Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: The preamble of claim 4 recites “A motor-actuated tool with comprising:” and should read “a motor-actuated tool (see Abstract and FIG. 1: handheld device 1) comprising:” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 recite the limitation “the force” in “the hydraulic medium is used for applying the force.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. An applied force and a certain working force has been set forth in the claim, and it is unclear whether “the force” is in reference to both or either the applied force and/or the certain working force. As such, the claim language has been held to be indefinite. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be “for applying the applied force.”
Claims 7-8 and 15-18 recite the limitation "the returning hydraulic medium.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. If the tool is under repeated use, which would require repeated movement of the hydraulic medium, it is unclear which direction is the returning direction. As such, the claim language has been held to be indefinite. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be “the flow of hydraulic medium into the reservoir.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frenken ‘037 (US 20190030698 A1; filed 01/06/207 and published 1/31/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Frenken ‘037 discloses a method for operating a motor-actuated tool (FIG. 1: handheld device 1) with a hydraulic piston/cylinder arrangement (FIG. 1: hydraulic piston 7) in which a hydraulic medium (hydraulic medium in tank 4; ¶[0038]) is located comprising:
supplying hydraulic medium to apply a force to the hydraulic piston until a certain working force is reached, (hydraulic medium is pumped to pressure the hydraulic piston to reach a certain working force; see ¶[0010],[0012] and claim 15)
wherein a general working force which is greater than the certain working force can be reached upon a further supply of hydraulic medium to the hydraulic piston; (a general working force exceeding the certain working force is reached via supplying the hydraulic piston with hydraulic medium; see ¶[0010] and [0012])
monitoring a pressure increase in the hydraulic medium between the certain working force and the general working force, (sensor 16 continuously tracks pressure in the hydraulic medium rising from the certain working force to the general working force; see ¶[0001]-[0002] and [0042]-[0043])
wherein the certain working force results in a characteristic change of the pressure increase in the hydraulic medium; (after the attainment of the certain working force, a characteristic change in pressure rise in the hydraulic medium results; see ¶[0001]-[0002])
opening a return valve in response to an indication that the characteristic change has been monitored, thereby allowing the hydraulic medium to flow into a reservoir, (attainment of the characteristic change is utilized as a signal for terminating the certain working operation—see ¶[0006] and [0012]—and when the working operation terminates, backflow valve 21 opens to allow hydraulic medium to flow into hydraulic tank 4; see ¶[0069]-[0070])
wherein a pressure drop in the hydraulic medium occurs after the return valve is opened (the pressure of the hydraulic medium drops when backflow valve 21 has opened; see ¶[0074]-[0075] and [0096]-[0097]) and is used as a signal for deactivating the motor; and deactivating the motor after the signal is indicated (the characteristic change tied to the pressure drop is utilized as a signal to initiate the termination of the certain working operation, which can be performed by stopping electric motor 11; see ¶[0064]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 2, Frenken ‘037 discloses a motor-actuated tool (see Abstract and FIG. 1: handheld device 1) comprising: a reservoir having a supply of hydraulic medium therein; (tank 4 with a supply of hydraulic medium; see ¶[0038])
a piston/cylinder arrangement to which the hydraulic medium is supplied from the reservoir, the hydraulic medium configured to apply an applied force to the piston; (hydraulic piston 7 to which hydraulic medium is supplied from tank 4, the hydraulic medium applying an applied force to piston 7; see ¶[0038])
a motor configured to carry out a working process during which the hydraulic medium is supplied from the reservoir to the piston; (motor 11 driving the hydraulic pump that pumps hydraulic medium from tank 4 to piston 7; see ¶[0038] and [0041])
a return valve configured to be opened to allow the hydraulic medium to flow into the reservoir; (backflow valve 21 which opens to allow hydraulic medium to flow back into hydraulic tank 4; see ¶[0069])
a monitoring device configured to monitor an increase in pressure of the hydraulic medium (data processing device 14 continuously tracks pressure in the hydraulic medium rising from the certain working force to the general working force via sensors 16; see ¶[0001]-[0002] and [0041]-[0043]) and configured to generate a signal when a characteristic change is monitored, the signal indicating that an increase of the applied force to a certain working force has been reached; (the sensor data is utilized to determine an attainment of the certain working force has been reached to utilize as a signal for terminating the certain working operation; see ¶[0048]-[0050])
