Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application no. CN202210586272.9 filed in PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA on 05/27/2022. It is noted that the applicant has filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Fig. 1A, 1B, 5 and 7-10 are not of sufficient quality to permit examination. Examiner advises the applicant to increase the font size of the text, so it is easier to read and less blurry/unclear. Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Applicant is given a shortened statutory period of TWO (2) MONTHS to submit new drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.81. Extensions of time may be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a) but in no case can any extension carry the date for reply to this letter beyond the maximum period of SIX MONTHS set by statute (35 U.S.C. 133). Failure to timely submit replacement drawing sheets will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11-12 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 2022/0240151 A1), Yu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Yu teaches an electronic device for wireless communication, comprising: processing circuitry, configured to: (Fig. 1-5 & Abstract - A first processing device has a first communication port communicating with a first cell of the first plurality of cells via said first antenna over a first beam, and a second communication port communicating with an overlapping cell of the overlapping plurality of cells via said second antenna over a second beam);
receive data from a network-side device, (Fig. 2 & ¶0035 - The gateway site 31 includes … a plurality of eNodeBs, like 12(A) and 12(B) for every geographical cell. The gateway site 31 is in communication with User Equipment (UEs) via a setting satellite 20A and a rising satellite 20B. The satellites 20A, 20B communicate with the UEs over a respective setting TRx beams 16 and rising TRx beams 17. ¶0041 - FIG. 2 shows a cell's eNodeB 12(A) with two RF ports 12A(1) and 12A(2) delivers the DL and UL LTE signals through two GW antennas 14A and 14 B that serve two satellites 20A and 20 B, each baseband unit (BBU) of a cell providing a beam signal for HO service link 16h/17h via feeder link 14/15 for two TRx path to the two RF ports 12A(1) and 12A(2) on the eNodeB 3 BBU 12(A));
wherein the data is transmitted using one of or both a current beam and a next beam for a user equipment (Fig. 2 & ¶0063 - As shown in FIG. 2, beam 16h is served as usual by the eNodeB 12(A)'s primary TRx port 12A(1) with PCI 13A(1), while target beam 17h is new HO beam from the same eNodeB 12(A), but from the secondary TRx port 12A(2) using new PCI 13A(2) via the target satellite 20B. ¶0065 - The overlapping beam 17h from the rising satellite are almost the same as 16h but with different PCI. Initially, the different PCI for the overlapping beam 17h is there for the UE to do CFRA to the target beam from satellite 20B, commanded by the source beam 16h serving the UE, Examiner interprets current beam as beam 16h and next beam as 17h. Please also see ¶0041, ¶0049 and ¶0051);
at least partly based on a relationship between a position of the user equipment and an overlapping coverage region of the current beam and the next beam (Fig. 1 & ¶0036 - The setting and rising FoVs 50A and 50B, in which that satellites communicate with UEs directly in their cells with serving beams on downlink (DL) and uplink (UL). The setting and rising FoVs 50A and 50B overlap (or at least partially overlap) in the overlapping area 50AB. In accordance with one embodiment, BHO occurs for the cells 51h located inside the overlapping FoV area 50AB. ¶0047 - A smooth and seamless BHO is triggered as cells enter the overlapping region 50AB … All of the cells 51, 52 in non-overlapping areas are using just one of the two RF TRx ports 12A(1) or 12B(1) respectively, and each footprint has their own beams 16, 17 for normal user data traffic operation. ¶0075 - The source beam 16h and target beam 17h are overlaid on to the same physical cell 51h, fixed on the ground, with two different PCIs 13A(1) and 13A(2), respectively. Therefore, UEs 30 in cell 51h can recognize beams 16h and 17h as corresponding to two different cells, and satellites BHO can be realized by using the PCIs alternatively. Please also see ¶0037-¶0038).
