selection of the “x” symbol causes the group creation module to remove that group from the invitees to access the collaboration project).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing a roster of collaborators for a service ticket as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of the method further comprising: in response to a target service personnel terminating service relationship with the first user, canceling a collaborator identity of the target service personnel, wherein the target service personnel comprises one or more service personnels in the service personnel list; deleting the target service personnel from the service personnel list as taught by Lim (Lim [0018]). With the motivation of helping to provide an interface for managing collaborators on a project and designated permissions of users (Lim [0002]).
Claim 6: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Sloan does not disclose wherein deleting the association within the first application between the second and first user comprises: in response to the service personnel terminating service relationship with the first user and service resources managed by the service personnel having been transferred, canceling the collaborator identity of a service personnel.
In the same field of endeavor of managing users for a collaborative project Lim teaches wherein deleting the association within the first application between the second and first user comprises: in response to the service personnel terminating service relationship with the first user and service resources managed by the service personnel having been transferred, canceling the collaborator identity of a service personnel (Paragraph [0018]; [0042-0044]; [0051]; [0093] the sharing workflow allows the user to identify one or more other users with which to chare the collaboration project. As part of the sharing workflow, the user can input a request via the collaboration system UI to manage (e.g. create or edit) a group. A group refers to a collection of multiple individual users. In response to a request to share the collaboration project with the group the collaboration system UI causes an invitation to access the project to be sent to the members of the group. The system interface module also receives responses to these requests from the contact management module and provides those responses to the project collaboration system. Similarly, the group editing module allows a user to edit a group while in the collaboration project sharing workflow. The group editing module receives user requests to change information regarding groups (e.g. add members, remove members, change permissions, and so forth). Thus the information for the group can be changed through the same UI as is used to create and share the collaboration project. In one or more implementation, the group creation module also allows the user to specify, via the UI, permissions for the group. Permissions for the group include an indication of who can edit the group information (e.g. add users, remove users, change permissions, and so forth). For example, one permission setting may be that any member of the group can edit the group information. Another example of the system UI. A “x” symbol is displayed adjacent to the group name and selection of the “x” symbol causes the group creation module to remove that group from the invitees to access the collaboration project).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing a roster of collaborators for a service ticket as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of wherein the canceling a collaborator identity of the target service personnel, in response to a target service personnel terminating service relationship with the first user, comprises: in response to the target service personnel terminating service relationship with the first user and service resources managed by the target service personnel having been transferred, canceling the collaborator identity of the target service personnel as taught by Lim (Lim [0018]). With the motivation of helping to provide an interface for managing collaborators on a project and designated permissions of users (Lim [0002]).
Claim 7: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Sloan does not disclose wherein the target service personnel terminating the service relationship with the first user comprises one or more of: the service order expires and is not renewed within a specified time, the service personnel terminates a service relationship with the second user, the service personnel is removed from the service personnel list by the first user, the service personnel is removed from the service personnel list by the second user.
