DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on Aug. 31, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed Oct. 8, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 11-19, and 26-29 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection, and 101 and 102 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed July 28, 2026.
It is noted that applicant’s amendments to the claims request cancellation of claim 25. Claim 25 does not appear in the amended claim set at all and does not contain the “Cancelled” status indicator, but will be treated as cancelled for the purposes of examination.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections:
Applicant amended claims and addressed all previous objections and the previous objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101:
Applicant amended claims and addressed all previous 101 rejections and the previous 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103:
Applicant amended claims and overcomes previous 102 rejection and the previous 102 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed Oct. 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 8-12 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that the claimed offset does not require different thresholds or different events at different times but requires a third predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal. The claim does not preclude the count from being based on different events from occurring. In response to applicant's arguments, a recitation of the functional language of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional language, then it meets the claim. In this case, Bolea teaches real-time clock provides the basic time base (32 KHz) for the INS circuit 1130 as well as a clock (year, day, hour, minute, second) which can be used to control the scheduled delivery of therapy (¶[0463]) and during a session, the start of stimulation may be delayed by a programmable delay, subject to patient preference (¶[0516]). Therefore, the stimulation circuit is capable of outputting the stimulation pulses based on the clock signal, it is capable of stimulating and sensing at every predetermined number of cycles starting when indicated to start. Bolea, Nelson, Keller, and McDonald teach all of the required structural elements in order to accomplish the claimed language and therefore read on the claim.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is true that Nelson and Keller each only teach one counter, however, both references teach different reasons to have counters (stimulation and sensing) and when combined with the teachings of Bolea provide different benefits for each counter. Further, either of the references taken alone would still be obvious over the two counter claim requirement as including two counters as opposed to one would have been obvious since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Even further, applicant argues that McDonald does not remedy the deficiencies. McDonald teaches a reason that the two counters would be offset. Although McDonald does not teach the first and second counter being tied to the sensing and stimulating circuit, McDonald is modifying the two counters previously introduced by Nelson and Keller in the device of Bolea. In the case where there are two counters, as discussed in McDonald, the action occurring at the second count can occur at a time that is less than the action of the first count, meaning the two counts occur at different times and are therefore, offset from each other. The reason for doing this is so that the actions that occur at the end of the counts do not occur at the same time as each other. Further, the claim does not describe what the first, second, and third predetermined number of cycles consists of and therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, any value could read on any of the predetermined numbers.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Interpretation
In all claims, “clock signal” refers to a signal that can generated by a clock with repeating frequency.
Claim limitation(s) is/are: “an event detector to generate…” in claims 5 and 12 and all dependent claims thereof. MPEP2181(I)(A) states “The following are examples of structural terms that have been found not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6: "circuit," "detent mechanism," "digital detector," "reciprocating member," "connector assembly," "perforation," "sealingly connected joints," and "eyeglass hanger member."” Therefore, “an event detector” does not invoke 112(f) and is being interpreted as a digital detector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-19, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolea (US 20140228905 A1, published Aug. 18, 2014, hereinafter referred to as “Bolea”) in view of Nelson et al. (US 5292342 A, published Mar. 8, 1994, hereinafter referred to as “Nelson”), Keller et al. (US 3557796 A, published Jan. 26, 1971, hereinafter referred to as “Keller”), and McDonald et al. (US 4275738 A, published Jun. 30, 1981, hereinafter referred to as “McDonald”).
Regarding claim 1, Bolea teaches a device (Fig. 63B “INS circuit 1130” ¶[0462] (INS = Implanted Neurostimulator System)) comprising: a clock to generate a clock signal (Fig. 63B “real-time clock” ¶[0462]; and “real-time clock provides the basic time base (32 KHz) for the INS circuit 1130 as well as a clock (year, day, hour, minute, second) which can be used to control the scheduled delivery of therapy” ¶[0463]); a sensing circuit (Fig. 63B “sensing circuits to monitor respiration via the RSLs 1200” ¶[0462] (RSL = respiration sensing lead)) to periodically sense a signal based on the clock signal; and a stimulation circuit (Fig. 63B “controlling the delivery of output stimuli via the STLs 1300” ¶[0462] (STL = stimulation lead)) to output a stimulation pulse train relative to the periodic sensing of the signal based on the clock signal (“One method of stimulating and sensing using the same lead is to interleave a sensing period within the stimulation pulse bursts during the duty cycle. In other words, the sensing period may occur between pulses within the stimulation pulse train. This approach may be used with electrodes/leads that directly stimulate and alternately sense on a nerve involved with inspiration or on a muscle involved with inspiration or a combination of the two.” ¶[0421] therefore, the sensing circuit measures at a periodic time and the pulse train occurs at a periodic time based on the sensing and since the clock can be used to control delivery of therapy, it is also capable of controlling the sensing signal).
