DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 0063 line 8 mentions “FIG. 2a”, which does not exist in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang (US 20160305094 A1), hereinafter Chang.
Regarding claim 1, Chang teaches a machine guidance method of an excavator (Paragraph 0019 – “a screen mode selecting method for every working mode of an excavator”), comprising:
receiving information on the excavator (Paragraph 0027-0028, 0045 – “angle sensor 110 in the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure detects a change of an angle in accordance with an operation of an attaching unit…the attaching unit refers to a position where the sensor is attached in the excavator… The driving information is information to confirm whether the excavator is being driven…When the instruction signal is input, in order to automatically select the screen mode, one or more input information, for example, an angle value and driving information from the angle sensor are provided in step S20”);
determining an operation mode of the excavator based on the information on the excavator (Paragraph 0046 – “The working mode is determined using the angle value and the driving information in step S30”; Note: the working mode is equivalent to the operation mode);
setting a configuration of a machine guidance screen corresponding to the operation mode (Paragraph 0053 – “An optimal screen corresponding to a working mode determined in accordance with the determined working mode is provided in step S40”; Note: the optimal screen is a configuration);
and displaying the machine guidance screen in the set configuration according to the operation mode (Paragraph 0035, 0053 – “The display unit 140 displays a video corresponding to the screen mode in accordance with the indication of the control unit 100…the optimal screen mode required for the working mode is searched from the table which is already stored in a database, as illustrated in FIG. 1. The videos received from the plurality of cameras are selected in accordance with the searched screen mode to display the image on the screen”).
Regarding claim 2, Chang teaches the machine guidance method according to claim 1. Chang further teaches wherein the determining an operation mode of the excavator comprises determining whether the excavator is in a work mode or in a drive mode (Paragraph 0047-0048 and 0051-0052 – “it is checked whether the driving speed Vx is zero using input driving information in step S31. When the driving speed is not zero, it is determined that the mode is a driving mode in step S32. When the driving speed is zero in step S31, it is checked whether a turning angular velocity x among the input angle values is zero in step S33… In step S33, when the turning angular velocity x is zero, it is checked whether the boom angle .sub.Y is within a range of −20 degrees to +20 degrees in step S37. When the boom angle y is smaller than −20, it is determined that the mode is a deep digging mode. When the boom angle y is larger than +20 degrees, it is determined that the mode is a upper bed working mode…When the boom angle y is within a range of −20 degrees to +20 degrees in step S37, it is determined that the mode is a flatland digging mode in step S39”; Note: it is determined whether the excavator is in a driving mode or digging/work mode).
Regarding claim 9, Chang teaches an excavator (Paragraph 0026 – “a screen mode selecting device for every working mode of an excavator according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may include a control unit 100, one or more angle sensors 110, a driving information input unit 120, an input unit 130, a display unit 140, a memory unit 150, and one or more cameras 160”) comprising:
a sensor device (Paragraph 0027 – “the angle sensor 110 in the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure detects a change of an angle in accordance with an operation of an attaching unit. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 2, the attaching unit refers to a position where the sensor is attached in the excavator”);
a storage device in which a machine guidance program of the excavator is recorded (Paragraph 0036, 0039, 0063 – “The memory unit 150 stores information required for the screen mode selecting method for every working mode of the construction equipment… The memory unit 150 includes a magnetic media such as a hard disk, a floppy disk, and a magnetic tape, an optical media such as a compact disk read only memory (CD-ROM) or a digital video disk (DVD), a magneto-optical media such as a floptical disk, a ROM, a random access memory (RAM), and a flash memory…The software code is stored in the memory unit to be driven by the processor”; Note: the memory unit is equivalent to the storage device, and the software code is equivalent to the machine guidance program);
a display device (Paragraph 0035 – “The display unit 140 displays a video corresponding to the screen mode in accordance with the indication of the control unit 100”);
and a processor executing the machine guidance program (Paragraph 0062-0063 – “the method according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may be implemented by one or more application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), digital signal processors (DSPs), digital signal processing devices (DSPDs), programmable logic devices (PLDs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), a processor, a controller, a microcontroller, or a microprocessor… The software code is stored in the memory unit to be driven by the processor”), wherein the processor
receives information on the excavator (Paragraph 0027-0028, 0045 – “angle sensor 110 in the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure detects a change of an angle in accordance with an operation of an attaching unit…the attaching unit refers to a position where the sensor is attached in the excavator… The driving information is information to confirm whether the excavator is being driven…When the instruction signal is input, in order to automatically select the screen mode, one or more input information, for example, an angle value and driving information from the angle sensor are provided in step S20”);
determines an operation mode of the excavator based on the information on the excavator (Paragraph 0046 – “The working mode is determined using the angle value and the driving information in step S30”; Note: the working mode is equivalent to the operation mode);
sets a configuration of a machine guidance screen corresponding to the operation mode (Paragraph 0053 – “An optimal screen corresponding to a working mode determined in accordance with the determined working mode is provided in step S40”; Note: the optimal screen is a configuration);
and displays the machine guidance screen in the set configuration according to the operation mode (Paragraph 0035, 0053 – “The display unit 140 displays a video corresponding to the screen mode in accordance with the indication of the control unit 100…the optimal screen mode required for the working mode is searched from the table which is already stored in a database, as illustrated in FIG. 1. The videos received from the plurality of cameras are selected in accordance with the searched screen mode to display the image on the screen”).
