DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 13, 16, 18-19 are cancelled. Claims 1-12, 14-15, 17 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Non-English documents have been considered in as much as the drawings and translated portions provided therein (See MPEP 609).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 12, 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, as written, the user terminal is not within the scope of the claimed management system (see MPEP 2111.04), therefore the following limitations:
wherein
the user terminal is configured to transmit identification information of the first management apparatuses to the second management apparatus in response to the input from the user,
the user terminal is configured to show in one screen, the abnormality information and an image in accordance with the input from the user;
have no limiting effect, and the claim is indefinite in that it is not clear with the user terminal is being claimed.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites limitations starting on line 13:
cause the user terminal to provide notification of the abnormality information
the user terminal is configured to show in one screen, the abnormality information and an image in accordance with the input from the user.
As this appears to be a run-on sentence with two clauses not having a proper joining punctuations or joining words, the scope of these limitations is unclear. For example, it is not clear if this is two standalone limitations or just one limitation.
Claims 2-11, 14-15 depend on this claim and suffer from the same issues.
Regarding claim 12, as written, the user terminal is not within the scope of the claimed management system (see MPEP 2111.04), therefore the following limitations:
wherein
the user terminal is configured to transmit a prescribed signal to the management apparatus indicated by identification information designated in accordance with the input from the user;
the user terminal is configured to show in one screen, the abnormality information and an image in accordance with the input from the user;
have no limiting effect, and the claim is indefinite in that it is not clear with the user terminal is being claimed.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites limitations starting on line 13:
cause the user terminal to provide notification of the abnormality information
the user terminal is configured to show in one screen, the abnormality information and an image in accordance with the input from the user.
As this appears to be a run-on sentence with two clauses not having a proper joining punctuations or joining words, the scope of these limitations is unclear. For example, it is not clear if this is two standalone limitations or just one limitation.
All dependent claims of these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 12, 14-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TOMOHARU (JP-2018113557-A a reference in IDS 11/20/2024, provided translation being cited).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, TOMOHARU teaches:
A management system comprising:
first management apparatuses, each first management apparatus managing a facility device comprising at least one air-conditioner; and
a second management apparatus to communicate with the first management apparatuses and a user terminal to accept input from a user, wherein
the user terminal is configured to transmit identification information of the first management apparatuses to the second management apparatus in response to the input from the user, and
the second management apparatus is configured to
generate abnormality information on an abnormal facility device among facility devices each comprising the at least one air-conditioner managed by an identified management apparatus indicated by the identification information, and
cause the user terminal to provide notification of the abnormality information
the user terminal is configured to show in one screen, the abnormality information and an image in accordance with the input from the user
(at least figs. 1-5b [0010]-[0031] discussed smart device 3A/smart device 3B, users activating application in the smart devices, transmitting operating state information request to relay cloud server 2, then to associating central management device 40A/ central management device 40B, central management device 40A/ central management device 40B acquire operating state information/abnormality occurrence information of associated air conditioners and transmit to relay cloud center 2, then transmit to associated smart device, and display; discussed “information indicating the air conditioner in which the abnormality has occurred and an abnormality content display icon for displaying the abnormality content are displayed on the display screen”; in particular figs. 5a-5b [0010]-[0018] [0020]-[0024] [0029-[0030]);
It is noted that as written, the user terminal is not within the scope of the claimed management system (see MPEP 2111.04), therefore the following limitations:
wherein
the user terminal is configured to transmit identification information of the first management apparatuses to the second management apparatus in response to the input from the user,
the user terminal is configured to show in one screen, the abnormality information and an image in accordance with the input from the user;
have no limiting effect. However, as shown above , the prior art does teach these limitations anyway.
Regarding claim 2, TOMOHARU teaches:
wherein
the second management apparatus is configured to
obtain determination data of the abnormal facility device from the identified management apparatus when the second management apparatus receives the identification information, and
generate the abnormality information based on the determination data
(at least figs. 1-5b [0010]-[0031] discussed smart device 3A/smart device 3B, users activating application in the smart devices, transmitting operating state information request to relay cloud server 2, then to associating central management device 40A/ central management device 40B, central management device 40A/ central management device 40B acquire operating state information/abnormality occurrence information of associated air conditioners and transmit to relay cloud center 2, then transmit to associated smart device, and display; discussed “information indicating the air conditioner in which the abnormality has occurred and an abnormality content display icon for displaying the abnormality content are displayed on the display screen”; in particular figs. 5a-5b [0010]-[0018] [0020]-[0024] [0029-[0030]);
Regarding claim 3, TOMOHARU teaches:
wherein the determination data comprises at least one of operation data of the abnormal facility device, abnormality data of the abnormal facility device, and operation history data of the abnormal facility device (at least figs. 1-5b [0010]-[0031] discussed smart device 3A/smart device 3B, users activating application in the smart devices, transmitting operating state information request to relay cloud server 2, then to associating central management device 40A/ central management device 40B, central management device 40A/ central management device 40B acquire operating state information/abnormality occurrence information of associated air conditioners and transmit to relay cloud center 2, then transmit to associated smart device, and display; discussed “information indicating the air conditioner in which the abnormality has occurred and an abnormality content display icon for displaying the abnormality content are displayed on the display screen”; in particular figs. 5a-5b [0010]-[0018] [0020]-[0024] [0029-[0030]);
