DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “The inhaler of claim 3 wherein said anemometer includes a fan blade…”, claim 4 should read “The inhaler of claim 3 wherein said anemometer includes the fan blade…”, for proper antecedent basis, as the fan blade was already introduced in Claim 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the event". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as an event of inhalation of medication.
Claim 10 recites the limitation of “the inspirator”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the inhalation”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Krasnow (US20190388632).
Regarding Claim 1, Krasnow discloses an inhaler (Fig. 1, Abstract) comprising: an anemometer (par. 0032, The flow sensor 102 may be an anemometer “”) located in a housing (Fig. 1, housing of inhaler device 100); said housing having a first passageway therein and a second passageway therein (Abstract, “The airflow sensor can be disposed within a primary flow channel through which medication travels or a secondary flow channel through which only air travels”; Fig. 2, flow channel 104, par. 0031, “Here, the flow sensor 102 is disposed within the flow channel 104 through which an individual inhales medication. However, in other embodiments the flow sensor 102 is disposed within a separate flow channel through which only air flows.”); said first passageway in communication with a medicine container (par. 0033, “a structural body 106 that includes a recess for holding a container of medication (also referred to as a “medicament”) to be inhaled by an individual (also referred to as the “subject” of a medication regimen)”) and configured to deliver medicine to a user during an inhalation (par. 0031, “the flow channel 104 through which an individual inhales medication… a main flow channel through which the individual inhales medication”); and said second passageway in communication with said anemometer and configured to permit air to flow pass said anemometer during an inhalation (par. 0031, “a flow sensor 102 disposed within a secondary flow channel determines that the individual is likely to inhale the medication with sufficient force. In such embodiments, the flow sensor 102 may monitor airflow through the secondary flow channel”; par. 0032, “The flow sensor 102 may be an anemometer that is configured to measure the speed of wind (i.e., breath) traveling through the flow channel 104”).
Regarding Claim 2, Krasnow discloses the inhaler of claim 1 wherein said first and second passageways are isolated from one another (par. 0031 discloses only medication flows in the first passageway, and only air flows in the second passageway, therefore, the first and second passageways are isolated, “However, in other embodiments the flow sensor 102 is disposed within a separate flow channel through which only air flows”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krasnow, in view of Wickstrom (US20020123669).
Regarding Claim 3, Krasnow discloses the inhaler of claim 2, comprising of an anemometer (par. 0032), but is silent on wherein said anemometer includes a fan blade.
The sole difference between Krasnow and the claimed subject matter is that Krasnow does not disclose the anemometer includes a fan blade for measuring airflow. The anemometer of Krasnow is a hot wire anemometer (par. 0032, “For example, the flow sensor 102 could be a hot wire anemometer (also referred to as a “thermistor”) that is able to detect airflow through the flow channel 104.”).
Wickstrom teaches an inhaler (par. 0024, “An inhaler is provided to the individual for inhaling the chemical dosage. The inhaler comprises a sensor for monitoring the inhalation of the individual”), comprising of a flow sensor (par. 0002, “Flowmeters are instruments for measuring the speeds of fluids”; par. 0024, “The inhaler comprises a sensor for monitoring the inhalation of the individual”), wherein the flow sensor can be an anemometer that includes a fan blade (par. 0012, “Anemometers measure fluid velocity, more specifically, air or gas velocity. Various types of anemometers can be utilized depending upon the velocity range and accuracy desired”; par. 0014, “The propeller anemometer is suitable for measuring air flow speeds… The rotation speed of the propeller is proportional to the wind speed and can be measured…”).
Wickstrom shows that the use of an anemometer that includes a fan blade in an inhaler for measuring airflow was known in the prior art at the time of the invention.
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the fan blade anemometer of Wickstrom for the anemometer of Krasnow.
Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable
result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 4, the modified Krasnow discloses the inhaler of claim 3 wherein said anemometer includes a fan blade (Wickstrom par. 0014) wherein a sensor (Wickstrom par. 0013-0014, “The shaft is operably connected to a counter device that monitors the number of revolutions of the shaft during a predetermined period, thus calculating the speed of the flowing gas… The rotation speed of the propeller is proportional to the wind speed and can be measured by methods similarly implemented with the cup anemometer”; the counter is a sensor that detects the rotational speed of the fan blade) and processor are used to measure the rotational speed of said fan blade (Krasnow, par. 0050, “The electronics compartment 602 can house a variety of components, including one or more processors 604… an analytics module 610 capable of examining voltage data associated with a flow sensor (e.g., thermistor 402 of FIG. 4) to detect variations in airflow speed and/or airflow temperature”) (Examiner Notes: Krasnow discloses a processor unit that examines anemometer data to detect airflow speed, Wickstrom teaches a sensor that detects the rotational speed of the fan blade; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the processor would examine the sensor data to measure the rotational speed of the fan blade after the modification).