Regarding claim 10, Chang teaches the excavator according to claim 9. Chang further teaches wherein the processor determines the operation mode of the excavator as any one among a work mode, a drive mode, and a third mode (Paragraph 0047-0048 and 0050-0052 – “it is checked whether the driving speed Vx is zero using input driving information in step S31. When the driving speed is not zero, it is determined that the mode is a driving mode in step S32. When the driving speed is zero in step S31, it is checked whether a turning angular velocity x among the input angle values is zero in step S33… In step S33, when the turning angular velocity x is zero, it is checked whether the boom angle .sub.Y is within a range of −20 degrees to +20 degrees in step S37. When the boom angle y is smaller than −20, it is determined that the mode is a deep digging mode. When the boom angle y is larger than +20 degrees, it is determined that the mode is a upper bed working mode…When the turning angular velocity x is larger than zero, it is determined that the mode is a right turning mode in step S35. When the turning angular velocity x is not zero, but is not larger than zero, that is, smaller than zero, it is determined that the mode is the left turning mode…When the boom angle y is within a range of −20 degrees to +20 degrees in step S37, it is determined that the mode is a flatland digging mode in step S39”; Note: the excavator is determined to be in either a driving mode, digging/work mode, or a turning mode (third mode)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Tsukamoto (US 20180328003 A1), hereinafter Tsukamoto.
Regarding claim 3, Chang teaches the machine guidance method according to claim 2. Chang further teaches determining the operation mode of the excavator as a third mode (Paragraph 0050 – “When the turning angular velocity x is larger than zero, it is determined that the mode is a right turning mode in step S35. When the turning angular velocity x is not zero, but is not larger than zero, that is, smaller than zero, it is determined that the mode is the left turning mode in step S36”; Note: the turning mode is a third mode). Chang does not teach determining the operation mode of the excavator as a third mode when a third motion of the excavator is detected in the work mode or the drive mode of the excavator. However, Tsukamoto teaches determining the operation mode of the excavator as a third mode when a third motion of the excavator is detected in the work mode or the drive mode of the excavator (Paragraph 0045, 0063 – “the operator raises the boom 4 until the bottom of the bucket 6 reaches a desired height from the ground as illustrated in (D) of FIG. 3. The desired height is may be a height greater than or equal to the height of a dump, for example. Subsequently or at the same time, the operator turns the upper turning body 3 in the direction indicated by arrow AR1 to move the bucket 6 to a position where it can deposit the excavated soil. The operation of the excavator at this time is referred to as a boom raising turning operation, and such operation phase is referred to as a boom raising turning operation phase…If the boom angle α is greater than or equal to the first threshold value αTH1 (YES in step ST2), the controller 30 determines that the operation phase has changed from the excavating operation phase to the boom raising turning operation phase”; Note: the turning operation phase is a third mode. The turning motion is detected while the excavator was in a work mode (excavating operation phase)). Since Chang already teaches a third mode related to turning, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Tsukamoto to have the third mode be defined by a detected motion while in a work or driving mode because it would then account for every excavator action not encompassed by a driving mode and working mode, and therefore provides a way to display all of those other actions without making excessive or redundant display configuration changes.