Re. Claims 2 and 12, Yu teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Yu further teaches the overlapping coverage region has an entry-side edge for the user equipment to enter the overlapping coverage region and an exit-side edge for the user equipment to leave the overlapping coverage region (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0036 - The setting and rising FoVs 50A and 50B, in which that satellites communicate with UEs directly in their cells with serving beams on downlink (DL) and uplink (UL). The setting and rising FoVs 50A and 50B overlap (or at least partially overlap) in the overlapping area 50AB. In accordance with one embodiment, BHO occurs for the cells 51h located inside the overlapping FoV area 50AB. ¶0050 - Accordingly, as the setting satellite 20A continues to set and the rising satellite 20B continues to rise, the cells 51 will move from the setting FoV 50A into the overlapping region 50AB, and into the rising FoV 50B).
Re. Claim 11, Yu teaches an electronic device for wireless communication, comprising: processing circuitry, configured to: transmit data to a user equipment using one of or both a current beam and a next beam for the user equipment at least partly based on a relationship between a position of the user equipment and an overlapping coverage region of the current beam and the next beam (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0041 - FIG. 2 shows a cell's eNodeB 12(A) with two RF ports 12A(1) and 12A(2) delivers the DL and UL LTE signals through two GW antennas 14A and 14 B that serve two satellites 20A and 20 B, each baseband unit (BBU) of a cell providing a beam signal for HO service link 16h/17h via feeder link 14/15 for two TRx path to the two RF ports 12A(1) and 12A(2) on the eNodeB 3 BBU 12(A). ¶0047 - A smooth and seamless BHO is triggered as cells enter the overlapping region 50AB … All of the cells 51, 52 in non-overlapping areas are using just one of the two RF TRx ports 12A(1) or 12B(1) respectively, and each footprint has their own beams 16, 17 for normal user data traffic operation. ¶0063 - As shown in FIG. 2, beam 16h is served as usual by the eNodeB 12(A)'s primary TRx port 12A(1) with PCI 13A(1), while target beam 17h is new HO beam from the same eNodeB 12(A), but from the secondary TRx port 12A(2) using new PCI 13A(2) via the target satellite 20B. ¶0065 - The overlapping beam 17h from the rising satellite are almost the same as 16h but with different PCI. Initially, the different PCI for the overlapping beam 17h is there for the UE to do CFRA to the target beam from satellite 20B, commanded by the source beam 16h serving the UE, Examiner interprets current beam as beam 16h and next beam as 17h. Please also see ¶0049 and ¶0051).
Re. Claim 26, Yu teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising: transmitting data to a user equipment using one of or both a current beam and a next beam for the user equipment at least partly based on a relationship between a position of the user equipment and an overlapping coverage region of the current beam and the next beam (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0041 - FIG. 2 shows a cell's eNodeB 12(A) with two RF ports 12A(1) and 12A(2) delivers the DL and UL LTE signals through two GW antennas 14A and 14 B that serve two satellites 20A and 20 B, each baseband unit (BBU) of a cell providing a beam signal for HO service link 16h/17h via feeder link 14/15 for two TRx path to the two RF ports 12A(1) and 12A(2) on the eNodeB 3 BBU 12(A). ¶0047 - A smooth and seamless BHO is triggered as cells enter the overlapping region 50AB … All of the cells 51, 52 in non-overlapping areas are using just one of the two RF TRx ports 12A(1) or 12B(1) respectively, and each footprint has their own beams 16, 17 for normal user data traffic operation. ¶0063 - As shown in FIG. 2, beam 16h is served as usual by the eNodeB 12(A)'s primary TRx port 12A(1) with PCI 13A(1), while target beam 17h is new HO beam from the same eNodeB 12(A), but from the secondary TRx port 12A(2) using new PCI 13A(2) via the target satellite 20B. ¶0065 - The overlapping beam 17h from the rising satellite are almost the same as 16h but with different PCI. Initially, the different PCI for the overlapping beam 17h is there for the UE to do CFRA to the target beam from satellite 20B, commanded by the source beam 16h serving the UE, Examiner interprets current beam as beam 16h and next beam as 17h Please also see ¶0049 and¶0051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, and further in view of Oh et al. (US 2016/0007261 A1), Oh hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Yu teaches Claim 2.
