DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of preliminary amendment filed 20 November 2024 in which the following is noted: claims 1, 3, 7, and 14 are amended; the rejection of the claims traversed; and claim 8 is cancelled. Claims 1 – 7 and 9 – 19 are currently pending and an Office action on the merits follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 7 and 9 - 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues ‘811 and ‘611 does not disclose determining a plurality of apparatuses within a line of sight of the user from the plurality of apparatuses, and determining a plurality of visual patterns and frequency of the brain wave respectively corresponding to the plurality of apparatuses each visual pattern and the strength of the brain wave enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus; and presenting further comprises presenting the respective visual patterns on the corresponding apparatus.
However, the office points further points to Gao et al (see rejection below) for teaching said limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 7 and 9 - 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIHARA et al; (Publication number: US 2014/0306881 A1), hereafter ‘881, in view of Kouider et al; (Publication number: US 2022/0413611 A1), hereafter ‘611, in view of Gao et al; (Patent number: US 7, 123, 955 B1), hereafter ‘955.
Regarding claim 1:
‘881 discloses a presentation system (‘881 Figure 1; see also Figure 10) comprising a processor (‘881 Figure 1 600) configured to execute operations (‘881 [0129] Note that a part of or most of the processing of the wearable devices of the present embodiment may be implemented by a program. In this case, wearable devices of the present embodiment are implemented by one or more processors such as CPU and so on that execute a program. Specifically, after a program stored by a non-temporary information storage medium is read by the processor(s), the processor(s) such as CPU's perform an operation of the program. Here, the information storage medium (the medium which is readable by a computer) stores a program or data, and the function can be implemented by an Optical Disk (DVD, CD), a HDD (hard disk drive), a memory (memory integrated circuit) or storage device (card type memory, ROM). And the processors such as CPU perform various kinds of processing of the present embodiment based on a program (data) stored by an information storage medium. That is, an information storage medium stores a program (program to make a computer perform processing of each section) to functionalize a computer (operating member, processing component, memory, device and comprising the output) as each section of the present embodiment) comprising:
acquiring apparatus data indicating a plurality of apparatuses that can be operated by the user (‘881 [0061] [0061] The eyesight sensor 100 performs the eyesight sensing that senses an object in the view of the user. The peripheral sensing acquisition section 200 acquires a result of the peripheral sensing that senses an object around the user as peripheral sensing information. It is described below for more information about the eyesight sensor 100 and the peripheral sensing acquisition section 200. Note that the wearable device may include the peripheral sensing acquisition section 200 which may be a peripheral sensor performing peripheral sensing (in order to acquire the result of the peripheral sensing by itself) and/or the peripheral sensing acquisition section 200 may acquire the result of peripheral sensing implemented by one or more other apparatuses.);
acquiring user data indicating a plurality of apparatuses that can be operated by a user (‘881 [0061] The eyesight sensor 100 performs the eyesight sensing that senses an object in the view of the user. );
determining an apparatus within a field of view of the user from among the plurality of apparatus using the apparatus data and the user data; determining a plurality of apparatuses within a line of sight from the plurality of apparatuses (‘881 [0079] Here, it is conceivable to use the peripheral sensing information that is a result of the peripheral sensing and the eyesight sensing information that is a result of the eyesight sensing for selection processing. For example, a candidate object includes three kinds of an object: (a) an object recognized by only eyesight sensing, (b) an object recognized by only peripheral sensing, and (c) an object recognized by both eyesight sensing and the peripheral sensing, But it may be preferentially displayed about the object recognized by both eyesight sensing and peripheral sensing. In an example of FIG. 2, among objects AAA-EEE placed in the environment, AAA, BBB, DDD, EEE are recognizable candidate objects. The AAA is recognized by both eyesight sensing and peripheral sensing, the BBB is recognized only by eyesight sensing and DDD and EEE are recognized only by peripheral sensing. In this case, understanding from FIG. 2, the AAA is located in the front direction of the user and is near to the user, the BBB is located in the front direction of the user and is further from the user than AAA. DDD and EEE are near to the user but located in the side or the back of the user. That is, the object recognized by both eyesight sensing and peripheral sensing like AAA should be selected in the selection processing with precedence because it is assumed that the interest degree of the user is high.).
‘881 does not disclose: 1) determining a plurality of visual patterns corresponding to the plurality of apparatus, each visual pattern enabling the user to operate the apparats, and presenting a visual pattern on the apparatus the visual pattern enabling a brain wave of the user to operate the determined apparatus, and the presenting further comprises presenting the respective visual patterns on the corresponding apparatus, and 2) determining a frequency of the brainwave respectively corresponding to the plurality of apparatus and the strength of the brainwave enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus.