In the same field of endeavor of managing users for a collaborative project Lim teaches wherein the service personnel terminating the service relationship with the first user comprises one or more of: the service order expires and is not renewed within a specified time, the service personnel terminates a service relationship with the second user, the service personnel is removed from the service personnel list by the first user, the service personnel is removed from the service personnel list by the second user (Paragraph [0018]; [0042-0044]; [0051]; [0093] the sharing workflow allows the user to identify one or more other users with which to chare the collaboration project. As part of the sharing workflow, the user can input a request via the collaboration system UI to manage (e.g. create or edit) a group. A group refers to a collection of multiple individual users. In response to a request to share the collaboration project with the group the collaboration system UI causes an invitation to access the project to be sent to the members of the group. The system interface module also receives responses to these requests from the contact management module and provides those responses to the project collaboration system. Similarly, the group editing module allows a user to edit a group while in the collaboration project sharing workflow. The group editing module receives user requests to change information regarding groups (e.g. add members, remove members, change permissions, and so forth). Thus the information for the group can be changed through the same UI as is used to create and share the collaboration project. In one or more implementation, the group creation module also allows the user to specify, via the UI, permissions for the group. Permissions for the group include an indication of who can edit the group information (e.g. add users, remove users, change permissions, and so forth). For example, one permission setting may be that any member of the group can edit the group information. Another example of the system UI. A “x” symbol is displayed adjacent to the group name and selection of the “x” symbol causes the group creation module to remove that group from the invitees to access the collaboration project).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing a roster of collaborators for a service ticket as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of wherein the target service personnel terminating service relationship with the first user comprises one or more of: the service order expires and is not renewed within a specified time, the target service personnel terminates service relationship with the second user, the target service personnel is removed from the service personnel list by the first user, the target service personnel is removed from the service personnel list by the second user as taught by Lim (Lim [0018]). With the motivation of helping to provide an interface for managing collaborators on a project and designated permissions of users (Lim [0002]).
Claim 16: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 15. However, Sloan does not disclose the method further comprising at least one of: in response to receiving a confirmation operation triggered for the service order and an effective time of the service order is reached, determining that the service order is in an effective state; or generating a renewal order in response to imminent expiration of a service term of the service order, wherein an effective time of the renewal order is later than an expiration time of the service order; sending the renewal order to the first application.
In the same field of endeavor of managing users for a collaborative project Lim teaches the method further comprising at least one of: in response to receiving a confirmation operation triggered for the service order and an effective time of the service order is reached, determining that the service order is in an effective state; or generating a renewal order in response to imminent expiration of a service term of the service order, wherein an effective time of the renewal order is later than an expiration time of the service order; sending the renewal order to the first application (Paragraph [0018]; [0042-0044]; [0051]; [0093] the sharing workflow allows the user to identify one or more other users with which to chare the collaboration project. As part of the sharing workflow, the user can input a request via the collaboration system UI to manage (e.g. create or edit) a group. A group refers to a collection of multiple individual users. In response to a request to share the collaboration project with the group the collaboration system UI causes an invitation to access the project to be sent to the members of the group. The system interface module also receives responses to these requests from the contact management module and provides those responses to the project collaboration system. Similarly, the group editing module allows a user to edit a group while in the collaboration project sharing workflow. The group editing module receives user requests to change information regarding groups (e.g. add members, remove members, change permissions, and so forth). Thus the information for the group can be changed through the same UI as is used to create and share the collaboration project. In one or more implementation, the group creation module also allows the user to specify, via the UI, permissions for the group. Permissions for the group include an indication of who can edit the group information (e.g. add users, remove users, change permissions, and so forth). For example, one permission setting may be that any member of the group can edit the group information. Another example of the system UI. A “x” symbol is displayed adjacent to the group name and selection of the “x” symbol causes the group creation module to remove that group from the invitees to access the collaboration project).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing a roster of collaborators for a service ticket as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of the method further comprising at least one of: in response to receiving a confirmation operation triggered for the service order and an effective time of the service order is reached, determining that the service order is in an effective state; or generating a renewal order in response to imminent expiration of a service term of the service order, wherein an effective time of the renewal order is later than an expiration time of the service order; sending the renewal order to the first client as taught by Lim (Lim [0018]). With the motivation of helping to provide an interface for managing collaborators on a project and designated permissions of users (Lim [0002]).
Claim 18: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 16. However, Sloan does not disclose the method further comprising: in response to receiving a trigger operation of adding a new service personnel to the service personnel list, sending activation information to a client corresponding to the new service personnel to be added; in response to receiving an operation triggered for the activation information, sending an add request to the first application.