Yu further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: not perform beam measurement before the user equipment reaches the entry-side edge; and perform beam measurement for the next beam with the network-side device after the user equipment reaches the entry-side edge, (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0047 - A smooth and seamless BHO is triggered as cells enter the overlapping region 50AB. ¶0065 - In addition, the source beam 16h sends RRC connection_reconfiguration, which commands the active UEs to measure the target beam with the PCI of the rising satellite 50B. RSRP and RSRQ of the target beam are measured and report back to eNodeB, so that eNodeB knows the condition is right for the BHO);
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach and report a beam measurement result to the network- side device for the network-side device to transmit the data using one of or both the current beam and the next beam based on the beam measurement result.
However, in the analogous art, Oh explicitly teaches and report a beam measurement result to the network- side device for the network-side device to transmit the data using one of or both the current beam and the next beam based on the beam measurement result (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0058 - a terminal continuously measures the signal strength of a serving beam and the signal strength of a target beam and compares them. When the signal strength of the serving beam is greater than the signal strength of the target beam by a first offset (which will be referred to as HOM1), the terminal transmits a measurement report message to a base station. When determining that the signal strength of the serving beam is greater than the signal strength of the target beam by the HOM1 based on the measurement report message, the base station performs resource allocation and data transmission through inter-beam coordinated scheduling (IBCS). ¶0059 - … when the signal strength of the target beam is maintained greater than the signal strength of the serving beam by the second offset (which will be referred to as HOM2) during a predetermined time (e.g. TTT) because the terminal continues to move to the target beam, the terminal transmits a measurement report message to the base station. The base station determines handover to the target beam according to the measurement report message and transmits a beam switching command message to the terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Oh to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because the present invention relates to a method and apparatus for performing handover between beams in a mobile communication system (¶0003, Oh).
Re. Claim 4, Yu and Oh teach Claim 3.
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to: in a case that the beam measurement result of the next beam is higher than a first threshold for a first time period, transmit a first measurement result report to the network-side device, and receive the data transmitted from the network-side device using both the current beam and the next beam.
However, in the analogous art, Oh explicitly teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: in a case that the beam measurement result of the next beam is higher than a first threshold for a first time period, transmit a first measurement result report to the network-side device, and receive the data transmitted from the network-side device using both the current beam and the next beam (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0069 - Accordingly, transmitting/receiving data through the target beam and the serving beams to which the IBCS is approved is performed (S230). If the signal strength of the target beam is maintained greater than the signal strength of the serving beam by the second offset (HOM2) during a predetermined time (TTT), the terminal 2 transmits a measurement report message (S240). That is, when the difference between the signal strength of the target beam and the signal strength of the serving beam is greater than the HOM2, a TTT timer is activated. If the signal strength of the target beam is maintained greater than the signal strength of the serving beam by the HOM 2 during a TTT time, the terminal 2 transmits a measurement report message);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Oh to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because the present invention relates to a method and apparatus for performing handover between beams in a mobile communication system (¶0003, Oh).
Re. Claim 5, Yu and Oh teach Claim 3.
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to: in a case that the beam measurement result of the next beam is higher than a second threshold for a second time period, transmit a second measurement result report to the network-side device, and receive the data transmitted from the network-side device only using the next beam.
However, in the analogous art, Oh explicitly teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: in a case that the beam measurement result of the next beam is higher than a second threshold for a second time period, transmit a second measurement result report to the network-side device, and receive the data transmitted from the network-side device only using the next beam (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0059 - when the signal strength of the target beam is maintained greater than the signal strength of the serving beam by the second offset (which will be referred to as HOM2) during a predetermined time (e.g. TTT) because the terminal continues to move to the target beam, the terminal transmits a measurement report message to the base station. ¶0071 - The terminal 2 stops communicating with the serving beam and performs the handover to the target beam when receiving the BS command message (S270) … Thereafter, transmitting/receiving of data is performed through the target beam (S300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Oh to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because the present invention relates to a method and apparatus for performing handover between beams in a mobile communication system (¶0003, Oh).