However, ‘611 discloses a brain-computer interface. More particularly, ‘611 discloses 1) determining a plurality of visual patterns corresponding to the plurality of apparatus, each visual pattern enabling the user to operate the apparats, and presenting a visual pattern on the apparatus the visual pattern enabling a brain wave of the user to operate the determined apparatus (‘611 [0012] The present disclosure relates to a brain-computer interface in which visual stimuli are presented in direct association with real world objects such that the intention of the user can be extended to objects in the real world without the interposition of a screen or other display device, offering an improved and intuitive user experience; [0014] In certain embodiments, the applied visual stimulus may include the projection of an overlay image with a temporal modulation onto the real world object or objects. The modulation makes the object blink or otherwise visually alter so that the modulation acts as a stimulus for a correlated neural response in the brain of the user. The neural response may in turn be measured and decoded to determine which object of interest is the focus of the user's attention;), and the presenting further comprises presenting the respective visual patterns on the corresponding apparatus (‘611 [0022] In certain embodiments, the light emitting unit is a projector or a laser display device, the projector or laser display device being operatively coupled to the stimulus generator and projecting the respective visual stimulus onto the controllable object; and wherein the controllable object reflects the projected stimulus.).
It would have been obvious to modify ‘881 to include presenting a visual pattern on the apparatus the visual pattern enabling a brain wave of the user to operate the apparatus determined, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to provide the user touch free control of real-world objects.
‘881 (in view of ‘611) does not disclose 2) determining a frequency of the brainwave respectively corresponding to the plurality of apparatus and the strength of the brainwave enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus.
However, Gao discloses a control method and system and the sense organs test method and system based on electrical steady state induced response. More particularly, ‘955 discloses 2) determining a frequency of the brainwave respectively corresponding to the plurality of apparatus and the strength of the brainwave enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus (‘955 - Col 6 lines 29 – 50; in order to obtain these frequency components, the obtained brain evoked electrical signal needs to be spectrum analyzed. This is the function of the spectrum analyzer. Spectrum analysis is generally fulfilled by a computer or other digital signal processor. Therefore, it is a digital signal processing process. A conventional algorithm used to fulfill spectrum analysis is Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), …. Frequency characteristic analysis: To fulfill control of different requirement, design stimulus points scintillating in various frequencies or frequency compositions).
It would have been obvious to further modify ‘811 (in view of ‘611) to include 2) determining a frequency of the brainwave respectively corresponding to the plurality of apparatus and the strength of the brainwave enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate differentiating among multiple brain electrical signals.
Regarding claim 2:
‘881 (in view of ‘611 and ‘955) discloses the presentation system according to claim 1, wherein the determining further comprises determining a plurality of apparatuses within a field of view of the user from the plurality of apparatuses (‘881 [0078] Thus, in the present embodiment, selection processing to a candidate object is performed to decide display controlling of the display 300 as display mode based on the result of the selection processing. Selection processing here may be processing to select one object from one or more candidate objects and may be processing to select a plurality of objects from one or more candidate objects. Because the whole display can be used for display of the object information of one selected object when one is selected, a more detailed information presentation is enabled. However, about the candidate object which was not selected, even though it is recognized by at least one of eyesight sensing and peripheral sensing, information of it cannot be shown. Thus, it may be assumed that the object information of more objects is displayed by selecting a plurality of objects from one or more candidate objects.), and determining a plurality of visual patterns respectively corresponding to the plurality of apparatuses, each visual pattern enabling the brain wave of the user to operate the corresponding apparatus (‘611 [0055] In an embodiment, the display device 202 displays at least the target object 210 as a graphical object with a varying temporal characteristic distinct from the temporal characteristic of other displayed objects and/or the background in the display. The varying temporal characteristic may be, for example, a constant or time-locked flickering effect altering the appearance of the target object at a rate greater than 6 Hz. Where more than one graphical object is a potential target object (i.e. where the viewing subject is offered a choice of target object to focus attention on), each object is associated with a discrete spatial and/or temporal code. [0057] The processing device 208 executes instructions that interpret the received neural signals to determine feedback indicating the target object having the current focus of (visual) attention in real time. Decoding the information in the neural response signals relies upon a correspondence between that information and one or more aspect of the temporal profile of the target object (i.e. the stimulus). In certain embodiments, the processing device 208 and neural response device 206 may be provided in a single device so that decoding algorithms are executed directly on the detected neural responses. Thus, BCIs making use of visually associated neural signals can be used to determine which objects on a screen a user is focusing on.); and
