Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2026 was considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 10-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffert et al. (US 2015/0113407) in view of Stathacopoulos et al. (US 2015/0281764), herein Stathacopoulos.
Consider claim 1, Hoffert clearly teaches a video processing method, comprising:
in response to a preset pinching operation on a video playing page, switching from the video playing page to a video list page, (Figs. 5M, 5N: In response to a pinch gesture the interface switches from the media player interface to the media item directory interface, [0075].) wherein the video playing page corresponds to at least one video classification tab (Figs. 5A, 5B, 5C: Media item C is classified into one of a plurality of sequences of media items, [0070], [0071], [0093].) and
each video classification tab has a corresponding video stream, (Fig. 5A: Each sequence 504, 506, 508 includes a plurality of media items, [0070], [0082].)
wherein one or more first videos in a first video stream are shown in a form of a single column on the video playing page, and the first video stream corresponds to a first video classification tab of the at least one video classification tab; (Fig. 5E: The user can swipe up or down to switch between media items in a particular sequence, [0072], [0073], [0093].)
in response to switching to the video list page:
displaying a plurality of covers of second videos in a second video stream in a form of two columns on the video list page, wherein the second video stream is different from a video stream corresponding to the at least one video classification tab; (Fig. 5N: In response to the pinching gesture multiple sequences of media items are displayed in the media item directory interface, [0075], [0093].)
and wherein the second video stream comprises videos determined according to a preset recommendation strategy based on at least one of a feature of a video on the video playing page, a feature of a current user, or a video clout dimension. (The plurality of sequences of media items include a sequence of thematically related media items in an order determined in accordance with a user preference profile, e.g., a set of movies that are recommended for the user based on past viewing habits or ratings of other movies and/or television shows, [0082], [0083].)
However, Hoffert does not explicitly teach automatically playing video previews of the second videos on the video list page in a sequential order.
In an analogous art, Stathacopoulos, which discloses a system for content distribution, clearly teaches automatically playing video previews of the second videos on the video list page in a sequential order. (Fig. 2: Clips from the recommended media assets 206-212 are automatically played in sequence, [0032], [0065].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Hoffert by automatically playing video previews of the second videos on the video list page in a sequential order, as taught by Stathacopoulos, for the benefit of displaying previews of the video items to assist the user in making a selection.
Consider claim 2, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches in response to a preset triggering operation on the video list page, switching from the video list page to the video playing page. (Figs. 5B, 5C: In response to tapping gesture 512 in the media item directory interface the selected content item is displayed in the media player interface, [0071] Hoffert.)
Consider claim 3, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches in response to a preset sliding operation on the video list page, showing, by sliding, the plurality of second videos shown in the form of two columns on the video list page. (Figs. 5A, 5N, 5O: In response to gestures 510, 524 media items displayed in the media item directory interface are moved, [0070], [0075] Hoffert.)
Consider claim 4, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches in response to a triggering operation for a third video of the second videos on the video list page, switching from the video list page to a second video stream playing page; and playing the third video on the second video stream playing page. (Figs. 5B, 5C, 6: In response to tapping gesture 512, 614 in the media item directory interface the selected content item is displayed in the media player interface, [0071], [0077] Hoffert.)
Consider claim 5, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches in response to a video switching operation on the second video stream playing page, determining a fourth switching video based on the second video stream; and playing the fourth switching video on the second video stream playing page. (Fig. 6: In response to a swipe 620 in the media player interface the device displays an adjacent media item, [0078] Hoffert.)
Consider claim 10, Hoffert clearly teaches a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when run on a terminal device, cause the terminal device to perform operations (Fig. 2, [0032]-[0050]) comprising:
in response to a preset pinching operation on a video playing page, switching from the video playing page to a video list page, (Figs. 5M, 5N: In response to a pinch gesture the interface switches from the media player interface to the media item directory interface, [0075].) wherein the video playing page corresponds to at least one video classification tab (Figs. 5A, 5B, 5C: Media item C is classified into one of a plurality of sequences of media items, [0070], [0071], [0093].) and
each video classification tab has a corresponding video stream, (Fig. 5A: Each sequence 504, 506, 508 includes a plurality of media items, [0070], [0082].)
wherein one or more first videos in a first video stream are shown in a form of a single column on the video playing page, and the first video stream corresponds to a first video classification tab of the at least one video classification tab; (Fig. 5E: The user can swipe up or down to switch between media items in a particular sequence, [0072], [0073], [0093].)