Re. Claim 13, Yu teaches Claim 12.
Yu further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: not perform beam measurement with the user equipment before the user equipment reaches the entry-side edge; and performs beam measurement for the next beam with the user equipment after the user equipment reaches the entry-side edge, (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0047 - A smooth and seamless BHO is triggered as cells enter the overlapping region 50AB. ¶0065 - In addition, the source beam 16h sends RRC connection_reconfiguration, which commands the active UEs to measure the target beam with the PCI of the rising satellite 50B. RSRP and RSRQ of the target beam are measured and report back to eNodeB, so that eNodeB knows the condition is right for the BHO);
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach receive a beam measurement result from the user equipment, and transmit the data to the user equipment using one of or both the current beam and the next beam based on the beam measurement result.
However, in the analogous art, Oh explicitly teaches receive a beam measurement result from the user equipment, and transmit the data to the user equipment using one of or both the current beam and the next beam based on the beam measurement result (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0067 - When the signal strength of the serving beam is greater than the signal strength of the target beams by the first offset (HOM1), the terminal 2 transmits a measurement report message to the base station 1 (S200). The base station 1 determines whether to allow inter-beam cooperative scheduling based the signal strength of the target beams included in the measurement report message according to the IBCS, and performs the IBCS based on the determination result (S210). ¶0069 - After that, the base station 1 performs the IBCS for the terminal with the serving beam and the approved candidate beam, that is, the target beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Oh to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because the present invention relates to a method and apparatus for performing handover between beams in a mobile communication system (¶0003, Oh).
Re. Claim 14, Yu and Oh teach Claim 13.
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a first measurement result report that is transmitted from the user equipment in a case that the beam measurement result of the next beam is higher than a first threshold for a first time period, and transmit the data to the user equipment using both the current beam and the next beam based on the first measurement result report.
However, in the analogous art, Oh explicitly teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a first measurement result report that is transmitted from the user equipment in a case that the beam measurement result of the next beam is higher than a first threshold for a first time period, and transmit the data to the user equipment using both the current beam and the next beam based on the first measurement result report (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0069 - Accordingly, transmitting/receiving data through the target beam and the serving beams to which the IBCS is approved is performed (S230). If the signal strength of the target beam is maintained greater than the signal strength of the serving beam by the second offset (HOM2) during a predetermined time (TTT), the terminal 2 transmits a measurement report message (S240). That is, when the difference between the signal strength of the target beam and the signal strength of the serving beam is greater than the HOM2, a TTT timer is activated. If the signal strength of the target beam is maintained greater than the signal strength of the serving beam by the HOM 2 during a TTT time, the terminal 2 transmits a measurement report message);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Oh to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because the present invention relates to a method and apparatus for performing handover between beams in a mobile communication system (¶0003, Oh).
Re. Claim 15, Yu and Oh teach Claim 13.
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a second measurement result report that is transmitted from the user equipment in a case that the beam measurement result of the next beam is higher than a second threshold for a second time period, and transmit the data to the user equipment only using the next beam based on the second measurement result report.
However, in the analogous art, Oh explicitly teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a second measurement result report that is transmitted from the user equipment in a case that the beam measurement result of the next beam is higher than a second threshold for a second time period, and transmit the data to the user equipment only using the next beam based on the second measurement result report (Fig. 2-6 & ¶0059 - when the signal strength of the target beam is maintained greater than the signal strength of the serving beam by the second offset (which will be referred to as HOM2) during a predetermined time (e.g. TTT) because the terminal continues to move to the target beam, the terminal transmits a measurement report message to the base station. ¶0071 - The terminal 2 stops communicating with the serving beam and performs the handover to the target beam when receiving the BS command message (S270) … Thereafter, transmitting/receiving of data is performed through the target beam (S300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Oh to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because the present invention relates to a method and apparatus for performing handover between beams in a mobile communication system (¶0003, Oh).
