DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Amendment to the Claims was filed on 11/20/2024.
Claims 9-11 were newly added.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 11/20/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. DE4131392A (“Watanabe”).
Regarding Claim 1, Watanabe discloses fuel gas tank (ann. fig. 3) for a fuel gas tank system, having a storage volume (4) which is enclosed by a wall (ann. fig. 3) and can be filled with fuel gas via a tank line (23) with an integrated tank valve (24), and having a temperature sensor (18, temperature indicator) for sensing the temperature in the fuel gas tank (4), wherein the temperature sensor (18) is located outside the storage volume (4) and is thermally connected to the storage volume (4) via a thermal conductor (17) projecting into the storage volume (4).
WATANABE – ANNOTATED FIGURE 3
Regarding Claim 2, Watanabe discloses a section of the thermal conductor (17) projecting into the storage volume (4) has an axial length (L, see ann. fig. 3) which is measured parallel to a longitudinal axis (ann. fig. 3) of the fuel gas tank (4).
Regarding Claim 3, Watanabe discloses the tank line (23) ends in a pipe (23) which projects into the storage volume (4) and forms an outlet opening for the fuel gas (“Reference numeral 23 denotes a gas inlet for replenishing cooling gas in the gaseous state in the liquid gas container 4 . Finally, reference numeral 24 denotes a gas supply control valve which is located in the gas inlet 23 .” Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 4, Watanabe discloses the tank line (23), tank valve (24), the temperature sensor (18), and the thermal conductor (17) form a tank unit (stand 3 supports the elements for tank 4) which is inserted into an opening (10) in the wall (ann. fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Watanabe discloses the tank unit (stand 3 supports the elements for tank 4) has a section (control device 19) projecting on an outside beyond the wall (ann. fig. 3), wherein the temperature sensor (18) is integrated into the section (control device 19).
Regarding Claim 7, Watanabe discloses the wall (ann. fig. 3) is circular in cross-section in at least one end section (see figs. 2, 4, 5, and ann. fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Watanabe discloses at least one fuel gas tank (LPG tank, Machine Translation) according to claim 1. Fuel gas tank is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 9, Watanabe discloses the thermal conductor (17) is aligned parallel to the longitudinal axis (ann. fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Watanabe discloses the pipe (23) runs parallel (see ann. fig. 3) to the thermal conductor (17).
Regarding Claim 11, Watanabe discloses the opening (10) is located centrally in a front of the wall (ann. fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. DE4131392A (“Watanabe”) in view of Sun et al. WO2021213501A1 (“Sun”).
Regarding Claim 6, Watanabe discloses the tank unit (stand 3) has a section (13) with a connector (Watanabe is silent with regard to the means to connect the elements) via which the tank unit (stand 3 supports the elements for tank 4) is connected to the opening (10) of the wall (ann. fig. 2).
Watanabe discloses the claimed invention, except an external thread to connect elements.
Sun teaches an external thread (see fig. 21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used one of the well-known connectors to connect elements, as disclosed by Watanabe, by using threaded connectors, as taught by Sun, for the purpose of using a common connector that can be installed and removed by the user without special equipment.
Conclusion
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753