DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendments filed on 03/02/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Applicant should include elements of the motor and power interruption based on conditions of a joystick tilt.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the power generated by the motor" in claim 31. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Motor is not previously recited in claim 31. Claims 31-40 are rejected for depending on claim 31 and not resolving the above issue.
Claim 31 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant recited actuator and a motor controlling power in the device but it is unclear if the actuator and motor are meant to be the same component or separate components generating their own distinct power. Applicant’s claim appears to view the power generated by both the actuator and the motor as the same and therefore examiner will interpret the power accordingly. Clarification is requested. Claims 31-40 are rejected for depending on claim 31 and not resolving the above issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0345134 A1 hereinafter referred to as Schmitz) in view of Rihn et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0246377 A1 hereinafter referred to as Rihn).
As per claims 21 and 41, Schmitz teaches a device and method (abstract and Fig. 1 see gaming controller) comprising: a tiltable joystick (Fig. 1, items 110A-B and paragraph [0028] see left and right joysticks); a motor that generates power used for controlling a movement of an input device (paragraphs [0023]-[0024] feedback is provided via a motor to a trigger input device by increasing resistance due to detected input); a clutch that selectively permits or interrupts transmission of the power generated by the motor for controlling a movement of an input device (paragraphs [0045]-[0046] see clutch 310 which controls power from the motor to the trigger allowing for either permitting power “when the clutch 310 is engaged, the force-feedback motor 306 drives the trigger 304 via the clutch 310 to adjust a user-perceived state of the trigger 304”, interrupt power “when the clutch 310 is disengaged, the force-feedback motor 306 may drive the clutch 310, but since the clutch is not engaged, the clutch 310 does not drive the trigger 304”, or otherwise regulate feedback to the input device); and a drive controller (Fig. 2, item 334 and paragraph [0053] includes a controller for controlling or communicating for feedback based on sensor input) that is configured to control the clutch to interrupt the transmission of the power generated by the motor when a movement of the input device satisfies a predetermined condition (paragraphs [0045]-[0046] see clutch 310 which controls power from the motor to the trigger based on the position of the trigger allowing for either permitting power “when the clutch 310 is engaged, the force-feedback motor 306 drives the trigger 304 via the clutch 310 to adjust a user-perceived state of the trigger 304”, interrupt power “when the clutch 310 is disengaged, the force-feedback motor 306 may drive the clutch 310, but since the clutch is not engaged, the clutch 310 does not drive the trigger 304”, or otherwise regulate feedback to the input device). Schmitz does not teach a controller including a motor that generates power used for controlling a tilt of the joystick wherein the predetermined condition is a tilt of the joystick. However, Rihn teaches a gaming controller (abstract and Fig. 1, item 150) wherein a motor is attached to a gaming controller joystick (Fig. 8A, item 810 and paragraph [0078] referred to as analogue stick as well) in order to provide feedback (paragraph [0077]) with the position of a joystick detected via a sensor (paragraph [0077]) with feedback based on detected position (paragraph [0077] since a joystick tilts to provide input this would include a tilt position). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Schmitz with Rihn, since the feedback system of Schmitz could be applied to joysticks, see Rihn for feedback on joysticks, since this allows for resistance to similarly be provided as a joystick is tilted thereby providing more feedback (paragraphs [0022]-[0023] of Schmitz shows that more feedback is desired) associated with input on a joystick increasing a player’s interaction (paragraph [0003] of Rihn) with the game.
As per claim 22, Schmitz teaches a device wherein the clutch is an electromagnetic clutch (paragraph [0047]).
As per claim 23, Schmitz teaches a device wherein the clutch includes a one-directional transmitter that interrupts the transmission of the power (paragraph [0046]).
As per claim 24, Schmitz teaches a device wherein the clutch includes a driver that is driven by the motor and that is movable between a contact position in which the driver is in contact with the input device to transmit the power to the input device, and an escape position in which the driver is separated from the input device to interrupt the transmission of power to the input device (paragraph [0047] “the active clutch may include a solenoid that is actuated based on a control signal to selectively break the mechanical linkage between the trigger 304 and the force-feedback motor 306.”). Schmitz does not teach a controller including a motor that generates power used for controlling a tilt of the joystick wherein the predetermined condition is a tilt of the joystick. However, Rihn teaches a gaming controller (abstract and Fig. 1, item 150) wherein a motor is attached to a gaming controller joystick (Fig. 8A, item 810 and paragraph [0078] referred to as analogue stick as well) in order to provide feedback (paragraph [0077]) with the position of a joystick detected via a sensor (paragraph [0077]) with feedback based on detected position (paragraph [0077] since a joystick tilts to provide input this would include a tilt position). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Schmitz with Rihn, since the feedback system of Schmitz could be applied to joysticks, see Rihn for feedback on joysticks, since this allows for resistance to similarly be provided as a joystick is tilted thereby providing more feedback (paragraphs [0022]-[0023] of Schmitz shows that more feedback is desired) associated with input on a joystick increasing a player’s interaction (paragraph [0003] of Rihn) with the game.
