DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least by means of” in claim 61.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 47, 51, 52, and 56-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 47, the claim is vague and therefore the claim is rendered indefinite. It is unclear what the recitations actually mean.
Claims 51, 52, 56, 58, and 61, the recitations “or combinations thereof” included in the Markush group in the claim renders the claim indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim are unascertainable since it is unclear as to what "combinations thereof” encompasses. Further, the recitation may lead to issues under enablement, since the specification may not support/enable all possible combinations in the claims. Each individual combination of materials is not disclosed in the specification.
Claim 57 recites the limitation "said first material zone" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 59, the recitation “said first material” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how “at least a first material zone” can be “more rigid than said first material zone”. How can a material zone be more rigid than itself?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42-49, 51-54, and 56-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2015/005860 A1 to Pervan.
Regarding claim 42, Pervan discloses a wall or ceiling panel (1a, 1b, 1c, 1d), which comprises a substrate layer (body of 1) and a top layer (Page 2, lines 11-22), said top layer optionally comprising a decoration layer (Page 2, lines 11-22), and a wear layer (Page 2, lines 11-22) provided above said decoration layer, wherein said substrate layer, on at least one pair of opposite edges is provided with mechanical coupling parts (9a, 9b, ends of panels 1a, 1b, Fig.23a-d), and wherein a backing layer (2) is provided onto the surface of the substrate layer opposing the top layer (Fig.23a-d), wherein said backing layer at least partly covers said substrate layer (2, Fig.23c; Fig.24b), and wherein said backing layer at least partly extends beyond one or more of said edges (2, Fig.23c; Fig.24b).
Regarding claim 43, wherein said backing layer at least partly extends beyond two non-opposing edges of said substrate layer (4b, 4d, Fig.24b).
Regarding claim 44, wherein said backing layer at least partly extends beyond at most two edges of said substrate layer (4b, 4d, Fig.24b).
Regarding claim 45, discloses wherein said backing layer at least partly extends beyond at most one edge of said substrate layer (Fig.13c and 13d).
Regarding claim 46, wherein said backing layer extends uninterruptedly along said one or more edges of said substrate layer (4b, 4d, Fig.24b).
Regarding claim 47, wherein at the height of said one or more edges of the substrate layer, beyond which the backing layer extends, the backing layer extends interruptedly along approximately the entire length of said one or more edges of said substrate layer (2, Fig.23c; 4b, 4d, Fig.24b).
Regarding claim 48, wherein said backing layer is positioned off-set with regard to the edges of said substrate layer (4b, 4d, Fig.24b).
Regarding claim 49, wherein said backing layer at least partly extends beyond a first edge of said substrate layer over a first distance (left panel, Fig.23d), and wherein at an opposing second edge of said substrate layer, said backing layer is absent over a second distance (right side panel, Fig.23d), wherein said second distance is at least the same or larger than said first distance (Fig.13d).
Regarding claim 51, wherein said backing layer comprises a material chosen from the group of a woven textile material, a non-woven textile material, a glass fiber cloth, a polymer material, a foamed polymer material, an elastomeric material, a thin metallic or polymeric foil, or combinations thereof (Page 31, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 52, wherein said backing layer comprises one or more connection regions (any area of 2 is capable of receiving a fastener, specifically the areas which are beneath the openings “6” which receive fasteners), which connection regions are configured for receiving one or more connection elements chosen from the group of nails, screws, staples, or combinations thereof (capable of being placed under 6, Fig.17d; further hole in 6, Fig.25a).
Regarding claim 53, Pervan discloses an assembly of a wall or ceiling panel (1d) and a connection member (6), wherein said wall or ceiling panel comprises a substrate layer (body of 1), and a top layer (Page 2, lines 11-22), said top layer optionally comprising a decoration layer (Page 2, lines 11-22), and a wear layer (Page 2, lines 11-22) provided above said decoration layer, wherein said substrate layer, on at least one pair of opposite edges, is provided with mechanical coupling parts (9a, 9b, edges of 1a, 1b, Fig.23c) wherein said connection member is configured to connect to said mechanical coupling parts on at least one of the edges of said substrate layer (Fig.23c), and is configured to at least partly extend beyond one of the edges of said substrate layer (Fig.23c).
Regarding claim 54, wherein said connection member comprises a panel-side part (10a, 10b) and a wall-side part (7 and 2), wherein said panel-side part is configured to at least partly engage with said mechanical coupling parts on at least one of the edges of said substrate layer (Fig.23c).
Regarding claim 56, wherein said wall-side part comprises at least a first material zone comprising a material chosen from the group of a woven textile material, a non-woven textile material, a glass fiber cloth, a polymer material, a foamed polymer material, an elastomeric material, a thin metallic or polymeric foil, or combinations thereof (Page 31, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 57, wherein said wall-side part comprises at least a second material zone (7) which at least partly surrounds said first material zone (Fig.23c), wherein said second material zone is more rigid than said first material zone (material of 6 is more rigid than 2).
