DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 9-11 have been renumbered 10-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the event” and “Said operation A" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leong et al. US Pub. No. 2021/0174952 (“Leong”).
Regarding claim 1, Leong discloses a safety apparatus [See fig. 1, 6] which comprises:
[0043] A vessel can be any vehicle traversing water body. For example, a vessel can be a cargo ship, tanker, cruise ships, submarines, floating platforms, floating storage units, floating systems, or any other water-borne vessel, watercraft in marine industry. The provided safety systems and methods may be applied to various industries, worksites or workplaces. For example, the safety systems and methods can be applied to managing safety of individuals on any mobile object configured to move within any suitable environment, such as in air, in water (e.g., a ship or a submarine), on ground (e.g., a train), under the ground (e.g., a subway), in space (e.g., a spaceplane), or any combination of these environments. The provided systems and methods may be applied to the managing safety and risks of persons, for example, in a stationary environment such as buildings, factories, industrial environments and on other properties.
a portable device [wearable devices 111];
a fixed device [Edge computing device 115 – par. 51],
wherein said fixed device is associated or is configured to be associated with an environment to be monitored which has a perimeter, or wherein said fixed device is configured to define said environment or said perimeter;
[0052] In some cases, at least part of the safety and risk management system may be deployed in a remote or hazardous worksite such as a large vessel. The worksite on a large vessel may have limited wireless Internet or cellular network access particularly when the vessel is in a remote area (e.g., sea) that is remote from a wide area network (“WAN”) or an inter-network (e.g., the Internet). The maritime worksite may have indoor and outdoor area or work zones where operations, tasks and duties are performed. For example, the worksite may comprise bridge deck, upper deck, engine control room (ECR), steering gear room and various other indoor or outdoor work zones.
[0053] Operations or tasks performed by one or more individuals 101 (e.g., crewmembers, operators) may be tracked and guided based on real-time sensor data and feedbacks. In some embodiments, at least part of the sensor data may be captured by one or more sensors from a user's electronic device, such as a mobile device, user's wearable device, and the like.
[0056] As described above, in some cases, the safety and risk management system may comprise sensors deployed in various locations onboard the vessel for detecting a hazardous situation or adverse event in the environment. A worksite can have various regions or work zones which can be associated with one or more sensors deployed therein. Such sensors can include, for example, the navigation system, sensors onboard the vessel such as laser imaging detection and ranging (Lidar), radar, sonar, differential global positioning system (DGPS), inertial measurement unit (IMU), gyroscopes, magnetometers, accelerometers, ultrasonic sensors, image sensors (e.g., visible light, infrared), heat sensors, audio sensors, vibration sensors, conductivity sensors, chemical sensors, biological sensors, radiation sensors, conductivity sensors, proximity sensors, or any other type of sensors, or combination thereof. The one or more sensors deployed on the vessel may be used to detect ambient environment condition in a work zone, and/or work in conjunction with the sensor or user devices for location and time-based tracking, incident detection, and providing situational awareness to the individuals.
[0126] FIG. 8 schematically shows an example process for controlling a workflow, in accordance with some embodiments of the invention. In the illustrated example, the real-time location of an individual may be tracked and the location data may be used to generate a step-by-step workflow for the individual and provide the assurance of completeness and accuracy of the workflow. For example, when the operator is detected to be within a proximity of a work zone (e.g., detected by a proximity sensor) where an operation/task to be performed, the operation or task may be automatically displayed on the personnel device prompting the operator to complete the task.
[0168] Geofence may be created around the work zones and displayed on the supervisory dashboard 2103. Once created, the geofence may be activated and can detect personnel entering the geofenced zone. In some cases, when an individual enters a geofenced zone, the system may detect it and determine whether they are authorized to work in this area based on the permitted work within the area and the permission to work of the individual. If the individual is not authored to enter, an alert may be sent to the individual's wearable device 2105 to alert them that it is a hazardous area and they should leave.
[0171] FIG. 22 shows an example of generating and managing geofencing with fixed barrier using the system. In the illustrated example, there are a few areas (e.g., Pump Room, Engine Control Room, etc.) on the shipping vessel that require an active geofence to exist at all times (e.g., 24 hours a day and 7 days a week).
