DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings filed 3 September 2026 are accepted and they are deemed to address the objections raised in the Office action of 3 June 2026.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claim limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“providing a heat-sealable sealing strip such that:… a first strip segment of the sealing strip is provided at a first triple point section… a second segment of the sealing strip is provided at a second triple point section… wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips of the sealing strip” (claim 1). The drawings only currently show “providing” (figs. 4A-5E) the sealing strip (700) as a single strip and not providing them as separate strips.
“a second feeding system for supplying a sealing strip such that… a first strip segment of the sealing strip is provided at a first triple point section… a second segment of the sealing strip is provided at a second triple point section… wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips of the sealing strip” (claim 14). The drawings only currently show a second feeding system (570; figs. 4A-5E) supplying the sealing strips as a single strip and not supplying the sealing strip as separate strips.
“wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips” (claim 1) … and wherein the step of providing the sealing strip comprises the step of unrolling a strip of a film material from a film reel (claim 6)”. The drawings do not show two separate strips being provided off of the same film reel.
“wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips” (claim 14) … the second feeding system comprises a film reel feeding system for providing and arranging the sealing strip at the folding section between the two side edge sections and at the overlapping section (claim 15)”. The drawings do not show two separate strips being provided off of the same film reel and between the two side edge sections and at the overlapping section.
“wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips” (claim 1) … wherein the sealing strip is provided along the entire length of the overlapping section (claim 16)”. The drawings do not show separate strips extending along the entire length of the overlapping section.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, “providing a heat-sealable sealing strip such that:… a first strip segment of the sealing strip is provided at a first triple point section… a second segment of the sealing strip is provided at a second triple point section… wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips of the sealing strip” (emphasis added). The original filing does not disclose how the method is “providing” the sealing strip (700) as separate strips. The disclosure does recite that the final product of the packaging may have separate sealing strips (as seen in fig. 8 and referenced in the Specification pg. 23 lines 1-5), but does not provide the steps necessary for this method of providing separate sealing strips to be carried out. As such, the Applicant is not deemed to have demonstrated possession of this limitation as part of the original disclosure.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips” (as being dependent on claim 1) … and wherein the step of providing the sealing strip comprises the step of unrolling a strip of a film material from a film reel (claim 6)”. The original filing does not disclose how two separate strips being provided off of the same film reel. As such, the Applicant is not deemed to have demonstrated possession of this limitation as part of the original disclosure.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites, “a second feeding system for supplying a sealing strip such that… a first strip segment of the sealing strip is provided at a first triple point section… a second segment of the sealing strip is provided at a second triple point section… wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips of the sealing strip” (emphasis added). The original disclosure only recites a second feeding system (570; figs. 4A-5E) supplying the sealing strips as a single strip and not supplying the sealing strip as separate strips. The original disclosure does not recite the necessary structures required for the second feeding system to supply the sealing strips as separated segments. As such, the Applicant is not deemed to have demonstrated possession of this limitation as part of the original disclosure.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites, ““wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips” (as being dependent on claim 14) … the second feeding system comprises a film reel feeding system for providing and arranging the sealing strip at the folding section between the two side edge sections and at the overlapping section (claim 15)”. The original filing does not disclose how two separate strips being provided off of the same film reel and between the two side edge sections and at the overlapping section. As such, this limitation is not deemed to have been in possession of the Applicant at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites, “wherein the sealing strip is provided along the entire length of the overlapping section”. This is deemed to be new matter as parent claim 14 requires the sealing strips be “separate” and there is no disclosure or support for separate sealing strips extending along the entire length of the overlapping sections. This limitation is drawn to the embodiment as depicted in fig. 8, while the parent claim is drawn exclusively to the embodiment as depicted in fig. 9 and these claimed features are mutually exclusive.
Regarding claims 2-9 and 15-17, each of these claims are dependent on a rejected base claim and as such are rejected for the same reasons as their respective base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheeley (US Patent 3,314,591) in view of Leatherman et al. (US Patent 3,528,867) hereinafter referred to as Leatherman.
