DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application #18867610 filed 11/20/2024. Claim(s) 1-30 is/are subject to examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “based on any two single-slot PUCCH resources of the single-slot PUCCH resources…”. However, in claim 6 on which claim 7 depends upon, defines the single-slot PUCCH as “of the one or more single-slot PUCCH”, meaning the single-slot PUCCHs can be interpreted to mean just one and therefore would not have two/a second single-slot PUCCH. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation of claim 7 as: “based on any two single-slot PUCCH resources of the single-slot PUCCH resources, wherein the one or more single-slot PUCCH having at least two single-slot PUCCH resources…”.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “…of the one or more single-slot PUCCH resources…any two PUCCH resources of the single-slot PUCCH resources…”. The single-slot PUCCH can be interpreted to just having one and therefore would not have two/a second single-slot PUCCH. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation of claim 23 as: “any two PUCCH resources of the single-slot PUCCH resources, when/wherein the one or more single-slot PUCCH has at least two single-slot PUCCH resources…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (US 20230337243 A1), hereby referred to as LIN, in view of MATSUMURA et al. (US 20250193888 A1), hereby referred to as MATSUMURA, and GOU et al. (US 20240244628 A1), hereby referred to as GOU.
Claim 1:
LIN teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: transmit first uplink control information (UCI) on a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource in a slot and transmit second UCI on a second PUCCH resource in the slot, wherein the first UCI comprises hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information and the second UCI comprises HARQ feedback information (LIN: FIG. 2 item (“PUCCH 1 LP ACK/NACK Information”) and item (“PUCCH 3 HP ACK/NACK information”) wherein each HARQ UCI can be the first or second UCI on a respective PUCCH resource); receive control signals that schedule transmissions of one or more other UCIs on a set of PUCCH resources in the slot, the one or more other UCIs comprising channel state information or scheduling request information (LIN: FIG. 2 item (“PUCCH 2 CSI Information”) wherein the UE is scheduled to transmit another UCI with CSI which can be transmitted in the same slot, wherein all the resource scheduled on the same slot is the set of PUCCH resources); perform UCI prioritization for the first PUCCH resource and the set of PUCCH resources in accordance with a set of prioritization rules, wherein the UCI prioritization results in one or more non-overlapping PUCCH resources and one or more single-slot PUCCH resources that do not overlap with any of the one or more PUCCH resources (LIN: FIG. 6 and para 78 (“The terminal device…determines that…CSI and the HP HARQ feedback information cannot be multiplexed onto the same PUCCH, the PUCCH 2 is removed…Since PUCCH 1 and PUCCH 3 do not overlap…PUCCH 1 and PUCCH 3 can be transmitted independently…”) wherein UE prioritizes the HP HARQ UCI over the CSI UCI; and the priority rules allow the non-overlapping HARQ UCIs to be transmitted); and transmit at least the first UCI and the second UCI in the slot based at least in part on the prioritization (LIN: FIG. 6 wherein the first and second UCI related to HARQ is transmitted based on prioritization).
However, LIN does not explicitly disclose receiving a first indication and a second indication, wherein a first UCI is associated with a first control resource set pool index value, and a second UCI is associated with a second control resource set pool index value; wherein at least one of the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource is a multi-slot PUCCH resource and multi-slot PUCCH resources.
MATSUMURA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches receiving a first indication and a second indication, wherein a first UCI is associated with a first control resource set pool index value and a second UCI is associated with a second control resource set pool index value (MATSUMURA: para 161 (“…when the UE is configured with multi-DCI using multi-TRP and where the HARQ-ACK feedback mode is configured to be separate…for a plurality of PUCCH resources including HARQ-ACK information indicated in the same slot…in different PUCCH resources, respective different pieces of HARQ-ACK information corresponding to different CORESET pool indices…”) wherein each HARQ UCI is associated with different CORESET index values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9).
However, LIN-MATSUMURA does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource is a multi-slot PUCCH resource and multi-slot PUCCH resources.