Bolea teaches real-time clock provides the basic time base (32 KHz) for the INS circuit 1130 as well as a clock (year, day, hour, minute, second) which can be used to control the scheduled delivery of therapy (¶[0463]) and during a session, the start of stimulation may be delayed by a programmable delay, subject to patient preference (¶[0516]), and therefore, Bolea’s device is capable of have different time periods to offset the counters after sensing and stimulating. Bolea does not disclose the sensing circuit comprising a first counter to count cycle of the clock signal, the stimulation circuit comprising a second counter to count cycles of the clock signal, wherein the sensing circuit begins to sense the signal and resets the first counter in response to the count of the first counter equaling a first predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal, wherein the stimulation circuit begins a stimulation pulse and resets the second counter in response to the count of the second counter equaling a second predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal, and wherein the count of the first counter is offset with respect to the count of the second counter by a third predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal.
Nelson’s invention, concerned with the common goal of an implantable medical device driven by clocks, describes a blanking circuit. The blanking decode circuit defines a `blanking interval` which follows every sensed or paced cardiac event. During the blanking interval, the output signal O from blanking circuit 28 goes high; this signal is conducted on line 29 to a DISABLE input of sense amplifier 20. The blanking interval is indicated by a logical high level pulse of the signal on line 29. In this way output signals from sense amplifier 20 are prevented from affecting operation of pacemaker 10. In the presently preferred embodiment of the invention, it is believed that a blanking interval on the order of 100-mSec or so is appropriate. In that case, blanking decode circuit 28 would define the blanking interval as lasting for one 10-Hz clock cycle. It is to be understood that a blanking period comprising a greater number of clock cycle counts may be defined, depending upon the desired length of the blanking interval and the actual oscillation rate of circuit 22 (Col. 6, ln. 38-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to count cycles of the clock and sense and reset the counter when reaching a set number of cycles as taught by Nelson in the device of Bolea in order to prevent sensing signals from the operation of the stimulator.
Bolea and Nelson do not disclose the stimulation circuit comprising a second counter to count cycles of the clock signal, wherein the stimulation circuit begins a stimulation pulse and resets the second counter in response to the count of the second counter equaling a second predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal, and wherein the count of the first counter is offset with respect to the count of the second counter by a third predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal.
Keller’s invention, with the common goal of counting clock cycles, discloses an oscillator driving a binary counter. When the counter reaches a certain count, a signal is provided which causes a cardiac stimulator pulse to be provided. At the same time the counter is reset and again begins counting the oscillator pulses. Additionally, there is disclosed the digital demand concept, in which the counter is reset upon the sensing of a natural heartbeat, and the digital refractory concept, in which the output is inhibited for any certain time after the provision of a cardiac stimulating pulse or the sensing of a natural beat. To provide demand mode operation, the counter is reset in response to spontaneous cardiac signals thereby to prevent stimulation when the heart is functioning normally (Col. 2, ln. 15-18). This type of pacer is often provided with circuitry which simulates the refractory delay period of the heart. The reason for including such delay circuitry is that a spontaneous electrical signal which appears a short time after delivery of an artificial pulse is ineffective to pump blood, either because the natural refractory period of the heart caused the heart to ignore the spontaneous pulse or because the ventricle has not had time following the previous beat to be refilled with blood (Col 1, ln. 33-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to count cycles of the clock signal and stimulate the target and reset the counter when the count equals a predetermined number of cycles as taught by Keller in the device of Bolea and Nelson in order to account for an effective time for the stimulation.
Bolea, Nelson, and Keller do not disclose wherein the count of the first counter is offset with respect to the count of the second counter by a third predetermined number of cycles.
McDonald’s invention, with the common goal of controlling stimulation with two counts and a clock signal, discloses that responsive to the counter reaching a first count for causing a cardiac stimulating pulse to be provided and for resetting the counter means and further responsive to counter means reaching a second count less than the first count at a time after the stimulating pulse is provided for terminating the provision of the stimulating pulse (Col. 3, ln. 33-39). Therefore, the second count is offset from the first count.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to offset the two counters as taught by McDonald in the device of Bolea, Nelson, and Keller in order to provide a time to have the next action occur at a different time than the first action.