Regarding claim 1, Cheeley discloses a method (fig. 2) for producing a recyclable packaging (10) for enclosing a substance, the method comprising:
providing a flat sheet (16) made of a recyclable material (col. 2 lines 65-72; aluminum foil, nylon and plastic are all known recyclable materials) and having two opposite side edge sections (19, 20),
forming the flat sheet into a tube (21; fig. 2) by folding the flat sheet so that the two side edge sections at least partially overlap each other at an overlapping section (overlap of 19 and 20 seen in figs. 2 and 5-7; col. 2 lines 48-61),
heat sealing (via 31; col. 3 lines 9-13, 22-47) the tube along the overlapping section to form a longitudinal sealing joint (13),
heat sealing (via 37 and 38; col. 3 line 49 – 55) the tube across the longitudinal sealing joint to close the tube with a first traverse sealing joint (14 – bottom, fig. 1) at a first tube end,
filling (via 39; col. 3 lines 56-65) the tube with a substance to be packed,
heat sealing (via 37 and 38; via 37 and 38; col. 3 line 56 – col. 4 line 9) the tube across the longitudinal sealing joint to close the tube with a second traverse sealing joint (14 – top, fig. 1) at a second tube end opposite to the first tube end with respect to the substance to be packed so as to form the recyclable packaging enclosing said substance,
providing a heat-sealable sealing strip (32; col. 3 lines 22-47; col. 4 lines 25-34) such that:
a first segment of the sealing strip is provided at a first triple point section (fig. 7), at which the longitudinal sealing joint and the first traverse sealing joint intersect (fig. 1; where bottom 14 and 13 intersect; cross section seen in fig. 7), and
a second segment of the sealing strip is provided at a second triple point section (fig. 7), at which the longitudinal sealing joint and the second traverse sealing joint intersect (fig. 1; where top 14 and 13 intersect; cross section seen in fig. 7),
wherein the respective segments of the sealing strip seal the respective triple point section upon the heat sealing of the respective tube end to form the respective traverse sealing joint (col. 3 line 22 - col. 4 line 34; figs. 1 and 7).
Cheeley fails to disclose wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips of the sealing strip.
However, Leatherman teaches a method for producing a packaging (col. 1 lines 24-28, 42-45) wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips (14 or 54; col. 2 lines 27-29, col. 4 lines 43-49, col. 8 lines 26-37; fig. 7) of the sealing strip (col. 2 lines 4-8 – “filament or tape”).
Given the teachings of Leatherman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Cheeley such that the first and second segments were separate strips of the sealing strip. Doing so would allow someone to apply sealing strips only in areas that were desired for increased sealing and also help to reduce cost of manufacturing by reducing the amount of material needed to make the package.
Regarding claim 2, Cheeley discloses wherein the respective segments of the sealing strip (32) are provided before or during the step of forming the flat sheet into a tube (fig. 2), and/or before or during the step of heat sealing the longitudinal sealing joint (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Cheeley discloses wherein at least part of the sealing strip (32) is provided so that each of the respective segments is sandwiched between the two side edge sections at the overlapping section (figs. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, Cheeley discloses wherein at least one of the steps of providing the respective segments comprises the step of arranging the respective segment at the overlapping section (overlap of 19 and 20 seen in figs. 2 and 5-7) between the two side edge sections (19, 20) so that the respective segment extends to the respective triple point section (figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Cheeley discloses wherein at least one of the steps of providing the respective segments comprises the step of providing the respective segment at one of the two side edge sections (fig. 4; #32 is provided at edge 20).
Regarding claim 6, Cheeley discloses wherein the step of providing the sealing strip (32) comprises the step of unrolling a strip of a film material from a film reel (33; col. 3 lines 22-31; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Cheeley discloses wherein the sealing strip is made of a food grade material (col. 1 lines 13-30; col. 2 lines 25-31 – This is deemed to be disclosed as the material, including the sealing strip, the package is made out of is used for storing and also cooking food within the package).
Regarding claim 8, Cheeley does not disclose the thickness of sealing strip (32). However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Cheeley sealing strip to have been of a thickness in the range of 20 micrometers to 80 micrometers as a matter of design choice, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.04 IV A). A skilled artisan would have recognized that providing the Cheeley sealing strip with the claimed thickness would have achieved predictable and successful results of creating a package with a desired seal.
Regarding claim 9, Cheeley discloses wherein the step of providing the flat sheet (16) comprises the step of unrolling a longitudinal flat sheet material from a sheet reel (17; fig. 2), and/or wherein the flat sheet is made of a flat sheet material comprising a laminated or multilayered structure (col. 2 lines 66-72) with a base layer made of a paper material or a recyclable plastic material (col. 2 lines 66-72 – “decorative layer 29 of plastic material”; also “heat sealable nylon 27” is also a recyclable plastic).