As per claim 25, Schmitz teaches a device wherein the driver includes a motor for moving the driver between the contact position and the escape position (paragraph [0047] “active clutch may include another motor”).
Claim(s) 31-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0345134 A1 hereinafter referred to as Schmitz) in view of Rihn et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0246377 A1 hereinafter referred to as Rihn) and Coe (US Pat. No. 8,932,135 B2).
As per claim 31, Schmitz teaches a device (abstract and Fig. 1 see gaming controller) comprising: a tiltable joystick (Fig. 1, items 110A-B and paragraph [0028] see left and right joysticks); a guide that is configured to allow the input device to move around a first axis (paragraph [0068]); at least one actuator that generates power that is used to control movement of an input device (paragraphs [0023]-[0024] feedback is provided via a motor to a trigger input device by increasing resistance due to detected input);at least one clutch is configured to permit or interrupt transmission of the power generated by the at least one actuator to the input device (paragraphs [0045]-[0046] see clutch 310 which controls power from the motor to the trigger allowing for either permitting power “when the clutch 310 is engaged, the force-feedback motor 306 drives the trigger 304 via the clutch 310 to adjust a user-perceived state of the trigger 304”, interrupt power “when the clutch 310 is disengaged, the force-feedback motor 306 may drive the clutch 310, but since the clutch is not engaged, the clutch 310 does not drive the trigger 304”, or otherwise regulate feedback to the input device); and a drive controller (Fig. 2, item 334 and paragraph [0053] includes a controller for controlling or communicating for feedback based on sensor input) that is configured to control the clutch to interrupt the transmission of the power generated by the motor at least when a tilt direction or a tilt angle of the when a movement of the input device satisfies a predetermined condition (paragraphs [0045]-[0046] see clutch 310 which controls power from the motor to the trigger based on the position of the trigger allowing for either permitting power “when the clutch 310 is engaged, the force-feedback motor 306 drives the trigger 304 via the clutch 310 to adjust a user-perceived state of the trigger 304”, interrupt power “when the clutch 310 is disengaged, the force-feedback motor 306 may drive the clutch 310, but since the clutch is not engaged, the clutch 310 does not drive the trigger 304”, or otherwise regulate feedback to the input device). Schmitz does not teach a controller including a first and second guide that is configured to allow the joystick to be tiltable around a first axis and second axis respectively and at least one actuator that generates power that is used to control tilt of the joystick. However, Rihn teaches a gaming controller (abstract and Fig. 1, item 150) wherein a motor is attached to a gaming controller joystick (Fig. 8A, item 810 and paragraph [0078] referred to as analogue stick as well) in order to provide feedback (paragraph [0077]) with the position of a joystick detected via a sensor (paragraph [0077]) with feedback based on detected position (paragraph [0077] since a joystick tilts to provide input this would include a tilt position) and Coe teaches a gaming controller (abstract and Fig. 2A) comprising joystick input devices (Fig. 2A, items 120 and 121) wherein a guide is included to control motion of the joysticks (col. 10, lines 62 to col. 11, line 18). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Schmitz with Rihn and Coe, since the feedback system of Schmitz could be applied to joysticks, see Rihn for feedback on joysticks, since this allows for resistance to similarly be provided as a joystick is tilted thereby providing more feedback (paragraphs [0022]-[0023] of Schmitz shows that more feedback is desired) associated with input on a joystick increasing a player’s interaction (paragraph [0003] of Rihn) with the game. As per the guide Schmitz is modifiable to apply the guide concept of Coe to the joystick in order to restrict movement as desired including a plurality of guides to insure that all axis movements are addressed which allows for greater control on how a joystick is permitted to move and thereby prevent improper movement.
As per claim 32, Schmitz does not teach a device wherein the joystick includes: a columnar body that extends through the first guide and the second guide; Anda pedestal. However, Coe teaches a gaming controller (abstract and Fig. 2A) comprising joystick input devices which comprises a columnar body and a pedestal which the columnar bodies goes through (Fig. 2A, item 121 see joystick which shows the columnar body and the round base which is the pedestal) wherein a guide is included to control motion of the joysticks (col. 10, lines 62 to col. 11, line 18). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Schmitz with Rihn and Coe, since Schmitz is modifiable to apply the guide concept of Coe to the joystick in order to restrict movement as desired including a plurality of guides to insure that all axis movements are addressed which allows for greater control on how a joystick is permitted to move and thereby prevent improper movement.