[Read further par. 59, 63, 114, 129-131; fig. 14]
wherein said fixed device and said portable device are configured to carry out a mutual interaction following mutual approaching within an interaction distance;
wherein said safety apparatus is configured to process signals relating to said interaction in order to detect access to said environment by said portable device or detect a crossing of said perimeter by said portable device.
[0065] In some embodiments, the local network may also comprise a plurality of devices such as Beacon devices for indoor/outdoor positioning or wireless communication. In some cases, the local network may allow for indoor/outdoor position tracking, such as populating the indoor/outdoor space with Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) beacons that transmit a continuous stream of packets that are picked up by a BLE sensor on the mobile device or the wearable device. FIG. 5 shows an example deployment of wireless radio transmitters (e.g., BLE sensors) on a vessel. As shown in the example deployment, a plurality of Beacon devices may be placed in various indoor locations on a vessel. This may beneficially improve the indoor position tracking of an individual. For instance, with BLE, a position of mobile devices or wearable devices can be identified based on the proximity technology. The proximity technology for users may include a plurality of beacons distributed about a premise through which the user is located or to navigate. The user device such as the mobile device or wearable device may be BLE compatible so as to determine the user's relative physical location to a beacon. Based on ranging data or approximate distance between user's device to each beacon along with the unique beacon's properties, different level of positioning accuracy can be achieved. For instance, the proximity technology may determine the location of a wearable device or user device based on a proximity estimate of signal strength emitting from beacon. In addition, it can be enhanced with a beacon triangulation method to determine the (x, y, z) local map coordinates of user's indoor position referencing to three or more beacons in proximity. The receiver can estimate its position using average of x,y,z localized coordinates of a floor map for e.g. (x1, y1, z1), (x2, y2, z2) and (x3, y3, z3).
[Read further par. 66-67, 72, 98, 101]
Regarding claim 3, Leong discloses signals comprise or consist of electromagnetic radiation; wherein said portable device and said fixed device are configured to transmit and receive electromagnetic radiation which is configured to be processed in order to define a position of said portable device with respect to said environment or with respect to said perimeter [See par. 55-56, 65-67].
Regarding claim 4, Leong discloses said portable device and said fixed device is adapted for transmitting or for receiving said electromagnetic radiation; wherein said portable device or said fixed device comprise an electronic processor configured to cause the interaction of said portable device and said fixed device by in order to identify a mutual position of said portable device with respect to said environment or with respect to said perimeter; wherein said portable device comprises a smartphone, or a smartwatch or a portable tag [See par. 54].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim Jong Hwan KR 102177109 (“Kim”).
Regarding claim 2, comprising a engine, gear, Bosun Store, pump, indoor room] which comprises a chamber with at least one access point, which delimits said environment (S) and comprises walls which define said perimeter [See fig. 14 and par. 171-172]; wherein said fixed device comprises a controller See fig. 1 and par. 168].
Leong does not expressly teach a cold room wherein said fixed device comprises a controller able to operate said cold room so as to regulate the temperature of said environment.
Kim teaches an invention relates to a control device configured to detect risk of personal accidents in a low-temperature storage room.
Accordingly, workers engaged in industries such as logistics and warehousing are constantly exposed to low-temperature environments, such as carrying out unloading in low-temperature warehouses, and harmful diseases such as hypothermia and frostbite are considered as risk factors. As accidents often occur, there is a need for technology development to promote work safety for workers in low temperature warehouses.
Specifically, Kim teaches a cold room wherein said fixed device comprises a controller able to operate said cold room so as to regulate the temperature of said environment and detect the access of said operator in said cold room.
Returning to FIG. 1 again, the temperature control unit 13 described above may function to control a temperature value set in the low temperature warehouse 20 based on the determination result of the risk situation determination unit 12 described above.
Meanwhile, in another embodiment of the temperature control unit 13 described above, the temperature control unit 13, as a result of the determination of the dangerous situation determination unit 12, the dynamic object was exposed to hypothermia, and the exposure time is a preset threshold time. When it is determined that it exceeds, the operation of the condenser, compressor, and evaporator may be controlled so that the temperature environment of the low-temperature warehouse 20 is created at a temperature having a relatively high temperature compared to the preset temperature value of the low-temperature warehouse 20. And the present invention is not limited thereto. [page 7]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the safety apparatus of Leong in view of Kim to implement the monitored environment of Leong as a cold room and to provide the cold room with the temperature-control and worker-monitoring functionality taught by Kim.