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, and further in view of Tila et al. (WO 2019/002867 A1), Tila hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Yu teaches Claim 2.
Yu further teaches after the user equipment reaches the entry-side edge, receive the data transmitted from the network-side device using both the current beam and the next beam; and/or after the user equipment reaches the exit-side edge, receive the data transmitted from the network-side device only using the next beam (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0047 - A smooth and seamless BHO is triggered as cells enter the overlapping region 50AB. ¶0049 - At the outset, the cells 51 are communicating with the first eNodeB farm 3 BBU 12(A) of cluster 12(CA) for the satellite 20A over the primary ports 12A(1) using PCI 13A(1) via the first GW antenna 14A. Once the cells 51 enter the overlapping area 50AB, they also communicate with the secondary port 12A(2) of the same eNodeB farm 3 BBU 12(A) but with a different PCI 13A(2) via the GW antenna 14B and rising satellite 20B. At this point, the eNodeB 12(A) enables the secondary TRx port 12A(2), which communicates via the second GW antenna 14B to the rising satellite 20B over beam 15 and with the cell via a new beam 17h. In this way, the beam from the satellite 20A can start the HO from serving beam 16h to serving beam 17h. ¶0051 - The first antenna 14A still carries the setting beam 16 for the BHO purpose and is labelled as 16h in the BHO process, the secondary RF port 12A(2) for the same eNodeB 12(A), is now taking the target beam route, i.e., the second antenna 14B (which tracks that rising satellite 20B). Once it is communicating over the secondary port 12A(2) via the second antenna 14B and the rising satellite 20B to the active UEs in cell 51h, it ceases communication over the primary port 12A(1) and the first antenna 14A);
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to: in a case of not performing beam measurement,
However, in analogous art, Tila explicitly teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: in a case of not performing beam measurement, (Fig. 6 & Pages 17-18, ¶30, ¶35 - These coverage areas may be configured to overlap in a handover region 601 comprising a distance dx along the predetermined path 103. When the mobile device 105 enters the handover region 601 , it may initiate a handover procedure between the first and second base stations 107i , 1072 … Alternatively, the current serving base station 107i may initiate the handover procedure. In either case, the handover procedure may be initiated via a request message transmitted from the requesting device (i.e. the base station 107i or the mobile device 105) without performing measurements, etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tila to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because by initiating handover procedures based on the location of the mobile device, a small handover region is produced in which handover can be achieved successfully and rapidly (Page 17, ¶15, ¶20, Tila).
Re. Claim 7, Yu teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach the user equipment is on a transportation vehicle with a predetermined movement path.
However, in the analogous art, Tila explicitly teaches the user equipment is on a transportation vehicle with a predetermined movement path (Fig. 6 & Page 3, ¶15 - The disclosure also provides a vehicle, such as a train, comprising one or more such mobile devices. ¶35 - A further aspect provides a method of initiating a handover procedure to handover a mobile device from a first radio access node to a second radio access node, the mobile device constrained to move along a predetermined path).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tila to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because the present invention relates to the use of beams for communicating between a base station and a mobile device. In particular, the invention is concerned with providing communication between base stations and moving mobile devices located on vehicles (Page 1, ¶5, Tila).
Re. Claim 8, Yu and Tila teach Claim 7.
Yu further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain information about the current beam, information about the next beam, (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0065 - … the source beam 16h sends RRC connection_reconfiguration, which commands the active UEs to measure the target beam with the PCI of the rising satellite 50B. RSRP and RSRQ of the target beam are measured …);
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach and information about an edge of the overlapping coverage region from the network-side device.
