DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed November 20, 2024, claims 1-17 are presented for examination. Claim 1 is an independent claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 2204928 filed in France on May 23, 2022 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted November 20, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (November 20, 2024) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed November 20, 2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed November 20, 2024 is accepted by the examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claims 15 and 16 recites “computer program product”, which is interpreted as code that is not embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium or other machine capable of carrying out the instructions of a control code. See MPEP § 2106.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2-6, 8-9, 11-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kincart et al (IDS submitted prior art US 20220050936 Al) in view of Asghar (US 11562550 B1).
As to Claims 1, 15 and 16:
Kincart et al. discloses a method for anchoring a virtual object to be displayed on an electronic display of an electronic terminal at a given position in space (Kincart, see Abstract and figures 14 and 18B, where Kincart discloses a augmented reality apparatus and methods of use are provided with secure persistent digital content linked to a location coordinates. More specifically, the present invention links a physical location with digital content to enable a user interface with augmented reality that combines aspects of the physical area with location specific digital content. According to the present invention, digital content remains persistent with a location even if visual aspects of
the location change), said method comprising: initializing a wireless communication between an electronic terminal and at least one positioning beacon to record an identifier of said electronic terminal in a memory of said positioning beacon (Kincart, see paragraphs [0017] and [0076], where Kincart discloses access rights to tag content may be required and based upon an identifier of the Smart Device or a user operating the Smart Device. A dynamic portion of the user interactive interface may include an icon indicative of the digital content associated with the tag. A carefully placed reference point Node may function as a transceiver of signals. For example, a Node may receive and transmit signals in a radio frequency band of the electromagnetic spectrum. In a simple form, a Node may broadcast a radio frequency wireless communication. Nodes may also be capable of receiving a radio frequency on a same radio frequency and/or a different radio frequency as a received radio frequency. Frequencies utilized for wireless communication may include those
within the electromagnetic spectrum radio frequencies used in one or more of: UWB, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth modalities, as well as IR, visible and UV light as examples of transmission modalities. In some embodiments, sound emanations may also be used as a communication mechanism between a Smart Device and a reference point Node and/or between two Nodes. In various aspects of wireless communication, the Nodes may function to communicate a timing value via their electromagnetic or sonic transmissions or data other than timing signals, such as a digital value representing a condition quantified with an electronic sensor. Accordingly, wireless communications may provide data identifying information unique to the Node, data related to the synchronization of timing at different well located reference points and may also function as general data communication Nodes); selecting a virtual object from the electronic terminal and identification of said virtual object by said positioning beacon (Kincart, see 1403 and 1404 in figure 14 and paragraphs [0343] to [0345], where Kincart discloses Virtual Tags 1403 and 1404 are created by the Smart Device by methods described herein and icons may be present on the GUI to identify the position of the Virtual Tags 1403 and 1404. The Virtual Tags 1403 and 1404 may, for example, represent various locations of
interest in the RTA 1400, such as an object of interest or an exit or entrance The icons associated with the Virtual Tags 1403 and 1404 may be engaged or "clicked" or otherwise activated to be made operational; for the Smart Device to receive (e.g., retrieved from a database) additional information associated with the object or location of interest. For example, if the object of interest is a statue, clicking on the icon associated with the Virtual Tag 1403 associated therewith may provide information regarding the statue, such as the history, origin, and the like. If, for
example, the Virtual Tag 1404 is associated with an exit of the room, clicking the Virtual Tag may provide information 30 on what is present in the adjacent room, or where the Smart Device is in relation to exiting the building, or any other desired information); measuring a first orientation of the positioning beacon with respect to a reference from a first orientation device (Kincart, see paragraphs [0083] and [0101], where Kincart discloses geospatial location based upon triangulation may be generated based upon a controller receiving a measurement of angles between the position and
