DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al. US 2019/0172737 hereinafter referred to as Endo in view of Kato US 2019/0279388 hereinafter referred to as Kato.
In regards to claim 1, Endo teaches:
“A monitoring method for monitoring a processing unit that supplies a processing fluid to an object to be processed, the monitoring method comprising: a) capturing an image of the processing fluid while supplying the processing fluid to the object to be processed” and “processing fluid”
Endo paragraph [0114] teaches The fume determination process is performed in the processing liquid supply process, and an intensive monitoring process of increasing the number of frames which are captured by the camera 72 particularly when the SPM cleaning solution is supplied and the hydrogen peroxide water extruding process is performed (that is, the time interval at which an image is captured is decreased: for example, an image was repeatedly captured every 0.1 seconds, but an image is repeatedly captured every 0.05 seconds only when the SPM cleaning solution is supplied and the hydrogen peroxide water extruding process is performed).
“and b) evaluating a fluid state of the processing fluid in accordance with a result of image capture in the operation a)”
Endo paragraph [0090] teaches the control unit 80 calculates an average value of luminance values of the pixels in the evaluation area A2 for the difference images Id which are sequentially acquired (Step S63b). As a result, as illustrated in FIG. 14, data indicating change of the average value of the luminance values of the evaluation area A2 with respect to the acquisition time of the captured image Is is acquired. Endo paragraph [0111] teaches as illustrated in FIG. 20, a plurality of evaluation areas A2 may be set vertically in the imaging area A1. A space close to the top surface of the substrate W held by the substrate holding unit 20 may also be set as an evaluation area A2.
Endo does not explicitly teach:
“wherein, in the operation a), pattern light having a light and dark pattern is applied to capture a reflected image or projected image of the pattern light on the surface of the [object]”
Kato paragraph [0034] teaches the image inspecting apparatus 1 so configured, in order to photograph an stripe-patterned illuminating pattern in which linear bands are arranged at equal intervals in the image obtained by using the camera 2 capturing the image of the object 4 under inspection, the illuminating pattern of the lighting 2L irradiating the object 4 under inspection with light is created by using information of the three-dimensional shape of the object 4 under inspection whose shape is already known. Then, in image inspecting apparatus 1, by using the image in which the object 4 under inspection irradiated with the illuminating pattern in a predetermined shape created by using the information of the three-dimensional shape is photographed, the image inspecting apparatus 1 performs inspection and determines whether the defect is present or absent. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Endo in view of Kato to have included the features of “wherein, in the operation a), pattern light having a light and dark pattern is applied to capture a reflected image or projected image of the pattern light on the surface of the [object]” because an image inspecting apparatus which inspects the appearance of a product by using an image has been widely used in order to automatize the inspection and save the labor in the production line (Kato [0003]).
In regards to claim 3, Endo/Kato teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“[image] of the processing fluid is captured”
Endo paragraph [0114] teaches The fume determination process is performed in the processing liquid supply process, and an intensive monitoring process of increasing the number of frames which are captured by the camera 72 particularly when the SPM cleaning solution is supplied and the hydrogen peroxide water extruding process is performed (that is, the time interval at which an image is captured is decreased: for example, an image was repeatedly captured every 0.1 seconds, but an image is repeatedly captured every 0.05 seconds only when the SPM cleaning solution is supplied and the hydrogen peroxide water extruding process is performed).
“wherein in the operation a), the reflected image of the pattern light reflected on the surface of the [part] is captured”
Kato Figure 1 and paragraph [0034] teaches the image inspecting apparatus 1 so configured, in order to photograph an stripe-patterned illuminating pattern in which linear bands are arranged at equal intervals in the image obtained by using the camera 2 capturing the image of the object 4 under inspection, the illuminating pattern of the lighting 2L irradiating the object 4 under inspection with light is created by using information of the three-dimensional shape of the object 4 under inspection whose shape is already known. Then, in image inspecting apparatus 1, by using the image in which the object 4 under inspection irradiated with the illuminating pattern in a predetermined shape created by using the information of the three-dimensional shape is photographed, the image inspecting apparatus 1 performs inspection and determines whether the defect is present or absent. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Endo in view of Kato to have included the features of “wherein in the operation a), the reflected image of the pattern light reflected on the surface of the [part] is captured” because an image inspecting apparatus which inspects the appearance of a product by using an image has been widely used in order to automatize the inspection and save the labor in the production line (Kato [0003]).
