DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This Final Rejection is in response to the amendment submitted on 8/13/2026.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the Claim Objections with respect to claims 11-13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections have been removed.
Applicant’s arguments, regarding the Objections to the Specification with respect to the term “specific” used in claims 11-13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections have been removed.
Applicant’s arguments, regarding the 35 USC 112 (f) with respect to claims 1, 3-6, and 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) has been removed.
Applicant’s arguments, regarding the 35 USC 101 with respect to claims 1-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The limitation, “transmit, to a robot controller, an instruction to execute the program”, as cited in independent Claims 1 and 14 has overcome the 101 rejection. The rejections under 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 8/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-16 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the newly amended claim limitation(s), which have changed the scope of independent claims 1 and 14 which are addressed below.
Issue 1:
Applicant Remarks;
“As such, neither Natarajan nor Borgert teaches the feature (a2) that "generate and store, in accordance with a user operation, correspondence information associating the recognized recognition target with a program," as recited in claim 1.”
Examiner Reply:
Providing Claim 1 as a representative example, claim 1 includes the following limitation: “a registration unit configured to generate and store, in accordance with a user operation, correspondence information associating the recognized recognition target with a program “ , which Applicant asserts is not addressed by Natarajan nor Borgert.
However Natarajan was not applied to this portion of claim 1. As presented in the Non-Final Office action, Borgert was cited for the purpose of addressing this limitation.
A review of Borgert, however, shows that Borgert meets the BRI of "generate and store, in accordance with a user operation, correspondence information associating the recognized recognition target with a program,". Borgert clearly describes a system which can generate, store, and transmit QR codes for the purpose of operatively controlling a “defining device”. Figure 1 of Borgert which was cited in the office action is further described in paragraph [0017] as follows, “[0017] FIG. 1 diagrammatically shows an illustrative apparatus for secure transmission of execution information (e.g. imaging device configuration data) from a mobile device (e.g. cellphone) to an execution device (e.g. imaging device controller).”
Issue 2:
Applicant Remarks;
“Claim 1 as amended recites that the at least one processor is configured to "transmit, to a robot controller, an instruction to execute the program associated with the recognition target in the correspondence information."”
Examiner Reply:
Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the newly amended claim limitation(s), which have changed the scope of independent claims 1 and 14 which are addressed below. The newly amended limitation, “transmit, to a robot controller, an instruction to execute a program associated with the recognition target in the correspondence information.", is addressed in the 35 USC 103 Rejection provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natarajan (US 20210201183 A1) as modified by Borgert (US 20240013905 A1)
Claim 1:
Natarajan teaches the following limitations:
A teaching device for teaching of an industrial machine, the teaching device comprising: ( Natarajan - [0018] The present disclosure provides an apparatus and an imitation learning methodology for efficiently and simultaneously training multiple robots for collaborative tasks … ) at least one processor configured to: ( Natarajan - [0031] … Computing device 302 includes processor 304, memory 306, input and/or output (I/O) devices 308, and network interface 310.)
acquire a captured image of a visually recognizable recognition target; ( Natarajan - [0030] Camera array 312 can include any of a variety of cameras (e.g., video cameras, still cameras, IR cameras, ArUco reader cameras, RFID reader cameras, or the like) provided cameras of camera array 312 are arranged to read, scan, or otherwise capture markers 314. The cameras within camera array 312 can be placed in the real world environment in which the demonstration is to take place …) recognize the recognition target by analyzing the acquired image;( Natarajan - [0031] In general, computing devices 302 is coupled to camera array 312 and arranged to receive information, data, or images 318 from camera array 312 and to generate imitation learning dataset 324 with which an ML model (e.g., ML model 500, or the like) can be trained. Computing device 302 includes processor 304, memory 306, input and/or output (I/O) devices 308, and network interface 310.)
