DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 18/867,796 filed 11/20/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2024 and 07/01/2025 were considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first jumping module configured to jump” and “a first showing module configured to show” in claim 9.
Claim limitations “a first jumping module configured to jump” and “a first showing module configured to show” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffert et al. (US 2015/0113407), herein Hoffert.
Consider claim 1, Hoffert clearly teaches a video processing method, comprising:
in response to a preset pinching operation on a video playing page, jumping from the video playing page to a video list page, (Figs. 5M, 5N: In response to a pinch gesture the interface switches from the media player interface to the media item directory interface, [0075].) wherein the video playing page corresponds to at least one video classification tab; (Figs. 5A, 5B, 5C: Media item C is classified into one of a plurality of sequences of media items, [0070], [0071], [0093].)
each video classification tab has a corresponding video stream; (Fig. 5A: Each sequence 504, 506, 508 includes a plurality of media items, [0070], [0082].)
videos in a first video stream are shown in a form of a single column on the video playing page, and the first video stream corresponds to a first video classification tab of the at least one video classification tab; (Fig. 5E: The user can swipe up or down to switch between media items in a particular sequence, [0072], [0073], [0093].) and
showing videos in a second video stream in a form of two columns on the video list page, wherein the second video stream is different from a video stream corresponding to the at least one video classification tab. (Fig. 5N: In response to the pinching gesture multiple sequences of media items are displayed in the media item directory interface, [0075], [0093].)
Consider claim 2, Hoffert clearly teaches in response to a preset triggering operation on the video list page, jumping from the video list page to the video playing page. (Figs. 5B, 5C: In response to tapping gesture 512 in the media item directory interface the selected content item is displayed in the media player interface, [0071].)
Consider claim 3, Hoffert clearly teaches in response to a preset sliding operation on the video list page, showing, by sliding, the videos shown in the form of two columns on the video list page. (Figs. 5A, 5N, 5O: In response to gestures 510, 524 media items displayed in the media item directory interface are moved, [0070], [0075].)
Consider claim 4, Hoffert clearly teaches in response to a triggering operation for a target video of the videos on the video list page, jumping from the video list page to a second video stream playing page; and playing the target video on the second video stream playing page. (Figs. 5B, 5C, 6: In response to tapping gesture 512, 614 in the media item directory interface the selected content item is displayed in the media player interface, [0071], [0077].)
Consider claim 5, Hoffert clearly teaches in response to a video switching operation on the second video stream playing page, determining a target switching video based on the second video stream; and playing the target switching video on the second video stream playing page. (Fig. 6: In response to a swipe 620 in the media player interface the device displays an adjacent media item, [0078].)
Consider claim 9, Hoffert clearly teaches a video processing apparatus, comprising:
a first jumping module configured to, in response to a preset pinching operation on a video playing page, jump from the video playing page to a video list page, (Figs. 5M, 5N: In response to a pinch gesture the interface switches from the media player interface to the media item directory interface, [0075].) wherein the video playing page corresponds to at least one video classification tab; (Figs. 5A, 5B, 5C: Media item C is classified into one of a plurality of sequences of media items, [0070], [0071], [0093].)
each video classification tab has a corresponding video stream; (Fig. 5A: Each sequence 504, 506, 508 includes a plurality of media items, [0070], [0082].)
videos in a first video stream are shown in a form of a single column on the video playing page, and the first video stream corresponds to a first video classification tab of the at least one video classification tab; (Fig. 5E: The user can swipe up or down to switch between media items in a particular sequence, [0072], [0073], [0093].) and
a first showing module configured to show videos in a second video stream in a form of two columns on the video list page, wherein the second video stream is different from a video stream corresponding to the at least one video classification tab. (Fig. 5N: In response to the pinching gesture multiple sequences of media items are displayed in the media item directory interface, [0075], [0093].)
Consider claim 10, Hoffert clearly teaches a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when run on a terminal device, cause the terminal device to implement a video processing method according to claim 1. (Fig. 2, [0032]-[0050])
Consider claim 11, Hoffert clearly teaches a video processing device, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, implements a video processing method (Fig. 2, [0032]-[0050]) comprising:
in response to a preset pinching operation on a video playing page, jumping from the video playing page to a video list page, (Figs. 5M, 5N: In response to a pinch gesture the interface switches from the media player interface to the media item directory interface, [0075].) wherein the video playing page corresponds to at least one video classification tab; (Figs. 5A, 5B, 5C: Media item C is classified into one of a plurality of sequences of media items, [0070], [0071], [0093].)
each video classification tab has a corresponding video stream; (Fig. 5A: Each sequence 504, 506, 508 includes a plurality of media items, [0070], [0082].) and
videos in a first video stream corresponding to a first video classification tab of the at least one video classification tab are shown in a form of a single column on the video playing page; (Fig. 5E: The user can swipe up or down to switch between media items in a particular sequence, [0072], [0073], [0093].) and
showing videos in a second video stream in a form of two columns on the video list page, wherein the second video stream is different from a video stream respectively corresponding to the at least one video classification tab. (Fig. 5N: In response to the pinching gesture multiple sequences of media items are displayed in the media item directory interface, [0075], [0093].)
Consider claim 12, Hoffert clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: in response to a preset triggering operation on the video list page, jumping from the video list page to the video playing page. (Figs. 5B, 5C: In response to tapping gesture 512 in the media item directory interface the selected content item is displayed in the media player interface, [0071].)