In regards to claim 4, Endo/Kato teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“[image] of the processing fluid is captured”
Endo paragraph [0114] teaches The fume determination process is performed in the processing liquid supply process, and an intensive monitoring process of increasing the number of frames which are captured by the camera 72 particularly when the SPM cleaning solution is supplied and the hydrogen peroxide water extruding process is performed (that is, the time interval at which an image is captured is decreased: for example, an image was repeatedly captured every 0.1 seconds, but an image is repeatedly captured every 0.05 seconds only when the SPM cleaning solution is supplied and the hydrogen peroxide water extruding process is performed).
“wherein in the operation a), the projected image of the pattern light projected on the surface of the [part] is captured”
Kato Figure 1 and paragraph [0034] teaches the image inspecting apparatus 1 so configured, in order to photograph an stripe-patterned illuminating pattern in which linear bands are arranged at equal intervals in the image obtained by using the camera 2 capturing the image of the object 4 under inspection, the illuminating pattern of the lighting 2L irradiating the object 4 under inspection with light is created by using information of the three-dimensional shape of the object 4 under inspection whose shape is already known. Then, in image inspecting apparatus 1, by using the image in which the object 4 under inspection irradiated with the illuminating pattern in a predetermined shape created by using the information of the three-dimensional shape is photographed, the image inspecting apparatus 1 performs inspection and determines whether the defect is present or absent. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Endo in view of Kato to have included the features of “wherein in the operation a), the reflected image of the pattern light reflected on the surface of the [part] is captured” because an image inspecting apparatus which inspects the appearance of a product by using an image has been widely used in order to automatize the inspection and save the labor in the production line (Kato [0003]).
In regards to claim 6, Endo/Kato teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the light and dark pattern is a pattern in which a bright region and a dark region are alternately and repeatedly aligned in one direction”
Kato Figure 1. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Endo in view of Kato to have included the features of “wherein the light and dark pattern is a pattern in which a bright region and a dark region are alternately and repeatedly aligned in one direction” because an image inspecting apparatus which inspects the appearance of a product by using an image has been widely used in order to automatize the inspection and save the labor in the production line (Kato [0003]).
In regards to claim 8, Endo/Kato teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the object to be processed is a semiconductor wafer”
Endo Figure 1 and paragraph [0032] teaches the substrate processing equipment 100 is equipment that processes a surface of a disc-shaped substrate W (a silicon wafer) in the process of manufacturing a semiconductor wafer.
In regards to claim 9, Endo/Kato teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“A manufacturing apparatus comprising: a nozzle from which a processing fluid is supplied to an object to be processed”
Endo Figure 3 and paragraph [0046] teaches the processing liquid supply unit 40 includes a first top surface nozzle 41
“an irradiator that applies [light]”
Endo Figure 3 and paragraph [0063] teaches an LED is used as the light source 71.
“a camera that captures an image of the processing fluid supplied from the nozzle to the object to be processed”
Endo Figure 3 and paragraph [0063] teaches a digital camera including an imaging element such as a charge coupled device (CCD) or complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) is used as the camera 72.
“and a computer communicably connected to the camera”
Endo Figure 5 and paragraph [0065] teaches the control unit 80 is constituted by a computer including an arithmetic processing unit 81 such as a CPU, a memory 82 such as a RAM, and a storage unit 83 such as a hard disk drive. A computer program P for executing processing of a substrate W in the processing unit 102 is installed in the storage unit 83.