the presenting further comprises presenting the respective visual patterns on the corresponding apparatus (‘611 [0074] In another exemplary embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6B, visual displays, referred to as “electronic badges”, take the form of physical, moveable objects, separate from real world controllable objects but logically associated with at least one of them. In the present disclosure, these electronic badges provide a small, moveable, programmable screen (e.g. 3 cm by 3 cm) that display one or more visual stimuli that have an association with other (controllable) objects or specific functions of such objects. The screen may, for instance, be a backlit LCD, an OLED or AMOLED display. The screen may be programmable to emit light with a temporal modulation similar to the light sources above, thereby generating one or more visual stimulus. Unlike the visual displays of FIG. 6A, the electronic badges 620, 620′, 620″ of FIG. 6B each include a stimulus generator 612′ of their own, in addition to a processing unit 614, a display driving circuit 616 and the screen 618 for outputting the visual stimulus (see inset ‘exploded’ view of badge 620″).[0075] An electronic badge may be embedded within a physical object (which may be a controllable object associated with the or each stimulus generated by the electronic badge): badge 620 is embedded in controllable lamp 604′. Alternatively, the badge may be placed on, or affixed (temporarily or permanently) to, the surface of a physical object or indeed to any surface from which interaction with, or control of, a controllable physical object might be convenient, such as a nearby wall, control panel, or item of furniture. In FIG. 6B, the controllable lamp 604′ may also be controlled through interaction with electronic badge 620′ in control panel 606. In other embodiments, the electronic badge 620″ may be portable, or even wearable. In certain embodiments, the electronic badge includes a battery and a wireless communication module. The electronic badges may be attached to surfaces in any conventional manner, such as clips, adhesive, magnets, screws, bolts or any other such fixing means.)
Regarding claim 3:
‘881 (in view of ‘611 and ‘955) discloses the presentation system according to claim 1, wherein the presenting further comprises projecting the visual pattern on the apparatus using a projector positioned in the vicinity of the apparatus (‘611 [0070] FIG. 5 shows a second exemplary embodiment in which a projector 510 is used to project a stimulus that includes a temporal modulation (i.e. a blinking effect) onto at least one surface of a real world object 504 associated with a controllable object 514, the stimulus being generated by a stimulus generator 512. When a BCI-equipped user 502 views light reflected from the object 504, that reflected light induces a decodable neural response in the brain of the user (that may be captured by the BCI). FIG. 5 shows a plurality of real world objects 504, 506, etc— the projector 510 projecting a respective stimulus on each object. The BCI then decodes the neural signals to determine which of the objects (if any) is the object of the user's attention. Each real world object 504, 506, etc. is associated with a respective command or interaction with the associated controllable object 514. In certain embodiments, the BCI includes a communication unit through which a command may be transmitted to the controllable object identified as the object of attention. This command may be, for instance, an instruction to enter an active state. In one embodiment, as illustrated, the controllable object includes a loudspeaker 514 and the command may be a command to control the loudspeaker to reproduce an audio signal, such as an alarm or a musical tone. In certain embodiments, the or each real world object upon which a stimulus is projected may itself be a controllable object.)
Regarding claim 4:
‘881 (in view of ‘611 and ‘955) discloses the presentation system according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring apparatus data further comprises acquiring positions of the plurality of apparatuses that the user can operate as the apparatus data (‘881 [0074] Alternatively, it is considered that the wearable device (or the cell-phone which the user of the wearable device holds) and an object have a location information acquisition section such as the GPS, respectively and they transmit acquired location information to the location information management server on a network. In this case, the wearable device and an object are not interconnected, but because the position of the wearable device and the position of the object can be grasped with the location information management server, an object existing around wearable device can be identified. This is processing of the peripheral sensing. In this case, the wearable device itself does not perform peripheral sensing but acquires the peripheral sensing information that is a result of the peripheral sensing from the outside.)