known points at either end of a fixed baseline. By way of non-limiting example, a point of a geospatial location may be determined based upon generation of a triangle with one known side and two known angles. Moreover, a geospatial location based upon multilateration may be generated based on a controller receiving measurement of a difference in distance to two reference positions, each reference position being associated with a known location. Wireless signals may be available at one or more of: periodically, within determined timespans and continually. The determination of
the difference in distance between two reference positions provides multiple potential locations at the determined distance. A controller may be used to generate a plot of potential locations. In some embodiments, the potential determinations generally form a curve. Specific embodiments
will generate a hyperbolic curve); measuring a second orientation of the electronic terminal (Kincart, see paragraph [0215], where Kincart discloses that a portion of the 2D representation
will be displayed in a user interface 606A based upon a position 617 of the smart device 606 and a direction of interest 617 a generated via wireless mechanisms and methodologies discussed herein. The wireless mechanisms and methodologies may include for example, one or more of: radio communications; magnetic readings (e.g., a compass reading); accelerometer readings; sonic readings; image recognition and the like) with respect to a reference from a second orientation device (Kincart, see paragraphs [0083], [0101] and [0215], where Kincart discloses geospatial location based upon triangulation may be generated based upon a controller receiving a measurement of angles between the position and known points at either end of a fixed baseline. By way of non-limiting example, a point of a geospatial location may be determined based upon generation of a triangle with one known side and two known angles. Moreover, a geospatial location based upon multilateration may be generated based on a controller receiving measurement of a difference in distance to two reference positions, each reference position being associated with a known location. Wireless signals may be available at one or more of: periodically, within determined timespans and continually. The determination of the difference in distance between two reference positions provides multiple potential locations at the determined distance. A controller may be used to generate a plot of potential locations. In some embodiments, the potential determinations generally form a curve. Specific embodiments will generate a hyperbolic curve); generating a command to send a first signal generated by an UWB communication interface of the electronic terminal (Kincart, see paragraphs [0077] and [0097], where Kincart discloses that a triangulation calculation and/or a distance and angle indicating a position of a Smart Device or a Node may result from a system of multiple reference position Nodes communicating timing signals to or from the Smart Device
or Node. Methods of calculating positions via wireless communications may include one or more of: RTT, RSSI, AoD, AoA, timing signal differential and the like. Triangulation or other mathematical techniques may also be employed in determining a location. Triangulation essentially includes determining an intersection of three distances 108-110, each of the three distances 108-110 calculated from a reference point transceivers 101-104 to an Agent-supported device at the location
of transceiver 105. The presence invention allows for a first distance 108, to be determined based upon a wireless communication in a first modality; and a second distance 109 and a third distance 110 determined based upon a wireless communication in a same or different modality as the first modality. For example, a first distance 108 may be determined based upon a wireless communication using UWB; a second distance 109 may be determined based upon a wireless communication using Bluetooth; and a third communication may be determined based upon a wireless communication using ultrasonic communication (other combinations of same and/or different communication modalities are also within the scope of the present invention and
may include, for example, infrared communications, image recognition, RFID, accelerometer readings or other data generated by an electronic device or mechanical mechanism)); acquiring by the positioning terminal of a first signal sent by means of an UWB communication interface of the electronic terminal (Kincart, see paragraphs [0077] and [0097], where Kincart discloses that a triangulation calculation and/or a distance and angle indicating a position of a Smart Device or a Node may result from a system of multiple reference position Nodes communicating timing signals to or from the Smart Device or Node. Methods of calculating positions via wireless communications may include one or more of: RTT, RSSI, AoD, AoA, timing signal differential and the like. Triangulation or other mathematical techniques may also be employed in determining a location. Triangulation essentially includes determining an intersection of three distances 108-110, each of the three distances 108-110 calculated from a reference point transceivers 101-104 to an Agent-supported device at the location of transceiver 105. The presence invention allows for a first distance 108, to be determined based upon a wireless communication in a first modality; and a second distance 109 and a third distance 110 determined based upon a wireless communication in a same or different modality as the first modality. For example, a first distance 