Leong teaches a safety apparatus having a portable device associated with an operator and a fixed device associated with a monitored environment, wherein the system detects access to and/or presence of the operator within the monitored environment. Kim teaches a cold room having a chamber and access point defining an environment, a controller configured to regulate the temperature of the cold room, and a camera configured to detect a worker in the cold room. Kim further teaches that, when the worker experiences hypothermia, the controller increases the temperature of the cold room.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the teachings of Kim to the safety apparatus of Leong because Kim provides a specific implementation of the safety monitoring and environmental-control functions for the same type of situation addressed by Leong — monitoring an operator within a defined environment and responding to a potentially hazardous condition affecting the operator. In particular, Kim recognizes that a worker's presence in a cold room can create a safety concern and provides both worker detection and temperature regulation to address that concern. Incorporating Kim's cold-room monitoring and temperature-control teachings into Leong would therefore have provided the predictable benefit of enabling Leong's safety apparatus to monitor an operator in a cold-room environment and to regulate the environmental temperature in response to the operator's condition.
The combination would have been a predictable use of known elements according to their established functions. Leong's portable and fixed devices would continue to perform their disclosed functions of interacting when brought within the interaction distance and processing signals to detect access to or presence within the monitored environment. Kim's camera would continue to perform its known function of detecting a worker in the cold room, and Kim's controller would continue to regulate the cold-room temperature, including increasing the temperature when the worker experiences hypothermia. The respective teachings are therefore complementary rather than incompatible, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining them.
Moreover, using B's camera-based worker detection in conjunction with A's portable/fixed-device detection would have provided additional information concerning the operator's presence and location within the cold room, thereby improving the reliability of the safety monitoring system. Thus, the proposed combination would have predictably yielded a safety apparatus capable of monitoring an operator's presence in a cold room and controlling the cold-room temperature to mitigate a detected cold-related hazard.
Regarding claim 5, Leong in view of Kim teaches cold room comprises a refrigerating apparatus having a cold exchanger which is in fluid communication with said environment so as to absorb heat therefrom [See page 6-7 of Kim]; said electronic processor being configured or programmed to control said controller to switch said refrigerating apparatus from a normal operating mode to an access operating mode following detection of an access condition [See page 7 of Kim]; wherein said access condition occurs if, following said interaction, said portable device or said fixed device detect: a presence of said portable device in said environment; entry of said portable device within said perimeter [See par. 66-67 of Leong].
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the controller of said fixed device is configured so that, in said normal operating mode, the controller activates said cold room so as to regulate the temperature of said environment) to a set-point value which is configured to be set and adjusted by an operator by said fixed device or said portable device [See page 6].
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the controller of said fixed device is configured so that, in said normal operating mode, the controller activates said cold room so as to regulate the temperature of said environment to a set-point value which is configured to be set and adjusted by an operator by said fixed device or said portable device [See pages 6, 10].
Claim(s) 9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong/Kim as applied to claim 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Brian S. Kim U.S. Patent No. 9,739,525 (“Brian”).
Regarding claim 9, Leong teaches the safety apparatus of the base claims, including a portable device, a fixed device associated with an environment to be monitored, mutual interaction between the portable and fixed devices upon approaching one another within an interaction distance, and processing signals associated with the interaction to detect access to the monitored environment. Kim further teaches a refrigerated/low-temperature environment and controlling operation of a refrigerating apparatus in response to detection of a dangerous condition associated with a person in the low-temperature environment. In particular, Kim teaches that, when a dangerous-situation determination unit determines that a dynamic object has been exposed to hypothermia and that the exposure time exceeds a preset threshold time, a temperature control unit controls operation of the condenser, compressor, and evaporator such that the temperature environment of the low-temperature warehouse is changed to a relatively higher temperature compared with the preset temperature of the low-temperature warehouse.
Leong in view of Kim does not expressly disclose that the refrigerating apparatus comprises a ventilator in fluid communication with the chamber/environment and the cold exchanger, the ventilator being configured to promote heat exchange by forced convection, or expressly teaches wherein the event that said processor is configured to carry out said operation A, the latter involves deactivating said ventilator.
