DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a final action in response to amendment filed on 03/24/2026. Claims 26-36 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 04/01/2026 has been considered.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument presented on sections I-III of remarks filed 03/24/2026 are persuasive. Those issues have been withdrawn.
Regarding 101 rejection, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant first argues claim require physical control unit and concrete response action. Regarding physical control unit, this control unit appears to be nothing more than generic computer controller, which is used to implement the abstract idea. It wouldn’t be sufficient to integrate the abstract idea onto practical application. As of response action, claimed scope merely require displaying a message, which can still be part of abstract idea. Therefore the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant goes on to make arguments related to actions, however, as noted above, the action can be merely displaying information, which can be part of abstract idea. Examiner would recommend expanding the actions so that it goes beyond merely displaying information.
Regarding 103 rejection, these arguments are not persuasive either.
Applicant first argues that no explanation is provided regarding citation of secondary reference. Examiner disagree but nevertheless clarifies that secondary reference’s tracking physical presence indicates claimed availability.
Applicant’s further argument is directed to similar lack of feature being taught, examiner notes that tracking presence of a power consuming device would indicate availability of asset. Applicant’s argument appear to be directed to reserving these assets, however, claimed scope can be broader than reservation of the asset. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
“control unit comprising a processor …” as amended in claims 26-31 do NOT invoke 112(f) as the processor provides sufficient structure to perform the entire function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 26-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they recite an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A prong 1
As per claim 26, examiner believes steps (i) – (v) are steps that recites an abstract idea. In this case, these are a series of rules used to determine availability of an asset, which falls into following rules and are therefore certain methods of organizing human activities and therefore, an abstract idea. Further, these steps can be performed mentally by a person exercising judgement and therefore would also fall into mental processes, which is also abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2
Claim 26 includes sensor, control unit (comprising processor), and a display that are just being used to perform the abstract idea, all of which are merely generally linking the abstract idea into a particular field of use, whether individually or as an ordered combination. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application. The analysis continue to step 2B.
Step 2B
As discussed above in step 2A prong 2, the additional elements, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, are nothing more than mere generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of use. This wouldn’t’ provide significantly more either. Therefore, claim 26 is not eligible.
Claims 27-31 includes limitation that can further performed mentally or merely generally linking abstract idea to other field of use. Examiner notes clustering, at a low number, can be performed mentally with help of pen and paper. Further, ground truth can be performed mentally by making judgement, or it can be merely generally linking the abstract idea to machine learning field of use. Therefore, they can all be similarly analyzed as the elements discussed above and are therefore not eligible either.
Claims 32-36 can also be similarly analyzed as claims 26-31 and arrive at the same conclusion of ineligible.
Examiner notes claims would likely be eligible if industrial machinery are physically controlled to perform certain operations as a result of determined availability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman (US 20180011454) in view of Contario (US 10416202)
As per calim 26, Kaufman further discloses a system for determining and communicating to a user availability of an asset, the system comprising:
a sensor positioned to determine an electrical property of the asset (Kaufman, 0049-0050, power sensor); and
a control unit comprising a processor comprising instructions for performing the following steps by the control unit to determine and communicate to the user availability of the asset (see Fig. 1 for relationship between control system 22 and component 20):
(i) obtaining a data set comprising readings from the sensor over a period of time (Kaufman, 0131, processor retrieve energy usage over time. See 0049, power usage over time detected by power sensor);
(ii) determining ranges of sensor readings by performing statistical analysis of the data set obtained in step (i) (see at least Kaufman, 0133, range can be determined using standard deviation),
(iii) assigning asset operating state values to the ranges of sensor readings determined in step (ii) (see 0143, usage value correlate to operational parameter);
(iv) obtaining a further reading from the sensor (see at least Kaufman, 0137, identify usage outside baseline); and
(v) determining the operating state of the asset by comparing the further reading from the sensor obtained in step (iv) to the asset operating state values assigned in step (iii) (Kaufman, 0137, equipment is potentially faulty based on usage outside baseline); and
(vi) based upon the operating state determined in step (v), communicating to the user, via a display, a message (0153 alarm generated to be shown on operator interface 24. See 0043 operator interface 24 includes a display)
Kaufman does not explicitly disclose operation state can be sued to describe availability of the asset but indicate the result of energy usage monitoring would teach the equipment is currently operating.
Nevertheless, Contario teaches using sensor to track the presence/absence (availability) of an assent (5:41-59, tracking physical presence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to apply Contario’s availability application with Kaufman’s energy monitoring for the purpose of better tracking assets.
As per claim 28, Kaufman further discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the asset operating values are selected from the group consisting of:
"on", "off', "idle", and "indefinite - sensor offline" (see at least 0127, tracking energy during normal operation (on status).).
As per claim 30, Kaufman further discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the electrical property determined by the sensor is related to the electrical and/or power consumption of the asset and is selected from the group consisting of:
current, inductance, voltage, electrical field, magnetic field, and heat etc (0049, voltage sensor).
wherein the asset comprises a power cord and the sensor is associated with the power cord (see at least 0112, cabling such as wires are used to carry electricity between components. Examiner notes such cable/wire would be a power cord), and
wherein the system further comprises the asset wherein the asset is optionally selected from the group consisting of: laboratory or manufacturing equipment (see at least Fig. 4 for manufacturing equipment. Examiner not es “optionally” does not limit the scope, but art is provided nonetheless).
Examiner further notes Contario explicitly teaches power cord being part of the equipment (see at least abstract).
Claims 32, 34, 36 includes limitations substantially similar to claims 26, 28, 30-31 and are rejected under similar rationale set forth above.
Claim(s) 27, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman (US 20180011454) in view of Contario (US 10416202) further in view of Andrei (US 20180285788)
As per claim 27, Kaufman does not but Andrei teaches the system of claim 26, wherein step (ii) is performed by the statistical analysis of clustering, for example, wherein the statistical analysis of clustering is performed by clustering readings from the sensor obtained in step (i) into groupings of similar readings of the sensor (see at least Andrei, 0139-0140, clustering used to identify similar consumption profile. Examiner notes “for example, wherein the statistical analysis of clustering is performed by clustering readings from the sensor obtained in step (i) into groupings of similar readings of the sensor” does not limit the scope).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to combine clustering with analysis of Kaufman for the purpose of generating better baseline profile.
Claim 33 includes limitation substantially similar to claim 27 and is rejected under similar rationale set forth above.
Claim(s) 29, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman (US 20180011454) in view of Contario (US 10416202) further in view of Savvides (US 20170146576).
As per claim 29, Kaufman further discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the step of (iii) assigning asset operating values to the ranges of sensor readings from the sensor is performed using
Kaufman doesn’t explicitly disclose using a ground truth but Savvides teaches using ground truth on collected data (see at least Savvides, 0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to combine ground truth verification of Savvides with analysis of Kaufman for the purpose of generating better baseline profile.
Claim 35 includes limitation substantially similar to claim 29 and is rejected under similar rationale set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GEORGE CHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628