108 may be determined based upon a wireless communication using UWB; a second distance 109 may be determined based upon a wireless communication using Bluetooth; and a third communication may be determined based upon a wireless communication using ultrasonic communication (other combinations of same and/or different communication modalities are also within the scope of the present invention and may include, for example, infrared communications, image recognition, RFID, accelerometer readings or other data generated by an electronic device or mechanical mechanism)); measuring a transmission parameter of the first signal by the positioning terminal (Kincart, see paragraphs [0077] and [0097], where Kincart discloses that a triangulation calculation and/or a distance and angle indicating a position of a Smart Device or a Node may result from a system of multiple reference position Nodes communicating timing signals to or from the Smart Device or Node. Methods of calculating positions via wireless communications may include one or more of: RTT, RSSI, AoD, AoA, timing signal differential and the like. Triangulation or other mathematical techniques may also be employed in determining a location. Triangulation essentially includes determining an intersection of three distances 108-110, each of the three distances 108-110 calculated from a reference point transceivers 101-104 to an Agent-supported device at the location
of transceiver 105. The presence invention allows for a first distance 108, to be determined based upon a wireless communication in a first modality; and a second distance 109 and a third distance 110 determined based upon a wireless communication in a same or different modality as the first modality. For example, a first distance 108 may be determined based upon a wireless communication using UWB; a second distance 109 may be determined based upon a wireless communication using Bluetooth; and a third communication may be determined based upon a wireless communication using ultrasonic communication (other combinations of same and/or different communication modalities are also within the scope of the present invention and
may include, for example, infrared communications, image recognition, RFID, accelerometer readings or other data generated by an electronic device or mechanical mechanism)); transmitting of a second data encoding the second orientation by the electronic terminal (Kincart, see paragraph [0215], where Kincart discloses that a portion of the 2D representation will be displayed in a user interface 606A based upon a position 617 of the smart device 606 and a direction of interest 617 a generated via wireless mechanisms and methodologies discussed herein. The wireless mechanisms and methodologies may include for example, one or more of: radio communications; magnetic readings (e.g., a compass reading); accelerometer readings; sonic readings; image recognition and the like); acquiring by the positioning terminal of the second orientation sent by the electronic terminal (Kincart, see paragraph [0281], where Kincart discloses that a Smart Device with either a single- or multiplesensor system may also have a LiDAR scanning capability or other three-dimensional scanning capability. The Smart Device may utilize a number of systems to refine and improve its accuracy in determining the location that it is at. In an example, a Smart Device may utilize a GPS or cellular system to get an approximate location of the device. In a next step, a user may initiate the Smart Device to take a series of image and scanning data acquisitions of its environment. For example, the user may move the phone by hand to different directions while maintaining their feet in a fixed location. The phone may use one of the orientation methods as have been discussed to determine its orientation as it is moved to different vantage points. The Smart Device may either process those images and compare against a database in its memory, or it may communicate the data to a server to do the comparison. With an approximate location, the orientation information, and the streams of video and/or topographic information, a calculation may be performed to
match the image/topographic information to a more exact positional location. In alternative examples, the device may use the image and/or topographic information to determine the orientation of the device itself); calculating a first position from the second orientation and from the transmission parameter of said electronic terminal (Kincart, see paragraphs [0077] and [0097], where Kincart discloses that a triangulation calculation and/or a distance and angle indicating a position of a Smart Device or a Node may result from a system of multiple reference position Nodes communicating timing signals to or from the Smart Device or Node. Methods of calculating positions via wireless communications may include one or more of: RTT, RSSI, AoD, AoA, timing signal differential and the like. Triangulation or other mathematical techniques may also be employed in determining a location, the office notes that the AoD and the AoA are based on the orientation and the transmission parameter). Triangulation essentially includes determining an intersection of three distances 108-110, each of the three distances 108-110 calculated from a reference point transceivers 101-104 to an Agent-supported device at the location of transceiver 105. The presence invention allows for a first distance 108, to be determined based upon a wireless communication in a first