Regarding Claim 9, Krasnow discloses the inhaler of claim 2, comprising of an anemometer (par. 0032) located in a chamber in said housing (par. 0034, Fig. 2, the anemometer is disposed in a chamber formed by the flow channel), but is silent on wherein said anemometer includes a fan blade, said fan blade located in a chamber in said housing.
The sole difference between Krasnow and the claimed subject matter is that Krasnow does not disclose the anemometer includes a fan blade for measuring airflow. The anemometer of Krasnow is a hot wire anemometer (par. 0032, “For example, the flow sensor 102 could be a hot wire anemometer (also referred to as a “thermistor”) that is able to detect airflow through the flow channel 104.”).
Wickstrom teaches an inhaler (par. 0024, “An inhaler is provided to the individual for inhaling the chemical dosage. The inhaler comprises a sensor for monitoring the inhalation of the individual”), comprising of a flow sensor (par. 0002, “Flowmeters are instruments for measuring the speeds of fluids”; par. 0024, “The inhaler comprises a sensor for monitoring the inhalation of the individual”), wherein the flow sensor can be an anemometer that includes a fan blade (par. 0012, “Anemometers measure fluid velocity, more specifically, air or gas velocity. Various types of anemometers can be utilized depending upon the velocity range and accuracy desired”; par. 0014, “The propeller anemometer is suitable for measuring air flow speeds… The rotation speed of the propeller is proportional to the wind speed and can be measured…”), the fan blade is located in a chamber of a housing (Fig. 2, the anemometer 18 is disposed in a chamber of a housing 12).
Wickstrom shows that the use of an anemometer that includes a fan blade in a chamber of a housing of an inhaler for measuring airflow was known in the prior art at the time of the invention.
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the fan blade anemometer of Wickstrom for the anemometer of Krasnow.
Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable
result renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krasnow, in view of Wickstrom, further in view of Deng (CN112833970, machine translation accessed 9/24/2026 relied upon herein).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Krasnow discloses the inhaler of claim 4, wherein the sensor is a counter that measures the rotational speed of the fan blade (Wickstrom, par. 0012-0014) but is silent on wherein said sensor is an infrared transponder and receiver.
However, Deng teaches a flow sensor (par. 0001, “This invention relates to the field of gas flow monitoring technology, and more particularly to a flow sensor and a flow monitor.”) for a respiratory device (par. 0062, “Specifically, the flow monitoring device can be a handheld pulmonary function instrument, a ventilator, an oxygen concentrator, etc.”), wherein the sensor includes a fan blade (Fig. 2, rotating member 40; par. 0032, “The gas flowing in from the first guide member 20 or the second guide member 30 drives the rotating member 40 to rotate. The rotating component 40 is made of a lightweight material so that even slight changes in airflow can cause the rotating component 40 to rotate at different speeds.”), the flow sensor further includes a sensor (Fig. 3, par. 0059, “the rotation speed measuring device includes an infrared emitting unit 51 and an infrared receiving unit 52”) for measuring the rotational speed of the fan blade (par. 0060, “By measuring the time interval between the infrared rays received by infrared receiving unit 52, the rotational speed of rotating component 40 can be obtained, and the airflow rate can be calculated”). Deng further teaches wherein said sensor is an infrared transponder and receiver (par. 0060, “the rotation speed measuring device includes an infrared emitting unit 51 and an infrared receiving unit 52”; unit 51 and 52 sends out and receives infrared signal and therefore are a transponder and receiver). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to further modify the known inhaler of Krasnow, with the sensor of Deng, and use infrared transponder and receiver to measure the rotational speed of the fan blade to calculate airflow, as this measurement mechanism does not require a complex structure, minimum space usage, and is convenient as taught by Deng (Deng, par. 0061).