However, in the analogous art, Tila explicitly teaches and information about an edge of the overlapping coverage region from the network-side device (Fig. 6 & Page 17, ¶30, ¶35 - The base stations 107i and 1072 have coverage areas 602 and 603. These coverage areas may be configured to overlap in a handover region 601 comprising a distance dx along the predetermined path 103. When the mobile device 105 enters the handover region 601, it may initiate a handover procedure between the first and second base stations 107i, 1072. Page 18, ¶10 - The predetermined location may thus be updated as conditions in the network and its environment change.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tila to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because by initiating handover procedures based on the location of the mobile device, a small handover region is produced in which handover can be achieved successfully and rapidly (Page 17, ¶15, ¶20, Tila).
Re. Claim 16, Yu teaches Claim 12.
Yu further teaches after the user equipment reaches the entry-side edge, transmit the data to the user equipment using both the current beam and the next beam; and/or after the user equipment reaches the exit-side edge, transmit the data to the user equipment only using the next beam (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0047 - A smooth and seamless BHO is triggered as cells enter the overlapping region 50AB. ¶0049 - At the outset, the cells 51 are communicating with the first eNodeB farm 3 BBU 12(A) of cluster 12(CA) for the satellite 20A over the primary ports 12A(1) using PCI 13A(1) via the first GW antenna 14A. Once the cells 51 enter the overlapping area 50AB, they also communicate with the secondary port 12A(2) of the same eNodeB farm 3 BBU 12(A) but with a different PCI 13A(2) via the GW antenna 14B and rising satellite 20B. At this point, the eNodeB 12(A) enables the secondary TRx port 12A(2), which communicates via the second GW antenna 14B to the rising satellite 20B over beam 15 and with the cell via a new beam 17h. In this way, the beam from the satellite 20A can start the HO from serving beam 16h to serving beam 17h. ¶0051 - The first antenna 14A still carries the setting beam 16 for the BHO purpose and is labelled as 16h in the BHO process, the secondary RF port 12A(2) for the same eNodeB 12(A), is now taking the target beam route, i.e., the second antenna 14B (which tracks that rising satellite 20B). Once it is communicating over the secondary port 12A(2) via the second antenna 14B and the rising satellite 20B to the active UEs in cell 51h, it ceases communication over the primary port 12A(1) and the first antenna 14A);
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to: in a case of not performing beam measurement with the user equipment,
However, in analogous art, Tila explicitly teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: in a case of not performing beam measurement with the user equipment, (Fig. 6 & Pages 17-18, ¶30, ¶35 - These coverage areas may be configured to overlap in a handover region 601 comprising a distance dx along the predetermined path 103. When the mobile device 105 enters the handover region 601 , it may initiate a handover procedure between the first and second base stations 107i , 1072 … Alternatively, the current serving base station 107i may initiate the handover procedure. In either case, the handover procedure may be initiated via a request message transmitted from the requesting device (i.e. the base station 107i or the mobile device 105) without performing measurements, etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tila to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because by initiating handover procedures based on the location of the mobile device, a small handover region is produced in which handover can be achieved successfully and rapidly (Page 17, ¶15, ¶20, Tila).
Re. Claim 17, Yu teaches Claim 11.
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach the user equipment is on a transportation vehicle with a predetermined movement path, and the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain information about the predetermined movement path from another device; and determine the position, the current beam and the next beam of the user equipment at least partly based on the information about the predetermined movement path.
However, in the analogous art, Tila explicitly teaches the user equipment is on a transportation vehicle with a predetermined movement path, (Fig. 6 & Page 3, ¶15 - The disclosure also provides a vehicle, such as a train, comprising one or more such mobile devices. ¶35 - A further aspect provides a method of initiating a handover procedure to handover a mobile device from a first radio access node to a second radio access node, the mobile device constrained to move along a predetermined path);
and the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain information about the predetermined movement path from another device; (Fig. 1 & Page 8, ¶20 - In step 201 , the controller obtains location information relating to the location of the mobile device. For example, the location information may comprise information relating to the location of the mobile device on a predetermined path … This information may in some examples be provided by a a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), for example, a Global Positioning System (GPS), a Globalnaya Navigazionnaya Sputnikovaya Sistema (GLONASS) system, a Galileo system or a BeiDou system, substantially collocated with the mobile device 105. For example, the mobile device 105 may comprise a location module which may comprise a global positioning system);
and determine the position, the current beam and the next beam of the user equipment at least partly based on the information about the predetermined movement path (Page 11, ¶25, ¶30 - In either arrangement, the location information may comprise an indication that the mobile device 105 has moved from one section (i.e. from sight of one beam) to another section (i.e. into sight of the next beam), thus prompting switching to the next beam in the predetermined sequence);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tila to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because the present invention relates to the use of beams for communicating between a base station and a mobile device. In particular, the invention is concerned with providing communication between base stations and moving mobile devices located on vehicles (Page 1, ¶5, Tila).