and a control device in communication with the monitoring device, (control device 19 is in communication with data processing device 14; see ¶[0041])
wherein the tool allows for an increase of the applied force to a general working force that exceeds the certain working force, (the tool allows for a rise in applied force to a certain working force to reach a general working force exceeding the certain working force; see ¶[0008]-[0010] and [0012])
and wherein the control device is configured, upon the termination of the working process, to cause a deactivation of the motor and to open the return valve, (control device carries out termination of a working operation—see ¶[0041]—through stopping motor 11—see ¶[0064]-[0065]—and opening backflow valve 21—see ¶[0070])
wherein the return valve is initially opened and the motor is deactivated as a result of a pressure drop in the hydraulic medium which occurs as a result of opening the return valve (the backflow valve 21 is initially opened, resulting in a pressure drop in the hydraulic medium—see ¶[0075]—and causing the termination of the certain working operation, which can be performed by stopping electric motor 11; see ¶[0064]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Frenken ‘037 discloses a method comprising: providing motor-actuated tool (FIG. 1: handheld device 1) with a hydraulic piston/cylinder arrangement (FIG. 1: hydraulic piston 4) in which a hydraulic medium (hydraulic medium in tank 4; ¶[0038]) is located,
wherein a working process is carried out and a certain working process requires an increase of an applied force to a certain working force, (a certain working operation requires a rise in applied force to a certain working force; see ¶[0001]-[0002])
wherein the hydraulic medium is used for applying the force (the hydraulic medium is utilized for applying a working force ; see ¶[0010]) and the working process no longer requires any higher force after the certain working force has been reached, (the working operation does not require any higher force after attaining the certain working force; see ¶[0012]-[0013])
wherein the tool allows an increase of the force to a general working force that exceeds the certain working force, (a general working force exceeding the certain working force is reached via supplying the hydraulic piston with hydraulic medium; see ¶[0010] and [0012])
wherein reaching the certain working force results in a characteristic change of the pressure increase in the hydraulic medium, (attaining the certain working force results in a characteristic change of the pressure rise in the hydraulic medium; see ¶[0010]-[0012])
wherein a device for monitoring the pressure increase is provided (sensor 16 for detecting the pressure increase in the hydraulic medium over time; see ¶[0001]-[0002] and [0042]-[0043]) and wherein reaching the characteristic change is used as a signal for terminating the certain working process after reaching the certain working force, but before reaching the general working force, (attainment of the characteristic change is utilized as a signal for terminating the certain working operation—see ¶[0006] and [0012]—after reaching the certain working force, but before reaching the general working force—see Abstract and ¶[0008], and [0010]-[0011])
and wherein the termination of the certain working process involves a deactivation of the motor used for the pressure increase in the hydraulic medium (the characteristic change tied to the pressure drop is utilized as a signal to initiate the termination of the certain working operation, which can be performed by stopping electric motor 11; see ¶[0064]-[0065]) and opening of a return valve in order to allow the hydraulic medium to once again flow into a reservoir of the tool for another working process; (termination of the certain working operation—see ¶[0006] and [0012] involves opening backflow valve 21 to allow hydraulic medium to flow into hydraulic tank 4; see ¶[0069]-[0070])
and initially opening the return valve upon reaching the characteristic change (attainment of the characteristic change is utilized as a signal for terminating the certain working operation—see ¶[0006] and [0012]—which results in opening the return valve ; see ¶[0069]-[0070]), thereby causing a pressure drop in the hydraulic medium, (the pressure of the hydraulic medium drops when backflow valve 21 has opened; see ¶[0074]-[0075] and [0096]-[0097])
wherein the pressure drop is used as a signal for deactivating the motor (the characteristic change tied to the pressure drop is utilized as a signal to initiate the termination of the certain working operation, which can be performed by stopping electric motor 11; see ¶[0064]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 4, Frenken ‘037 discloses a motor-actuated tool (see Abstract and FIG. 1: handheld device 1) [with] comprising:
a motor for carrying out a working process; (motor 11 driving the hydraulic pump that pumps hydraulic medium from tank 4 to piston 7; see ¶[0038] and [0041])
a piston/cylinder arrangement in which a hydraulic medium is located; (hydraulic piston 7 in which a hydraulic medium is located; see ¶[0038])
a return valve; (backflow valve 21; see ¶[0069])
a reservoir; (tank 4; see ¶[0038])
wherein a certain working process requires an increase of an applied force to a certain working force (a certain working operation requires a rise in applied force to a certain working force; see ¶[0001]-[0002]) and the certain working process no longer requires any higher force after the certain working force has been reached, (the working operation does not require any higher force after attaining the certain working force; see ¶[0012]-[0013])