GOU, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one of the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource is a multi-slot PUCCH resource and multi-slot PUCCH resources (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein multiple multi-slot PUCCH resources can be scheduled with single-slot PUCCH resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN-MATSUMURA with GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 2:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to exclude the second PUCCH resource from the UCI prioritization, in accordance with the set of prioritization rules, based at least in part on the second PUCCH resource being associated with a fixed control resource set pool index value (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 and para 161 (“…when the UE is configured with multi-DCI using multi-TRP and where the HARQ-ACK feedback mode is configured to be separate…for a plurality of PUCCH resources including HARQ-ACK information indicated in the same slot…in different PUCCH resources, respective different pieces of HARQ-ACK information corresponding to different CORESET pool indices…”) wherein the second PUCCH resource is in a “fixed”/separate coreset and is not included in the prioritization of PUCCHs in a different coreset); and wherein the first PUCCH resource is a multi-slot PUCCH resource (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein there is a multi-slot PUCCH/PUCCH1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA and GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9) and defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 3:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify that the second PUCCH is associated with the fixed control resource set pool index value based at least in part on the second PUCCH resource being a single-slot PUCCH resource (GOU: FIG. 3 wherein the second PUCCH is configured to be a scheduled single-slot PUCCH/PUCCH2) and (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 and para 161 (“…when the UE is configured with multi-DCI using multi-TRP and where the HARQ-ACK feedback mode is configured to be separate…for a plurality of PUCCH resources including HARQ-ACK information indicated in the same slot…in different PUCCH resources, respective different pieces of HARQ-ACK information corresponding to different CORESET pool indices…”) wherein configuring a second PUCCH includes configuring it in a slot with separate/different CORESET).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA and GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9) and defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 4:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify that the second PUCCH resource is associated with the fixed control resource set pool index value based at least in part on a configuration of the UE (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 and para 161 (“…when the UE is configured with multi-DCI using multi-TRP and where the HARQ-ACK feedback mode is configured to be separate…for a plurality of PUCCH resources including HARQ-ACK information indicated in the same slot…in different PUCCH resources, respective different pieces of HARQ-ACK information corresponding to different CORESET pool indices…”) wherein second PUCCH is configured with separate/different CORESET).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA and GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9) and defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 5:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to perform the UCI prioritization, are configured to perform the UCI prioritization for the first PUCCH resource and the set of PUCCH resources based at least in part on a characteristic of the first PUCCH resource and a characteristic of the set of PUCCH resources (LIN: FIG. 6, para 33 (“If the high priority uplink channel overlaps with the low priority uplink channel…non-multiplexed channel…the low priority channel is dropped and only the high priority channel is transmitted…”), and para 78 (“The terminal device…determines that…CSI and the HP HARQ feedback information cannot be multiplexed onto the same PUCCH, the PUCCH 2 is removed…Since PUCCH 1 and PUCCH 3 do not overlap…PUCCH 1 and PUCCH 3 can be transmitted independently…”) wherein UCI prioritization takes into account the priority characteristics of each PUCCH resource in the PUCCH resource set; wherein first PUCCH resource is within the set of PUCCH resources).
Claim 6:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to drop at least one of a single-slot PUCCH resource, of the one or more single-slot PUCCH resources, or a multi-slot PUCCH resource, of the one or more multi-slot PUCCH resources, not including the first PUCCH resource, based at least in part on the single-slot PUCCH resource or the multi-slot PUCCH resource overlapping with the second PUCCH resource and based at least in part on the second PUCCH resource being a multi-slot PUCCH resource (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein second PUCCH can be a scheduled multi-slot PUCCH resource) and (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 and para 174-176 (“associated with different panels overlap each other…simultaneously transmit the plurality of PUCCH resources…UE is configured with…different CORESET pool indices corresponding to different panels…each HARQ-ACK in a resource associated with CORESET pool index/panel…”) wherein based on multi-slot second PUCCH resource being scheduled on the same panel/CORESET pool index as at least one of another single-slot or multi-slot PUCCH resource; and para 58 (“…cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”) wherein within the CORESET pool index/panel, other overlapping PUCCHs of lower priority are discarded/dropped)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA and GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9) and defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 7:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit at least the first UCI and the second UCI in the slot, are configured to transmit the first UCI on the first PUCCH resource, the second UCI on the second PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 6) (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 wherein both first UCI on first PUCCH and second UCI on second PUCCH are transmitted simultaneously), and any single-slot PUCCH resources or multi-slot PUCCH resources that do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource on the set of PUCCH resources based at least in part on any two single-slot PUCCH resources of the single-slot PUCCH resources, that do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource, not overlapping with each other (LIN: FIG. 6 wherein non-overlapping PUCCH resources are transmitted, regardless of type) (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein PUCCH can be a scheduled multi-slot PUCCH resource or single-slot PUCCHs) and (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 and para 174-176 (“associated with different panels overlap each other…simultaneously transmit the plurality of PUCCH resources…UE is configured with…different CORESET pool indices corresponding to different panels…each HARQ-ACK in a resource associated with CORESET pool