modality; and a second distance 109 and a third distance 110 determined based upon a wireless communication in a same or different modality as the first modality. For example, a first distance 108 may be determined based upon a wireless communication using UWB; a second distance 109 may be determined based upon a wireless communication using Bluetooth; and a third communication may be determined based upon a wireless communication using ultrasonic communication (other combinations of same and/or different communication modalities are also within the scope of the present invention and may include, for example, infrared communications, image recognition, RFID, accelerometer readings or other data generated by an electronic device or mechanical mechanism)); recording the first position defined with respect to the terminal (Kincart, see paragraphs [0101] and [0209], where Kincart discloses that a geospatial location based upon triangulation may be generated based upon a controller receiving a measurement of angles between the position and known points at either end of a fixed baseline. By way of non-limiting example, a point of a geospatial location may be determined based upon generation of a triangle with one known side and two known angles. Moreover, a geospatial location based upon multilateration may be generated based on a controller receiving measurement of a difference in distance to two reference positions, each reference position being associated with a known location. Wireless signals may be available at one or more of: periodically, within determined timespans and continually. The determination of the difference in distance between two reference positions provides multiple potential locations at the determined distance. A controller may be used to generate a plot of potential locations. In some embodiments, the potential
determinations generally form a curve. Specific embodiments will generate a hyperbolic curve. A magnetic sensor may include one or more giant magnetoresistance (GMR) sensors may detect the magnetic field. In some of these examples, the GMR sensors may detect a magnetic field with a
current-perpendicular-to-plane (CPP) GMR configuration. In other examples, a current-in-plane (CIP) GMR sensor configuration may be used. The resulting three-axis magnetic sensors may perform a sensitive compass function to determine a direction of a specified portion of the Smart
Device and/or an edge of the smart device relative to the local magnetic field environment. A specified portion of the Smart Device may be indicated via a user interface presented on a screen of the Smart Device); anchoring a position of the virtual object at the first position, said anchoring including an association of said virtual object with the first position (Kincart, see figures 14 and 18B paragraphs [0343] to [0345], where Kincart discloses Virtual Tags 1403 and 1404 are created by the Smart Device by methods described herein and icons may be present on the GUI to identify the position of the Virtual Tags 1403 and 1404. The Virtual Tags 1403 and 1404 may, for example, represent various locations of interest in the RTA 1400, such as an object of interest or an exit or entrance The icons associated with the Virtual Tags 1403 and 1404 may be engaged or "clicked" or otherwise activated to be made operational; for the Smart Device to receive (e.g., retrieved from a database) additional information associated with the object or location of interest. For example, if the object of interest is a statue, clicking on the icon associated with the Virtual Tag 1403 associated therewith may provide information regarding the statue, such as the history, origin, and the like. If, for example, the Virtual Tag 1404 is associated with an exit of the room, clicking the Virtual Tag may provide information 30 on what is present in the adjacent room, or where the Smart Device is in relation to exiting the building, or any other desired information).
Kincart differs from the claimed subject matter in that Kincart does not explicitly disclose positioning beacon. However in an analogous art, Asghar discloses positioning beacon (Asghar, see column 20 lines 31-38, where Asghar discloses that a UE can communicate with a network (e.g., an eNB, a gNB, a positioning beacon, a location measurement unit, and/or other network entity) and/or with other UEs (e.g., mobile device 150) using V2X communications ( e.g., over a PCS interface or other device to device direct interface), thus a positioning terminal (UE with location measuring device) can be defined as a positioning beacon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kincart with Asghar. One would be motivated to modify Kincart by disclosing positioning beacon as taught by Asghar thereby the relative pose information can be used to match virtual content with the user's perceived motion and the spatio-temporal state of the devices, objects, and real-world environment. (Asghar, see column 1 lines 53-56).
As to Claim 2:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses the method for anchoring according to claim 1, wherein said method is implemented by a single beacon and said electronic terminal Asghar, see column 20 lines 31-38, where Asghar discloses that a UE can communicate with a network (e.g., an eNB, a gNB, a positioning beacon, a location measurement unit, and/or other network entity) and/or with other UEs (e.g., mobile device 150) using V2X communications ( e.g., over a PCS interface or other device to device direct interface)).
