DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the prior art references do not teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the plurality of power modes selectable by the user input is limited based on a remaining life of the instrument,” as recited in claims 1, 9, and 17, as amended. See Remarks at 6-8.
Applicant’s fist argument has been fully considered but it is not persuasive. See discussion below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diolaiti et al. (WO 2013123310 A1, 2013-08-22) (hereinafter “Diolaiti”) in view of Swarup et al. (US 20090088774 A1, 2009-04-02) (hereinafter “Swarup”).
Regarding claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-19, Diolaiti teaches a surgical robotic system (and a method of use) comprising: a robotic arm (e.g., 2514) including an instrument (e.g., [0029]) and an instrument drive unit (e.g., [0031]) configured to couple to and to actuate the instrument; a display configured to output a graphical user interface (e.g., [0003]); a surgeon console including a handle controller (e.g., 41, 42) configured to control the robotic arm and the instrument; and a processor (e.g., 43) configured to: receive a user input from the graphical user interface, the user input selecting an operating mode from a plurality of operating modes for the instrument drive unit (e.g., [0036], [0039]-[0043).
Diolaiti does not expressly teach power modes as operating modes.
Swarup teaches a plurality of power modes. See, e.g., [0288] (disclosing normal mode and torque limited mode of driving the end effectors).
Swarup also teaches measuring and storing tool life and cumulative tool use information for purposes of safety. See, e.g., [0091] (“Additionally, some robotic surgical tools have a limited life span. Tool life and cumulative tool use information may also be stored on the tool memory and used by the computer to determine if the tool is still safe for use. Total tool life may be measured by clock time, by procedure, by the number of times the tool has been loaded onto a holder, and in other ways specific to the type of tool. Tool life data is preferably stored in the memory of the tool using an irreversible writing process.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Swarup with the invention taught by Diolaiti such that the invention further comprises wherein the user input selecting a power mode from a plurality of power modes for the instrument drive unit, the plurality of power modes includes a full power mode during which the instrument drive unit is fully powered and a low power mode during which the instrument drive unit is partially powered, wherein the plurality of power modes selectable by the user input is limited based on a remaining life of the instrument; and set the instrument drive unit to the selected power mode (as recited in claims 1, 9, 17); further comprising: a storage device including user settings having a preset power mode (as recited in claims 2, 10); wherein the processor is further configured to receive the user settings and the set the instrument drive unit to the preset power mode (as recited in claims 3, 11); wherein the graphical user interface is configured to display the plurality of power modes (as recited in claims 4, 12, 18); wherein the display is a touchscreen and the user input includes touching the power mode (as recited in claims 5, 13, 19); wherein the handle controller includes an input device configured to select the power mode (as recited in claims 6, 14) in order to improve the usability and safety of the system.
Claims 7, 8, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diolaiti in view of Swarup, as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17, and further in view of Shelton et al. (US 20190142449 A1, 2019-05-16) (hereinafter “Shelton”).
Regarding claims 7, 8, 15, 16, and 20, Diolaiti (in view of Swarup) teaches a surgical robotic system (and a method of use), except comprising wherein the input device is configured to measure a grip force of the handle controller.
Shelton teaches wherein the input device is configured to measure a grip force of the handle controller. See, e.g., Fig. 78A-78B, 79 and associated text.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shelton with the inveniton taught by Diolaiti (in view of Swarup such that wherein the input device is configured to measure a grip force of the handle controller (as recited in claims 7, 15); wherein the processor is further configured to select the power mode based on the grip force (as recited in claims 8, 16, 20) in order to improve the usability of invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Scott Luan
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792