In the same field of endeavor of managing users for a collaborative project Lim teaches the method further comprising: in response to receiving a trigger operation of adding a new service personnel to the service personnel list, sending activation information to a client corresponding to the new service personnel to be added; in response to receiving an operation triggered for the activation information, sending an add request to the first application (Paragraph [0018]; [0042-0044]; [0051]; [0093] the sharing workflow allows the user to identify one or more other users with which to chare the collaboration project. As part of the sharing workflow, the user can input a request via the collaboration system UI to manage (e.g. create or edit) a group. A group refers to a collection of multiple individual users. In response to a request to share the collaboration project with the group the collaboration system UI causes an invitation to access the project to be sent to the members of the group. The system interface module also receives responses to these requests from the contact management module and provides those responses to the project collaboration system. Similarly, the group editing module allows a user to edit a group while in the collaboration project sharing workflow. The group editing module receives user requests to change information regarding groups (e.g. add members, remove members, change permissions, and so forth). Thus the information for the group can be changed through the same UI as is used to create and share the collaboration project. In one or more implementation, the group creation module also allows the user to specify, via the UI, permissions for the group. Permissions for the group include an indication of who can edit the group information (e.g. add users, remove users, change permissions, and so forth). For example, one permission setting may be that any member of the group can edit the group information. Another example of the system UI. A “x” symbol is displayed adjacent to the group name and selection of the “x” symbol causes the group creation module to remove that group from the invitees to access the collaboration project).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing a roster of collaborators for a service ticket as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of the method further comprising: in response to receiving a trigger operation of adding a new service personnel to the service personnel list, sending activation information to a client corresponding to the new service personnel to be added; in response to receiving an operation triggered for the activation information, sending an add request to the first client as taught by Lim (Lim [0018]). With the motivation of helping to provide an interface for managing collaborators on a project and designated permissions of users (Lim [0002]).
Claim 19: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 18. However, Sloan does not disclose the method further comprising at least one of: in response to not receiving an operation triggered for the activation information within a second preset time, deleting the service personnel from the service personnel list; or in response to receiving a rejection operation triggered for the add request or receiving no operation triggered for the add request within a first preset time, deleting the added new service personnel from the service personnel list.
In the same field of endeavor of managing users for a collaborative project Lim teaches the method further comprising at least one of: in response to not receiving an operation triggered for the activation information within a second preset time, deleting the service personnel from the service personnel list; or in response to receiving a rejection operation triggered for the add request or receiving no operation triggered for the add request within a first preset time, deleting the added new service personnel from the service personnel list (Paragraph [0018]; [0042-0044]; [0051]; [0093] the sharing workflow allows the user to identify one or more other users with which to chare the collaboration project. As part of the sharing workflow, the user can input a request via the collaboration system UI to manage (e.g. create or edit) a group. A group refers to a collection of multiple individual users. In response to a request to share the collaboration project with the group the collaboration system UI causes an invitation to access the project to be sent to the members of the group. The system interface module also receives responses to these requests from the contact management module and provides those responses to the project collaboration system. Similarly, the group editing module allows a user to edit a group while in the collaboration project sharing workflow. The group editing module receives user requests to change information regarding groups (e.g. add members, remove members, change permissions, and so forth). Thus the information for the group can be changed through the same UI as is used to create and share the collaboration project. In one or more implementation, the group creation module also allows the user to specify, via the UI, permissions for the group. Permissions for the group include an indication of who can edit the group information (e.g. add users, remove users, change permissions, and so forth). For example, one permission setting may be that any member of the group can edit the group information. Another example of the system UI. A “x” symbol is displayed adjacent to the group name and selection of the “x” symbol causes the group creation module to remove that group from the invitees to access the collaboration project).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing a roster of collaborators for a service ticket as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of the method further comprising at least one of: in response to not receiving an operation triggered for the activation information within a second preset time, deleting the service personnel from the service personnel list; or in response to receiving a rejection operation triggered for the add request or receiving no operation triggered for the add request within a first preset time, deleting the added new service personnel from the service personnel list as taught by Lim (Lim [0018]). With the motivation of helping to provide an interface for managing collaborators on a project and designated permissions of users (Lim [0002]).