Regarding claim 5, Chang teaches the machine guidance method according to claim 2. Chang further teaches wherein, when an angle value of a boom of the excavator is greater than a preset first threshold value, the determining an operation mode of the excavator comprises determining the operation mode of the excavator as the work mode (Paragraph 0051 – “When the boom angle y is larger than +20 degrees, it is determined that the mode is a upper bed working mode in step S38”; Note: when the angle value of a boom is greater than a threshold of +20 degrees, it is determined that the excavator is in a working mode). Chang does not teach the “change in an angle value of at least one among a boom, an arm, and a buck of the excavator” from the limitation: “wherein, when a change in an angle value of at least one among a boom, an arm, and a bucket of the excavator is greater than a preset first threshold value, the determining an operation mode of the excavator comprises determining the operation mode of the excavator as the work mode”. However, Tsukamoto teaches determining an operation mode of the excavator, when a change in an angle value of at least one among a boom (Paragraph 0043 – “the operator first performs a boom lowering operation within the work area N. When the boom angle α becomes less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value αTH3, the excavator determines that a deep digging excavating operation is being performed”; Note: a change in the boom angle is used to determine a work mode), an arm (Paragraph 0086-0088 – “The above operation is referred to as the excavating operation first half, and such operation phase is referred to as excavating operation first half phase. Also, the arm angle β of the arm 5 in (B) of FIG. 8 is set up as a second threshold βTH… the controller 30 can determine that the operation phase has changed from the excavating operation first half phase to the excavating operation latter half phase based on the orientation of the front work machine (the boom angle α and the arm angle β)… when the orientation (angle) of the arm 5 as the “orientation of the front work machine” is less than the second threshold value βTH” ; Note: a change in the arm angle is used to determine a work mode), and a bucket of the excavator (Paragraph 0059-0061, 0063 – “Based on the value of the bucket angle θ detected by the bucket angle sensor S3, the controller 30 determines whether the bucket angle θ is less than or equal to a predetermined value θTH (step ST1). In this way, the controller 30 can determine whether the excavating operation has ended… as the bucket 6 closes, the bucket angle θ decreases. If the bucket angle θ is greater than the predetermined value θTH (NO in step ST1), the controller 30 repeats the process of ST1 until the bucket angle θ becomes less than or equal to the predetermined value θTH. If the bucket angle θ is less than or equal to the predetermined value θTH (YES in step ST1), the controller 30 determines whether the boom angle α is greater than or equal to the predetermined first threshold value αTH1 based on the boom angle α detected by the boom angle sensor S1 (step ST2)… If the boom angle α is greater than or equal to the first threshold value αTH1 (YES in step ST2), the controller 30 determines that the operation phase has changed from the excavating operation phase to the boom raising turning operation phase”; Note: a change in the bucket angle is used to determine if the excavator is still in a work mode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Tsukamoto to use a change in a boom angle, bucket angle, or arm angle to determine an operation mode because while Chang uses an angle value, an angle value by itself may not necessitate a certain action by the excavator since it does not indicate motion. On the other hand, a change in an angle indicates a motion and thus more accurately helps identify an action by the excavator. Additionally, using a change in various angles, like the boom angle, bucket angle, and/or arm angle, helps to identify what part of the excavator is moving and then further helps to identify the action.
Regarding claim 11, Chang teaches the excavator according to claim 10. Chang further teaches wherein, when an angle value of a boom of the excavator is greater than a preset first threshold value, the processor determines the operation mode of the excavator as the work mode (Paragraph 0051 – “When the boom angle y is larger than +20 degrees, it is determined that the mode is a upper bed working mode in step S38”; Note: when the angle value of a boom is greater than a threshold of +20 degrees, it is determined that the excavator is in a working mode). Chang does not teach the “change in an angle value of at least one among a boom, an arm, and a buck of the excavator” from the limitation: “wherein, when a change in an angle value of at least one among a boom, an arm, and a bucket of the excavator is greater than a preset first threshold value, the processor determines the operation mode of the excavator as the work mode”. However, Tsukamoto teaches determining an operation mode of the excavator, when a change in an angle value of at least one among a boom (Paragraph 0043 – “the operator first performs a boom lowering operation within the work area N. When the boom angle α becomes less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value αTH3, the excavator determines that a deep digging excavating operation is being performed”; Note: a change in the boom angle is used to determine a work mode), an arm (Paragraph 0086-0088 – “The above operation is referred to as the excavating operation first half, and such operation phase is referred to as excavating operation first half phase. Also, the arm angle β of the arm 5 in (B) of FIG. 8 is set up as a second threshold βTH… the controller 30 can determine that the operation phase has changed from the excavating operation first half phase to the excavating operation latter half phase based on the orientation of the front work machine (the boom angle α and the arm angle β)… when the orientation (angle) of the arm 5 as the “orientation of the front work machine” is less than the second threshold value βTH” ; Note: a change in the arm angle is used to determine a work mode), and a bucket of the excavator (Paragraph 0059-0061, 0063 – “Based on the value of the bucket angle θ detected by the bucket angle sensor S3, the controller 30 determines whether the bucket angle θ is less than or equal to a predetermined value θTH (step ST1). In this way, the controller 30 can determine whether the excavating operation has ended… as the bucket 6 closes, the bucket angle θ decreases. If the bucket angle θ is greater than the predetermined value θTH (NO in step ST1), the controller 30 repeats the process of ST1 until the bucket angle θ becomes less than or equal to the predetermined value θTH. If the bucket angle θ is less than or equal to the predetermined value θTH (YES in step ST1), the controller 30 determines whether the boom angle α is greater than or equal to the predetermined first threshold value αTH1 based on the boom angle α detected by the boom angle sensor S1 (step ST2)… If the boom angle α is greater than or equal to the first threshold value αTH1 (YES in step ST2), the controller 30 determines that the operation phase has changed from the excavating operation phase to the boom raising turning operation phase”; Note: a change in the bucket angle is used to determine if the excavator is still in a work mode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Tsukamoto to use a change in a boom angle, bucket angle, or arm angle to determine an operation mode because while Chang uses an angle value, an angle value by itself may not necessitate a certain action by the excavator since it does not indicate motion. On the other hand, a change in an angle indicates a motion and thus more accurately helps identify an action by the excavator. Additionally, using a change in various angles, like the boom angle, bucket angle, and/or arm angle, helps to identify what part of the excavator is moving and then further helps to identify the action.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Tsukamoto and Hiromatsu et al. (US 20190218749 A1), hereinafter Hiromatsu.