wherein the hydraulic medium is used for applying the force, (the hydraulic medium is utilized for applying a working force ; see ¶[0010])
wherein the tool allows an increase of the force to a general working force that exceeds the certain working force, (a general working force exceeding the certain working force is reached via supplying the hydraulic piston with hydraulic medium; see ¶[0010] and [0012])
wherein reaching the certain working force results in a characteristic change of the pressure increase in the hydraulic medium; (attaining the certain working force results in a characteristic change of the pressure rise in the hydraulic medium; see ¶[0010]-[0012])
a device configured to monitor the pressure increase; (data processing device 14 with sensor 16 for detecting the pressure increase in the hydraulic medium over time; see ¶[0001]-[0002] and [0042]-[0043])
and a control device which is configured to use reaching of the characteristic change as a signal for terminating the certain working process after reaching the certain working force, but before reaching the general working force, (control device 19 in communication with data processing device 14—see ¶[0041]-[0043]—utilizes attainment of the characteristic change as a signal for terminating the certain working operation—see ¶[0006] and [0012]—after reaching the certain working force, but before reaching the general working force—see Abstract and ¶[0008], and [0010]-[0011])
and wherein the control device is configured to cause, upon the termination of the certain working process, a deactivation of the motor used for the pressure increase in the hydraulic medium and opening of the return valve in order to allow the hydraulic medium to once again flow into the reservoir of the tool for another working process, (control device carries out termination of a working operation—see ¶[0041]—through stopping motor 11—see ¶[0064]-[0065]—and opening backflow valve 21 allowing the hydraulic medium to flow into tank 4—see ¶[0070];
Note: “for another working process” is an intended use. The hydraulic medium flowing into the reservoir would allow another working process which requires another increase of an applied force to occur, meeting the limitations of the claim.)
wherein upon reaching the characteristic change, the return valve is initially opened and the motor is deactivated due to a pressure drop in the hydraulic medium, (the characteristic change tied to the pressure drop is utilized as a signal to initiate the termination of the certain working operation, which can be performed by stopping electric motor 11; see ¶[0064]-[0065]) which occurs as a result of opening the return valve (the backflow valve 21 is initially opened, resulting in a pressure drop in the hydraulic medium; see ¶[0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenken ‘037 (US 20190030698 A1; filed 01/06/207 and published 1/31/2019), in view of Barezzani (US 20170087709 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘037 further discloses that the tool has working jaws, which are configured to pivot relative to one another (two moveable jaws can also be pivoted against one another; see ¶[0040]) and are held in a mounting part of the tool, (FIGS. 3-4: jaws 9 and 10 are held in a part of the tool mounted to the handle),
and in order to carry out the working process, in that the working jaws are configured to move between an open position and a closed position (see FIGS. 3-4 and ¶[0011]).
Frenken ‘037 does not disclose that the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve.
However, Barezzani (US 20170087709 A1) in the same or similar field of endeavor related to motor-actuated tools with hydraulic piston arrangements, teaches a tool with working jaws configured to move between an open position and a closed position (see Barezzani ¶[0012]) and
the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, (the control system 9 monitors a closed position of jaws 13 and 14 relative to one another, and thus relative to the portion of the tool the jaws are mounted on; see also FIG. 7 and ¶[0021] and [0049])
and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve (the detection of the closed position results in a signal by sensor 22, 23, 24 which automatically switches off electric motor 6; see ¶[0048] and [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Frenken ‘037 so that the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve, as taught by Barezzani.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “[save] electric energy and [reduce] the peak stress of the mechanical components of the tool” and thus “[protect] the mechanical components of the tool from damage due to excessive stress” (Barezzani ¶[0009] and [0019]).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘037 further discloses that the tool has working jaws, which are configured to pivot relative to one another (two moveable jaws can also be pivoted against one another; see ¶[0040]) and are held in a mounting part of the tool, (FIGS. 3-4: jaws 9 and 10 are held in a part of the tool mounted to the handle),
and in order to carry out the working process, in that the working jaws are configured to move between an open position and a closed position (see FIGS. 3-4 and ¶[0011]).
