DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment of 11/20/2024 has been entered.
Claim Status
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14 are pending in this Office Action.
Claims 6 and 13 are cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of claims 1, 7, and 14, at line 1, “a user who play golf” should be replaced with “a user who plays golf” to correct grammar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 2021-0016195).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches: A method for providing putting information to a user who play golf on a golf course to guide putting play through a user terminal by a server [providing putting guide information to the user who plays golf (page 1 and 7)], the method comprising:
transmitting green terrain information about a real green where the user plays putting to the user terminal connected to the server [a central server provides information to the mobile device including putting terrain for the golf course the user is currently playing (page 7-8, Fig. 10-16)]
determining a ball position on a virtual green which is generated based on the green terrain information corresponding to a position of a golf ball on the real green [determining a current position of the golf ball and displaying the current position on the augmented reality or virtual image (page 6-7 and 9, Fig. 11-12)], and
generating putting information including a distance between the golf ball and a hole-cup on the real green and a green lie using the determined ball position and a cup position on the virtual green corresponding to a position of the hole-cup on the real green by the user's manipulation through a putting interface of the user terminal for processing to generate the putting information [the user manipulates the region display image on the mobile device to specify a region to be displayed or adjust the position or size of an area display image (page 4-5). Providing putting information including a current position of a golf ball and a distance to a hole cup determined based on actual location of the cup from a database (page 9, Fig. 17) and topography or slope of the terrain between the ball and the cup (page 6-7, Fig. 11-15)] and
generating putting guide information including at least one of a putting expected path and a putting direction from the ball position to the cup position on the virtual green using the generated putting information so that the putting guide information is provided through the putting interface [providing information for user convenience, such as a putting direction or a putting strength based on the terrain, such as an incline on the terrain (page 7-9, Fig. 14-15 and 18)].
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the method of claim 1; Lee further teaches: the generating putting information includes: receiving a position of the user terminal by a GPS module of the user terminal as the user manipulates through the putting interface at a location adjacent to the golf ball placed on the real green; determining the received position of the user terminal as the ball position on the virtual green [determining location of the mobile device 10 using GPS as the mobile device is held by the user in proximity to the golf ball, the location of the golf ball can be determined from the location of the mobile device 10 (page 8-9)] and
generating information on the distance and slope from the ball position to the cup position as the putting information [determining distance information or putting information on a golf course based on the GPS location of the golf ball and course information from the database (page 9, Fig. 17) and information such as elevation or slope of the corresponding terrain on the terrain on which the golf ball is placed may be provided in addition (page 6-8, Fig. 11-15)].
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the method of claim 1; Lee further teaches: the putting interface is configured to capture and display the golf ball and the hole-cup on the real green by a camera of the user terminal [the camera captures the golf ball and cup on the green (page 3-5, Fig. 17-18)], and
to display a ball position alignment portion so that the captured golf ball can be aligned at a predetermined position on the putting interface [the user can manipulate the display area to change the viewing perspective or angle, thus aligning the ball to a desired position (page 5, Fig. 17-18)], and
wherein the generating putting information includes: determining the ball position on the virtual green using a position of the user terminal by a GPS module of the user terminal, a cup position on the virtual green, and a positional relationship between the golf ball and the hole-cup aligned through the putting interface as the user aligns the golf ball with the hole-cup on the putting interface [determining location of the mobile device 10 using GPS as the mobile device is held by the user in proximity to the golf ball, the location of the golf ball can be determined from the location of the mobile device 10. Providing putting information including a current position of a golf ball and a distance to a hole cup determined based on actual location of the cup from a database (page 8-9, Fig. 17)] and
generating information on the distance and slope from the ball position to the cup position as the putting information [determining distance information or putting information on a golf course based on the GPS location of the golf ball and course information from the database (page 9, Fig. 17) and information such as elevation or slope of the corresponding terrain on the terrain on which the golf ball is placed may be provided in addition (page 6-8, Fig. 11-15)].
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons given in the above rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons given in the above rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons given in the above rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the method of claim 7; Lee further teaches: the displaying putting guide information includes: when a putting direction starting from the ball position based on the green lie between the ball position and the cup position on the virtual green is determined, displaying a line of the putting direction, which is a straight line from the ball position to a putting aiming point in the putting direction, on the putting interface as the putting guide [providing information for user convenience, such as a putting direction or a putting strength based on the terrain, such as an incline on the terrain, which may be displaying as a straight line with an arrow to a point (page 7-9, Fig. 14-15 and 18)].