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
generate and store, in accordance with a user operation, correspondence information associating the recognized recognition target with a program;
(Borgert - [0020] The following discloses systems and methods for connectionless data transmission by leveraging a displayed visual pattern, such as a matrix barcode, to visually transfer the information generated at the defining device to the execution device. In the illustrative embodiments, a two-dimensional Quick Response (QR) code and/or a one-dimensional Universal Product Code (UPC) barcode is used as the visual pattern. ; [0022] The execution device is equipped with a camera capable of capturing an image of the QR code displayed on the display of the defining device, and is programmed to decode the imaged QR code using the standard QR decoding scheme.; [See also Figure 1]) and transmit, to a robot controller, an instruction to execute the program associated with the recognition target in the correspondence information.
(Borgert – [0011] Another advantage resides in providing for transmitting data to an execution device to execute instructions in the data without manually having to enter data into the execution device.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a designated program as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to transfer a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers, allows for the introduction of a camera-based and wireless data transfer method. This wireless method provides a secure and compact system of transferring data which further compliments the use of networked machines.
Claim 2:
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the recognition target is an identification code.
(Borgert - [0020] The following discloses systems and methods for connectionless data transmission by leveraging a displayed visual pattern, such as a matrix barcode, to visually transfer the information generated at the defining device to the execution device. In the illustrative embodiments, a two-dimensional Quick Response (QR) code and/or a one-dimensional Universal Product Code (UPC) barcode is used as the visual pattern.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a designated program as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to transfer a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers, allows for the introduction of a camera-based and wireless data transfer method. This wireless method provides a secure and compact system of transferring data which further compliments the use of networked machines.
Claim 3:
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to store the correspondence information into a storage unit in the teaching device.
(Borgert- [0034] … As shown in FIG. 1, the system 10 includes a defining device or apparatus 12 and an execution device or apparatus 14. … The defining device 12 includes typical mobile device components, such as an electronic processor 16, a display 18, and at least one user input device 20 (e.g., a touchscreen to receive user inputs via which the user can swipe with a finger). The defining device 12 also includes a data storage 39 storing instructions for execution information on the defining device to execute a task by the execution device 14. A camera 23 is configured to acquire one or more images.)
Examiner’s Note:
Defining Device corresponds to Teaching Device
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a designated program and further storing it in the defining device as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to store and transfer a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers, allows for the introduction of a camera-based and wireless data transfer method. This wireless method provides a secure and compact system of transferring data which further compliments the use of networked machines.
Claim 4:
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
The teaching device according to claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: a search for, by using the correspondence information, a program corresponding to the recognized recognition target and output a search result.
(Borgert- [0021] … The defining device further includes a display. When the user wants to transfer the information to the execution device, the defining device is further programmed to retrieve the stored information from the non-transitory data storage, generate a QR code (or other spatial pattern) encoding the retrieved information in accordance with the OR encoding scheme standard, and display the generated QR code on the display of the defining device.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a designated program and being able to search for the program as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to search for and transfer a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers, allows for the introduction of a camera-based and wireless data transfer method. This wireless method provides a secure and compact system of transferring data which further compliments the use of networked machines.
Claim 5:
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
The teaching device according to claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit information indicating the recognized recognition target to the external server and acquire, from the external server, a search result of searching for, in the external server, a program corresponding to the recognition target by using the correspondence information; and output the search result. (Borgert – [0042] … The execution information can be stored in the data storage 39 (see FIG. 1) of the mobile device 12 (or in an associated cloud data storage accessed by the defining device 12 via a Wi-Fi network, 4G or other cellular network or the like), for example by pressing an illustrative “Save” button presented on the UI 24 shown in FIG. 3 Part A. It will be appreciated that the data entry interface can be provided at operation 102 at any location, e.g. while the user of the mobile device 12 is not near to the imaging device 26. For example, operation 102 can be performed while the user is at home, or in a medical office, or so forth. By saving the entered execution information in the data storage 39 of the mobile device 12 (or in a cloud storage linked to the mobile device 12) …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a designated program and further storing it to a server as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to store and transfer a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers, allows for the introduction of a camera-based and wireless data transfer method. This wireless method provides a secure and compact system of transferring data which further compliments the use of networked machines.