Regarding claim 58, wherein said wall-side part comprises one or more connection regions (any area capable of being secured to a support; Fig.17d; Fig.25a), which connection regions are configured for receiving one or more connection elements chosen from the group of nails, screws, staples, or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 59, wherein said wall-side part comprises at least a first material zone (2) and said connection regions (areas of 7) comprise a material which is more rigid than said first material zone (material of 6 is more rigid than 2).
Regarding claim 60, Pervan discloses a connection member (6) for installing wall or ceiling panels, said wall or ceiling panels being provided with at least one profiled edge, said connection member comprising: means for interacting with said profiled edge (10a, 10b), and a connection region (any portion of 7 is capable of receiving a fastener; some embodiments show preformed holes, Fig. 17d and 25a) configured for receiving one or more connection elements, wherein said connection region is flexibly and/or movably mounted with respect to said means for interacting with said profiled edge (the means for interacting (10a, 10b) are bent upwardly from the connection region (7)).
Regarding claim 61, wherein said connection region is flexibly and/or movably mounted at least by a folded material portion; a bendable material portion, hinge portions, or angle portions (tabs 10a and 10b are bent, living hinge).
Claim(s) 60 and 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0136255 A1 to Sawada et al.
Regarding claim 60, Sawada et al. disclose a connection member (10) for installing wall or ceiling panels, said wall or ceiling panels being provided with at least one profiled edge, said connection member comprising: means for interacting with said profiled edge (11, 12, Fig.5), and a connection region (17L, 19, 17R) configured for receiving one or more connection elements, wherein said connection region is flexibly (bent from base) mounted with respect to said means for interacting with said profiled edge.
Regarding claim 61, wherein said connection region is flexibly mounted at least by means of a folded material portion; a bendable material portion; hinge portions (bent creating a living hinge).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 50 and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015/005860 A1 to Pervan.
Regarding claims 50 and 55, Pervan discloses wherein said backing layer/wall side part is formed from cork, foam, rubber, etc. Some of the materials are known to have properties which fall into this range or can be formed to have properties that fall into this range, but Pervan does not specifically disclose the backing layer having a tensile strength of between 5 and 50 MPa and/or a Young's modulus of between 0.01 and 5.00 GPa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have to have formed the backing layer of Pervan having a specific tensile strength and Young’s modulus so to ensure the backing layer remains flexible but also adds strength and durability to the assembly. The backing layer is also capable of adding damping qualities and padding.
Claim(s) 53, 54 and 57-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0136255 A1 to Sawada et al. in view of WO 2015/005860 A1 to Pervan.
Regarding claim 53, Sawada et al. disclose an assembly of a wall or ceiling panel (2) and a connection member (10, Fig.5), wherein said wall or ceiling panel comprises a substrate layer (body of 2), wherein said substrate layer, on at least one pair of opposite edges, is provided with mechanical coupling parts (21, 22, Fig.4) wherein said connection member is configured to connect to said mechanical coupling parts on at least one of the edges of said substrate layer (Fig.4), and is configured to at least partly extend beyond one of the edges of said substrate layer (Fig.4).
Sawada et al. does not specifically disclose a top layer, said top layer optionally comprising a decoration layer, and a wear layer provided above said decoration layer.
Pervan discloses using ceiling or wall panels of varying materials and having top layers, decoration layers, wear layers, etc. ((Page 2, lines 11-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the ceiling or floor panel with a top decorated layer and a wear layer so to provide the desired aesthetic appearance and further to protect the panel surface and substrate. Providing aesthetic surfaces and wear layers is notoriously well known in the art and would not yield unexpected results.
Regarding claim 54, Sawada et al. disclose wherein said connection member comprises a panel-side part (11, 12) and a wall-side part (15, 17, Fig.5), wherein said panel-side part is configured to at least partly engage with said mechanical coupling parts on at least one of the edges of said substrate layer (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 57, wherein said wall-side part comprises at least a second material zone (31, Fig.5) which at least partly surrounds said first material zone (17L, 19, 17R), wherein said second material zone is more rigid than said first material zone (first material zone is without holes, therefore the material is less rigid).
Regarding claim 58, wherein said wall-side part comprises one or more connection regions (17L, 19, 17R), which connection regions are configured for receiving one or more connection elements chosen from the group of nails, screws, staples, or combinations thereof (Fig.5).
Regarding claim 59, wherein said wall-side part comprises at least a first material zone and said connection regions (17L, 19, 17R) comprise a material which is more rigid than said first material zone (17L, 19, 17R).
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635