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Krasnow discloses the inhaler of claim 5 wherein said anemometer is used to measure the inspirator of a user (Krasnow, par. 0034, “When an individual draws air (and, in some instances, medication) through the flow channel 104 by inhaling, the air flowing through the flow channel 104 passes over and around the flow sensor 102”; the anemometer senses air flow caused by inhalation and therefore it measures the inspiration).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Krasnow discloses the inhaler of claim 5, wherein said anemometer is used to measure the breathing capacity of a user (Krasnow, par. 0071, “In such embodiments, the secondary flow channel can include a thermistor that detects variations in airflow. Total lung capacity can be estimated based on these variations in airflow.”, par. 0075-0076 discloses using the anemometer to measure lung capacity; both lung capacity and breathing capacity describe the volume of air the lung is able of holding and are equivalent).
Claim(s) 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krasnow, in view of Wickstrom, in view of Deng, further in view of McLaughlin (US20220218925).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified Krasnow discloses the inhaler of claim 5 wherein said the inhaler is able to measure the amount of medication being delivered (Krasnow, par. 0061, “the inhaler device 702 is responsible for generating data associated with… voltage measurements corresponding to a thermistor disposed within a flow channel of the inhaler device 702, flow profile(s) indicating breath temperature/speed/duration, dosing measurements… to track the number of doses remaining, determine the appropriate dosing amounts, detect environmental characteristics (e.g., smog level, pollution level, allergen levels), etc.”), but does not specifically disclose the anemometer is used to measure the amount of medication being delivered.
However, McLaughlin teaches an inhaler (Abstract), and a known technique of using an anemometer (par. 0093, “An airflow sensor can measure airflow using a rotating vane anemometer”) to measure the amount of medication being delivered (par. 0087, “the airflow sensor measures the user's airflow and compares it to pre-determined threshold values… provides feedback if P1=100% of the pre-determined dose. As required, P2 is determined and feedback given to the user of a requirement for a subsequent dose P2”; the measured airflow is used to determine if the mount of the dose is fully delivered). This known technique is applicable to the system of Reference A as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using an anemometer to measure airflow.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of McLaughlin would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of McLaughlin to the teachings of Krasnow would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate using the anemometer for dosage measurement into similar systems. Further, such modification would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow dosage measurement and provide feedback when the dosage is fully delivered (McLaughlin, par. 0087).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Krasnow discloses the inhaler of claim 6 wherein the inhaler is configured to measure the airflow before and after an event (par. 0021, “an inhaler device can include a robust airflow sensor and a flow control valve that allows the inhaler device to provide feedback regarding inhalation effort before, during, or after the administration of medication”), but does not specifically disclose said inhaler is configured to measure the air flow starting one second before the event and up to 10 seconds after the event.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the time of measurement to start at one second before and end at 10 seconds after the event as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see par. 0063 of applicant’s specification) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, before, during, or after the administration of medication is considered as overlaps with one second before the event and up to 10 seconds after the event.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krasnow, in view of Wickstrom, in view of Deng, in view of McLaughlin, further in view of Gumaste et al. (US20130255678), hereafter Gumaste.
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Krasnow discloses the inhaler of claim 6 wherein said inhaler is configured to measure spirometry (Krasnow, par. 0042, “when the inhaler device is functioning as a spirometer, which again avoids the addition of component(s) that would conventionally be necessary to measure airflow.”), peak inspiratory flow rate (par. 0069, “Some embodiments of inhaler devices also include the ability to measure, record, and transmit respiratory data (e.g., respiratory rate and total lung capacity”; respiratory rate inherently includes a peak inspiratory flow rate).
The modified Krasnow is silent on the inhaler is configured to measure breath NOx (exhaled nitrogen oxide) levels.
However, Gumaste teaches an inhaler (Abstract), wherein the inhaler is configured to measure breath NOx (exhaled nitrogen oxide) levels (par. 0038, “Any sensor or combination of sensors that can be used to measure or identify the difference in properties between an inhalation and exhalation maneuver… carbon dioxide or nitric oxide or other gas sensors that measure the gas component level difference between inhaled and exhaled breath”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to further modify the known inhaler of Krasnow, with the inhaler of Gumaste, and measure the NO levels, to measure the properties between inhalation and exhalation to synchronize the operation of the inhaler as taught by Gumaste (Gumaste, par. 0038).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20210205550 discloses an inhaler that measures airflow at specific timeframes that include before and after an inhalation event.
/KRIS HANYU GONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785