As to Claim 3:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses the method for anchoring according to claim 1, wherein the second data encoding the second orientation by the electronic terminal is transmitted: by means of the sending of a second signal sent by a Bluetooth communication interface or; by means of an encoding of the second data within the first signal sent by the UWB interface or; by means of the sending of a third signal sent by a WIFI communication interface (Kincart, see paragraphs [0017], [0076] and [0096], where Kincart discloses access rights to tag content may be required and based upon an identifier of the Smart Device or a user operating the Smart Device. A dynamic portion of the user interactive interface may include an icon indicative of the digital content associated with the tag. A carefully placed reference point Node may function as a transceiver of signals. For example, a Node may receive and transmit signals in a radio frequency band of the electromagnetic spectrum. In a simple form, a Node may broadcast a radio frequency wireless communication. Nodes may also be capable of receiving a radio frequency on a same radio frequency and/or a different radio frequency as a received radio frequency. Frequencies utilized for wireless communication may include those
within the electromagnetic spectrum radio frequencies used in one or more of: UWB, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth modalities, as well as IR, visible and UV light as examples of transmission modalities. In some embodiments, sound emanations may also be used as a communication mechanism between a Smart Device and a reference point Node and/or between two Nodes. In various aspects of wireless communication, the Nodes may function to communicate a timing value via their electromagnetic or sonic transmissions or data other than timing signals, such as a digital value representing a condition quantified with an electronic sensor. Accordingly, wireless communications may provide data identifying information unique to the Node, data related to the synchronization of timing at different well located reference points and may also function as general data communication Nodes).
As to Claim 4:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses the method for anchoring according to claim 1 wherein the measurement of the orientation of the electronic terminal and/or the positioning beacon carried out by the orientation device is performed by means of a compass system, a compass, a gyrometer or an inertial unit (Kincart, see paragraph [0083], where Kincart discloses that a designated direction 112 may be generated based upon wireless communications and may be used to determine a targeted item 113 and/or a targeted direction. A designated direction may be determined via the wireless modalities discussed herein. Some embodiments will include one or more of: radio communications involving
multiple antennas; radio communications with one or more antennas at two or more locations at different instances of time; a magnetometer; a compass; LiDAR; laser; sonic; accelerometer; gyroscope or other electronic mechanism).
As to Claim 5:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses the method for anchoring according to claim 1 wherein the first virtual object is selected from: a memory of the electronic terminal; a memory of the positioning beacon and accessible from the electronic terminal by the activation of a data exchange implemented by a WIFI or Bluetooth link; a memory of a remote server and accessible from the electronic terminal by the activation of a data exchange implemented by a WIFI or Bluetooth link (Kincart, see 932, 931 and 933 in figure 9C).
As to Claim 6:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses the method for anchoring according to claim 1, wherein the first UWB signal sent by the electronic terminal is a message of a two way UWB data exchange sequence, socalled Two way UWB ranging, wherein a measurement of the time of flight makes it possible to calculate a distance between the electronic terminal and the positioning beacon (Kincart, see paragraphs [0017] and [0076], where Kincart discloses access rights to tag content may be required and based upon an identifier of the Smart Device or a user operating the Smart Device. A dynamic portion of the user interactive interface may include an icon indicative of the digital content associated with the tag. A carefully placed reference point Node may function as a transceiver of signals. For example, a Node may receive and transmit signals in a radio frequency band of the electromagnetic spectrum. In a simple form, a Node may broadcast a radio frequency wireless communication. Nodes may also be capable of receiving a radio frequency on a same radio frequency and/or a different radio frequency as a received radio frequency. Frequencies utilized for wireless communication may include those within the electromagnetic spectrum radio frequencies used in one or more of: UWB, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth modalities, as well as IR, visible and UV light as examples of transmission modalities. In some embodiments, sound emanations may also be used as a communication mechanism between a Smart Device and a reference point Node and/or between two Nodes. In various aspects of wireless communication, the Nodes may function to communicate a timing value via their electromagnetic or sonic transmissions or data other than timing signals, such as a digital value representing a condition quantified with an electronic sensor. Accordingly, wireless communications may provide data identifying information unique to the Node, data related to the synchronization of timing at different well located reference points and may also function as general data communication Nodes).