in response to switching to the video list page:
displaying a plurality of covers of second videos in a second video stream in a form of two columns on the video list page, wherein the second video stream is different from a video stream corresponding to the at least one video classification tab; (Fig. 5N: In response to the pinching gesture multiple sequences of media items are displayed in the media item directory interface, [0075], [0093].) and
and wherein the second video stream comprises videos determined according to a preset recommendation strategy based on at least one of a feature of a video on the video playing page, a feature of a current user, or a video clout dimension. (The plurality of sequences of media items include a sequence of thematically related media items in an order determined in accordance with a user preference profile, e.g., a set of movies that are recommended for the user based on past viewing habits or ratings of other movies and/or television shows, [0082], [0083].)
However, Hoffert does not explicitly teach automatically playing video previews of the second videos on the video list page in a sequential order.
In an analogous art, Stathacopoulos, which discloses a system for content distribution, clearly teaches automatically playing video previews of the second videos on the video list page in a sequential order. (Fig. 2: Clips from the recommended media assets 206-212 are automatically played in sequence, [0032], [0065].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Hoffert by automatically playing video previews of the second videos on the video list page in a sequential order, as taught by Stathacopoulos, for the benefit of displaying previews of the video items to assist the user in making a selection.
Consider claim 11, Hoffert clearly teaches a video processing device, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, implements a video processing method (Fig. 2, [0032]-[0050]) comprising:
in response to a preset pinching operation on a video playing page, switching from the video playing page to a video list page, (Figs. 5M, 5N: In response to a pinch gesture the interface switches from the media player interface to the media item directory interface, [0075].) wherein the video playing page corresponds to at least one video classification tab (Figs. 5A, 5B, 5C: Media item C is classified into one of a plurality of sequences of media items, [0070], [0071], [0093].) and
each video classification tab has a corresponding video stream; (Fig. 5A: Each sequence 504, 506, 508 includes a plurality of media items, [0070], [0082].)
wherein one or more first videos in a first video stream are shown in a form of a single column on the video playing page, and the first video stream corresponds to a first video classification tab of the at least one video classification tab; (Fig. 5E: The user can swipe up or down to switch between media items in a particular sequence, [0072], [0073], [0093].)
in response to switching to the video list page:
displaying a plurality of covers of second videos in a second video stream in a form of two columns on the video list page, wherein the second video stream is different from a video stream corresponding to the at least one video classification tab; (Fig. 5N: In response to the pinching gesture multiple sequences of media items are displayed in the media item directory interface, [0075], [0093].) and
and wherein the second video stream comprises videos determined according to a preset recommendation strategy based on at least one of a feature of a video on the video playing page, a feature of a current user, or a video clout dimension. (The plurality of sequences of media items include a sequence of thematically related media items in an order determined in accordance with a user preference profile, e.g., a set of movies that are recommended for the user based on past viewing habits or ratings of other movies and/or television shows, [0082], [0083].)
However, Hoffert does not explicitly teach automatically playing video previews of the second videos on the video list page in a sequential order.
In an analogous art, Stathacopoulos, which discloses a system for content distribution, clearly teaches automatically playing video previews of the second videos on the video list page in a sequential order. (Fig. 2: Clips from the recommended media assets 206-212 are automatically played in sequence, [0032], [0065].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Hoffert by automatically playing video previews of the second videos on the video list page in a sequential order, as taught by Stathacopoulos, for the benefit of displaying previews of the video items to assist the user in making a selection.
Consider claim 12, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: in response to a preset triggering operation on the video list page, switching from the video list page to the video playing page. (Figs. 5B, 5C: In response to tapping gesture 512 in the media item directory interface the selected content item is displayed in the media player interface, [0071] Hoffert.)
Consider claim 13, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: in response to a preset sliding operation on the video list page, showing, by sliding, the plurality of second videos shown in the form of two columns on the video list page. (Figs. 5A, 5N, 5O: In response to gestures 510, 524 media items displayed in the media item directory interface are moved, [0070], [0075] Hoffert.)
Consider claim 14, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation for a third video of the second videos on the video list page, switching from the video list page to a second video stream playing page; and playing the third video on the second video stream playing page. (Figs. 5B, 5C, 6: In response to tapping gesture 512, 614 in the media item directory interface the selected content item is displayed in the media player interface, [0071], [0077] Hoffert.)