Frenken ‘037 does not disclose that the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve.
However, Barezzani (US 20170087709 A1) in the same or similar field of endeavor related to motor-actuated tools with hydraulic piston arrangements, teaches a tool with working jaws configured to move between an open position and a closed position (see Barezzani ¶[0012]) and
the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, (the control system 9 monitors a closed position of jaws 13 and 14 relative to one another, and thus relative to the portion of the tool the jaws are mounted on; see also FIG. 7 and ¶[0021] and [0049])
and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve (the detection of the closed position results in a signal by sensor 22, 23, 24 which automatically switches off electric motor 6; see ¶[0048] and [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Frenken ‘037 so that the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve, as taught by Barezzani.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “[save] electric energy and [reduce] the peak stress of the mechanical components of the tool” and thus “[protect] the mechanical components of the tool from damage due to excessive stress” (Barezzani ¶[0009] and [0019]).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘037 further discloses that the tool has working jaws, which are configured to pivot relative to one another (two moveable jaws can also be pivoted against one another; see ¶[0040]) and are held in a mounting part of the tool, (FIGS. 3-4: jaws 9 and 10 are held in a part of the tool mounted to the handle),
and in order to carry out the working process, in that the working jaws are configured to move between an open position and a closed position (see FIGS. 3-4 and ¶[0011]).
Frenken ‘037 does not disclose that the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve.
However, Barezzani (US 20170087709 A1) in the same or similar field of endeavor related to motor-actuated tools with hydraulic piston arrangements, teaches a tool with working jaws configured to move between an open position and a closed position (see Barezzani ¶[0012]) and
the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, (the control system 9 monitors a closed position of jaws 13 and 14 relative to one another, and thus relative to the portion of the tool the jaws are mounted on; see also FIG. 7 and ¶[0021] and [0049])
and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve (the detection of the closed position results in a signal by sensor 22, 23, 24 which automatically switches off electric motor 6; see ¶[0048] and [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Frenken ‘037 so that the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve, as taught by Barezzani.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “[save] electric energy and [reduce] the peak stress of the mechanical components of the tool” and thus “[protect] the mechanical components of the tool from damage due to excessive stress” (Barezzani ¶[0009] and [0019]).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘037 further discloses that the tool has working jaws, which are configured to pivot relative to one another (two moveable jaws can also be pivoted against one another; see ¶[0040]) and are held in a mounting part of the tool, (FIGS. 3-4: jaws 9 and 10 are held in a part of the tool mounted to the handle),
and in order to carry out the working process, in that the working jaws are configured to move between an open position and a closed position (see FIGS. 3-4 and ¶[0011]).
Frenken ‘037 does not disclose that the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve.
However, Barezzani (US 20170087709 A1) in the same or similar field of endeavor related to motor-actuated tools with hydraulic piston arrangements, teaches a tool with working jaws configured to move between an open position and a closed position (see Barezzani ¶[0012]) and
the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, (the control system 9 monitors a closed position of jaws 13 and 14 relative to one another, and thus relative to the portion of the tool the jaws are mounted on; see also FIG. 7 and ¶[0021] and [0049])
and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve (the detection of the closed position results in a signal by sensor 22, 23, 24 which automatically switches off electric motor 6; see ¶[0048] and [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Frenken ‘037 so that the closed position is detected due to a position of the working jaws relative to the mounting part, and in that the detection of the closed position of the working jaws is used as a signal for deactivating the motor and/or for opening the return valve, as taught by Barezzani.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “[save] electric energy and [reduce] the peak stress of the mechanical components of the tool” and thus “[protect] the mechanical components of the tool from damage due to excessive stress” (Barezzani ¶[0009] and [0019]).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenken ‘037 (US 20190030698 A1; filed 01/06/207 and published 1/31/2019), in view of Barezzani (US 20170087709 A1), further in view of Frenken ‘674 (US20200147772A1; filed 06/08/2017 and published 05/14/2020).
Regarding claim 16 (as best understood), the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘037, as modified, does not teach a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor.