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches: A system for providing putting information to a user who play golf on a golf course to guide putting play through a user terminal [a system for providing putting guide information to a user playing golf (page 8-9, Fig. 16)], the system comprising:
a database that stores green terrain information about a green of each hole in the golf course [database stores all of the golf course information (page 8-9)] and
a server that communicates with the user terminal through network connection [central server 500 communicates with mobile device 100 through a network (page 8, Fig. 16)],
wherein the server extracts green terrain information about the green of the hole in which the user is playing from the database and transmits the extracted information to the user terminal [providing information from the database to the mobile device including putting terrain for the golf course the user is currently playing (page 7-8, Fig. 10-16)], and
wherein the server generates putting information for guiding the user's putting play based on a virtual green generated by the extracted green terrain information and provides the generated information to the user through the user terminal, wherein the server is configured to process: determining a ball position on a virtual green which is generated based on the green terrain information corresponding to a position of a golf ball on the green on which the user is playing by the user's manipulation through a putting interface of the user terminal for processing to generate the putting information including a distance between the golf ball and a hole-cup on the real green and a green lie, generating the putting information using the determined ball position and a cup position on the virtual green corresponding to a position of a hole-cup on the green [providing putting information including determining a current position of the golf ball and displaying the current position on the augmented reality or virtual image (page 6-7 and 9, Fig. 11-12). the user manipulates the region display image on the mobile device to specify a region to be displayed or adjust the position or size of an area display image (page 4-5). Providing putting information including a current position of a golf ball and a distance to a hole cup determined based on actual location of the cup from a database (page 9, Fig. 17) and topography or slope of the terrain between the ball and the cup (page 6-7, Fig. 11-15)] and
generating putting guide information including at least one of a putting expected path and a putting direction from the ball position to the cup position on the virtual green using the generated putting information so that the putting guide information is provided through the putting interface [providing information for user convenience, such as a putting direction or a putting strength based on the terrain, such as an incline on the terrain (page 7-9, Fig. 14-15 and 18)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 2021-0016195) in view of Kim et al. (KR 10-2202594).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the method of claim 1; Lee further teaches: the generating putting guide information so that the putting guide information is provided through the putting interface includes: determining a putting direction starting from the ball position based on the green lie between the ball position and the cup position on the virtual green [providing information for user convenience, such as a putting direction or a putting strength based on the terrain, such as an incline on the terrain (page 7-9, Fig. 14-15 and 18)].
While Lee discloses the direction and strength to hit the ball for it to go in the cup, Lee does not explicitly disclose: determining a path from the ball position to the cup position formed by the green lie if the golf ball is putted from the ball position to the putting direction as a putting expected path.
Kim teaches: determining a path from the ball position to the cup position formed by the green lie if the golf ball is putted from the ball position to the putting direction as a putting expected path [determining a putting path in the direction between the ball and the hole according to the green conditions, such as slope or degree of inclination (page 6-8, Fig. 4-8)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lee and Kim before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee by incorporating determining a path from the ball position to the cup position formed by the green lie if the golf ball is putted from the ball position to the putting direction as a putting expected path as disclosed by Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to show the golfer a trajectory of putting the ball so they can accurately aim for the cup (Kim – page 2-3 and Fig. 5-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Lee and Kim teach the method of claim 4; Kim further teaches: determining a putting aiming point in the determined putting direction [aiming point (page 4 and 6-8, Fig. 4-8)] and
determining a directional distance, which is a distance from the cup position to the putting aiming point [aiming point distance (page 4, 6, and 8, Fig. 6-8)].
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches the method of claim 7; Lee further teaches: the displaying putting guide information includes: when a putting direction starting from the ball position based on the green lie between the ball position and the cup position on the virtual green is determined [providing information for user convenience, such as a putting direction or a putting strength based on the terrain, such as an incline on the terrain (page 7-9, Fig. 14-15 and 18)].
Lee does not explicitly disclose: displaying a putting line of a path from the ball position to the cup position formed by the green lie if the golf ball is putted from the ball position to the putting direction, on the putting interface as the putting guide.
Kim teaches: displaying a putting line of a path from the ball position to the cup position formed by the green lie if the golf ball is putted from the ball position to the putting direction, on the putting interface as the putting guide [determining a putting path in the direction between the ball and the hole according to the green conditions, such as slope or degree of inclination (page 6-8, Fig. 4-8)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lee and Kim before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee by incorporating displaying a putting line of a path from the ball position to the cup position formed by the green lie if the golf ball is putted from the ball position to the putting direction, on the putting interface as the putting guide as disclosed by Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to show the golfer a trajectory of putting the ball so they can accurately aim for the cup (Kim – page 2-3 and Fig. 5-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the method of claim 7; Lee further teaches: the displaying putting guide information further includes: when a putting direction starting from the ball position based on the green lie between the ball position and the cup position on the virtual green is determined, and a putting aiming point on the putting direction from the ball position is determined [providing information for user convenience, such as a putting direction or a putting strength based on the terrain, such as an incline on the terrain, which may be displaying as a straight line with an arrow to a point (page 7-9, Fig. 14-15 and 18)].
Lee does not explicitly disclose: displaying a directional distance, which is a distance from the cup position to the putting aiming point, on the putting interface.
Kim teaches: displaying a directional distance, which is a distance from the cup position to the putting aiming point, on the putting interface [aiming point distance (page 4, 6, and 8, Fig. 6-8)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lee and Kim before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee by incorporating displaying a directional distance, which is a distance from the cup position to the putting aiming point, on the putting interface as disclosed by Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to show the golfer how far they need to hit the ball so they can accurately determine the speed at which to hit the ball (Kim – page 3-4 and Fig. 5-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER BOYD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2424