As per claim 33, Schmitz does not teach a device wherein the at least one clutch includes: a first clutch, and a second clutch; and wherein the at least one actuator includes: a first actuator including a motor, the motor of the first actuator including a rotation shaft connected to the first guide via the first clutch, and a second actuator including a motor, the motor of the second actuator including a rotation shaft connected to the second guide via the second clutch. However, Rihn teaches a gaming controller (abstract and Fig. 1, item 150) wherein a motor is attached to a gaming controller joystick (Fig. 8A, item 810 and paragraph [0078] referred to as analogue stick as well) in order to provide feedback (paragraph [0077]) with the position of a joystick detected via a sensor (paragraph [0077]) with feedback based on detected position (paragraph [0077] since a joystick tilts to provide input this would include a tilt position) and Coe teaches a gaming controller (abstract and Fig. 2A) comprising joystick input devices (Fig. 2A, items 120 and 121) wherein a guide is included to control motion of the joysticks (col. 10, lines 62 to col. 11, line 18). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Schmitz with Rihn and Coe, since the feedback system of Schmitz could be applied to joysticks, see Rihn for feedback on joysticks, since this allows for resistance to similarly be provided as a joystick is tilted thereby providing more feedback (paragraphs [0022]-[0023] of Schmitz shows that more feedback is desired) associated with input on a joystick increasing a player’s interaction (paragraph [0003] of Rihn) with the game. As per the guide Schmitz is modifiable to apply the guide concept of Coe to the joystick in order to restrict movement as desired including a plurality of guides to insure that all axis movements are addressed which allows for greater control on how a joystick is permitted to move and thereby prevent improper movement. Examiner additionally note this would include a plurality of clutches for each guide since the clutch is used to provide feedback on the movement and by including these components per guide the feedback is able to be better refined to provide feedback for a given movement.
As per claim 34, Schmitz teaches a device wherein the first clutch and the second clutch are each electromagnetic clutches (paragraph [0047]).
As per claim 35, Schmitz does not teach a device wherein the first actuator includes a sensor that is configured to detect a tilt angle of the first guide, and wherein the second actuator further includes a sensor that is configured to detect a tilt angle of the second guide. However, Schmitz does teach a sensor to detect position (paragraph [0113]), Rihn teaches a gaming controller (abstract and Fig. 1, item 150) wherein a motor is attached to a gaming controller joystick (Fig. 8A, item 810 and paragraph [0078] referred to as analogue stick as well) in order to provide feedback (paragraph [0077]) with the position of a joystick detected via a sensor (paragraph [0077]) with feedback based on detected position (paragraph [0077] since a joystick tilts to provide input this would include a tilt position) and Coe teaches a gaming controller (abstract and Fig. 2A) comprising joystick input devices (Fig. 2A, items 120 and 121) wherein a guide is included to control motion of the joysticks (col. 10, lines 62 to col. 11, line 18). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Schmitz with Rihn and Coe, since the feedback system of Schmitz could be applied to joysticks, see Rihn for feedback on joysticks, since this allows for resistance to similarly be provided as a joystick is tilted thereby providing more feedback (paragraphs [0022]-[0023] of Schmitz shows that more feedback is desired) associated with input on a joystick increasing a player’s interaction (paragraph [0003] of Rihn) with the game. As per the guide Schmitz is modifiable to apply the guide concept of Coe to the joystick in order to restrict movement as desired including a plurality of guides to insure that all axis movements are addressed which allows for greater control on how a joystick is permitted to move and thereby prevent improper movement. Examiner notes that by including sensors along each axis, associated with the guide, the system is better able to determine movement in the same manner as movement is determined via the trigger pull by detecting it via the movement assembly.
As per claim 36, Schmitz does not teach a device wherein the at least one clutch includes :a first clutch, and a second clutch; and the at least one actuator includes: a first actuator including a pair of motors, and a second actuator including a pair of motors. However, Schmitz teaches a clutch in controlling power from a motor (paragraphs [0045]-[0046]) and including a separate motor for controlling the clutch (paragraph [0047] “active clutch may include another motor”) and Coe teaches a gaming controller (abstract and Fig. 2A) comprising joystick input devices (Fig. 2A, items 120 and 121) wherein a guide is included to control motion of the joysticks (col. 10, lines 62 to col. 11, line 18). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Schmitz with Rihn and Coe, since Schmitz is modifiable to apply the guide concept of Coe to the joystick in order to restrict movement as desired including a plurality of guides to insure that all axis movements are addressed which allows for greater control on how a joystick is permitted to move and thereby prevent improper movement. Examiner additionally note this would include a plurality of clutches for each guide since the clutch is used to provide feedback on the movement and by including these components per guide the feedback is able to be better refined to provide feedback for a given movement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims include additional components that would not have been an obvious modification of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Black et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0276499 A1) teaches a controller which includes a joystick which can include up to two motors to control movement of the joystick.
Grant (US Pat. No. 9,557,830 B2) teaches a haptic gaming joystick including "modify the stiffness of the manipulandum in response to the control signal from the processor.".
Bleich et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0094310 A1) teaches a joystick controller wherein motors are included and resistance is provided based on movement.
/JUSTIN L MYHR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 6/9/2026