Regarding claim 5:
‘881 (in view of ‘611 and ‘955) discloses the presentation system according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring user data further comprises acquiring a position of the user (‘881 [0074] Alternatively, it is considered that the wearable device (or the cell-phone which the user of the wearable device holds) and an object have a location information acquisition section such as the GPS, respectively and they transmit acquired location information to the location information management server on a network. In this case, the wearable device and an object are not interconnected, but because the position of the wearable device and the position of the object can be grasped with the location information management server, an object existing around wearable device can be identified. This is processing of the peripheral sensing. In this case, the wearable device itself does not perform peripheral sensing but acquires the peripheral sensing information that is a result of the peripheral sensing from the outside.) and a direction of a face of the user as the user data (‘881 [0067] An embodiment of eyesight sensing and peripheral sensing is described. Note that eyesight sensing and peripheral sensing are not limited to that described below. FIG. 2 illustrates an example of an area of the eyesight sensing corresponding to a field of view of the eyesight sensing and an example of an area of the peripheral sensing corresponding to a vicinity of the wearer. The area of the eyesight sensing has a predetermined detection distance from the wearer and a predetermined detection angle which includes a direction forward from the face of the wearer and narrower than a whole circumference. The area of the peripheral sensing has a detection distance from the wearer (e.g. depending upon the strength of the signal from the object) and a predetermined detection angle broader than that of the field of view of the eyesight sensing. In addition, if the object in the area corresponding to the field of view of the wearer can be recognized as shown in FIG. 2, other techniques may be used as an alternative of eyesight sensing. And other techniques may be used as alternative of the peripheral sensing if the object around the wearer can be recognized as shown in FIG. 2.).
Regarding claim 6:
‘881 (in view of ‘611 and ‘955) discloses the presentation system according to claim 6, wherein the acquiring user data further comprises acquiring the position of the user and the direction of the face of the user using a camera installed at a specific place associated with the user (‘881 [0068] An example of the eyesight sensing may use an imager as shown in FIG. 1. And it is considered to perform image processing of a pickup image acquired by the imager. As for the technique to detect an object from a pickup image, it is conceivable in various ways, but, for example, template information may be maintained for every object and a template matching process may be performed using the template information matched to a pickup image. Alternatively, an amount of characteristic information of the object is memorized and it may be performed to compare between an amount of characteristic information from a pickup image and the memorized object information. Here, the amount of characteristic may be a pixel value (e.g. a value of R, G, B) and may be brightness and a color difference(Y, Cr, Cb) and may be other values acquired from them. Also, the space frequency properties acquired by performing Fourier transforms may be the amount of characteristic.)
Regarding claim 7:
‘881 discloses a presentation method executed by a computer (‘881 Figure 10), the method comprising:
a first acquisition process of acquiring apparatus data indicating a plurality of apparatuses that can be operated by the user (‘881 [0061] [0061] The eyesight sensor 100 performs the eyesight sensing that senses an object in the view of the user. The peripheral sensing acquisition section 200 acquires a result of the peripheral sensing that senses an object around the user as peripheral sensing information. It is described below for more information about the eyesight sensor 100 and the peripheral sensing acquisition section 200. Note that the wearable device may include the peripheral sensing acquisition section 200 which may be a peripheral sensor performing peripheral sensing (in order to acquire the result of the peripheral sensing by itself) and/or the peripheral sensing acquisition section 200 may acquire the result of peripheral sensing implemented by one or more other apparatuses.);
a second acquisition process of acquiring user data specifying a field of view of the user (‘881 [0061] The eyesight sensor 100 performs the eyesight sensing that senses an object in the view of the user. );
a determination process of determining a device within a field of view of the user from among the plurality of apparatuses using the apparatus data and the user; a determination process of determining a plurality of apparatuses within a line of sight of the user form the plurality of apparatuses (‘881 [0079] Here, it is conceivable to use the peripheral sensing information that is a result of the peripheral sensing and the eyesight sensing information that is a result of the eyesight sensing for selection processing. For example, a candidate object includes three kinds of an object: (a) an object recognized by only eyesight sensing, (b) an object recognized by only peripheral sensing, and (c) an object recognized by both eyesight sensing and the peripheral sensing, But it may be preferentially displayed about the object recognized by both eyesight sensing and peripheral sensing. In an example of FIG. 2, among objects AAA-EEE placed in the environment, AAA, BBB, DDD, EEE are recognizable candidate objects. The AAA is recognized by both eyesight sensing and peripheral sensing, the BBB is recognized only by eyesight sensing and DDD and EEE are recognized only by peripheral sensing. In this case, understanding from FIG. 2, the AAA is located in the front direction of the user and is near to the user, the BBB is located in the front direction of the user and is further from the user than AAA. DDD and EEE are near to the user but located in the side or the back of the user. That is, the object recognized by both eyesight sensing and peripheral sensing like AAA should be selected in the selection processing with precedence because it is assumed that the interest degree of the user is high. ).