As to Claim 8:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses the method for anchoring according to claim 1, wherein the first UWB signal sent by the electronic terminal is a message of an UWB data transmission sequence wherein a plurality of positioning beacons allows a measurement of the distance of the arrival time differences of the first signal between pairs of positioning beacons makes it possible to calculate a distance of the electronic terminal with respect to the positioning beacon (Kincart, see paragraphs [0077] and [0081], where Kincart discloses a triangulation calculation and/or a distance and
angle indicating a position of a Smart Device or a Node may result from a system of multiple reference position Nodes communicating timing signals to or from the Smart Device or Node. Methods of calculating positions via wireless communications may include one or more of: RTT, RSSI, AoD, AoA, timing signal differential and the like. Triangulation or other mathematical techniques may also be employed in determining a location. Marks tied to a geospatial coordinate system may be utilized to determine a relative location. A number of methods may be executed to determine a distance from the Smart Device to a mark such as, for example, a sensed reflection of light beams (preferably laser beams), electromagnetic beams of wavelength outside of the visible band such as IR, UV, radio and the like, or sound-based emanations. It may be important that the means of determining the distance can be focused into a relatively small size. It may be important that the means of determining the distance is reflected by the physical mark. For example, a light-source apparatus used to determine a distance may benefit from a mirror surface upon the physical mark. In addition, a reflected signal may emerge significantly towards a user. It may be desirable that physical reference points are placed with high accuracy at specific reference locations, or it may be desirable to be able to measure with high accuracy specific reference locations after placement).
As to Claim 9:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses the method for anchoring according claim 1, wherein the initializing comprises a calibration of the first and second orientation devices, the calibration comprising a measurement of an orientation indication of the positioning beacon and a measurement of an orientation indication of the electronic terminal, said measurements being carried out at the same reference position of each equipment Kincart, see paragraphs [0077] and [0081], where Kincart discloses a triangulation calculation and/or a distance and angle indicating a position of a Smart Device or a Node may result from a system of multiple reference position Nodes communicating timing signals to or from the Smart Device or Node. Methods of calculating positions via wireless communications may include one or more of: RTT, RSSI, AoD, AoA, timing signal differential and the like. Triangulation or other mathematical techniques may also be employed in determining a location. Marks tied to a geospatial coordinate system may be utilized to determine a relative location. A number of methods may be executed to determine a distance from the Smart Device to a mark such as, for example, a sensed reflection of light beams (preferably laser beams), electromagnetic beams of wavelength outside of the visible band such as IR, UV, radio and the like, or sound-based emanations. It may be important that the means of determining the distance can be focused into a relatively small size. It may be important that the means of determining the distance is reflected by the physical mark. For example, a light-source apparatus used to determine a distance may benefit from a mirror surface upon the physical mark. In addition, a reflected signal may emerge significantly towards a user. It may be desirable that physical reference points are placed with high accuracy at specific reference locations, or it may be desirable to be able to measure with high accuracy specific reference locations after placement).
As to Claim 11:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses the method for anchoring according to claim 1, wherein the virtual object is defined by a plurality of points and surfaces delimiting a region associated with a Cartesian reference frame and comprising a 3D representation that can be generated on a display of an electronic terminal according to a viewing angle (Kincart, see 932, 931 and 933 in figure 9C).