Regarding claim 4, Chang in view of Tsukamoto teaches the machine guidance method according to claim 3. Chang does not teach wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the third mode, setting a configuration of a machine guidance screen comprises setting the configuration of the machine guidance screen to maintain a previously displayed configuration of the machine guidance screen. However, Hiromatsu teaches wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the third mode (Paragraph 0046, 0091 – “six work patterns are registered in the present embodiment, which are (1) work stop pattern, (2) travel pattern, (3) normal excavation pattern, (4) slope-tamping pattern, (5) embanking pattern, and (6) loading pattern…if the work pattern identified at S5 is the work stop pattern or none of the six patterns are identified, the process proceeds to Step S7, and a guide screen for a work pattern identified in a previous control cycle is displayed. Note that if the process reaches Step 7 in the first control cycle after the engine is started, a guide screen defined as an initial value, for example, the normal excavation pattern screen 40, is displayed”; Note: in this case, the third mode is when none of the listed patterns are identified. In the rejection of claim 3, the turning operation phase was used as an example situation of a third mode; this still applies as turning is not included in the list of patterns in paragraph 0046 of Hiromatsu), setting a configuration of a machine guidance screen comprises setting the configuration of the machine guidance screen to maintain a previously displayed configuration of the machine guidance screen (Paragraph 0091 – “if the work pattern identified at S5 is the work stop pattern or none of the six patterns are identified, the process proceeds to Step S7, and a guide screen for a work pattern identified in a previous control cycle is displayed. Note that if the process reaches Step 7 in the first control cycle after the engine is started, a guide screen defined as an initial value, for example, the normal excavation pattern screen 40, is displayed”; Note: a previous configuration is displayed on the screen). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Hiromatsu to display a previous configuration when the excavator is in a third mode because the third mode accounts for all other actions/movements by the excavator not encompassed by the driving and working mode, and instead of having a unique display configuration for every type of action, there can be a unique display configuration for only the important actions (driving and working) and a default display configuration for the rest. The default display configuration in this case would be the previous display configuration. This makes the display more efficient since there does not need to be an excessive or redundant amount of display changes.
Claims 6, 8, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Nomura et al. (JP 2012172424 A), hereinafter Nomura.
Regarding claim 6, Chang teaches the machine guidance method according to claim 2. Chang further teaches wherein, when a change in a position of the excavator is greater than a preset second threshold value, the determining an operation mode of the excavator comprises determining the operation mode of the excavator as the drive mode (Paragraph 0047 – “it is checked whether the driving speed Vx is zero using input driving information in step S31. When the driving speed is not zero, it is determined that the mode is a driving mode in step S32”; Note: when a change in position (represented by speed) is greater than a preset threshold of 0, the mode is determined to be a driving mode). Chang does not teach that the position is represented by coordinate values like in the limitation: “wherein, when a change in a position coordinate value of the excavator is greater than a preset second threshold value, the determining an operation mode of the excavator comprises determining the operation mode of the excavator as the drive mode”. However, Nomura teaches a position coordinate value (Paragraph 0031, 0047, 0062 – “The position detection unit 19 detects the current position of the hydraulic excavator 100. The position detection unit 19 uses RTK-GNSS (Real Time Kinematic - Global Navigation Satellite Systems; GNSS refers to Global Navigation Satellite Systems). It has two antennas 21 and 22 for GNSS (hereinafter referred to as "GNSS antennas 21 and 22"), a three-dimensional position sensor 23, and a tilt angle sensor 24. The GNSS antennas 21 and 22 are positioned at a certain distance apart along the Ya axis (see Figure 9) of the vehicle body coordinate system Xa-Ya-Za… we determine the vehicle body coordinate system {Xa, Ya, Za} with the installation position P1 of the GNSS antenna 21…the position guidance controller 39 detects the current position of the vehicle body 1 using the position detection unit 19 described above”; Note: the position is represented by coordinates in the vehicle body coordinate system). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the position of Chang could have been substituted for the position coordinate value of Nomura because a coordinate value is a type of way to represent the position, and both the position and coordinate value serve the purpose of representing the location and distance traveled by the excavator. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of using the position to determine if the excavator is in a driving mode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the position of Chang for the position coordinate value of Nomura according to known methods to yield the predictable result of using the position to determine if the excavator is in a driving mode.