index/panel…”) wherein based on multi-slot second PUCCH resource being scheduled on the same panel/CORESET pool index as at least one of another single-slot or multi-slot PUCCH resource; and para 58 (“…cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”) wherein within the CORESET pool index/panel, other overlapping PUCCHs of lower priority are discarded/dropped)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA and GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9) and defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 8:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to multiplex two or more single-slot PUCCH resources to generate one or more multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resources (LIN: FIG. 1 wherein PUCCHs can be multiplexed in a single slot) (MATSUMURA: para 107 (“…configured with PUCCH resources for a plurality of CSIs in one slot…the UE multiplexes all the CSI reports in one resource…”) wherein single-slot PUCCH resources are multiplexed to generate at least one multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resources), or perform an additional UCI prioritization for the two or more single-slot PUCCH resources, based at least in part on the two or more single-slot PUCCH resources overlapping with each other but not overlapping with the second PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 6 wherein PUCCHs can be prioritized and, if not overlapping, be transmitted in the same slot as the second PUCCH resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN and GOU with MATSUMURA, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9).
Claim 9:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit at least the first UCI and the second UCI in the slot, are configured to transmit the first UCI on the first PUCCH resource, the second UCI on the second PUCCH resource (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 wherein first and second UCI are transmitted), the one or more multi- slot PUCCH resources on the set of PUCCH resources that do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource (LIN: para 71 (“If any overlapping PUCCH resource still exists in the first PUCCH resource…until there is no overlapping PUCCH resource…”) wherein as long as the PUCCHs are not overlapping, they can be included in transmission) and (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein multiple non-overlapping multi-slot PUCCH resources can be scheduled), and the one or more multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resource on the set of PUCCH resources (LIN: FIG. 1 wherein PUCCHs can be multiplexed in a single slot and para 71 (“If any overlapping PUCCH resource still exists in the first PUCCH resource…until there is no overlapping PUCCH resource…”) wherein only non-overlapping PUCCH resources are simultaneously transmitted) (MATSUMURA: para 107 (“…configured with PUCCH resources for a plurality of CSIs in one slot…the UE multiplexes all the CSI reports in one resource…”) wherein single-slot PUCCH resources are multiplexed to generate at least one multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resources)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA and GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9) and defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 10:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to multiplex two or more single-slot PUCCH resources to generate one or more multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resources (LIN: FIG. 1 wherein PUCCHs in a single slot are multiplexed together), wherein the one or more multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resources do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource, and the first PUCCH resource and the one or more multi-slot PUCCH resources do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource (LIN: para 25 (“A set of non-overlapping PUCCH resources is determined within one time-slot…”) wherein all non-overlapping PUCCH resources are transmitted within a slot) (MATSUMURA: para 54-55 (“…the UE first eliminates overlap of a PUCCH…when multiplexing UCIs…”) wherein UE can multiplexes overlapping single-slot PUCCHs to avoid overlapping transmissions ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN and GOU with MATSUMURA, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9).
Claim 11:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to drop a multi-slot PUCCH resource, of the one or more of the multi-slot PUCCH resources, not including the first PUCCH resource, based at least in part on the multi-slot PUCCH resource overlapping with the second PUCCH resource and based at least in part on the second PUCCH resource being a single-slot PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 6) and (GUO: para 47 (“A PUCCH with a repetition factor greater than one…may overlap with other PUCCHs in the time domain…for each slot where the UCI type priority of HARQ-ACK>SR>CSI with higher priority>CSI with lower priority…if the first PUCCH and any of the second PUCCHs do not include a UCI type with a same priority, the UE 102 may transmit the PUCCH having the UCI type with a higher priority and may not transmit the PUCCH having the UCI type with a lower priority.”) wherein based on at least a multi-slot PUCCH overlapping with another single-slot PUCCH (such as the second PUCCH) scheduled for the same slot, the UE can determine to drop the lower priority PUCCH, wherein the multi-slot PUCCH can be a lower priority PUCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN-MATSUMURA with GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 12:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit at least the first UCI and the second UCI in the slot, are configured to transmit the first UCI on the first PUCCH resource, the second UCI on the second PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 6), and any of the multi-slot PUCCH resources that do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource or the one or more single-slot PUCCH resources on the set of PUCCH resources based at least in part on any two PUCCH resources of the second PUCCH resource and the one or more single-slot PUCCH resources not overlapping with each other (LIN: para 71 (“If any overlapping PUCCH resource still exists in the first PUCCH resource…until there is no overlapping PUCCH resource…”) wherein as long as the PUCCHs are not overlapping, they can be included in transmission) and (GOU: FIG. 3-4 wherein there can be multiple multi-slot PUCCHs transmitted simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN-MATSUMURA with GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 13:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to multiplex the second PUCCH resource and the one or more of the single-slot PUCCH resources to generate one or more multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 1 wherein the second PUCCH resource can be multiplexed with another PUCCH resource in a single slot), or perform an additional UCI prioritization for the second PUCCH resource and the single-slot PUCCH resource, based at least in part on the single-slot PUCCH resource overlapping with the second PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 6 wherein UCI prioritization could alternatively be performed).