Regarding claim 10, Cheeley discloses a recyclable packaging (10; fig. 1) being made of a flat sheet (16) with two opposite side edge sections (19, 20) and made of a recyclable material (col. 2 lines 65-72; aluminum foil, nylon and plastic are all known recyclable materials), the packaging enclosing a substance (col. 4 lines 10-15) and comprising:
a longitudinal sealing joint (13) along an overlapping section (overlap of 19 and 20 seen in figs. 2 and 5-7; col. 2 lines 48-61), at which the two opposite side edge sections overlap each other when the flat sheet is folded to form the flat sheet into a tube (21; fig. 2),
a first traverse sealing joint (14 – bottom, fig. 1) extending across the longitudinal sealing joint to close the tube at a first tube end,
a second traverse sealing joint (14 – top, fig. 1) extending across the longitudinal sealing joint to close the tube at a second tube end opposite to the first tube end with respect to the enclosed substance,
the packaging comprising:
a sealing strip (32) that is heat-sealable (col. 3 lines 22-47; col. 4 lines 25-34) and that is provided such that
a heat-sealed first segment of the sealing strip is provided at a first triple point section (fig. 7; bottom #14 intersecting with 13, fig. 1), at which the longitudinal sealing joint and the first traverse sealing joint intersect (fig. 1; where bottom 14 and 13 intersect; cross section seen in fig. 7), to seal the first triple point section, and
a heat-sealed second segment (fig. 7; top #14 intersecting with 13, fig. 1) of the sealing strip is provided at a second triple point section, at which the longitudinal sealing joint and the second traverse sealing joint intersect (fig. 1; where top 14 and 13 intersect; cross section seen in fig. 7), to seal the second triple point section.
Cheeley fails to disclose wherein the heat-sealed first segment and the heat-sealed second segment are separate strips of the sealing strip.
However, Leatherman teaches a packaging (col. 1 lines 24-28, 42-45) wherein the heat-sealed first segment and the heat-sealed second segment are separate strips (14 or 54; col. 2 lines 27-29, col. 4 lines 43-49, col. 8 lines 26-37; fig. 7) of the sealing strip (col. 2 lines 4-8 – “filament or tape”).
Given the teachings of Leatherman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Cheeley such that the first and second segments were separate strips of the sealing strip. Doing so would allow someone to apply sealing strips only in areas that were desired for increased sealing and also help to reduce cost of manufacturing by reducing the amount of material needed to make the package.
Regarding claim 11, Cheeley discloses wherein at least part of the sealing strip (32) is sandwiched between the two side edge sections (19, 20) at the overlapping section (figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 12, Cheeley discloses wherein the side edge sections (19, 20) are facing each other with the same side of the flat sheet at the overlapping section (figs. 5-7), and wherein the flat sheet comprises a laminated or multilayered structure (col. 2 lines 61-72) comprising a base layer (“a sheet of metallic foil 26”) and a sealant layer (“a heat sealable layer”; “a layer of heat sealable nylon 27”).
Regarding claim 13, Cheeley discloses wherein the packaging is a multi-serve pack (fig. 1, is shown as a pillow pouch; According to the Applicant’s own disclosure, a “pillow pack” is deemed to be a “multi-serve pack”; see also col. 2 lines 25-31).