Regarding claim 2, Bolea teaches wherein the stimulation pulse train comprises a plurality of stimulation pulses, and wherein an interval between the periodic sensing of the signal and a stimulation pulse of the stimulation pulse train is constant (Fig. 63B “The stimulation output circuits deliver bursts of biphasic stimulation pulses to either STL 1300. These bursts may be synchronized to the sensed respiratory waveform.” ¶[0465]).
Regarding claim 3, Bolea, Nelson, Keller, and McDonald teach wherein the sensing circuit is to periodically sense the signal every first predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal.
Regarding the limitation of the sensing circuit is to periodically sense the signal every first predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal, the recitation of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional language, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device of Bolea, Nelson, Keller, and McDonald contains all of the structural components of the claim, is capable of sensing the signal based on cycles of the clock signal, and is therefore capable of sensing it at a predetermined number of cycles; see MPEP 2114(I) and In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2s at 1432.
Regarding claim 4, Bolea teaches wherein the stimulation pulse train comprises a plurality of stimulation pulses (Fig. 63B “The stimulation output circuits deliver bursts of biphasic stimulation pulses to either STL 1300. These bursts may be synchronized to the sensed respiratory waveform.” ¶[0465]), and wherein the stimulation circuit is to output each stimulation pulse of the plurality of stimulation pulses every second predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal (“real-time clock provides the basic time base (32 KHz) for the INS circuit 1130 as well as a clock (year, day, hour, minute, second) which can be used to control the scheduled delivery of therapy” ¶[0463] therefore, as this is functional language and the stimulation circuit is capable of outputting the stimulation pulses based on the clock signal, it is capable of stimulating at every predetermined number of cycles).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Bolea teaches a device which is an implanted medical device (Fig. 63B “INS circuit 1130” ¶[0462] (INS = Implanted Neurostimulator System)) comprising: a clock to generate a clock signal (Fig. 63B “real-time clock” ¶[0462]; and “real-time clock provides the basic time base (32 KHz) for the INS circuit 1130 as well as a clock (year, day, hour, minute, second) which can be used to control the scheduled delivery of therapy” ¶[0463]); a sensing circuit (Fig. 63B “sensing circuits to monitor respiration via the RSLs 1200” ¶[0462] (RSL = respiration sensing lead)) to sense a physiological signal of a patient beginning every first predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal; an event detector to generate a start signal in response to detecting a physiologic event of the patient (Fig. 63B “electronic circuitry 1130 contained in the INS 1100 enables…determination of the trigger point for stimulation” ¶[0457]; “The Default Algorithm block represents one or more pre-set trigger algorithms pre-programmed into the INS or physician programmer. The default algorithm used at a specific point in time while delivering therapy may be selected from a library of pre-set algorithms. The selection of the algorithm can be made automatically by the INS based on: patient sleep position (position sensor), heart rate (detectable through the impedance measuring system) or respiration rate. Clinical evidence supports that the algorithm used to predict the onset of inspiration may be dependent on sleep position, sleep state or other detectable conditions of the patient.” ¶[0329]); and a stimulation circuit to output a stimulation pulse train, the stimulation pulse train comprising a plurality of stimulation pulses (Fig. 63B “The stimulation output circuits deliver bursts of biphasic stimulation pulses to either STL 1300. These bursts may be synchronized to the sensed respiratory waveform.” ¶[0465] this is on an implantable nerve stimulator), each stimulation pulse beginning every second predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal, wherein the stimulation circuit begins a first stimulation pulse of the stimulation pulse train at a third predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal after the beginning of a previous sensing of the signal in response to the start signal (“real-time clock provides the basic time base (32 KHz) for the INS circuit 1130 as well as a clock (year, day, hour, minute, second) which can be used to control the scheduled delivery of therapy” ¶[0463] and “During a session, the start of stimulation may be delayed by a programmable delay, subject to patient preference.” ¶[0516] therefore, as this claim limitation is functional language and the stimulation circuit is capable of outputting the stimulation pulses based on the clock signal, it is capable of stimulating at every predetermined number of cycles starting when indicated to start).