Regarding claim 8, Chang teaches the machine guidance method according to claim 2. Chang does not teach wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the work mode, the displaying the machine guidance screen comprises displaying a second machine guidance screen including a front view visually showing a degree of alignment between a cross-section of an end portion of a bucket of the excavator and a target surface and a side view visually showing a degree of alignment between a back side of the bucket and a lateral side target surface. However, Nomura teaches wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the work mode, the displaying the machine guidance screen comprises displaying a second machine guidance screen (Paragraph 0040, 0053 – “When the delicate drilling mode selection key 69 is pressed, the delicate drilling screen 54 is selected…In Figure 11, the delicate drilling screen 54 is displayed”; Note: in this case, the delicate drilling mode is equivalent to the work mode, and the delicate drilling screen is equivalent to the second machine guidance screen) including a front view visually showing a degree of alignment between a cross-section of an end portion of a bucket of the excavator and a target surface and a side view visually showing a degree of alignment between a back side of the bucket and a lateral side target surface (Fig. 11, Paragraph 0053 – “In Figure 11, the delicate drilling screen 54 is displayed, so the icon for the delicate drilling mode selection key 69 is displayed as the first screen switching key 65. Furthermore, the delicate drilling screen 54 includes a front view 54a showing the target surface 70 and the bucket 8, and a side view 54b showing the target surface 70 and the bucket 8. The front view 54a of the delicate drilling screen 54 includes an icon 89 of the bucket 8 as seen from the front, and a line (hereinafter referred to as the "target surface line 78") that shows the cross-section of the target surface 70 as seen from the front. The side view 54b of the delicate drilling screen 54 includes the icon 90 of the bucket 8 in a side view, the design plane line 74, and the target plane line 79”; Note: see screenshot of Fig. 11 below, which shows the views and the degrees of alignment). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Nomura to display a guidance screen for a working mode with a front and side view of the bucket and target surface for the benefit of allowing the operator to see how the bucket should be positioned and moved relative to the surface in order to properly perform the work. This would make it easier for them to view the bucket, especially when the cabin does not provide an ideal or quality real-life view of the working area.
Screenshot of Fig. 11 (taken from Nomura)
Regarding claim 12, Chang teaches the excavator according to claim 10. Chang further teaches wherein, when a change in a position of the excavator is greater than a preset second threshold value, the processor determines the operation mode of the excavator as the drive mode (Paragraph 0047 – “it is checked whether the driving speed Vx is zero using input driving information in step S31. When the driving speed is not zero, it is determined that the mode is a driving mode in step S32”; Note: when a change in position (represented by speed) is greater than a preset threshold of 0, the mode is determined to be a driving mode). Chang does not teach that the position is represented by coordinate values like in the limitation: “wherein, when a change in a position coordinate value of the excavator is greater than a preset second threshold value, the processor determines the operation mode of the excavator as the drive mode”. However, Nomura teaches a position coordinate value (Paragraph 0031, 0047, 0062 – “The position detection unit 19 detects the current position of the hydraulic excavator 100. The position detection unit 19 uses RTK-GNSS (Real Time Kinematic - Global Navigation Satellite Systems; GNSS refers to Global Navigation Satellite Systems). It has two antennas 21 and 22 for GNSS (hereinafter referred to as "GNSS antennas 21 and 22"), a three-dimensional position sensor 23, and a tilt angle sensor 24. The GNSS antennas 21 and 22 are positioned at a certain distance apart along the Ya axis (see Figure 9) of the vehicle body coordinate system Xa-Ya-Za… we determine the vehicle body coordinate system {Xa, Ya, Za} with the installation position P1 of the GNSS antenna 21…the position guidance controller 39 detects the current position of the vehicle body 1 using the position detection unit 19 described above”; Note: the position is represented by coordinates in the vehicle body coordinate system). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the position of Chang could have been substituted for the position coordinate value of Nomura because a coordinate value is a type of way to represent the position, and both the position and coordinate value serve the purpose of representing the location and distance traveled by the excavator. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of using the position to determine if the excavator is in a driving mode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the position of Chang for the position coordinate value of Nomura according to known methods to yield the predictable result of using the position to determine if the excavator is in a driving mode.