Claim 6:
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
The teaching device according to claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit information indicating the recognized recognition target to the external server and acquire, from the external server, a search result of searching for, in the external server, a program corresponding to the recognition target by using the correspondence information; and output the search result.
(Borgert - [0021] … the defining device is programmed to store the information generated at the defining device at a non-transitory data storage of (or accessible by) the defining device. The defining device further includes a display. When the user wants to transfer the information to the execution device, the defining device is further programmed to retrieve the stored information from the non-transitory data storage, generate a QR code (or other spatial pattern) encoding the retrieved information in accordance with the OR encoding scheme standard, and display the generated QR code on the display of the defining device. ; [0026] A bidirectional information transfer is also disclosed. This requires additionally providing a display at the execution device and further programming to encode and display QR codes at the execution device, and a camera at the defining device and further programming to decode the QR code presented by the execution device….)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a designated program and further storing it to a server as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to store and transfer a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers, allows for the introduction of a camera-based and wireless data transfer method. This wireless method provides a secure and compact system of transferring data which further compliments the use of networked machines.
Claim 7:
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
The teaching device according to claim 4, wherein, in response to, as the search result, one program corresponding to the recognized recognition target being retrieved, the at least one processor is configured to automatically select the one retrieved program and transmit, to the robot controller, the instruction to execute the one retrieved program. (Borgert - [0043] At an operation 104 performed at the defining device 12, at least one graphical (or audio) pattern 42 is constructed to encode the execution information. At an operation 106, a trigger input is received at the defining device 12 to transfer the stored execution information in the graphical pattern 42 to the execution device 14. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of automatically selecting the program to be triggered as associated with a recognition target (such as a QR code) as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to store, retrieve, transfer and trigger a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers, allows for seamless and efficient processing of control commands which originate from a recognition target.
Claim 9:
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
The teaching device according to claim 4, wherein, in response to a program related to the recognized recognition target being not retrieved, the at least one processor is configured to display, on a display unit, information indicating that a program corresponding to the recognition target is not registered. (Borgert - [0051] In the illustrative example of FIG. 3 Part D, after displaying the graphical pattern 42 for a predetermined time as shown in FIG. 3 PART B (e.g. displaying the QR code 42 for 5 seconds, 10 seconds, or so forth), the UI 24 of the defining device 12 then switches to the dialog shown in FIG. 3 Part D, which provides the user with follow-up selection buttons. A “Repeat transfer” button can be pressed by the user if the camera 28 failed to capture the graphical pattern 42 for some reason (such as, the user failing to hold up the mobile device 12 in front of the webcam 28, or doing so after the QR code has ceased to be displayed). An “Erase configuration” button is provided to allow the user to erase the execution information (e.g. scan settings) that were entered into the mobile device 12 at FIG. 3 Part A. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of alerting the operator as to whether a recognition target was recognized and or registered as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to notify the operator as to the status of the requested program allows the operator to react more quickly to potential issues with program implementation.
Claim 10:
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
The teaching device according to claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire a program corresponding to the recognition target from the external server when the program corresponding to the recognition target does not exist in the robot controller connected to the teaching device. (Borgert - [0005] In one aspect, a non-transitory computer readable medium stores instructions executable by a defining device having an electronic processor, a display, and at least one user input device to cause the defining device to perform a method for offline entry of execution information to be used by an associated execution device in executing a task. The method includes: providing a user interface (UI) for receiving execution information via the at least one user input device of the defining device and for storing the execution information on the defining device or on an associated data storage accessed by the defining device via an electronic network; constructing at least one graphical pattern encoding the execution information; receiving a trigger input to transfer the stored execution information to the associated execution device; and after receiving the trigger input, displaying the at least one graphical pattern encoding the execution information on the display of the defining device. ; [0017] FIG. 1 diagrammatically shows an illustrative apparatus for secure transmission of execution information (e.g. imaging device configuration data) from a mobile device (e.g. cellphone) to an execution device (e.g. imaging device controller).)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of providing a program originating from the defining device (teaching device) when a program is not present on the executing device(robot controller) as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to transfer a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers from the defining device provides an additional source of programming when a program does not exist on the controller of the executing machine, thus providing programming flexibility .
