DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant’s amendment filed 1/26/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In regard to claim 27, it limits that which has already been amended into claim 1, as best understood. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichol et al (US 2021/0181405 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Nichol et al disclose an exterior equipment for an automotive vehicle (see Figure 102), the equipment comprising an external surface on which a luminous module is arranged, the luminous module including:
an assembly of at least one flexible guide sheet (107), each flexible guide sheet of the assembly being adapted to receive light rays via at least one edge of the flexible guide sheet and to reflect the light rays in a direction substantially normal to a surface of the flexible guide sheet according to at least one pattern etched in the flexible guide sheet;
at least one light injection element (101) adapted to receive light and to distribute the light in the assembly of at least one flexible guide sheet;
at least one light source adapted to inject light into the at least one light injection element. (Figure 102; see at least [0662] onward)
Nichol et al fails to disclose that a surface density of microstructures increases in a progressive manner with distance from an edge of the flexible guide sheet.
However, Nichol et al teaches, in the embodiment of Figure 20a, a surface density of microstructures increases in a progressive manner with distance from an edge of the flexible guide sheet. (See Figure 20a)
The Examiner further takes notice that increasing microstructure density as a function of distance from the light source is a known practice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the teachings of the embodiment of Figure 20a to that of Figure 102 in order to ensure evenness of the light output and a balanced image.
In regard to claim 4, Nichol et al disclose a control element adapted to control the at least one light source.
In regard to claim 5, Nichol et al disclose the luminous module is adapted to display at least one symbol in a given area of the luminous module on the basis of the pattern of each flexible guide sheet of the assembly.
In regard to claim 26, Nichol et al disclose each flexible guide sheet includes a film including microstructures.
Nichol et al fail to disclose that they are etched by ultraviolet printing.
Moreover, the limitations of “etched by ultraviolet printing”, are product-by-process limitations. Patentability for such limitations is based on the product itself, not on its method of production. See MPEP 2113
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use ultraviolet printing to form the microstructures in order to use a known process.
In regard to claim 27, Nichol et al fail to disclose a surface density of microstructures decreases with the distance from the edge of the guide sheet into which the light is injected.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to decrease the density in order to concentrate the light near the light source.
In regard to claim 28, Nichol et al disclose each injection element includes a plurality of injection guides, each injection guide being adapted to receive light from one end of the guide and to guide the light to a given longitudinal position on the injection element, the longitudinal positions of the injection guides all being different so as to distribute the light longitudinally in the injection element.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 10-12, 14, 15, 20, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichol et al (US 2021/0181405 A1) in view of Sawada et al (US 2009/0219734 A1).
In regard to claim 6, Nichol et al fails to disclose both first and second patterns.
Sawada et al teaches a luminous module that is adapted to display at least a first symbol (12) in a first given area of the luminous module and at least a second symbol (13) in a second given area of the luminous module, on the basis of the pattern of each flexible guide sheet of the assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the first and second symbol of Sawada et al to the film layer of Nichol et al in order to provide for a plurality of signals.
In regard to claim 7, the combination of Nichol et al and Sawada et al fail to disclose light sources and a first and second wavelength range. However, providing for a plurality of colored lights is notoriously old and well-known, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to allow for a plurality of wavelengths in order to provide for a plurality of signal lamps and to further provide for a decorative effect.
In regard to claim 10, the combination of Nichol et al and Sawada et al, in combination, teach that the luminous module includes a first injection element and a second injection element, wherein the at least one source is adapted to selectively inject light into the first injection element and into the second injection element, and wherein the first light injection element and the assembly of at least one flexible guide sheet are arranged in such a way as to project light according to a first pattern and wherein the second light injection element and the assembly of at least one flexible guide sheet are arranged in such a way as to project light according to a second pattern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the first and second symbol of Sawada et al to the film layer of Nichol et al in order to provide for a plurality of signals.
In regard to claim 11, Sawada et al further teaches a first light source adapted to inject light into the first light injection element and a second light source adapted to inject light into the second light injection element.
In regard to claim 12, the combination of Nichol et al and Sawada et al fail to disclose light sources and a first and second wavelength range. However, providing for a plurality of colored lights is notoriously old and well-known, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to allow for a plurality of wavelengths in order to provide for a plurality of signal lamps and to further provide for a decorative effect.
In regard to claim 14, the combination of Nichol et al and Sawada et al, in combination, teach at least a first and a second flexible guide sheets, the first pattern being etched in the first flexible guide sheet and the second pattern being etched in the second flexible guide sheet, the first injection element being arranged in such a way as to inject light into an edge of the first flexible guide sheet and the second injection element being arranged in such a way as to inject light into an edge of the second flexible guide sheet.
In regard to claim 15, the combination of Nichol et al and Sawada et al, in combination, teach the first and second guide sheets are superimposed in the luminous module, in order to project the first and second patterns in a common area of the luminous module.
In regard to claim 20, Sawada et al further teaches the control element is adapted to control the at least one source in order to selectively project light according to a first pattern and according to the second pattern.
In regard to claim 21, the combination of Nichol et al and Sawada et al fail to disclose the control element is adapted to dynamically control the at least one source in such a way as to produce a light animation comprising at least the first and second patterns. However, animation illumination is notoriously old and well-known, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide dynamic control in order to provide for a decorative effect.
In regard to claim 23, Nichol et al fails to disclose each flexible guide sheet of the assembly has a thickness of between 0.2 and 1 mm. However, where thinness is a known advantage, this is merely routine optimization. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the sheet of a thickness of 0.2 to 1.0 mm in order to minimize profile.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has argued that the embodiment of Figure 102 fails to teach a progressive density of microstructures. However, this is taught by Figure 20a. Further, this is a known feature in the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875