Regarding claim 14, Chang teaches the excavator according to claim 10. Chang does not teach wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the work mode, the processor displays a second machine guidance screen including a front view visually showing a degree of alignment between a cross-section of an end portion of a bucket of the excavator and a target surface and a side view visually showing a degree of alignment between a back side of the bucket and a lateral side target surface on the display device. However, Nomura teaches wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the work mode, the processor displays a second machine guidance screen (Paragraph 0040, 0053 – “When the delicate drilling mode selection key 69 is pressed, the delicate drilling screen 54 is selected…In Figure 11, the delicate drilling screen 54 is displayed”; Note: in this case, the delicate drilling mode is equivalent to the work mode, and the delicate drilling screen is equivalent to the second machine guidance screen) including a front view visually showing a degree of alignment between a cross-section of an end portion of a bucket of the excavator and a target surface and a side view visually showing a degree of alignment between a back side of the bucket and a lateral side target surface on the display device (Fig. 11, Paragraph 0053 – “In Figure 11, the delicate drilling screen 54 is displayed, so the icon for the delicate drilling mode selection key 69 is displayed as the first screen switching key 65. Furthermore, the delicate drilling screen 54 includes a front view 54a showing the target surface 70 and the bucket 8, and a side view 54b showing the target surface 70 and the bucket 8. The front view 54a of the delicate drilling screen 54 includes an icon 89 of the bucket 8 as seen from the front, and a line (hereinafter referred to as the "target surface line 78") that shows the cross-section of the target surface 70 as seen from the front. The side view 54b of the delicate drilling screen 54 includes the icon 90 of the bucket 8 in a side view, the design plane line 74, and the target plane line 79”; Note: see screenshot of Fig. 11 above, which shows the views and the degrees of alignment). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Nomura to display a guidance screen for a working mode with a front and side view of the bucket and target surface for the benefit of allowing the operator to see how the bucket should be positioned and moved relative to the surface in order to properly perform the work. This would make it easier for them to view the bucket, especially when the cabin does not provide an ideal or quality real-life view of the working area.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Nomura and Moon (KR 101695914 B1), hereinafter Moon.
Regarding claim 7, Chang teaches the machine guidance method according to claim 2. Chang does not teach wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the drive mode, the displaying the machine guidance screen comprises displaying a first machine guidance screen including a three- dimensional view that displays a plan view displaying a top view of the excavator seen from a top to a bottom on a two-dimensional map and a side view of the excavator seen from a diagonal line at one side on a three-dimensional map. However, Nomura teaches wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the drive mode, the displaying the machine guidance screen comprises displaying a first machine guidance screen (Paragraph 0037, 0040 – “The driving mode guidance screens 51 and 52 are screens for guiding the hydraulic excavator 100 to near the target surface 70, and show the current position of the hydraulic excavator 100 in the work area… When the driving mode selection key 67 is pressed, the driving mode guidance screens 51 and 52 are selected”; Note: the detailed driving screen is equivalent to the first machine guidance screen) including a view that displays a plan view displaying a top view of the excavator seen from a top to a bottom on a two-dimensional map and a side view of the excavator at one side (Fig. 8, Paragraph 0042 – “The detailed driving screen 52 also includes a top view 52a showing the design terrain of the work area and the current position of the hydraulic excavator 100, and a side view 52b showing the target surface 70 and the working range 76 of the hydraulic excavator 100 and the work machine 2”; Note: there is a top view and side view of the excavator; see screenshot of Fig. 8 below. The top view shows the excavator on the design terrain, made up of polygons, which is equivalent to the 2D map). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Nomura to display a guidance screen for a driving mode with a top view of the excavator on a 2D map and side view of the excavator for the benefit of allowing the operator to see how the excavator should be positioned and moved in order to bring it to the target area. This would make it easier for them to view the environment and avoid obstacles, especially when the cabin does not provide an ideal or quality view of the working area.
