DETAILED ACTION
Application, submitted on 11/20/2024, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 33-49 remain pending in the application and claims 1-32 have been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The submitted information disclosure statements (IDS) were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner as indicated. However, Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33, 39, 42-44, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GENG et al. US 2022/0217538 A1 (hereinafter referred to as GENG).
Referring to claim 33, GENG discloses an apparatus (fig.8, device 3000) for a non-geostationary first access node (fig.4, LEO 1), the apparatus comprising at least one processor (fig.8, processor 3202); and at least one memory (fig.8, memory 3201) comprising code that, when executed by the at least one processor ([0212]) causes the apparatus to perform:
determining to suspend a radio resource control connection between the non-geostationary first access node (fig.4, LEO 1) and a user equipment (fig.4, UE), wherein the radio resource control connection is defined by a user context ([0081]-[0084] and [0163]-[0164]) (Note: LEO 1 sends a first message to the UE, where the first message is used to request the UE to enter an inactive state (suspension of radio resource control connection), wherein a context information of the UE is related to the radio resource control connection); and
providing the user context to a first proxy node (fig.4, AMF) with an indication that the user context is to be stored for retrieval by a non-geostationary second access node ([0165]-[0175]) (Note: LEO 1 sends a second message to an AMF, where the second message carries the context information with a first security verification parameter of the UE, wherein the AMF stores the context information for retrieval by a LEO 2 (non-geostationary second access node) when the security verification succeeds).
Referring to claim 39, GENG discloses an apparatus (fig.8, device 3000) for a non-geostationary second access node (fig.4, LEO 2), the apparatus comprising at least one processor (fig.8, processor 3202); and at least one memory (fig.8, memory 3201) comprising code that, when executed by the at least one processor ([0212]) causes the apparatus to perform:
receiving, from a first and/or second proxy node (fig.4, AMF), a user context that defines a radio resource control connection between a non-geostationary first access node and a user equipment ([0081]-[0084] and [0172]-[0175]) (Note: The LEO 2 sends a message to the AMF, where the message is used to request the context information of the UE and the AMF sends a message to the LEO 2, where the seventh message carries the context information that defines a radio resource control connection between LEO 1 and the UE); and
resuming a radio resource control connection procedure between the user equipment and the non-geostationary second access node using the user context ([0177]-[0178]) (Note: The LEO 2 sends a response message to the UE; wherein when the message carries the context information, the response message may be used to resume the connection of the UE).
Referring to claim 42, GENG discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 39, wherein resuming the radio resource control connection procedure comprises performing said resuming in response to: receiving, from a user equipment (fig.4, UE) an instruction to initiate the resume radio resource control procedure when the user context defines that the user equipment is configured to initiate the resume radio resource control procedure ([0168] and [0177]-[0178]) (Note: The UE sends a message to an LEO 2, where the message is used to request to resume the connection. The LEO 2 sends a response message to the UE; wherein when the message carries the context information, the response message may be used to resume the connection of the UE).
Referring to claim 43, GENG discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 39, wherein at least one of the first or second proxy node is at least one of: a ground-based gateway to a core network, a database located in a core network, or a Mobility Management Entity (fig.4, access and mobility management function (AMF)).
Referring to claim 44, GENG discloses an apparatus for a user equipment (fig.4, UE), the apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising code that, when executed by the at least one processor ([0065]-[0066]) causes the apparatus to perform:
establishing a radio resource control connection with a non-geostationary first access node (fig.4, LEO 1), the radio resource control connection being defined by a user context ([0081]-[0082] and [0086]) (Note: the reference discloses the UE in a connected state (RRC_CONNECTED) with a first network node (LEO 1), where the radio resource control connection is defined by a user context);
suspending the radio resource control connection using a suspend radio resource control connection procedure ([0084] and [0163]-[0164]) (Note: LEO 1 sends a first message to the UE, where the first message is used to request the UE to enter an inactive state (suspension of radio resource control connection));
resuming the radio resource control connection with a non-geostationary second access node (fig.4, LEO 2) using the user context ([0177]-[0178]) (Note: The LEO 2 sends a response message to the UE; wherein when the message carries the context information, the response message may be used to resume the connection of the UE).
Referring to claim 46, GENG discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 44, wherein resuming the radio resource control connection procedure comprises performing said resuming in response to: determining, from the user context that the user equipment is configured to initiate the resume radio resource control procedure ([0012] and [0168]) (Note: the UE resumes the radio resource control connection procedure based on the user context).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over GENG in view of Liu et al. US 2020/0413477 A1 (hereinafter referred to as LIU).
Referring to claim 34, GENG discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 33, except wherein the determining comprises at least one of the following:
determining that the user equipment is likely to receive feedback to previously transmitted uplink data within a first time period and that the non-geostationary first access node will not be providing a service connectivity to the user equipment for at least part of the first time period; determining that the user equipment has uplink data to transmit during a second time period and that the non-geostationary first access node will not be providing a service connectivity to the user equipment for at least part of the second time period; or determining, based on a traffic pattern associated with the user equipment, that the user equipment is likely to transmit and/or receive data during a third predetermined time period and that the non-geostationary first access node will not be providing a service connectivity to the user equipment for at least part of the third time period.
However, in the same field of endeavor of apparatus art, Liu discloses a concept wherein the determining comprises determining that the user equipment has uplink data to transmit during a second time period and that the non-geostationary first access node will not be providing a service connectivity to the user equipment for at least part of the second time period ([0016]-[0019] and [0124]) (Note: when the first node determines that the service at the first node side is in the first state, the first node determines the RRC connection is required to be suspended; wherein if the first node has received a buffer state report that a size of a first buffer corresponding to a service bearer at the first node side is equal to 0, the first node starts a first timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the apparatus of GENG with the concept as taught by Liu to obtain the claimed invention.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide significant energy and power savings for the UE.