Claim 11:
Natarajan teaches the following limitations:
The teaching device according to claim 4, wherein one or a plurality of programs handling a certain workpiece are associated with the recognition target in the correspondence information. (Natarajan - [0043] Processor 304 further executes instructions 316 to identify object layout 336, including the type and pose of the objects that are to be manipulated by the robots (e.g., robots 102 and 104). In some examples, markers 314 can include subsets or multiple different types of markers. For example, one type of markers 314 can be used to mark robots while another type of markers 314 can be used to mark objects, …)
Claim 12:
Natarajan teaches the following limitations:
The teaching device according to claim 4, wherein one or a plurality of programs used in a work process on a certain day are associated with the recognition target in the correspondence information. (Natarajan [0019] … For example, the present disclosure provides for collecting expert demonstrations via an array of cameras and markers attached to the expert demonstrator (e.g., demonstrators hands, or the like) as well as to the object(s) being manipulated. Markers tracked by the camera array are used to simultaneously acquire reference trajectories for training multiple separate robotic arms performing different roles in collaborative tasks, such as joint assembly of parts. …)
Claim 13:
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
The teaching device according to claim 4, wherein one or a plurality of programs to be executed at a certain workplace are associated with the recognition target in the correspondence information. (Borgert - [0048] At an operation 114 performed at the execution device 26, the medical imaging device controller 30 configures the medical imaging device 26 to execute a medical imaging task in accordance with the extracted execution information. … In the example of FIG. 3 the operation 114 would entail configuring the scan settings for the upcoming MRI scan to the scan settings extracted from the QR code 42.; [0049] In some examples, the configuring operation 114 includes transmitting a status of the operator of the medical imaging device 26. For example, the medical imaging device controller 30 is configured to construct a graphical pattern encoding information about the medical imaging device 26 and/or about the medical imaging task, which can be displayed on the display device 36 of the controller.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a designated program and workplace as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to match the recociated program to a designated work place increases the precision of the machines actions in the context of the working environment.
Claim 14:
Natarajan teaches the following limitations:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a computer, cause the processor to perform:
(Natarajan – [0031] - Computing device 302 includes processor 304, memory 306, input and/or output (I/O) devices 308, and network interface 310 … ; [0033] The memory 306 may include logic, a portion of which includes arrays of integrated circuits, forming non-volatile memory to persistently store data or a combination of non-volatile memory and volatile memory. It is to be appreciated, that the memory 306 may be based on any of a variety of technologies. …) acquiring a captured image of a visually recognizable recognition target; ( Natarajan - [0030] Camera array 312 can include any of a variety of cameras (e.g., video cameras, still cameras, IR cameras, ArUco reader cameras, RFID reader cameras, or the like) provided cameras of camera array 312 are arranged to read, scan, or otherwise capture markers 314. The cameras within camera array 312 can be placed in the real world environment in which the demonstration is to take place …) recognizing the recognition target by analyzing the acquired image; ( Natarajan - [0031] In general, computing devices 302 is coupled to camera array 312 and arranged to receive information, data, or images 318 from camera array 312 and to generate imitation learning dataset 324 with which an ML model (e.g., ML model 500, or the like) can be trained. Computing device 302 includes processor 304, memory 306, input and/or output (I/O) devices 308, and network interface 310.)