Screenshot of Fig. 8 (taken from Nomura)
Chang modified by Nomura still does not teach the “three-dimensional view” nor the “side view of the excavator seen from a diagonal line at one side on a three-dimensional map” in the limitation: “displaying a first machine guidance screen including a three- dimensional view that displays a plan view displaying a top view of the excavator seen from a top to a bottom on a two-dimensional map and a side view of the excavator seen from a diagonal line at one side on a three-dimensional map”. However, Moon teaches displaying a first machine guidance screen including a three- dimensional view that displays a plan view displaying a side view of the excavator seen from a diagonal line at one side on a three-dimensional map (Fig. 7 and 11b, Paragraph 0045, 0061, 0078 – “Figure 7 is a diagram illustrating the 3D graphic simulation results according to the 3D graphic simulation module… The real-time 3D graphic simulation module (430) of the above earthwork BIM user terminal (400) receives excavator location information provided by the above work location tracking module (300) and performs real-time 3D graphic simulation according to the excavator shape information, excavator location information and 3D terrain information… the 3D modeling image generated by the 3D modeling image generation unit (433) may include a 3D view, a top view, a front view, and a side view”; Note: Fig. 7 shows a side view of the excavator on a 3D terrain map, and Fig. 11b shows that the view is seen from a diagonal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Moon to display a 3D view and side view of the excavator from a diagonal on a 3D map because a 3D view and 3D map portrays the scene more realistically. The operator would be able to better see elevation, which would help with avoiding obstacles, identifying the target work area, and navigating the environment.
Screenshot of Fig. 7 (taken from Moon)
Screenshot of Fig. 11b (taken from Moon)
Regarding claim 13, Chang teaches the excavator according to claim 10. Chang does not teach wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the drive mode, the processor displays a first machine guidance screen including a three-dimensional view that displays a plan view displaying a top view of the excavator seen from a top to a bottom on a two-dimensional map and a side view of the excavator seen from a diagonal line at one side on a three-dimensional map on the display device. However, Nomura teaches wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the drive mode, the processor displays a first machine guidance screen (Paragraph 0037, 0040 – “The driving mode guidance screens 51 and 52 are screens for guiding the hydraulic excavator 100 to near the target surface 70, and show the current position of the hydraulic excavator 100 in the work area… When the driving mode selection key 67 is pressed, the driving mode guidance screens 51 and 52 are selected”; Note: the detailed driving screen is equivalent to the first machine guidance screen) including a view that displays a plan view displaying a top view of the excavator seen from a top to a bottom on a two-dimensional map and a side view of the excavator at one side (Fig. 8, Paragraph 0042 – “The detailed driving screen 52 also includes a top view 52a showing the design terrain of the work area and the current position of the hydraulic excavator 100, and a side view 52b showing the target surface 70 and the working range 76 of the hydraulic excavator 100 and the work machine 2”; Note: there is a top view and side view of the excavator; see screenshot of Fig. 8 above. The top view shows the excavator on the design terrain, made up of polygons, which is equivalent to the 2D map). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Nomura to display a guidance screen for a driving mode with a top view of the excavator on a 2D map and side view of the excavator for the benefit of allowing the operator to see how the excavator should be positioned and moved in order to bring it to the target area. This would make it easier for them to view the environment and avoid obstacles, especially when the cabin does not provide an ideal or quality view of the working area.
Chang modified by Nomura still does not teach the “three-dimensional view” nor the “side view of the excavator seen from a diagonal line at one side on a three-dimensional map” in the limitation: “display a first machine guidance screen including a three- dimensional view that displays a plan view displaying a top view of the excavator seen from a top to a bottom on a two-dimensional map and a side view of the excavator seen from a diagonal line at one side on a three-dimensional map”. However, Moon teaches displaying a first machine guidance screen including a three- dimensional view that displays a plan view displaying a side view of the excavator seen from a diagonal line at one side on a three-dimensional map (Fig. 7 and 11b, Paragraph 0045, 0061, 0078 – “Figure 7 is a diagram illustrating the 3D graphic simulation results according to the 3D graphic simulation module… The real-time 3D graphic simulation module (430) of the above earthwork BIM user terminal (400) receives excavator location information provided by the above work location tracking module (300) and performs real-time 3D graphic simulation according to the excavator shape information, excavator location information and 3D terrain information… the 3D modeling image generated by the 3D modeling image generation unit (433) may include a 3D view, a top view, a front view, and a side view”; Note: Fig. 7 shows a side view of the excavator on a 3D terrain map, and Fig. 11b shows that the view is seen from a diagonal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Moon to display a 3D view and side view of the excavator from a diagonal on a 3D map because a 3D view and 3D map portrays the scene more realistically. The operator would be able to better see elevation, which would help with avoiding obstacles, identifying the target work area, and navigating the environment.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Hiromatsu.