Claim 14:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit at least the first UCI and the second UCI in the slot, are configured to transmit the first UCI on the first PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 6) and (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7), any of the multi-slot PUCCH resources that do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource (LIN: para 71 (“If any overlapping PUCCH resource still exists in the first PUCCH resource…until there is no overlapping PUCCH resource…”) wherein non-overlapping PUCCHs can be transmitted ) and (GOU: FIG. 3-4 wherein multi-slot PUCCH resources can be simultaneously transmitted), and the one or more multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resources (LIN: FIG. 1 wherein overlapping PUCCHs can be multiplexed and para 71 (“If any overlapping PUCCH resource still exists in the first PUCCH resource…until there is no overlapping PUCCH resource…”) wherein non-overlapping PUCCHs, including the multiplexed PUCCHs, can be transmitted ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA and GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9) and defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 19:
LIN teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE). For further limitations, see rejection for claim 1 above.
Claim 20:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the method of claim 19. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 2 above.
Claim 21:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the method of claim 20. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 3 above.
Claim 22:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the method of claim 20. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 4 above.
Claim 23:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the method of claim 20, further comprising dropping at least one of a single- slot PUCCH resource, of the one or more single-slot PUCCH resources, or a multi-slot PUCCH resource, of the one or more multi-slot PUCCH resources, not including the first PUCCH resource, based at least in part on the single-slot PUCCH resource or the multi-slot PUCCH resource overlapping with the second PUCCH resource and based at least in part on the second PUCCH resource being a multi-slot PUCCH resource (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein second PUCCH can be a scheduled multi-slot PUCCH resource) and (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 and para 174-176 (“associated with different panels overlap each other…simultaneously transmit the plurality of PUCCH resources…UE is configured with…different CORESET pool indices corresponding to different panels…each HARQ-ACK in a resource associated with CORESET pool index/panel…”) wherein based on multi-slot second PUCCH resource being scheduled on the same panel/CORESET pool index as at least one of another single-slot or multi-slot PUCCH resource; and para 58 (“…cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”) wherein within the CORESET pool index/panel, other overlapping PUCCHs of lower priority are discarded/dropped), wherein transmitting at least the first UCI and the second UCI in the slot comprises transmitting the first UCI on the first PUCCH resource, the second UCI on the second PUCCH resource (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 wherein both first UCI on first PUCCH and second UCI on second PUCCH are transmitted simultaneously), and any single-slot PUCCH resources or multi- slot PUCCH resources that do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource on the set of PUCCH resources based at least in part on any two PUCCH resources of the single-slot PUCCH resources not overlapping with the second PUCCH resource not overlapping with each other (LIN: FIG. 6 wherein non-overlapping PUCCH resources are transmitted, regardless of type) (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein PUCCH can be a scheduled multi-slot PUCCH resource or single-slot PUCCHs) and (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 and para 174-176 (“associated with different panels overlap each other…simultaneously transmit the plurality of PUCCH resources…UE is configured with…different CORESET pool indices corresponding to different panels…each HARQ-ACK in a resource associated with CORESET pool index/panel…”) wherein based on multi-slot second PUCCH resource being scheduled on the same panel/CORESET pool index as at least one of another single-slot or multi-slot PUCCH resource; and para 58 (“…cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”) wherein within the CORESET pool index/panel, other overlapping PUCCHs of lower priority are discarded/dropped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA and GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9) and defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 24:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the method of claim 23, further comprising multiplexing two or more single- slot PUCCH resources to generate one or more multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resources (LIN: FIG. 1 wherein PUCCHs can be multiplexed in a single slot) (MATSUMURA: para 107 (“…configured with PUCCH resources for a plurality of CSIs in one slot…the UE multiplexes all the CSI reports in one resource…”) wherein single-slot PUCCH resources are multiplexed to generate at least one multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resources), or performing an additional UCI prioritization for the two or more single-slot PUCCH resources, based at least in part on the two or more single-slot PUCCH resources overlapping with each other but not overlapping with the second PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 6 wherein PUCCHs can be prioritized and, if not overlapping, be transmitted in the same slot as the second PUCCH resource), (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 wherein first and second UCI are transmitted), the one or more multi- slot PUCCH resources on the set of PUCCH resources that do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource (LIN: para 71 (“If any overlapping PUCCH resource still exists in the first PUCCH resource…until there is no overlapping PUCCH resource…”) wherein as long as the PUCCHs are not overlapping, they can be included in transmission) and (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein multiple non-overlapping multi-slot PUCCH resources can be scheduled), and the one or more multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resource on the set of PUCCH resources (LIN: FIG. 1 wherein PUCCHs can be multiplexed in a single slot and para 71 (“If any overlapping PUCCH resource still exists in the first PUCCH resource…until there is no overlapping PUCCH resource…”) wherein only non-overlapping PUCCH resources are simultaneously transmitted) (MATSUMURA: para 107 (“…configured with PUCCH resources for a plurality of CSIs in one slot…the UE multiplexes all the CSI reports in one resource…”) wherein single-slot PUCCH resources are multiplexed to generate at least one multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA and GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9) and defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 25:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the method of claim 20, further comprising dropping a multi-slot PUCCH resource, of the one or more of the multi-slot PUCCH resources, not including the first PUCCH resource, based at least in part on the multi-slot PUCCH resource overlapping with the second PUCCH resource and based at least in part on the second PUCCH resource being a single-slot PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 6) and (GUO: para 47 (“A PUCCH with a repetition factor greater than one…may overlap with other PUCCHs in the time domain…for each slot where the UCI type priority of HARQ-ACK>SR>CSI with higher priority>CSI with lower priority…if the first PUCCH and any of the second PUCCHs do not include a UCI type with a same priority, the UE 102 may transmit the PUCCH having the UCI type with a higher priority and may not transmit the PUCCH having the UCI type with a lower priority.”) wherein based on at least a multi-slot PUCCH overlapping with another single-slot PUCCH (such as the second PUCCH) scheduled for the same slot, the UE can determine to drop the lower priority PUCCH, wherein the multi-slot PUCCH can be a lower priority PUCCH), wherein transmitting at least the first UCI and the second UCI in the slot comprises transmitting the first UCI on the first PUCCH resource, the second UCI on the second PUCCH resource, and any of the multi-slot PUCCH resources that do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource or the one or more single-slot PUCCH resources on the set of PUCCH resources based at least in part on any two PUCCH resources of the second PUCCH resource and the one or more single-slot PUCCH resources not overlapping with each other (LIN: FIG. 6 and para 71 (“If any overlapping PUCCH resource still exists in the first PUCCH resource…until there is no overlapping PUCCH resource…”) wherein as long as the PUCCHs are not overlapping, they can be included in transmission) and (GOU: FIG. 3-4 wherein there can be multiple multi-slot PUCCHs transmitted simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN-MATSUMURA with GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 26:
LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the method of claim 25, further comprising multiplexing the second PUCCH resource and the one or more of the single-slot PUCCH resources to generate one or more multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 1 wherein the second PUCCH resource can be multiplexed with another PUCCH resource in a single slot), or perform an additional UCI prioritization for the second PUCCH resource and the single-slot PUCCH resource, based at least in part on the single-slot PUCCH resource overlapping with the second PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 6 wherein UCI prioritization could alternatively be performed), wherein transmitting at least the first UCI and the second UCI in the slot comprises transmitting the first UCI on the first PUCCH resource (LIN: FIG. 6) and (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7), any of the multi-slot PUCCH resources that do not overlap with the second PUCCH resource (LIN: para 71 (“If any overlapping PUCCH resource still exists in the first PUCCH resource…until there is no overlapping PUCCH resource…”) wherein non-overlapping PUCCHs can be transmitted ) and (GOU: FIG. 3-4 wherein multi-slot PUCCH resources can be simultaneously transmitted), and the one or more multiplexed single-slot PUCCH resources (LIN: FIG. 1 wherein overlapping PUCCHs can be multiplexed and para 71 (“If any overlapping PUCCH resource still exists in the first PUCCH resource…until there is no overlapping PUCCH resource…”) wherein non-overlapping PUCCHs, including the multiplexed PUCCHs, can be transmitted ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LIN with MATSUMURA and GOU, the combination hereby referred to as LIN-MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of appropriate control of uplink transmissions for a plurality of panels (MATSUMURA: para 9) and defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim(s) 15-18 and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUMURA in view of GOU.