Claims 8 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan (US 2016/0352908) in view of Ellingson (US 2014/0032670) further in view of Nelson (US 2019/0130413).
Claim 8: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Sloan does not disclose wherein the method further comprising at least one of: In response to receiving a suspension operation triggered for an account of the service personnel, setting the account of the service personnel to a suspended state, wherein, the account is configured for the service personnel to log onto the first application; or in response to receiving a recovery operation triggered for the account of the service personnel, setting the account of the service personnel to a normal state, so that the target service personnel logs onto the first application with the account to provide services for the first user.
In the same field of endeavor of assigning agents to a ticket Nelson teaches wherein the method further comprising at least one of: In response to receiving a suspension operation triggered for an account of the service personnel, setting the account of the service personnel to a suspended state, wherein, the account is configured for the service personnel to log onto the first application; or in response to receiving a recovery operation triggered for the account of the service personnel, setting the account of the service personnel to a normal state, so that the service personnel logs onto the first application with the account to provide services for the first user (Paragraph [0005]; [0039]; [0051-0052]; [0056] the method further comprises using the ticketing and reporting system, generating an unassigned ticket using the data received from the first client device, and generating and displaying, using a display of a second client device, the unassigned ticket to an agent. In another embodiment, the method further comprises, in response to assigning the ticket to the agent, displaying a collaboration option in association with the ticket, receiving input selecting the collaboration option, assigning the ticket to one or more collaborating agents, and storing collaboration assignment information in a database. The client device may execute a ticket management application, which allows agents to manage, assign, and collaborate on one or more tickets. The ticket management application may feature unassigned tickets and the technical area of expertise that the unassigned ticket pertains to. The assigned ticket may also feature a respective status associated with each ticket. The status may be for example, a pending ticket, a completed ticket, or a follow-up ticket. Status may be changed with user input. The status may specify one or more agents assigned to the ticket).
Before the invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing service requests by assigning collaborative experts as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of wherein the method further comprising at least one of: In response to receiving a suspension operation triggered for an account of the target service personnel, setting the account of the target service personnel to a suspended state, wherein, the account is configured for the target service personnel to log onto the first client; or in response to receiving a recovery operation triggered for the account of the target service personnel, setting the account of the target service personnel to a normal state, so that the target service personnel logs onto the first client with the account to provide services for the first user as taught by Nelson (Nelson [0005]). With the motivation of helping to assign and manage experts to a specific ticket (Nelson [0004]).
Claim 12: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Sloan does not disclose the method further comprising: deleting the association in response to the service order being in an invalid state.
In the same field of endeavor of assigning agents to a ticket Nelson teaches the method further comprising: deleting the association in response to the service order being in an invalid state (Paragraph [0005]; [0039]; [0051-0052]; [0056] the method further comprises using the ticketing and reporting system, generating an unassigned ticket using the data received from the first client device, and generating and displaying, using a display of a second client device, the unassigned ticket to an agent. In another embodiment, the method further comprises, in response to assigning the ticket to the agent, displaying a collaboration option in association with the ticket, receiving input selecting the collaboration option, assigning the ticket to one or more collaborating agents, and storing collaboration assignment information in a database. The client device may execute a ticket management application, which allows agents to manage, assign, and collaborate on one or more tickets. The ticket management application may feature unassigned tickets and the technical area of expertise that the unassigned ticket pertains to. The assigned ticket may also feature a respective status associated with each ticket. The status may be for example, a pending ticket, a completed ticket, or a follow-up ticket. Status may be changed with user input. The status may specify one or more agents assigned to the ticket).
Before the invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing service requests by assigning collaborative experts as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of the method further comprising: deleting the association in response to the service order being in an invalid state as taught by Nelson (Nelson [0005]). With the motivation of helping to assign and manage experts to a specific ticket (Nelson [0004]).
