DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araujo et al (US 2016/0305547).
Regarding claim 1, Araujo et al. discloses a piston ring 1 Fig. 1 for an internal combustion engine including a cylinder with a cylinder liner (Para. 0012), the piston ring comprising: a piston ring base material 2 comprising a joint portion Fig. 1; and a coating 4 covering at least an outer peripheral surface of the piston ring base material, wherein the coating defines at least an outermost peripheral surface of the piston ring Fig. 2, wherein the coating comprises chromium nitride and is capable of having a thermal resistance value of 4.0 x 10-6 to 12.0 x 10-6 m2K/W capable of reducing the amount of gas leakage in the internal combustion engine and wherein the coating comes into sliding contact with the cylinder liner when in use within the internal combustion engine (Para. 0012). However, Araujo et al. fails to explicitly disclose the thermal resistance value of 4.0 x 10-6 to 12.0 x 10-6 m2K/W. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal resistance value to any number of ranges (i.e. 4.0 x 10-6 to 12.0 x 10-6 m2K/W) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Regarding claim 2, Araujo et al. discloses wherein the coating 4 contains Al or Si (Para. 0019).
Regarding claim 3, Araujo et al. as modified discloses an intermediate layer 10 provided between the piston ring base material 2 and the coating 4 wherein the intermediate layer is formed on a surface of the piston ring base material 2, and the coating 4 is formed on a surface of the intermediate layer 10. Regarding claim 4, Araujo et al. as modified discloses wherein the intermediate layer 10 contains Al or Si (Para. 0041).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Araujo et al. as modified discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a thermal resistance value of the coating is 5.0 x 10-6 m2 K/W, 7.0 x 10-6 m2 K/W or more. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal resistance value to any number of ranges (i.e. 5.0 x 10-6 m2 K/W or more or 7.0 x 10-6 m2 K/W or more) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 11-13, Araujo et al. as modified discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a thermal resistance value of the coating is 11.0 x 10-6 m2 K/W, 10.3 x 10-6 m2 K/W, 9.0 x 10-6 m2 K/W or less. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal resistance value to any number of ranges (i.e. 11.0 x 10-6 m2 K/W, 10.3 x 10-6 m2 K/W, 9.0 x 10-6 m2 K/W or less) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 2 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araujo et al. in view of Kawai (US 2008/0007006).
Regarding claim 2, Araujo et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the coating contains Al or Si. Kawai, a coated piston ring 1 Fig. 1 shows this to be well known in the art. Kawai discloses a piston ring 1 Fig. 1 having a coating 2 that contains Al or Si. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coating Araujo et al. with Al or Si as taught by Kawai in order to increase a thermal load applied to the piston ring and the surface pressure during usage, and also adversely affects the lubrication environment due to contamination from corrosive components and dilution of the lubricating oil (Para. 0004 of Kawai).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses the coating (2 of Kawai) is made of chromium nitride containing Si, and the intermediate layer is made of chromium containing Si (Para. 0024 of Kawai).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses wherein the coating (2 of Kawai) is made of chromium nitride containing Al, and the intermediate layer (3 of Kawai) is made of chromium containing Al (Para. 0061).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses wherein the coating (2 of Kawai) is made of chromium nitride containing Si and consisting of crystal grains, or is made of chromium nitride in which an amorphous phase is formed (abstract of Kawai).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses wherein the coating (2 of Kawai) is made of chromium nitride containing Al, and does not contain Ti (Abstract of Kawai).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675