Regarding claim 14, Cheeley discloses a machine (15; fig. 2) for producing a recyclable (col. 2 lines 65-72; aluminum foil, nylon and plastic are all known recyclable materials) packaging (10; fig. 1) for enclosing a substance (col. 4 lines 10-15) comprising:
a first feeding system (17, 23) for supplying a flat sheet (16) made of a sheet material (col. 2 lines 65-72) and having two opposite side edge sections (19, 20),
a folding section (24, 25; col. 2 lines 48-61) for folding the supplied flat sheet so that the two opposite side edge sections overlap each other at an overlapping section (overlap of 19 and 20 seen in figs. 2 and 5-7; col. 2 lines 48-61) to form the flat sheet into a tube (21; fig. 2),
a first heat sealing section (31) for heat sealing the tube along the overlapping section to form a longitudinal sealing joint (13; col. 3 lines 9-13, 22-47),
a second heat sealing section (37 and/or 38; col. 3 line 49 – col. 4 line 9) for heat sealing the tube across the longitudinal sealing joint (13) to close the tube with a first traverse sealing joint (14 – bottom, fig. 1) at a first tube end,
a filling section (39 and/or 18; col. 3 lines 56-65) for filling the tube with a substance to be packed,
a third heat sealing section (37 and/or 38; col. 3 line 49 – col. 4 line 9; *Note: According to the Applicant’s own disclosure (see figs. 4A-B) the second and third heat sealing sections (540, 550) are deemed to be the same section. As such, Cheeley is deemed to disclose the claimed second and third heat sealing sections as interpreted in light of the Applicant’s specification) for heat sealing the tube across the longitudinal sealing joint (13) to close the tube with a second traverse sealing joint (14 – top, fig. 1) at a second tube end opposite to the first tube end with respect to the substance to be packed so as to form the packaging enclosing said substance,
a second feeding system (33, 34, 35) for supplying a sealing strip (32) such that
a first segment of the sealing strip is provided at a first triple point section (fig. 7), at which the longitudinal sealing joint and the first traverse sealing joint will intersect (fig. 1; where bottom 14 and 13 intersect; cross section seen in fig. 7), so that the first segment seals the first triple point section upon the heat sealing of the tube at the second heat sealing section to form the first traverse sealing joint,
a second segment of the sealing strip is provided at a second triple point section (fig. 7), at which the longitudinal sealing joint and the second traverse sealing joint will intersect (fig. 1; where top 14 and 13 intersect; cross section seen in fig. 7), so that the second segment seals the second triple point section upon the heat sealing of the tube at the third heat sealing section to form the second traverse sealing joint.
Cheeley fails to disclose wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips of the sealing strip.
However, Leatherman teaches a machine for producing a packaging (col. 1 lines 24-28, 42-45) wherein the first segment and the second segment are separate strips (14 or 54; col. 2 lines 27-29, col. 4 lines 43-49, col. 8 lines 26-37; fig. 7) of the sealing strip (col. 2 lines 4-8 – “filament or tape”).
Given the teachings of Leatherman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Cheeley such that the first and second segments were separate strips of the sealing strip. Doing so would allow someone to apply sealing strips only in areas that were desired for increased sealing and also help to reduce cost of manufacturing by reducing the amount of material needed to make the package.
Regarding claim 16, Cheeley discloses wherein the sealing strip (32) is provided along the entire length of the overlapping section (figs. 2 and 5-7).
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheeley (US Patent 3,314,591) in view of Leatherman (US Patent 3,528,867) in view of Miyamoto (US Patent 8,713,902 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Cheeley discloses wherein the second feeding system (33, 34, 35) is configured to supply (col. 3 lines 21-48; fig. 2) at least part of the sealing strip (32),
the second feeding system comprises a film reel (33) feeding system (34, 35) for providing and arranging the sealing strip at the folding section between the two side edge sections and at the overlapping section (col. 3 lines 21-48; figs. 2 and 4-7),
the first feeding system (17, 23) comprises a sheet reel (17) feeding system (23) for unrolling (col. 2 lines 48-61) a longitudinal flat sheet material from a sheet reel to supply the flat sheet (16),
the second heat sealing section and the third heat sealing section are integral or identical (37 and/or 38), and
wherein the first heat sealing section (31) comprises a movable sealing part, which is configured to cooperate with a counterpart (18).
Wherein the Applicant may argue that the heat sealing section of Cheeley is not explicitly disclosed as being moving, the Office further points to Miyamoto which teaches wherein the first heat sealing section (16, 31; figs. 4-5) comprises a movable sealing part (16a; col. 5 lines 29-62), which is configured to cooperate with a counterpart (31, 13b).
Given the teachings of Miyamoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the vertical heat sealing section of Cheeley with the vertical heat sealing section of Miyamoto. Doing so would allow for a user to control the amount of heat and duration of heat application to the film at a desired degree and time to better fit the film material.
Regarding claim 17, Cheeley as modified by Miyamoto teaches wherein the movable sealing part (Miyamoto – 16a), which is configured to cooperate with a folding tube (Miyamoto – 31, 13b), or of the filling section (Miyamoto – 31, 13b) in order to form the longitudinal sealing joint (Miyamoto – col. 5 lines 29-62; figs. 4-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments rely on amendments to the claims which are deemed to be addressed by new grounds of rejection as detailed above.
Conclusion
/ANDREW M TECCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731