Re. Claim 18, Yu and Tila teach Claim 16.
Yu further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: provide the user equipment with information about the current beam, information about the next beam, (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0065 - … the source beam 16h sends RRC connection_reconfiguration, which commands the active UEs to measure the target beam with the PCI of the rising satellite 50B. RSRP and RSRQ of the target beam are measured …);
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach and information about an edge of the overlapping coverage region.
However, in the analogous art, Tila explicitly and information about an edge of the overlapping coverage region (Fig. 6 & Page 17, ¶30, ¶35 - The base stations 107i and 1072 have coverage areas 602 and 603. These coverage areas may be configured to overlap in a handover region 601 comprising a distance dx along the predetermined path 103. When the mobile device 105 enters the handover region 601, it may initiate a handover procedure between the first and second base stations 107i, 1072. Page 18, ¶10 - The predetermined location may thus be updated as conditions in the network and its environment change).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tila to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because by initiating handover procedures based on the location of the mobile device, a small handover region is produced in which handover can be achieved successfully and rapidly (Page 17, ¶15, ¶20, Tila).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and Tila, as applied to Claims 6-8 and 16-18 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2014/0171106 A1), Cheng hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, Yu and Tila teach Claim 8.
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach the information about the edge of the overlapping coverage region indicates a position of the edge, and the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit, when an actual position of the user equipment reaching the edge is inconsistent with the predicted position, a deviation report indicating the inconsistency to the network-side device.
However, in the analogous art, Tila explicitly teaches the information about the edge of the overlapping coverage region indicates a position of the edge, (Fig. 6 & Page 17, ¶30, ¶35 - The base stations 107i and 1072 have coverage areas 602 and 603. These coverage areas may be configured to overlap in a handover region 601 comprising a distance dx along the predetermined path 103. When the mobile device 105 enters the handover region 601, it may initiate a handover procedure between the first and second base stations 107i, 1072. Page 18, ¶10 - The predetermined location may thus be updated as conditions in the network and its environment change);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tila to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because by initiating handover procedures based on the location of the mobile device, a small handover region is produced in which handover can be achieved successfully and rapidly (Page 17, ¶15, ¶20, Tila).
Yet, Yu and Tila do not explicitly teach and the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit, when an actual position of the user equipment reaching the edge is inconsistent with the predicted position, a deviation report indicating the inconsistency to the network-side device.
However, in the analogous art, Cheng explicitly teaches and the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit, when an actual position of the user equipment reaching the edge is inconsistent with the predicted position, a deviation report indicating the inconsistency to the network-side device (Fig. 2, 4-5 & ¶0023 - In the prediction phase, both the UE and the network run the same type of predictor or algorithm. The UE reports its current and past actual location information if a condition is met. The condition may be an event driven occurrence (e.g., the estimated location and the actual location is off more than the threshold) or periodically, as agreed … If the estimated location and the actual location are off more than the threshold, the UE reports its current location information (and previous location information) with timestamps to the system. Both the UE and the system correct the errors in parallel. Please also see ¶0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cheng to the teachings of Yu and Tila. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a system and method for wireless communications, and, in particular embodiments, to a system and method for user equipment mobility prediction (¶0002, Cheng).
Re. Claim 20, Yu and Tila teach Claim 18.