Consider claim 15, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: in response to a video switching operation on the second video stream playing page, determining a fourth switching video based on the second video stream; and playing the fourth switching video on the second video stream playing page. (Fig. 6: In response to a swipe 620 in the media player interface the device displays an adjacent media item, [0078] Hoffert.)
Consider claim 19, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches in response to a preset sliding operation on the video list page, showing, by sliding, the plurality of second videos shown in the form of two columns on the video list page. (Figs. 5A, 5N, 5O: In response to gestures 510, 524 media items displayed in the media item directory interface are moved, [0070], [0075] Hoffert.)
Consider claim 20, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches in response to a preset triggering operation on the video list page, switching from the video list page to the video playing page. (Figs. 5B, 5C: In response to tapping gesture 512 in the media item directory interface the selected content item is displayed in the media player interface, [0071] Hoffert.)
Claims 6, 7, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffert et al. (US 2015/0113407) in view of Stathacopoulos et al. (US 2015/0281764) in view of Goryachev et al. (US 2018/0232460), herein Goryachev.
Consider claim 6, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches the video list page. (Fig. 5A)
However, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos does not explicitly teach in response to a triggering operation within a search box, switching from to a video searching page, wherein the video searching page is configured to search for a video according to a search keyword.
In an analogous art, Goryachev, which discloses a system for content distribution, clearly teaches in response to a triggering operation within a search box, switching from to a video searching page, wherein the video searching page is configured to search for a video according to a search keyword. (Fig. 4B: While viewing videos 420 a user may select a search query suggestion in query field 410 and be presented with search results, [0051], [0052], [0054], [0075].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos by in response to a triggering operation within a search box, switching from to a video searching page, wherein the video searching page is configured to search for a video according to a search keyword, as taught by Goryachev, for the benefit of easily searching for content related to currently viewed video content.
Consider claim 7, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos and Goryachev clearly teaches a search keyword corresponding to a currently playing video on the video playing page is displayed within the search box, (The suggested search queries are based on video 420, [0051], [0052], [0054] Goryachev.) and wherein the video processing method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation for a preset search control on the video list page, searching for a video according to the search keyword corresponding the currently playing video on the video playing page. (Fig. 4B: While viewing videos 420 a user may select a search query suggestion in query field 410 and be presented with search results, [0051], [0052], [0054], [0075] Goryachev.)
Consider claim 16, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos and Goryachev clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation within a search box on the video list page, switching from the video list page to a video searching page, wherein the video searching page is configured to search for a video according to a search keyword. (Fig. 4B: While viewing videos 420 a user may select a search query suggestion in query field 410 and be presented with search results, [0051], [0052], [0054], [0075] Goryachev.)
Consider claim 17, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos and Goryachev clearly teaches a search keyword corresponding a currently playing video on the video playing page is displayed within the search box, (The suggested search queries are based on video 420, [0051], [0052], [0054] Goryachev.) and wherein the video processing method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation for a preset search control on the video list page, searching for a video according to the search keyword corresponding the currently playing video on the video playing page. (Fig. 4B: While viewing videos 420 a user may select a search query suggestion in query field 410 and be presented with search results, [0051], [0052], [0054], [0075] Goryachev.)
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffert et al. (US 2015/0113407) in view of Stathacopoulos et al. (US 2015/0281764) in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0098117), herein Kim.
Consider claim 8, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos clearly teaches the sequential order corresponds to a sequential relationship corresponding to positions of the second videos on the video list page. (Fig. 4: Previews 402-405 are played sequentially, [0063] Liang.)
However, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos does not explicitly teach the video previews comprise video clips of the second videos.
In an analogous art, Kim, which discloses a system for content distribution, clearly teaches the video previews comprise video clips of the second videos. (Fig. 5, [0086], [0087])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos by the video previews comprise video clips of the second videos, as taught by Kim, to achieve the predictable result of previewing the content items for the viewer.
Consider claim 18, Hoffert combined with Stathacopoulos and Kim clearly teaches the sequential order corresponds to a sequential relationship corresponding to positions of the second videos on the video list page, (Fig. 4: Previews 402-405 are played sequentially, [0063] Liang.) and wherein the video previews comprise video clips of the second videos. (Fig. 5, [0086], [0087] Kim)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425