Consider claim 13, Hoffert clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: in response to a preset sliding operation on the video list page, showing, by sliding, the videos shown in the form of two columns on the video list page. (Figs. 5A, 5N, 5O: In response to gestures 510, 524 media items displayed in the media item directory interface are moved, [0070], [0075].)
Consider claim 14, Hoffert clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation for a target video of the videos on the video list page, jumping from the video list page to a second video stream playing page; and playing the target video on the second video stream playing page. (Figs. 5B, 5C, 6: In response to tapping gesture 512, 614 in the media item directory interface the selected content item is displayed in the media player interface, [0071], [0077].)
Consider claim 15, Hoffert clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: in response to a video switching operation on the second video stream playing page, determining a target switching video based on the second video stream; and playing the target switching video on the second video stream playing page. (Fig. 6: In response to a swipe 620 in the media player interface the device displays an adjacent media item, [0078].)
Consider claim 19, Hoffert clearly teaches in response to a preset sliding operation on the video list page, showing, by sliding, the videos shown in the form of two columns on the video list page. (Figs. 5A, 5N, 5O: In response to gestures 510, 524 media items displayed in the media item directory interface are moved, [0070], [0075].)
Consider claim 20, Hoffert clearly teaches in response to a preset triggering operation on the video list page, jumping from the video list page to the video playing page. (Figs. 5B, 5C: In response to tapping gesture 512 in the media item directory interface the selected content item is displayed in the media player interface, [0071].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffert et al. (US 2015/0113407) in view of Goryachev et al. (US 2018/0232460), herein Goryachev.
Consider claim 6, Hoffert clearly teaches the video list page. (Fig. 5A)
However, Hoffert does not explicitly teach in response to a triggering operation within a search box, jumping from to a video searching page, wherein the video searching page is configured to search for a video according to a search keyword.
In an analogous art, Goryachev, which discloses a system for content distribution, clearly teaches in response to a triggering operation within a search box, jumping from to a video searching page, wherein the video searching page is configured to search for a video according to a search keyword. (Fig. 4B: While viewing videos 420 a user may select a search query suggestion in query field 410 and be presented with search results, [0051], [0052], [0054], [0075].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Hoffert by in response to a triggering operation within a search box, jumping from to a video searching page, wherein the video searching page is configured to search for a video according to a search keyword, as taught by Goryachev, for the benefit of easily searching for content related to currently viewed video content.
Consider claim 7, Hoffert combined with Goryachev clearly teaches a search keyword corresponding a currently playing video on the video playing page is displayed within the search box; (The suggested search queries are based on video 420, [0051], [0052], [0054] Goryachev.) the video processing method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation for a preset search control on the video list page, searching for a video according to the search keyword corresponding the currently playing video on the video playing page. (Fig. 4B: While viewing videos 420 a user may select a search query suggestion in query field 410 and be presented with search results, [0051], [0052], [0054], [0075] Goryachev.)
Consider claim 16, Hoffert combined with Goryachev clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation within a search box on the video list page, jumping from the video list page to a video searching page, wherein the video searching page is configured to search for a video according to a search keyword. (Fig. 4B: While viewing videos 420 a user may select a search query suggestion in query field 410 and be presented with search results, [0051], [0052], [0054], [0075] Goryachev.)
Consider claim 17, Hoffert combined with Goryachev clearly teaches a search keyword corresponding a currently playing video on the video playing page is displayed within the search box; (The suggested search queries are based on video 420, [0051], [0052], [0054] Goryachev.) the video processing method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation for a preset search control on the video list page, searching for a video according to the search keyword corresponding the currently playing video on the video playing page. (Fig. 4B: While viewing videos 420 a user may select a search query suggestion in query field 410 and be presented with search results, [0051], [0052], [0054], [0075] Goryachev.)
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffert et al. (US 2015/0113407) in view of Liang et al. (US 2023/0009756), herein Liang.
Consider claim 8, Hoffert clearly teaches a sequential relationship corresponding to showing positions of the videos in the second video stream on the video list page. (Fig. 5A)
However, Hoffert does not explicitly teach according to a sequential relationship corresponding to showing positions of the videos in the second video stream on the video list page, sequentially playing preview videos of the videos on the video list page, wherein the preview videos are video clips of the videos.
In an analogous art, Liang, which discloses a system for content distribution, clearly teaches according to a sequential relationship corresponding to showing positions of the videos in the second video stream on the video list page, sequentially playing preview videos of the videos on the video list page, wherein the preview videos are video clips of the videos. (Fig. 4: Previews 402-405 are played sequentially, [0063].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Hoffert by according to a sequential relationship corresponding to showing positions of the videos in the second video stream on the video list page, sequentially playing preview videos of the videos on the video list page, wherein the preview videos are video clips of the videos, as taught by Liang, for the benefit of displaying previews of the video items to assist the user in making a selection.
Consider claim 18, Hoffert combined with Goryachev clearly teaches the video processing method further comprises: according to a sequential relationship corresponding to showing positions of the videos in the second video stream on the video list page, sequentially playing preview videos of the videos on the video list page, wherein the preview videos are video clips of the videos. (Fig. 4: Previews 402-405 are played sequentially, [0063] Liang.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425