Claims 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over GENG in view of MENG et al. EP 3982669 A1 (hereinafter referred to as MENG).
Referring to claim 35, GENG discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 33, except wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform: identifying the non-geostationary second access node and/or an apparatus comprising the non-geostationary second access node; and providing an indication of the non-geostationary second access node and/or the apparatus comprising the non-geostationary second access node to the first proxy node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, MENG discloses a concept wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform: identifying the non-geostationary second access node and/or an apparatus comprising the non-geostationary second access node (tables 4-5); and providing an indication of the non-geostationary second access node and/or the apparatus comprising the non-geostationary second access node to the first proxy node ([0139]-[0147]) (Note: the first network device identifies satellite or base station comprising the satellite, and provides an indication of the satellite to the second network device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the apparatus of GENG with the concept as taught by MENG to obtain the claimed invention.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide an optimized mobility management and proactive handovers.
Referring to claim 36, GENG in view of MENG discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 35. MENG discloses wherein the identifying is based on at least one of:
a current location of the user equipment, a trajectory of the user equipment, the non-geostationary first access node's ephemeris, the non-geostationary second access node's ephemeris, the non-geostationary first access node's trajectory and/or velocity, the non-geostationary second access node's trajectory and/or velocity, locations of ground-based gateways to a core network, a tracking and/or registration area associated with the user equipment, and/or characteristics of traffic to be transmitted and/or received by the user equipment ([0139]) (Note: the last serving satellite may determine, based on ephemeris information, satellites whose coverage areas may pass through a current location of the terminal after the terminal enters the RRC inactive state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the apparatus of GENG with the concept as taught by MENG to obtain the claimed invention.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to eliminate the need for exhaustive, blind beam searching.
Referring to claim 37, GENG discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 33, except wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform providing an identifier of the non-geostationary second access node to the first proxy node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, MENG discloses a concept wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform providing an identifier of the non-geostationary second access node to the first proxy node (tables 4-5 and [0139]-[0147]) (Note: the first network device further provides an identifier of the satellite).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the apparatus of GENG with the concept as taught by MENG to obtain the claimed invention.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for a proactive and seamless handover management.
Referring to claim 38, GENG in view of MENG discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 37. MENG discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform providing the identifier of the non-geostationary second access node as part of providing a set of identifiers identifying respective access nodes (tables 4-5) (Note: the identifier of the satellite is provided as part of providing a set of identifiers identifying respective satellites).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the apparatus of GENG with the concept as taught by MENG to obtain the claimed invention.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for an efficient cell search and power saving.
Claims 41 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over GENG in view of SHI et al. US 2021/0282201 A1 (hereinafter referred to as SHI).
Referring to claim 41, GENG discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 39, except wherein resuming the radio resource control connection procedure comprises performing said resuming in response to: signalling, to the user equipment, a trigger in a paging signal for causing the user equipment to initiate the resume radio resource control procedure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, SHI discloses wherein resuming the radio resource control connection procedure comprises performing said resuming in response to: signalling, to the user equipment, a trigger in a paging signal for causing the user equipment to initiate the resume radio resource control procedure ([0058]) (Note: With the moving of the UE or satellites, the UE may receive the paging message from another satellite BS (e.g., Sat-gNB2) which is different from the satellite BS (e.g. Sat-gNB1) from which the UE entered into the RRC_INACTIVE state. In this way, the second satellite BS 908 (Sat-gNB2) receives the RRCResumeRequest from UE as a response to the paging message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the apparatus of GENG with the concept wherein resuming the radio resource control connection procedure comprises performing said resuming in response to: signalling, to the user equipment, a trigger in a paging signal for causing the user equipment to initiate the resume radio resource control procedure as taught by SHI.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to accelerate the connection setup (RRC_Connected state) and to enhance the UE power efficiency.
Referring to claim 48, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 41 is applicable herein.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over GENG in view of LASELVA et al. US 2022/0377665 A1 (hereinafter referred to as LASELVA).
Referring to claim 49, GENG discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 44, except wherein the user context comprises at least one of: a known location of the user equipment, information associated with a radio resource control configuration of the user equipment, information associated with access stratum security of a connection between the user equipment and an access network, a trajectory of the user equipment, and/or an identifier of a cell within which the user equipment is operating.
However, in the same field of endeavor, LASELVA discloses wherein the user context comprises at least one of: information associated with a radio resource control configuration of the user equipment, information associated with access stratum security of a connection between the user equipment and an access network ([0033]) (Note: The terminal device (AS) context comprises, for example, bearer configuration parameters according to the latest RRC configuration and AS security context pointing to the integrity protection and ciphering algorithms and the AS security keys).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the apparatus of GENG with the concept wherein the user context comprises at least one of: information associated with a radio resource control configuration of the user equipment, information associated with access stratum security of a connection between the user equipment and an access network as taught by LASELVA.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for fast reconnection, accurate security and policy enforcement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 40, 45, and 47 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Referring to claim 40, the searched prior arts individually or combined fail to disclose or make obvious the claimed subject matter. That is, Examiner did not find any reference that discloses or would have rendered obvious: “receiving, from the first and/or second proxy node, an indication of a count value; using the count value to generate a plurality of keys for encrypting communications between the non-geostationary second access node and the user equipment; and using the plurality of keys for encrypting communications between the non-geostationary second access node and the user equipment.”
Referring to claims 45 and 47, the same reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter provided for claim 40 are applicable herein.
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683