Claim 15:
MATSUMURA teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (MATSUMURA: FIG. 16 item 1001 and item 1002 ), configured to: receive a first set of one or more control signals that schedule a first plurality of uplink control information (UCIs) in a first plurality of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources within a slot, wherein the first plurality of UCIs comprises at least one of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information, channel state information, or scheduling request information and each PUCCH resource of the first plurality of PUCCH resources is associated with a first control resource set pool index value (MATSUMURA: FIG. 6, para 72 (“…multi-DCI using multi-TRP…”), and para 74 (“CSI, an HARQ-ACK, and an SR are described as UCI in the present disclosure…”), and para 161 (“…the UE multiplexes…with the same CORESET pool index…The UE does not expect that a plurality of PUCCH resources for a plurality of CORESET pool indices overlap each other…”) wherein a plurality of UCIs can be the first CORESET pool index); receive a second set of one or more control signals that schedule a second plurality of UCIs in a second plurality of PUCCH resources within the slot, wherein the second plurality of UCIs comprises at least one of HARQ feedback information, channel state information, or scheduling request information and each PUCCH resource of the second plurality of PUCCH resources is associated with a second control resource set pool index value (MATSUMURA: FIG. 6, para 72 (“…multi-DCI using multi-TRP…”), and para 74 (“CSI, an HARQ-ACK, and an SR are described as UCI in the present disclosure…”), and para 161 (“…the UE multiplexes…with the same CORESET pool index…The UE does not expect that a plurality of PUCCH resources for a plurality of CORESET pool indices overlap each other…”) wherein a plurality of UCIs can be the first CORESET pool index), perform first UCI multiplexing or prioritization for the first plurality of PUCCH resources in accordance with one or more UCI multiplexing or prioritization rules, wherein the first UCI multiplexing or prioritization results in a first one or more non- overlapping PUCCH resources (MATSUMURA: FIG. 5A prioritization and para 58 (“…the UE may cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”) wherein prioritization results in non-overlapping PUCCH resources; and FIG. 6 multiplexing and para 54 (“…the UE first eliminates overlap of a PUCCH…with a smaller (lower) priority index…”) wherein multiplexing results in non-overlapping PUCCH resources); perform second UCI multiplexing or prioritization for the second plurality of PUCCH resources in accordance with the one or more UCI multiplexing or prioritization rules, wherein the second UCI multiplexing or prioritization results in a second one or more non-overlapping PUCCH resources (MATSUMURA: FIG. 5A prioritization and para 58 (“…the UE may cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”) wherein prioritization results in non-overlapping PUCCH resources; and FIG. 6 multiplexing and para 54 (“…the UE first eliminates overlap of a PUCCH…with a smaller (lower) priority index…”) wherein multiplexing results in non-overlapping PUCCH resources); and transmit at least a subset of the first plurality of UCIs on the first one or more non-overlapping PUCCH resources and at least a subset of the second plurality of UCIs on the second one or more non-overlapping PUCCH resources (MATSUMURA: FIG. 6).
However, MATSUMURA does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first plurality of PUCCH resources and the second plurality of PUCCH resources is a multi-slot PUCCH resource.