However, Frenken ‘674, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to motor-actuated tools with hydraulic piston arrangements, teaches a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, (second line section 23 located upstream of return valve in a flow of the hydraulic medium into the reservoir 3 after the return valve opens; see ¶[0079] and [0086]) is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, (FIG. 3: blocking means 19 blocks the second line section 23 to open the return valve 8; see also ¶[0082])
and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve (the pressure increase leads to opening of the return valve; see ¶[0021]-[0023]), is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor (the pressure in the second line section increases when the block is in place—see ¶[0031]-[0033]—with the continuing operation of the motor, which drives the hydraulic pump—see ¶[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Frenken ‘037, as modified, to further comprise a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor, as taught by Frenken ‘674.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “respectively adapt the pressure to the processing of workpieces to be carried out by means of the device while maintaining an automatic return movement of the moving part into the end position after the potentially adjusted working pressure is reached” and to “[allow] a faster reset of the device into an operational readiness position” (Frenken ‘674 ¶[0018] and [0030]).
Regarding claim 18 (as best understood), the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘037, as modified, does not teach a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor.
However, Frenken ‘674, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to motor-actuated tools with hydraulic piston arrangements, teaches a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, (second line section 23 located upstream of return valve in a flow of the hydraulic medium into the reservoir 3 after the return valve opens; see ¶[0079] and [0086]) is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, (FIG. 3: blocking means 19 blocks the second line section 23 to open the return valve 8; see also ¶[0082])
and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve (the pressure increase leads to opening of the return valve; see ¶[0021]-[0023]), is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor (the pressure in the second line section increases when the block is in place—see ¶[0031]-[0033]—with the continuing operation of the motor, which drives the hydraulic pump—see ¶[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Frenken ‘037, as modified, to further comprise a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor, as taught by Frenken ‘674.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “respectively adapt the pressure to the processing of workpieces to be carried out by means of the device while maintaining an automatic return movement of the moving part into the end position after the potentially adjusted working pressure is reached” and to “[allow] a faster reset of the device into an operational readiness position” (Frenken ‘674 ¶[0018] and [0030]).
Claims 7-12, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenken ‘037 (US 20190030698 A1; filed 01/06/207 and published 1/31/2019), in view of Frenken ‘674 (US20200147772A1; filed 06/08/2017 and published 05/14/2020).
Regarding claim 7 (as best understood), the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘037 does not teach a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor.
However, Frenken ‘674, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to motor-actuated tools with hydraulic piston arrangements, teaches a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, (second line section 23 located upstream of return valve in a flow of the hydraulic medium into the reservoir 3 after the return valve opens; see ¶[0079] and [0086]) is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, (FIG. 3: blocking means 19 blocks the second line section 23 to open the return valve 8; see also ¶[0082])
and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve (the pressure increase leads to opening of the return valve; see ¶[0021]-[0023]), is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor (the pressure in the second line section increases when the block is in place—see ¶[0031]-[0033]—with the continuing operation of the motor, which drives the hydraulic pump—see ¶[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Frenken ‘037, as modified, to further comprise a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor, as taught by Frenken ‘674.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “respectively adapt the pressure to the processing of workpieces to be carried out by means of the device while maintaining an automatic return movement of the moving part into the end position after the potentially adjusted working pressure is reached” and to “[allow] a faster reset of the device into an operational readiness position” (Frenken ‘674 ¶[0018] and [0030]).
Regarding claim 8 (as best understood), the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘037 does not teach a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor.