As to Claim 12:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses the method for anchoring according to claim 1, wherein the calculating of the first position comprises: assigning at least one first reference coordinate corresponding to the height of the virtual object defined from a predefined configuration at a coordinate of the first position (Kincart, see paragraph [0094], where Kincart discloses a precise geospatial location 107 may be determined via triangulation based upon a measured distance from three or more Reference Point Transceivers 101-104. For example, a radio transmission or light signal may be
measured and compared from the three reference point transceivers 101-103. Other embodiments may include a device recognizable via image analysis and a sensor or other Image Capture Device, such as a CCD device, may capture an image of three or more Reference Point Transceivers 101-104. Image analysis may recognize the identification of each of three or more of the Reference Point Transceivers 101-104 and a size ratio of the respective image captured with Reference Point Transceivers 101-104 may be utilized to calculate a precise position. Similarly, a height designation
may be made via triangulation using the reference point transceivers as reference to a known height or a reference height).
As to Claim 13:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses the method for anchoring according to claim 1, wherein calculating of the first position comprises: an acquisition of an image of an area of the space in which the virtual object is represented in 3D and is positioned at the first position on a display of the first electronic terminal; a calculation of a second reference coordinate of at least one reference point associated with an automatically detected element from an algorithm for processing the acquired image in which the virtual object is represented; assigning of the second reference coordinate to a coordinate of the first position (Kincart, see 932, 931 and 933 in figure 9C and paragraph [0012], where Kincart discloses augmenting a physical area, such as an area designate as a wireless communication area. The method may include the steps of transceiving a wireless communication between a Smart Device and multiple reference point transceivers fixedly located at a position within a wireless communication area; generating positional coordinates for the Smart Device based upon the wireless communication between the Smart Device and the multiple reference transceivers; establishing a radio target area for an energy receiving sensor; receiving energy into the energy
receiving sensor from the radio target area; generating a digital representation of the energy received into the energy receiving sensor at an instance in time; generating positional coordinates for a tag at the instance in time, the tag comprising digital content and access rights to the digital content; determining the tag is located within the radio target area based upon the positional coordinates for the tag; generating a user interactive interface comprising static portions based upon the digital representation of the energy received into the energy receiving sensor; generating a
dynamic portion of the user interactive interface based upon the positional coordinates for the tag and the positional coordinates for the Smart Device; receiving a user input into the dynamic portion of the user interactive interface; and based upon the user input received into the dynamic portion of the user interactive interface, including the digital content in the user interactive interface).
.
As to Claim 17:
Kincart in view of Asghar discloses a system for anchoring a virtual object, said system comprising: a positioning beacon including a memory and a calculator and a first UWB communication interface; an electronic terminal including a second UWB communication interface; the positioning beacon and the electronic terminal being configured to implement the method of any one of claim 1 (Kincart, see paragraph [0091], where Kincart discloses that a first communication modality may engage in wireless communications with a first set of distance constraints and a second communication modality may engage in wireless communication with a second set of distance constraints. For example, a first communication modality may involve UWB communications modalities that travel a shorter distance than a second communication modality but may provide a more accurate location determination. In this example, a second communication modality may include one or more of: satellite communications (e.g., GPS); cellular communication modalities (e.g., 3G, 4G 5G and the like), sub GHz communications, or another modality).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 7, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the first UWB signal sent by the electronic terminal is a message of a one way UWB data transmission sequence wherein a measurement of the time of arrival of the first signal makes it possible to calculate the distance between the electronic terminal and the positioning beacon, the calculation of the first distance being calculated from a prior synchronization of the clocks of the first electronic terminal and the positioning beacon”.
Referring to claim 10, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the initializing comprises an initialization sequence of the positioning beacon, said initialization sequence comprising: reception by the positioning beacon of a reference orientation of the electronic terminal for a given position of the electronic terminal; reception by the positioning beacon of a reference height; reception by the beacon of a user identifier and/or an identifier of the electronic terminal”.
Referring to claim 14, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “characterized in that it comprising: sending of an identification request from a second electronic terminal to the positioning beacon, said identification request including an identifier recorded in a memory of the second electronic terminal; generating of a reply including a virtual object identifier and said anchoring position of said virtual object with respect to the positioning beacon; displaying of said virtual object on a display of the second electronic terminal overlaying an image acquired by an optic of said second electronic terminal”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Jung (US 12260505 B2).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624