GOU, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one of the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource is a multi-slot PUCCH resource (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein multiple multi-slot PUCCH resources can be scheduled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified MATSUMURA with GOU, the combination hereby referred to as MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 16:
MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors, to perform the first UCI multiplexing or prioritization for the first plurality of PUCCH resources, are configured to: resolve an overlap for two or more overlapping multi-slot PUCCH resources in the first plurality of PUCCH resources (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein multiple multi-slot PUCCH resources can be scheduled for simultaneous transmission). (MATSUMURA: FIG. 5A prioritization and para 58 (“…the UE may cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”) wherein prioritization results in non-overlapping PUCCH resources for a CORESET; and FIG. 6 multiplexing and para 54 (“…the UE first eliminates overlap of a PUCCH…with a smaller (lower) priority index…”) wherein multiplexing results in non-overlapping PUCCH resources for a CORESET); and resolve an overlap for two or more overlapping single-slot PUCCH resources in the first plurality of PUCCH resources based at least in part on resolving the overlap for the two or more overlapping multi-slot PUCCH resources in the first plurality of PUCCH resources (MATSUMURA: FIG. 5A and para 58 (“…the UE may cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”); and FIG. 6 and para 54 (“…the UE first eliminates overlap of a PUCCH…with a smaller (lower) priority index…”) wherein two overlapping single-slot PUCCH can be multiplexed and then, fit he multiplexed PUCCH still overlaps with the results of resolving the multi-slot PUCCH, then it will be prioritized/multiplexed again).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified MATSUMURA with GOU, the combination hereby referred to as MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 17:
MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors, to perform the second UCI multiplexing or prioritization for the second plurality of PUCCH resources, are configured to: resolve an overlap for two or more overlapping multi-slot PUCCH resources in the second plurality of PUCCH resources (GOU: FIG. 3-5 wherein multiple multi-slot PUCCH resources can be scheduled for simultaneous transmission). (MATSUMURA: FIG. 5A prioritization and para 58 (“…the UE may cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”) wherein prioritization results in non-overlapping PUCCH resources for a CORESET; and FIG. 6 multiplexing and para 54 (“…the UE first eliminates overlap of a PUCCH…with a smaller (lower) priority index…”) wherein multiplexing results in non-overlapping PUCCH resources for a CORESET); and resolve an overlap for two or more overlapping single-slot PUCCH resources in the second plurality of PUCCH resources based at least in part on resolving the overlap for the two or more overlapping multi-slot PUCCH resources in the second plurality of PUCCH resources (MATSUMURA: FIG. 5A and para 58 (“…the UE may cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”); and FIG. 6 and para 54 (“…the UE first eliminates overlap of a PUCCH…with a smaller (lower) priority index…”) wherein two overlapping single-slot PUCCH can be multiplexed and then, if the multiplexed PUCCH still overlaps with the results of resolving the multi-slot PUCCH, then it will be prioritized/multiplexed again).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified MATSUMURA with GOU, the combination hereby referred to as MATSUMURA-GOU for the benefit of defining predictable rules for overlapping PUCCH transmissions (GOU: para 47-51).
Claim 18:
MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the subset of the first plurality of UCIs on the first one or more non-overlapping PUCCH resources and the subset of the second plurality of UCIs on the second one or more non-overlapping PUCCH resources (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 wherein UCIs on different CORESET can be sent simultaneously; and FIG. 5A and para 58 (“…the UE may cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”); and FIG. 6 and para 54 (“…the UE first eliminates overlap of a PUCCH…with a smaller (lower) priority index…”) wherein, within each CORESET, wherein multiplexing/prioritizing results in non-overlapping PUCCH resources), are configured to transmit the subset of the first plurality of UCIs on the first one or more non-overlapping PUCCH resources and the subset of the second plurality of UCIs on the second one or more non-overlapping PUCCH resources when a portion of the subset of the first plurality of UCIs being transmitted on the first one or more non-overlapping PUCCH resources overlaps with a portion of the subset of the second plurality of UCIs being transmitted on the second one or more non-overlapping PUCCH resources (MATSUMURA: FIG. 7 wherein UCIs on different CORESET can be sent simultaneously when overlapping; and FIG. 5A and para 58 (“…the UE may cancel/drop a PUCCH…with a smaller priority index…”); and FIG. 6 and para 54 (“…the UE first eliminates overlap of a PUCCH…with a smaller (lower) priority index…”) wherein, within each CORESET, wherein multiplexing/prioritizing results in non-overlapping PUCCH resources).
Claim 27:
MATSUMURA teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE). For further limitations, see rejection for claim 15 above.
Claim 28:
MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the method of claim 27. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 16 above.
Claim 29:
MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the method of claim 28. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 17 above.
Claim 30:
MATSUMURA-GOU teaches the method of claim 27. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 18 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LI et al. (US 20230421233 A1) teaches simultaneously transmitting non-overlapping PUCCHs in a slot.
/A.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416