Brian is directed to a refrigerator having a refrigerating apparatus comprises a ventilator [Fan 95] in fluid communication with the chamber/environment and the cold exchanger [evaporator 92], the ventilator being configured to promote heat exchange by forced convection between said cold exchanger and said environment [See fig. 3]. Specifically, Brian teaches wherein the event that said processor is configured to carry out said operation A, the latter involves deactivating said ventilator [col. 3 lines 17-23 - When a door 97 to the storage space 91 is opened and the output is a first output indicating an open state of the door 97, the first switch 20 is off to stop the cooling fan 95].
Accordingly, Brian teaches:
a refrigerated/refrigerating compartment;
a refrigerating-compartment evaporator corresponding to the claimed cold exchanger;
an air circulation fan corresponding to the claimed ventilator;
circulation of air within the refrigerated compartment and from the evaporator, thereby promoting heat transfer by forced air circulation;
sensing opening of the refrigerator door; and
turning off the air circulation fan in response to detection that the door has been opened.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the refrigerating apparatus of Leong/Kim to include the fan/evaporator arrangement of Brian and to control the fan in response to the access condition taught by Leong/Kim.
The motivation to make the combination is provided by the respective teachings of the references. Leong/Kim seeks to respond to detection of a person in the low-temperature environment by changing the operating condition of the refrigeration apparatus. Brian teaches that air circulation within a refrigerated compartment can be actively controlled using a fan associated with an evaporator and, importantly, teaches turning the fan off when access to the refrigerated compartment is detected. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the fan-control technique of Brian provides a predictable manner of controlling air circulation in the refrigerated environment of Leong/Kim when the safety apparatus detects access.
Moreover, the combination would have yielded predictable results. Adding the air circulation fan of Brain to the refrigeration apparatus of Leong/Kim would merely provide forced air circulation through the refrigerated environment and across/with respect to the evaporator, thereby increasing heat transfer and cooling performance. Deactivating the fan when access is detected would correspondingly reduce circulation of cold air out of the refrigerated environment during the access condition, as expressly taught by Brian. Brian specifically identifies this result as a reason for turning off the air circulation fan when the door is opened.
Thus, with the combination of Leong/Kim and Brian, the claimed limitation that the refrigerating apparatus comprises “a ventilator in fluid communication with said chamber and with said cold exchanger and is configured to promote a heat exchange by forced convection between said cold exchanger and said environment” would have been obvious.
Further, because Leong/Kim already teaches detecting an access condition and changing operation of the refrigerating apparatus in response thereto, and Brian teaches turning off a refrigerating-compartment air circulation fan when access to the refrigerated compartment is detected, it would have been obvious to configure the processor/controller of the combined system to deactivate the ventilator upon occurrence of the access condition.
The combination therefore teaches or suggests the claimed arrangement in which, following detection of access to the refrigerated environment, the processor controls the refrigerating apparatus so that the ventilator is deactivated. Accordingly, claim 9 as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the controller of said fixed device is configured so that, in said normal operating mode, the controller activates said cold room so as to regulate the temperature of said environment to a set-point value which is configured to be set and adjusted by an operator by said fixed device or said portable device [See pages 6, 10].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 6-7, 10-11 are considered allowable since, when reading the claims in light of the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of subject matter specified in the dependent claim(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US. Pub. No. 2021/0405173 to Elias et al. teach a sensor system for determining occupancy in a space generally includes a transmitter radio device that transmits radio signals over a channel in the space; a receiver radio device that receives the transmitted radio signals that have traveled through the space; and at least one processor implementing an occupancy-centric algorithm that determines occupancy in the space based on the radio signals. The at least one processor determines channel state information based on the radio signals transmitted over the channel, determines occupancy in the space based on the channel state information, and outputs an occupancy signal based on the determined occupancy.
US. Pub. No. 2006/0006999 to Walczyk et al. teach a system for monitoring temperature inside refrigerators or heaters and tracking people and/or objects, particularly within a medical setting. For temperature monitoring, temperature readings are obtained using a temperature monitor. The temperature readings are transmitted from a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag to an RFID reader. The temperature readings received by the RFID reader are then monitored as a function of time. For tracking people or objects, RFID tags are attached to the people or objects, a facility is equipped with one or more RFID readers, and activity of the people or objects is monitored.
VINCENT H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2115
/VINCENT H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115