Claim 13: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 12. However, Sloan does not disclose wherein the deleting the association in response to the service order being in an invalid state, comprises: in response to the service order being in the invalid state and the service resources corresponding to the service order having been transferred to the first user, deleting the association.
In the same field of endeavor of assigning agents to a ticket Nelson teaches wherein the deleting the association in response to the service order being in an invalid state, comprises: in response to the service order being in the invalid state and the service resources corresponding to the service order having been transferred to the first user, deleting the association (Paragraph [0005]; [0039]; [0051-0052]; [0056] the method further comprises using the ticketing and reporting system, generating an unassigned ticket using the data received from the first client device, and generating and displaying, using a display of a second client device, the unassigned ticket to an agent. In another embodiment, the method further comprises, in response to assigning the ticket to the agent, displaying a collaboration option in association with the ticket, receiving input selecting the collaboration option, assigning the ticket to one or more collaborating agents, and storing collaboration assignment information in a database. The client device may execute a ticket management application, which allows agents to manage, assign, and collaborate on one or more tickets. The ticket management application may feature unassigned tickets and the technical area of expertise that the unassigned ticket pertains to. The assigned ticket may also feature a respective status associated with each ticket. The status may be for example, a pending ticket, a completed ticket, or a follow-up ticket. Status may be changed with user input. The status may specify one or more agents assigned to the ticket).
Before the invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing service requests by assigning collaborative experts as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of wherein the deleting the association in response to the service order being in an invalid state, comprises: in response to the service order being in the invalid state and the service resources corresponding to the service order having been transferred to the first user, deleting the association as taught by Nelson (Nelson [0005]). With the motivation of helping to assign and manage experts to a specific ticket (Nelson [0004]).
Claim 14: Modified Sloan discloses the method as per claim 13. However, Sloan does not disclose wherein during the transfer of the service resources corresponding to the service order, prohibited operations comprise: a new service personnel cannot be added to the service personnel list, the service personnel in the service personnel list cannot create, edit, delete or share the service resources.
In the same field of endeavor of assigning agents to a ticket Nelson teaches wherein during the transfer of the service resources corresponding to the service order, prohibited operations comprise: a new service personnel cannot be added to the service personnel list, the service personnel in the service personnel list cannot create, edit, delete or share the service resources (Paragraph [0005]; [0039]; [0051-0052]; [0056] the method further comprises using the ticketing and reporting system, generating an unassigned ticket using the data received from the first client device, and generating and displaying, using a display of a second client device, the unassigned ticket to an agent. In another embodiment, the method further comprises, in response to assigning the ticket to the agent, displaying a collaboration option in association with the ticket, receiving input selecting the collaboration option, assigning the ticket to one or more collaborating agents, and storing collaboration assignment information in a database. The client device may execute a ticket management application, which allows agents to manage, assign, and collaborate on one or more tickets. The ticket management application may feature unassigned tickets and the technical area of expertise that the unassigned ticket pertains to. The assigned ticket may also feature a respective status associated with each ticket. The status may be for example, a pending ticket, a completed ticket, or a follow-up ticket. Status may be changed with user input. The status may specify one or more agents assigned to the ticket).
Before the invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of managing service requests by assigning collaborative experts as disclosed by Sloan (Sloan [0004]) with the system of wherein during the transfer of the service resources corresponding to the service order, prohibited operations comprise: a new service personnel cannot be added to the service personnel list, the service personnel in the service personnel list cannot create, edit, delete or share the service resources as taught by Nelson (Nelson [0005]). With the motivation of helping to assign and manage experts to a specific ticket (Nelson [0004]).
Therefore, claim 1-3, 5-8, 10-16, 18-19, 23-24, and 26-27 are rejected under U.S.C. 103.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed July 07, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-16, 18-19, 23-24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 are considered and not persuasive.