Yet, Yu does not explicitly teach the information about the edge of the overlapping coverage region indicates a position of the edge, and the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a deviation report that is transmitted from the user equipment when an actual position of the user equipment reaching the edge is inconsistent with the predicted position and that indicates the inconsistency.
However, in the analogous art, Tila explicitly teaches the information about the edge of the overlapping coverage region indicates a position of the edge, (Fig. 6 & Page 17, ¶30, ¶35 - The base stations 107i and 1072 have coverage areas 602 and 603. These coverage areas may be configured to overlap in a handover region 601 comprising a distance dx along the predetermined path 103. When the mobile device 105 enters the handover region 601, it may initiate a handover procedure between the first and second base stations 107i, 1072. Page 18, ¶10 - The predetermined location may thus be updated as conditions in the network and its environment change);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tila to the teaching of Yu. The motivation would be because by initiating handover procedures based on the location of the mobile device, a small handover region is produced in which handover can be achieved successfully and rapidly (Page 17, ¶15, ¶20, Tila).
Yet, Yu and Tila do not explicitly teach and the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a deviation report that is transmitted from the user equipment when an actual position of the user equipment reaching the edge is inconsistent with the predicted position and that indicates the inconsistency.
However, in the analogous art, Cheng explicitly teaches and the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a deviation report that is transmitted from the user equipment when an actual position of the user equipment reaching the edge is inconsistent with the predicted position and that indicates the inconsistency (Fig. 2, 4-5 & ¶0023 - In the prediction phase, both the UE and the network run the same type of predictor or algorithm. The UE reports its current and past actual location information if a condition is met. The condition may be an event driven occurrence (e.g., the estimated location and the actual location is off more than the threshold) or periodically, as agreed … If the estimated location and the actual location are off more than the threshold, the UE reports its current location information (and previous location information) with timestamps to the system. Both the UE and the system correct the errors in parallel. Please also see ¶0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cheng to the teachings of Yu and Tila. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a system and method for wireless communications, and, in particular embodiments, to a system and method for user equipment mobility prediction (¶0002, Cheng).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and Tila and Cheng, as applied to Claims 10 and 20 above, and further in view of Rune (US 2019/0014510 A1), Rune hereinafter.
Re. Claim 21, Yu and Tila and Cheng teach Claim 20.
Yet, Yu, Tila and Cheng do not explicitly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the position, the current beam and the next beam of the user equipment with reference to the deviation report.
However, in the analogous art, Rune explicitly teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the position, the current beam and the next beam of the user equipment with reference to the deviation report (Fig. 1-2, 6 & ¶0047 - Based on the estimated UE position, as assessed by the source AN and transferred to the target AN, and on corresponding geographical information retrieved from the position database 18, the target AN 16 may activate a subset of the candidate beams 161-165, e.g. candidate beams 163 and 164 according to the example shown in FIG. 1 … ¶0050 - In a first step S01, the source AN 14 determines a first position estimate of a UE to be handed over from one or a plurality of beams in the source AN 14 to one or a plurality of beams in the target AN 16. ¶0051 - In a second step S02, the source AN 14 transmits a position information message indicative of the first position estimate to the target AN 16. ¶0052 - In a third step S03, the target AN 16 initiates a processing of the position information message, e.g. to obtain a further (or corrected) position estimate. ¶0053 - In a fourth step S04, the target AN 16 performs a selection of one or a plurality of candidate beams to be activated in order to connect to the UE 10 based on the further position estimate. Please also see ¶0105-¶0110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Rune to the teachings of Yu and Tila and Cheng. The motivation would be because activating too many beams in the target may have some drawbacks … On the other hand, activating too few beams may lead to a suboptimal beam selection (resulting in suboptimal performance) and even to handover failures. It is thus desired to activating an appropriate number of candidate target beam(s) (¶0011-¶0012, Rune).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Damnjanovic et al. (US 2017/0099120 A1) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-17, ¶0091-¶0092.
Chai et al. (CN 110072264 A) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-3.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465