Regarding claim 15, Chang teaches the excavator according to claim 10. Chang does not teach wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the third mode, the processor sets the configuration of the machine guidance screen to maintain a previously displayed configuration of the machine guidance screen. However, Hiromatsu teaches wherein, when the operation mode of the excavator is determined as the third mode (Paragraph 0046, 0091 – “six work patterns are registered in the present embodiment, which are (1) work stop pattern, (2) travel pattern, (3) normal excavation pattern, (4) slope-tamping pattern, (5) embanking pattern, and (6) loading pattern…if the work pattern identified at S5 is the work stop pattern or none of the six patterns are identified, the process proceeds to Step S7, and a guide screen for a work pattern identified in a previous control cycle is displayed. Note that if the process reaches Step 7 in the first control cycle after the engine is started, a guide screen defined as an initial value, for example, the normal excavation pattern screen 40, is displayed”; Note: in this case, the third mode is when none of the listed patterns are identified. In the rejection of claim 10, the turning operation was used as an example situation of a third mode; this still applies as turning is not included in the list of patterns in paragraph 0046 of Hiromatsu), the processor sets the configuration of the machine guidance screen to maintain a previously displayed configuration of the machine guidance screen (Paragraph 0091 – “if the work pattern identified at S5 is the work stop pattern or none of the six patterns are identified, the process proceeds to Step S7, and a guide screen for a work pattern identified in a previous control cycle is displayed. Note that if the process reaches Step 7 in the first control cycle after the engine is started, a guide screen defined as an initial value, for example, the normal excavation pattern screen 40, is displayed”; Note: a previous configuration is displayed on the screen). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Hiromatsu to display a previous configuration when the excavator is in a third mode because the third mode accounts for all other actions/movements by the excavator not encompassed by the driving and working mode, and instead of having a unique display configuration for every type of action, there can be a unique display configuration for only the important actions (driving and working) and a default display configuration for the rest. The default display configuration in this case would be the previous display configuration. This makes the display more efficient since there does not need to be an excessive or redundant amount of display changes.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Nomura and Hiromatsu.
Regarding claim 16, Chang teaches the excavator according to claim 10. Chang does not teach wherein, when a method of partitioning the machine guidance screen is set to a 2-partition screen, the processor sets the configuration of the machine guidance screen to display a machine guidance screen corresponding to the third mode and a previously displayed machine guidance screen on each of partitioned screens. However, Hiromatsu teaches the processor sets the configuration of the machine guidance screen to display a machine guidance screen corresponding to the third mode and a previously displayed machine guidance screen (Paragraph 0091 – “if the work pattern identified at S5 is the work stop pattern or none of the six patterns are identified, the process proceeds to Step S7, and a guide screen for a work pattern identified in a previous control cycle is displayed. Note that if the process reaches Step 7 in the first control cycle after the engine is started, a guide screen defined as an initial value, for example, the normal excavation pattern screen 40, is displayed”; Note: in this case, the third mode is when none of the patterns are identified. A previous configuration is displayed on the screen, which corresponds to the third mode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Hiromatsu to display a machine guidance screen corresponding to the third mode and a previously displayed machine guidance screen because the third mode accounts for all other actions/movements by the excavator not encompassed by the driving and working mode, and instead of having a unique display configuration for every type of action, there can be a unique display configuration for only the important actions (driving and working) and a default display configuration for the rest. The default display configuration in this case would be the previous display configuration. This makes the display more efficient since there does not need to be an excessive or redundant amount of display changes, even when other variables are changed.
Chang modified by Hiromatsu still does not teach wherein, when a method of partitioning the machine guidance screen is set to a 2-partition screen, the processor sets the configuration of the machine guidance screen to display a machine guidance screen on each of partitioned screens. However, Nomura teaches wherein, when a method of partitioning the machine guidance screen is set to a 2-partition screen (Fig. 8, 11 – The figures show how the screen is partitioned into two parts; see screenshots above), the processor sets the configuration of the machine guidance screen to display a machine guidance screen corresponding to the third mode and a previously displayed machine guidance screen on each of partitioned screens (Fig. 8 and 11, Paragraph 0072-0073 – “when it is determined that the hydraulic excavator 100 has not changed from a non-traveling state to a traveling state, the excavation mode guidance screens 53 and 54 are maintained…even if the driving detection is determined to be OFF, the guidance screen does not automatically switch from driving mode to excavation mode, and the driving mode guidance screens 51 and 52 are maintained”; Note: The figures show how the screen is partitioned into two parts that each guide the excavator; see screenshots above. Each screen corresponds to a previous/maintained screen). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Nomura to display a machine guidance screen on each of the two screen partitions for the benefit of allowing the operator see multiple views at the same time without having to manually switch between them so they can better focus on operating the excavator. Additionally, it is more efficient to maintain the previously displayed screens even when a 2-partition layout is set because it reduces the amount of display changes that need to be made.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shintani et al. (US 20210332566 A1) teaches a method of determining a work state and displaying a screen based on the work state.
/MICHELLE HAU MA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617