‘881 does not disclose:
1) determining a plurality of visual patterns corresponding to the plurality of apparatuses each visual pattern enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus, wherein the presentation process further comprises presenting the respective visual patterns on the corresponding apparatus, the visual pattern enabling a brain wave of the user to operate the apparatus determined, a presentation process of presenting a visual pattern on the apparatus determined in the determination process, and
2) determining a frequency of the brain wave respectively corresponding to the plurality of apparatus and the strength of the brainwave enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus.
However, ‘611 discloses a brain-computer interface. More particularly, ‘611 discloses determining a plurality of visual patterns corresponding to the plurality of apparatuses each visual pattern enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus, wherein the presentation process further comprises presenting the respective visual patterns on the corresponding apparatus, the visual pattern enabling a brain wave of the user to operate the apparatus determined, a presentation process of presenting a visual pattern on the apparatus determined in the determination process (‘611 [0012] The present disclosure relates to a brain-computer interface in which visual stimuli are presented in direct association with real world objects such that the intention of the user can be extended to objects in the real world without the interposition of a screen or other display device, offering an improved and intuitive user experience; [0014] In certain embodiments, the applied visual stimulus may include the projection of an overlay image with a temporal modulation onto the real world object or objects. The modulation makes the object blink or otherwise visually alter so that the modulation acts as a stimulus for a correlated neural response in the brain of the user. The neural response may in turn be measured and decoded to determine which object of interest is the focus of the user's attention;), a presentation process of presenting a visual pattern on the apparatus determined in the determination process, (‘611 [0074] In another exemplary embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6B, visual displays, referred to as “electronic badges”, take the form of physical, moveable objects, separate from real world controllable objects but logically associated with at least one of them. In the present disclosure, these electronic badges provide a small, moveable, programmable screen (e.g. 3 cm by 3 cm) that display one or more visual stimuli that have an association with other (controllable) objects or specific functions of such objects. The screen may, for instance, be a backlit LCD, an OLED or AMOLED display. The screen may be programmable to emit light with a temporal modulation similar to the light sources above, thereby generating one or more visual stimulus. Unlike the visual displays of FIG. 6A, the electronic badges 620, 620′, 620″ of FIG. 6B each include a stimulus generator 612′ of their own, in addition to a processing unit 614, a display driving circuit 616 and the screen 618 for outputting the visual stimulus (see inset ‘exploded’ view of badge 620″).[0075] An electronic badge may be embedded within a physical object (which may be a controllable object associated with the or each stimulus generated by the electronic badge): badge 620 is embedded in controllable lamp 604′. Alternatively, the badge may be placed on, or affixed (temporarily or permanently) to, the surface of a physical object or indeed to any surface from which interaction with, or control of, a controllable physical object might be convenient, such as a nearby wall, control panel, or item of furniture. In FIG. 6B, the controllable lamp 604′ may also be controlled through interaction with electronic badge 620′ in control panel 606. In other embodiments, the electronic badge 620″ may be portable, or even wearable. In certain embodiments, the electronic badge includes a battery and a wireless communication module. The electronic badges may be attached to surfaces in any conventional manner, such as clips, adhesive, magnets, screws, bolts or any other such fixing means.)
It would have been obvious to modify ‘881 to include a presentation process of presenting a visual pattern on the apparatus determined in the determination process, the visual pattern enabling a brain wave of the user to operate the apparatus determined.as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to provide the user touch free control of real-world objects.
‘811 (in view of ‘611) does not disclose 2) determining a frequency of the brain wave respectively corresponding to the plurality of apparatus and the strength of the brainwave enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus, as claimed.
However, Gao discloses a control method and system and the sense organs test method and system based on electrical steady state induced response. More particularly, ‘955 discloses 2) determining a frequency of the brainwave respectively corresponding to the plurality of apparatus and the strength of the brainwave enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus (‘955 - Col 6 lines 29 – 50; in order to obtain these frequency components, the obtained brain evoked electrical signal needs to be spectrum analyzed. This is the function of the spectrum analyzer. Spectrum analysis is generally fulfilled by a computer or other digital signal processor. Therefore, it is a digital signal processing process. A conventional algorithm used to fulfill spectrum analysis is Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), …. Frequency characteristic analysis: To fulfill control of different requirement, design stimulus points scintillating in various frequencies or frequency compositions).
It would have been obvious to further modify ‘811 (in view of ‘611) to include 2) determining a frequency of the brainwave respectively corresponding to the plurality of apparatus and the strength of the brainwave enabling the user to operate the corresponding apparatus, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate differentiating among multiple brain electrical signals.
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 4.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 5.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 7 (and for those reasons in ‘811 [0129]).
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 9.
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 4.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 30 March 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622