“wherein the irradiator applies the … light, and the camera captures a reflected image or projected image of the … light on the surface of the processing fluid”
Endo paragraph [0063] teaches the imaging unit 70 includes a light source 71 and a camera 72. For example, an LED is used as the light source 71. For example, a digital camera including an imaging element such as a charge coupled device (CCD) or complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) is used as the camera 72. The imaging unit 70 acquires a captured image of the imaging area A1 which is set in advance in the processing space 11 in the chamber 10 by capturing an image using the camera 72 while emitting light from the light source 71
“and the computer evaluates a fluid state of the processing fluid in accordance with a result of image capture by the camera”
Endo paragraph [0086] teaches When a captured image Is is acquired, the control unit 80 determines a generation status of fumes in the evaluation area A2 based on luminance values included in the captured image Is (Step S63). As illustrated in FIG. 9, Step S63 in this embodiment includes Steps S63a to S63h. Endo paragraph [0087] teaches In Step S63, first, the control unit 80 generates a difference image Id in luminance value between the reference image Ir and the acquired captured image Is (Step S63a). Specifically, a difference value between a luminance value of a pixel included in the reference image Ir and a luminance value of the corresponding pixel included in the captured image Is is calculated for each pixel and an image constituted by the calculated difference values is set as a difference image Id. Endo paragraph [0090] teaches the control unit 80 calculates an average value of luminance values of the pixels in the evaluation area A2 for the difference images Id which are sequentially acquired (Step S63b). As a result, as illustrated in FIG. 14, data indicating change of the average value of the luminance values of the evaluation area A2 with respect to the acquisition time of the captured image Is is acquired. The control unit 80 compares the calculated average value with a preset first threshold value (Step S63c). Then, when the average value is less than the first threshold value, the control unit 80 determines that the generation status of fumes at that time is in a normal range (Step S63d). On the other hand, when the average value is equal to or greater than the first threshold value, the control unit 80 determines that the average value is set as an integration target value (Step S63e). Endo paragraph [0091] teaches the control unit 80 calculates an average value of luminance values of the pixels in the evaluation area A2 for the difference images Id which are sequentially acquired (Step S63b). As a result, as illustrated in FIG. 14, data indicating change of the average value of the luminance values of the evaluation area A2 with respect to the acquisition time of the captured image Is is acquired. The control unit 80 compares the calculated average value with a preset first threshold value (Step S63c). Then, when the average value is less than the first threshold value, the control unit 80 determines that the generation status of fumes at that time is in a normal range (Step S63d). On the other hand, when the average value is equal to or greater than the first threshold value, the control unit 80 determines that the average value is set as an integration target value (Step S63e).
Endo does not explicitly teach:
“pattern light having a light and dark pattern” and “the pattern light”
Kato paragraph [0034] teaches the image inspecting apparatus 1 so configured, in order to photograph an stripe-patterned illuminating pattern in which linear bands are arranged at equal intervals in the image obtained by using the camera 2 capturing the image of the object 4 under inspection, the illuminating pattern of the lighting 2L irradiating the object 4 under inspection with light is created by using information of the three-dimensional shape of the object 4 under inspection whose shape is already known. Then, in image inspecting apparatus 1, by using the image in which the object 4 under inspection irradiated with the illuminating pattern in a predetermined shape created by using the information of the three-dimensional shape is photographed, the image inspecting apparatus 1 performs inspection and determines whether the defect is present or absent. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Endo in view of Kato to have included the features of “pattern light having a light and dark pattern” and “the pattern light” because an image inspecting apparatus which inspects the appearance of a product by using an image has been widely used in order to automatize the inspection and save the labor in the production line (Kato [0003]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo in view of Kato in view of Furukawa et al. US 2023/0417671 hereinafter referred to as Furukawa.
In regards to claim 2, Endo/Kato teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein in the operation a), the image of the processing fluid is captured by an … camera to acquire … data configured by information only about a pixel with a changed luminance value, and in the operation b), the fluid state of the processing fluid is evaluated based on the … data”
Endo paragraph [0086] teaches When a captured image Is is acquired, the control unit 80 determines a generation status of fumes in the evaluation area A2 based on luminance values included in the captured image Is (Step S63). As illustrated in FIG. 9, Step S63 in this embodiment includes Steps S63a to S63h. Endo paragraph [0087] teaches In Step S63, first, the control unit 80 generates a difference image Id in luminance value between the reference image Ir and the acquired captured image Is (Step S63a). Specifically, a difference value between a luminance value of a pixel included in the reference image Ir and a luminance value of the corresponding pixel included in the captured image Is is calculated for each pixel and an image constituted by the calculated difference values is set as a difference image Id.