However, Frenken ‘674, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to motor-actuated tools with hydraulic piston arrangements, teaches a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, (second line section 23 located upstream of return valve in a flow of the hydraulic medium into the reservoir 3 after the return valve opens; see ¶[0079] and [0086]) is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, (FIG. 3: blocking means 19 blocks the second line section 23 to open the return valve 8; see also ¶[0082])
and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve (the pressure increase leads to opening of the return valve; see ¶[0021]-[0023]), is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor (the pressure in the second line section increases when the block is in place—see ¶[0031]-[0033]—with the continuing operation of the motor, which drives the hydraulic pump—see ¶[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Frenken ‘037, as modified, to further comprise a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor, as taught by Frenken ‘674.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “respectively adapt the pressure to the processing of workpieces to be carried out by means of the device while maintaining an automatic return movement of the moving part into the end position after the potentially adjusted working pressure is reached” and to “[allow] a faster reset of the device into an operational readiness position” (Frenken ‘674 ¶[0018] and [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘674, as used to modify Frenk ‘037 in the discussion of claim 7 above, teaches that the block is prestressed into an open position (blocking piston 20 of blocking means 19 is prestressed into an open position by return spring 24; see Frenken ‘674 ¶[0085]).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘674, as used to modify Frenk ‘037 in the discussion of claim 8 above, teaches that the block is prestressed into an open position (blocking piston 20 of blocking means 19 is prestressed into an open position by return spring 24; see Frenken ‘674 ¶[0085]).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘674, as used to modify Frenk ‘037 in the discussion of claim 7 above, teaches that the block is actuated by a magnet (operating magnet 21 actuates the blocking piston 20 of blocking means 19; see Frenken ‘674 ¶[0090]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘674, as used to modify Frenk ‘037 in the discussion of claim 8 above, teaches that the block is actuated by a magnet (operating magnet 21 actuates the blocking piston 20 of blocking means 19; see Frenken ‘674 ¶[0090]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 15 (as best understood), the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘037 does not teach a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor.
However, Frenken ‘674, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to motor-actuated tools with hydraulic piston arrangements, teaches a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, (second line section 23 located upstream of return valve in a flow of the hydraulic medium into the reservoir 3 after the return valve opens; see ¶[0079] and [0086]) is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, (FIG. 3: blocking means 19 blocks the second line section 23 to open the return valve 8; see also ¶[0082])
and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve (the pressure increase leads to opening of the return valve; see ¶[0021]-[0023]), is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor (the pressure in the second line section increases when the block is in place—see ¶[0031]-[0033]—with the continuing operation of the motor, which drives the hydraulic pump—see ¶[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Frenken ‘037, as modified, to further comprise a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor, as taught by Frenken ‘674.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “respectively adapt the pressure to the processing of workpieces to be carried out by means of the device while maintaining an automatic return movement of the moving part into the end position after the potentially adjusted working pressure is reached” and to “[allow] a faster reset of the device into an operational readiness position” (Frenken ‘674 ¶[0018] and [0030]).
Regarding claim 17 (as best understood), the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘037 does not teach a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor.
However, Frenken ‘674, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to motor-actuated tools with hydraulic piston arrangements, teaches a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, (second line section 23 located upstream of return valve in a flow of the hydraulic medium into the reservoir 3 after the return valve opens; see ¶[0079] and [0086]) is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, (FIG. 3: blocking means 19 blocks the second line section 23 to open the return valve 8; see also ¶[0082])
and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve (the pressure increase leads to opening of the return valve; see ¶[0021]-[0023]), is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor (the pressure in the second line section increases when the block is in place—see ¶[0031]-[0033]—with the continuing operation of the motor, which drives the hydraulic pump—see ¶[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Frenken ‘037, as modified, to further comprise a second line section which with respect to a flow direction of the returning hydraulic medium is located upstream of the return valve, is blocked by a block in order to open the return valve, and in that a pressure increase, which leads to opening of the return valve, is generated in the blocked line section due to the continuing operation of the motor, as taught by Frenken ‘674.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “respectively adapt the pressure to the processing of workpieces to be carried out by means of the device while maintaining an automatic return movement of the moving part into the end position after the potentially adjusted working pressure is reached” and to “[allow] a faster reset of the device into an operational readiness position” (Frenken ‘674 ¶[0018] and [0030]).
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘674, as used to modify Frenk ‘037 in the discussion of claim 7 above, teaches that the block is actuated by a magnet (operating magnet 21 actuates the blocking piston 20 of blocking means 19; see Frenken ‘674 ¶[0090]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated in this rejection. Frenken ‘674, as used to modify Frenk ‘037 in the discussion of claim 8 above, teaches that the block is actuated by a magnet (operating magnet 21 actuates the blocking piston 20 of blocking means 19; see Frenken ‘674 ¶[0090]-[0091]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
White (US20200106230A1) discloses a motor-actuated tool with a hydraulic piston arrangement that deactivates the motor when a condition is met.
Kamijo (US 20200254600 A1) discloses an electric tool with a hydraulic piston and two valves to regulate the pressure.
/C.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723