DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 13-19), Species I (Figs. 1-7) in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“stop means” in claim 16;
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a transmission member” in claim 16;
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
After reviewing the specification, the transmission member appears to be drawn to a stud, or known equivalents (per paragraph [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FOR1 (FR3070633A1 – provided by Applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 13, FOR1 teaches a cassette for a device for controlling circulation of an air flow of a vehicle (see Title, Abstract), the cassette comprising:
a frame (see Fig. 1) and a plurality of movable shutters arranged on said frame (4, Fig. 1, see Abstract), at least two adjacent shutters being attached to each other and arranged one after the other along a first axis (see Fig. 1),
each of said two shutters comprising a body having, along the first axis, a first end portion and a second end portion opposite each other (see Fig. 2, the shutters 4 have a body on an axis with two end portions) and comprising respectively a first coupling member and a second coupling member that are at least partially complementary in shape (2, see Description, see Figs. 1, 4, and 5) ,
said end portions being configured so that the bodies of the two adjacent shutters are connected to each other integrally and reversibly at least by coupling the first coupling member of one of the two adjacent shutters to the second coupling member of the other of said shutters in a coupling zone such that a movement exerted on either one of said two shutters is transmitted to the other of said shutters (see Description, “The actuator 2 also controls the rotation of so-called secondary shutter flaps 8. The actuator 2 drives the control shutter 4 and secondary shutter 8 according to the same rotary movement defined around an axis of rotation represented by the axis A”).
Regarding claim 14, FOR1 teaches the cassette as claimed in claim 13, wherein the movement is a rotation about the first axis (see Description).
Regarding claim 15, FOR1 teaches the cassette as claimed in claim 13, wherein the first coupling member and the second coupling member of at least one of the two adjacent shutters are centered on the first axis (see Fig. 1, see Description).
Regarding claim 17, FOR1 teaches the cassette as claimed in claim 13, wherein the frame further comprises at least one arm configured to cooperate with the first coupling member and/or with the second coupling member within the coupling zone connecting the two adjacent shutters (28, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, FOR1 teaches the cassette as claimed in claim 17, wherein at least one of the first coupling member and/or the second coupling member within the coupling zone comprises a flange configured to butt against the at least one arm in at least one or the other of the directions defined by the first axis (see the flange on 28 in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19, FOR1 teaches the cassette as claimed in claim 13, wherein the first end portion of each of the two adjacent shutters further comprises at least one first member for transmitting a movement and the second end portion of each of the two adjacent shutters further comprises at least one second member for transmitting a movement (18, Fig. 6, see Description), at least the first transmission member of one of the two adjacent shutters being configured to cooperate with the second transmission member of the other of said two shutters in the coupling zone (see Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1, alone.
Regarding claim 16, FOR1 teaches the cassette as claimed in claim 13,
comprising at least one stop means and the other of the first coupling member and the second coupling member has a hollow cylindrical shape configured to receive either the first coupling member or the second coupling member (38, Fig, 6, see Description),
an inner surface of said hollow cylindrical shape comprising a stop element, complementary to the stop means, configured to connect the two adjacent shutters together integrally such that the movement exerted on either one of said two shutters is transmitted to the other of said shutters (see Description, “The connecting element 24 can also include one or more several stops or ribs projecting from the internal surface 22 coming within one or more grooves arranged within the drive member 26”).
but does not teach, within the two adjacent shutters, either the first coupling member or the second coupling member has a cylindrical shape.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 with coupling members which have a cylindrical shape, as it has been held that a change of shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763