DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDS have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular references in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diolaiti et al. (WO 2013123310 A1, 2013-08-22) (hereinafter “Diolaiti”) in view of Swarup et al. (US 20090088774 A1, 2009-04-02) (hereinafter “Swarup”).
Regarding claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-19, Diolaiti teaches a surgical robotic system (and a method of use) comprising: a robotic arm (e.g., 2514) including an instrument (e.g., [0029]) and an instrument drive unit (e.g., [0031]) configured to couple to and to actuate the instrument; a display configured to output a graphical user interface (e.g., [0003]); a surgeon console including a handle controller (e.g., 41, 42) configured to control the robotic arm and the instrument; and a processor (e.g., 43) configured to: receive a user input from the graphical user interface, the user input selecting an operating mode from a plurality of operating modes for the instrument drive unit (e.g., [0036], [0039]-[0043).
Diolaiti does not expressly teach power modes as operating modes.
Swarup teaches a plurality of power modes. See, e.g., [0288] (disclosing normal mode and torque limited mode of driving the end effectors).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Swarup with the invention taught by Diolaiti such that the invention further comprises wherein the user input selecting a power mode from a plurality of power modes for the instrument drive unit, the plurality of power modes includes a full power mode during which the instrument drive unit is fully powered and a low power mode during which the instrument drive unit is partially powered; and set the instrument drive unit to the selected power mode (as recited in claims 1, 9, 17); further comprising: a storage device including user settings having a preset power mode (as recited in claims 2, 10); wherein the processor is further configured to receive the user settings and the set the instrument drive unit to the preset power mode (as recited in claims 3, 11); wherein the graphical user interface is configured to display the plurality of power modes (as recited in claims 4, 12, 18); wherein the display is a touchscreen and the user input includes touching the power mode (as recited in claims 5, 13, 19); wherein the handle controller includes an input device configured to select the power mode (as recited in claims 6, 14);
Claims 7, 8, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diolaiti in view of Swarup, as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17, and further in view of Shelton et al. (US 20190142449 A1, 2019-05-16) (hereinafter “Shelton”).
Regarding claims 7, 8, 15, 16, and 20, Diolaiti (in view of Swarup) teaches a surgical robotic system (and a method of use), except comprising wherein the input device is configured to measure a grip force of the handle controller.
Shelton teaches wherein the input device is configured to measure a grip force of the handle controller. See, e.g., Fig. 78A-78B, 79 and associated text.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shelton with the inveniton taught by Diolaiti (in view of Swarup such that wherein the input device is configured to measure a grip force of the handle controller (as recited in claims 7, 15); wherein the processor is further configured to select the power mode based on the grip force (as recited in claims 8, 16, 20) in order to improve the usability of invention.
Conclusion
Scott Luan
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792