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
generating and storing, in accordance with a user operation, correspondence information associating the recognized recognition target with a program;
(Borgert - [0020] The following discloses systems and methods for connectionless data transmission by leveraging a displayed visual pattern, such as a matrix barcode, to visually transfer the information generated at the defining device to the execution device. In the illustrative embodiments, a two-dimensional Quick Response (QR) code and/or a one-dimensional Universal Product Code (UPC) barcode is used as the visual pattern. ; [0022] The execution device is equipped with a camera capable of capturing an image of the QR code displayed on the display of the defining device, and is programmed to decode the imaged QR code using the standard QR decoding scheme.; {See also Figure 1]) and transmitting, to a robot controller, an instruction to execute the program associated with the recognition target in the correspondence information. (Borgert – [0011] Another advantage resides in providing for transmitting data to an execution device to execute instructions in the data without manually having to enter data into the execution device.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a specific program as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to transfer a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers, allows for the introduction of a camera-based and wireless data transfer method. This wireless method provides a secure and compact system of transferring data which further compliments the use of networked machines.
Claim 15:
Natarajan teaches the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 14, the instructions further causing the processor to perform
(Natarajan – [0031] - Computing device 302 includes processor 304, memory 306, input and/or output (I/O) devices 308, and network interface 310 … ; [0033] The memory 306 may include logic, a portion of which includes arrays of integrated circuits, forming non-volatile memory to persistently store data or a combination of non-volatile memory and volatile memory. It is to be appreciated, that the memory 306 may be based on any of a variety of technologies. …)
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
storing the correspondence information into a storage unit in the computer in the generating and storing the correspondence information; (Borgert - [0020] The following discloses systems and methods for connectionless data transmission by leveraging a displayed visual pattern, such as a matrix barcode, to visually transfer the information generated at the defining device to the execution device. In the illustrative embodiments, a two-dimensional Quick Response (QR) code and/or a one-dimensional Universal Product Code (UPC) barcode is used as the visual pattern. ; [0022] The execution device is equipped with a camera capable of capturing an image of the QR code displayed on the display of the defining device, and is programmed to decode the imaged QR code using the standard QR decoding scheme.; {See also Figure 1]) searching for a program corresponding to the recognized recognition target by using the correspondence information; and (Borgert - [0021] … the defining device is programmed to store the information generated at the defining device at a non-transitory data storage of (or accessible by) the defining device. The defining device further includes a display. When the user wants to transfer the information to the execution device, the defining device is further programmed to retrieve the stored information from the non-transitory data storage, generate a QR code (or other spatial pattern) encoding the retrieved information in accordance with the OR encoding scheme standard, and display the generated QR code on the display of the defining device. ; [0026] A bidirectional information transfer is also disclosed. This requires additionally providing a display at the execution device and further programming to encode and display QR codes at the execution device, and a camera at the defining device and further programming to decode the QR code presented by the execution device….)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a designated program and being able to search for the program as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to search for and transfer a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers, allows for the introduction of a camera-based and wireless data transfer method. This wireless method provides a secure and compact system of transferring data which further compliments the use of networked machines.
Claim 16:
Natarajan teaches the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 14, the instructions further causing the processor to perform:
(Natarajan – [0031] - Computing device 302 includes processor 304, memory 306, input and/or output (I/O) devices 308, and network interface 310 … ; [0033] The memory 306 may include logic, a portion of which includes arrays of integrated circuits, forming non-volatile memory to persistently store data or a combination of non-volatile memory and volatile memory. It is to be appreciated, that the memory 306 may be based on any of a variety of technologies. …)
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
transmitting the correspondence information to an external server and causing the external server to store the correspondence information in the generating and storing the correspondence information; transmitting information indicating the recognized recognition target to the external server and acquiring, from the external server, a search result of searching for, in the external server, a program corresponding to the recognition target by using the correspondence information; and outputting the acquired search result.