Endo/Kato do not explicitly teach:
“event-based [camera]” and “event [data]”
However, Endo discloses that information for each pixel is used and those of ordinary skill would recognize that this is a feature of an event based camera. Therefore, the specific inclusion of event based camera and data does not provide any unpredictable. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). results. Regardless, Furukawa teaches an event-based vision sensor (EVS) that outputs coordinates of a pixel in which a luminance (also referred to as light intensity) change has been detected, a direction (polarity) of the luminance change, and time (event data) in a synchronous or asynchronous manner is used as a sensor (detection unit) for acquiring information regarding a bioparticle (hereinafter, also referred to as bioparticle information). Furukawa paragraph [0169] teaches the TDI-EVS method according to the present embodiment may be applied to an inspection device or the like that acquires a wide range of high-resolution images by scanning a surface of a subject such as a stationary large display panel (including a liquid crystal display, an organic electro luminescence (EL) display, and the like) or a semiconductor wafer with an EVS device. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Endo/Kato in view of Furukawa to have included the features of “event-based camera” and “event data” because the present disclosure proposes a biological sample analysis system, an information processing device, an information processing method, and a biological sample analysis method capable of improving analysis accuracy while suppressing redundancy of analysis time (Furukawa [0007]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo in view of Kato in view of Cho et al. US 2018/0137637 hereinafter referred to as Cho.
In regards to claim 5, Endo/Kato teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“the processing fluid”
Endo paragraph [0114] teaches The fume determination process is performed in the processing liquid supply process, and an intensive monitoring process of increasing the number of frames which are captured by the camera 72 particularly when the SPM cleaning solution is supplied and the hydrogen peroxide water extruding process is performed (that is, the time interval at which an image is captured is decreased: for example, an image was repeatedly captured every 0.1 seconds, but an image is repeatedly captured every 0.05 seconds only when the SPM cleaning solution is supplied and the hydrogen peroxide water extruding process is performed).
“wherein in the operation a), the pattern light is applied to a projection surface that is different from the object to be processed, to capture the reflected image of the projection surface reflected on the surface of [the part]”
Cho Figure 8 and paragraph [0038] teaches he projector 50 is, for example, a reflection type projector, which includes a light source 501, a homogeneous light module 502, a beam splitter 503, a microarray lens 504 and a focusing lens assembly 505. Light provided by the light source 501 passes through the homogeneous light module 502 and then is reflected by the beam splitter 503 to the microarray lens 504. After adjusted and reflected by the microarray lens 504, the light is projected as the structured light pattern onto the object 2 through the focusing lens assembly 505. It would have been obvious for a person with rdianry skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Endo/Kato in view of Cho to have included the features of “wherein in the operation a), the pattern light is applied to a projection surface that is different from the object to be processed, to capture the reflected image of the projection surface reflected on the surface of [the part]” because for the contactless technique, the damage to a detector or a unit under test is seldom caused, but the discontinuous and low precise measurement may be resulted in more easily (Cho [0004]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo in view of Kato in view of Barbour US 2020/0204720 hereinafter referred to as Barbour.
In regards to claim 7, Endo/Kato teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the light and dark pattern includes a pattern in which a bright region and a dark region are alternately and repeatedly aligned …”
Kato Figure 1. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Endo in view of Kato to have included the features of “wherein the light and dark pattern is a pattern in which a bright region and a dark region are alternately and repeatedly aligned in one direction” because an image inspecting apparatus which inspects the appearance of a product by using an image has been widely used in order to automatize the inspection and save the labor in the production line (Kato [0003]).
“… in two directions orthogonal to each other”
The use of a checkerboard pattern is well-known. Barbour paragraph [0028] teaches the image sensor 220 captures image data of the projection of the checkerboard patterns onto the surfaces of objects 230, 232 (in the capture volume) for the secondary image capture. The processor uses the secondary image capture to determine information (e.g., geometry) about the objects 230, 232 onto which the checkerboard patterns were projected. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Endo/Kato in view of Barbour to have included the features of “…in two directions orthogonal to each other” because in some videos, this difference between the capture rate of image sensor and the amount of image data needed for a target video rate may be wasted (Barbour [0019]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL E TEITELBAUM, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422