Regarding claim 8, TOMOHARU teaches:
a service terminal relating to services of the abnormal facility device, wherein the second management apparatus is configured to transmit a request signal to request the services of the abnormal facility device to the service terminal (at least figs. 1-5b [0010]-[0031] discussed smart device 3A/smart device 3B, users activating application in the smart devices, transmitting operating state information request to relay cloud server 2, then to associating central management device 40A/ central management device 40B, central management device 40A/ central management device 40B acquire operating state information/abnormality occurrence information of associated air conditioners and transmit to relay cloud center 2, then transmit to associated smart device, and display; discussed “information indicating the air conditioner in which the abnormality has occurred and an abnormality content display icon for displaying the abnormality content are displayed on the display screen”; in particular figs. 5a-5b [0010]-[0018] [0020]-[0024] [0029-[0030]; fig. 6 [0030]-[0036]);
Regarding claim 14, TOMOHARU teaches:
wherein the user terminal is a terminal that can be carried by the user (at least figs. 1-5b [0010]-[0031] discussed smart device 3A/smart device 3B, users activating application in the smart devices, transmitting operating state information request to relay cloud server 2, then to associating central management device 40A/ central management device 40B, central management device 40A/ central management device 40B acquire operating state information/abnormality occurrence information of associated air conditioners and transmit to relay cloud center 2, then transmit to associated smart device, and display; discussed “information indicating the air conditioner in which the abnormality has occurred and an abnormality content display icon for displaying the abnormality content are displayed on the display screen”; in particular figs. 5a-5b [0010]-[0018] [0020]-[0024] [0029-[0030]);
Regarding claim 15, TOMOHARU teaches:
wherein the abnormality information comprises at least one of a cause of abnormality of the abnormal facility device, a method of overcoming the abnormality, and whether low- load operation of the abnormal facility device can be performed (at least figs. 1-5b [0010]-[0031] discussed smart device 3A/smart device 3B, users activating application in the smart devices, transmitting operating state information request to relay cloud server 2, then to associating central management device 40A/ central management device 40B, central management device 40A/ central management device 40B acquire operating state information/abnormality occurrence information of associated air conditioners and transmit to relay cloud center 2, then transmit to associated smart device, and display; discussed “information indicating the air conditioner in which the abnormality has occurred and an abnormality content display icon for displaying the abnormality content are displayed on the display screen”; in particular figs. 5a-5b [0010]-[0018] [0020]-[0024] [0029-[0030]);
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, TOMOHARU teaches:
A management system comprising:
management apparatuses, each management apparatus managing a facility device comprising at least one air-conditioner, wherein
the management apparatus is configured to communicate with a user terminal to accept input from a user,
the user terminal is configured to transmit a prescribed signal to the management apparatus indicated by identification information designated in accordance with the input from the user, and
the management apparatus that has received the prescribed signal is configured to
obtain abnormality information on an abnormal facility device of at least one facility device managed by the management apparatus, and
cause the user terminal to provide notification of the abnormality information
the user terminal is configured to show in one screen, the abnormality information and an image in accordance with the input from the user.
(at least figs. 1-5b [0010]-[0031] discussed smart device 3A/smart device 3B, users activating application in the smart devices, transmitting operating state information request to relay cloud server 2, then to associating central management device 40A/ central management device 40B, central management device 40A/ central management device 40B acquire operating state information/abnormality occurrence information of associated air conditioners and transmit to relay cloud center 2, then transmit to associated smart device, and display; discussed “information indicating the air conditioner in which the abnormality has occurred and an abnormality content display icon for displaying the abnormality content are displayed on the display screen”; in particular figs. 5a-5b [0010]-[0018] [0020]-[0024] [0029-[0030]);
It is noted that as written, the user terminal is not within the scope of the claimed management system (see MPEP 2111.04), therefore the following limitations:
wherein
the user terminal is configured to transmit a prescribed signal to the management apparatus indicated by identification information designated in accordance with the input from the user;
the user terminal is configured to show in one screen, the abnormality information and an image in accordance with the input from the user;
have no limiting effect. However, as shown above , the prior art does teach these limitations anyway.
Regarding claim 17, TOMOHARU teaches:
A management method comprising:
transmitting, by a user terminal, when the user terminal accepts input from a user, identification information of any management apparatus of management apparatuses each managing a facility device comprising at least one air-conditioner; and
showing in one screen, by the user terminal, an image in accordance with the input from the user and notification of abnormality information on an abnormal facility device among facility devices each comprising the at least one air-conditioner managed by an identified management apparatus indicated by the identification information.
(at least figs. 1-5b [0010]-[0031] discussed smart device 3A/smart device 3B, users activating application in the smart devices, transmitting operating state information request to relay cloud server 2, then to associating central management device 40A/ central management device 40B, central management device 40A/ central management device 40B acquire operating state information/abnormality occurrence information of associated air conditioners and transmit to relay cloud center 2, then transmit to associated smart device, and display; discussed “information indicating the air conditioner in which the abnormality has occurred and an abnormality content display icon for displaying the abnormality content are displayed on the display screen”; in particular figs. 5a-5b [0010]-[0018] [0020]-[0024] [0029-[0030]);
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JOO et al. (US 20220154957) discussed controlling AC with server, user terminal.
BAO LONG T. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3656
/BAO LONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656