(Borgert - [0021] … the defining device is programmed to store the information generated at the defining device at a non-transitory data storage of (or accessible by) the defining device. The defining device further includes a display. When the user wants to transfer the information to the execution device, the defining device is further programmed to retrieve the stored information from the non-transitory data storage, generate a QR code (or other spatial pattern) encoding the retrieved information in accordance with the OR encoding scheme standard, and display the generated QR code on the display of the defining device. ; [0026] A bidirectional information transfer is also disclosed. This requires additionally providing a display at the execution device and further programming to encode and display QR codes at the execution device, and a camera at the defining device and further programming to decode the QR code presented by the execution device….)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a designated program and further storing it to a server as taught in Borgert. Having the ability to store and transfer a program or other machine-specific information via graphical markers, allows for the introduction of a camera-based and wireless data transfer method. This wireless method provides a secure and compact system of transferring data which further compliments the use of networked machines.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natarajan (US 20210201183 A1) as modified by Borgert (US 20240013905 A1) in view of Watanabe (US 20060030970 A1)
Claim 8:
Natarajan does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Borgert teaches:
The teaching device according to claim 4, wherein, in response to, as the search result, a plurality of programs corresponding to the recognized recognition target being retrieved, (Borgert - [0026] A bidirectional information transfer is also disclosed. This requires additionally providing a display at the execution device and further programming to encode and display QR codes at the execution device, and a camera at the defining device and further programming to decode the QR code presented by the execution device. If the defining device is a tablet or notebook computer or a cellphone then it likely already has a built-in camera, and a device such as an imaging device controller already has a display. …)
and transmit, to the robot controller, the instruction to execute the selected one program. (Borgert – [0011] Another advantage resides in providing for transmitting data to an execution device to execute instructions in the data without manually having to enter data into the execution device.)
Natarajan in combination with Borgert does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Watanabe teaches:
the at least one processor is configured to: display a list of the plurality of retrieved programs on a display unit, accept an operation for selecting one program from the list, and (Watanabe - [0054] … confirmation and correction is selected among a plurality of robot programs previously set in the robot 42. The selection of the program may be performed, for example, by an operator in such a manner as to call a list of the robot programs on a display screen and to designate the desired program thereon.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natarajan to include a method of linking a recognition target (such as a QR code) to a designated program and being able to search for the program as taught in Borgert and to further list a plurality of program results as taught in Watanabe. Having the ability to search for and list a plurality of programs, allows for greater flexibility and efficiency when loading programs into the execution device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Jones (US 20170213062 A1) describes a system that, responsive to identifying the optical marker, image processing on the image can be performed to generate data corresponding to the machine readable optical label or alphanumeric characters. Whether the data corresponds to an intended cargo recipient of a cargo being carried by the delivery drone can be determined. Responsive to determining that the data corresponding to the machine readable optical label or alphanumeric characters corresponds to the intended cargo recipient of the cargo being carried by the delivery drone, the delivery drone can be initiated to deliver the cargo at a specific location indicated by the optical marker.
Tolstov (US 20210191414 A1) describes techniques for determining locations of a plurality of markers on a vehicle in three-dimensional space. The markers may be configured as optical or radio markers, where a sensor determines the locations of each of the plurality of markers, or a shape formed by the markers collectively. The locations of each of the plurality of markers or shape is then compared to a template to determine a match. The match identifies a vehicle having vehicle data that includes locations of vehicle components and/or vehicle performance characteristics. The vehicle data is then used to generate control signals for controlling a control device that may be associated with a robotic apparatus, a vehicle computer system and/or drone operating system.
Krause (US 20020045970 A1) describes a robotic system for a robot includes a programmable controller coupled to the robot and a teach pendant coupled to the programmable controller. The teach pendant is adapted to control the robot and includes a processor capable of operating the teach pendant and a display coupled to the processor. The teach pendant also includes a web browser. The web browser is adapted to accept input data in a standard format and display the input data on the display.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW/
Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657