Claims 1, 15, 23-24 and 26-27: Representative argues that the currently amended claim limitations do not recite an abstract idea as the claims recite a technical access control mechanism implemented within a software application to enforce data security. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the claims recite a method of receiving a service order comprising an identifier of a first and second user associated with an application and a service personnel list indicating a list of service personnel associated with the second user who is to provide a service for the first user; granting a service personnel access as a collaborator by establishing an association between the first and second user and restrict operations that can be performed by the service personnel during a collaboration with the first user; and in response to terminating a service relationship between the service personnel and the first user deleting the association between the first application and the second user so that the service personnel can no longer log into the first application as a collaborator. The claims are directed to a certain method of organizing human activity as they recite a method for managing personal behavior or interactions between people. The claims are a series of steps for temporarily granting permission or access to an application or service to a ”service personnel” or a person that is helping a first user. The claims are merely a series of steps or rules for merely managing permissions for a user such as temporarily granting permission to a plumber to enter a home or granting any service working access to an account or service or anything equivalent. Therefore, the claims recite a method for managing interactions between people such as a person and a service working. Alternatively the claims recite a mental process as the claims recite a series of steps that can be practically performed in the human mind or by using simple tools such as pen and paper. A person is mentally capable of receiving a service order or a request for help or service, granting a service personnel access or permission to log into a first application, and terminating a service relationship such that the service personnel can no longer log into the first application. A person is capable of mentally granting and removing permissions of a user to access a specific service, account, location, etc. Additionally, the courts have stated that claims reciting performing a mental process on a generic computer and in a computer environment still recite a mental process. The additional elements of a generic computer to perform the abstract idea of managing the permissions of a service personnel to log into and access an application or an account are directed to “apply it” or applying a generic computer to perform the abstract idea.
Therefore, the examiner maintains the current 101 rejection.
Claims 2-3, 5-8, 10-14, 16, and 18-19 were dependent on claims 1, 15, 23-24 and 26-27. Therefore, they are also rejected under the same rejection as above.
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the rejections of 1-2, 10-11, 15, 23-24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan (US 2016/0352908) in view of Ellingson (US 2014/0032670) are not persuasive as the claims were amended which required further search and consideration and new art was applied.
Claims 1, 15, 23-24 and 26-27: Applicant argues that the current prior art does not disclose the amended claim limitations. However, upon further search and consideration the examiner finds that the Sloan can be used in combination with Ellingson to disclose the newly amended claim limitations. Sloan discloses a system of managing a roster of subject matter experts that can be included with an agent to help a user resolve an incident by granting the experts permission to access a collaborative session. While Ellingson further teaches a system of managing a collaboration session on a platform and maintaining a list of users with access rights to participate and perform various functions during a collaboration session. Ellingson further teaches allowing a user to edit the list of users by adding and removing various access rights or permissions for individuals to either join the collaboration session or interact with data objects. Therefore, the examiner finds that the system of a collaboration session where an agent is capable of handling an incident during a communication session as disclosed by Sloan can be used in combination with the system of managing user access rights during a communication session as taught by Ellingson to teach the newly amended claim limitations
Therefore, the examiner finds that the combination of Sloan (US 2016/0352908) in view of Ellingson (US 2014/0032670) as capable of teaching the currently amended claimed limitations. Claims 1, 15, 23-24 and 26-27 are newly rejected under U.S.C. 103.
Claims 2-3, 5-8, 10-14, 16, and 18-19 were dependent on claims 1, 15, 23-24 and 26-27. Therefore, they are also rejected under the same rejection as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Harris (US 2007/0245409) Systems and methods for providing levels of access and action control via an SSL VPN appliance.
Dykes (US 2021/0367935) Network security dynamic access control and policy.
Marcotte (US 2014/0123312) Token-based access control.
Fowler (US 2003/0233541) System and method for network operation.
Hitomi (US 2015/0180983) Work sessions.
/COREY RUSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629