Bolea does not disclose the sensing circuit comprising a first counter to count cycle of the clock signal, the stimulation circuit comprising a second counter to count cycles of the clock signal, wherein the sensing circuit begins to sense the signal and resets the first counter in response to the count of the first counter equaling a first predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal, wherein the stimulation circuit begins a stimulation pulse and resets the second counter in response to the count of the second counter equaling a second predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal, and wherein the count of the first counter is offset with respect to the count of the second counter by a third predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal.
Nelson’s invention, concerned with the common goal of an implantable medical device driven by clocks, describes a blanking circuit. The blanking decode circuit defines a `blanking interval` which follows every sensed or paced cardiac event. During the blanking interval, the output signal O from blanking circuit 28 goes high; this signal is conducted on line 29 to a DISABLE input of sense amplifier 20. The blanking interval is indicated by a logical high level pulse of the signal on line 29. In this way output signals from sense amplifier 20 are prevented from affecting operation of pacemaker 10. In the presently preferred embodiment of the invention, it is believed that a blanking interval on the order of 100-mSec or so is appropriate. In that case, blanking decode circuit 28 would define the blanking interval as lasting for one 10-Hz clock cycle. It is to be understood that a blanking period comprising a greater number of clock cycle counts may be defined, depending upon the desired length of the blanking interval and the actual oscillation rate of circuit 22 (Col. 6, ln. 38-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to count cycles of the clock and sense and reset the counter when reaching a set number of cycles as taught by Nelson in the device of Bolea in order to prevent sensing signals from the operation of the stimulator.
Bolea and Nelson do not disclose the stimulation circuit comprising a second counter to count cycles of the clock signal, wherein the stimulation circuit begins a stimulation pulse and resets the second counter in response to the count of the second counter equaling a second predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal, and wherein the count of the first counter is offset with respect to the count of the second counter by a third predetermined number of cycles of the clock signal.
Keller’s invention, with the common goal of counting clock cycles, discloses an oscillator driving a binary counter. When the counter reaches a certain count, a signal is provided which causes a cardiac stimulator pulse to be provided. At the same time the counter is reset and again begins counting the oscillator pulses. Additionally, there is disclosed the digital demand concept, in which the counter is reset upon the sensing of a natural heartbeat, and the digital refractory concept, in which the output is inhibited for any certain time after the provision of a cardiac stimulating pulse or the sensing of a natural beat. To provide demand mode operation, the counter is reset in response to spontaneous cardiac signals thereby to prevent stimulation when the heart is functioning normally (Col. 2, ln. 15-18). This type of pacer is often provided with circuitry which simulates the refractory delay period of the heart. The reason for including such delay circuitry is that a spontaneous electrical signal which appears a short time after delivery of an artificial pulse is ineffective to pump blood, either because the natural refractory period of the heart caused the heart to ignore the spontaneous pulse or because the ventricle has not had time following the previous beat to be refilled with blood (Col 1, ln. 33-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to count cycles of the clock signal and stimulate the target and reset the counter when the count equals a predetermined number of cycles as taught by Keller in the device of Bolea and Nelson in order to account for an effective time for the stimulation.
Bolea, Nelson, and Keller do not disclose wherein the count of the first counter is offset with respect to the count of the second counter by the third predetermined number of cycles.
McDonald’s invention, with the common goal of controlling stimulation with two counts and a clock signal, discloses that responsive to the counter reaching a first count for causing a cardiac stimulating pulse to be provided and for resetting the counter means and further responsive to counter means reaching a second count less than the first count at a time after the stimulating pulse is provided for terminating the provision of the stimulating pulse (Col. 3, ln. 33-39). Therefore, the second count is offset from the first count.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to offset the two counters as taught by McDonald in the device of Bolea, Nelson, and Keller in order provide a time to have the next action occur at a different time than the first action.
Regarding claim 6, Bolea teaches wherein the first predetermined number equals the second predetermined number.
Regarding the limitation of wherein the first predetermined number equals the second predetermined number, this is further limiting functional language and, the recitation of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional language, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device of Bolea contains all of the structural components of the claim, is capable of sensing the signal based on cycles of the clock signal, and is therefore capable of sensing it at a predetermined number of cycles which can be set to equal the second predetermined number; see MPEP 2114(I) and In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2s at 1432.
Regarding claim 7, Bolea teaches wherein the first predetermined number is an integer multiple or an integer divisor of the second predetermined number.
Regarding the limitation of wherein the first predetermined number is an integer multiple or an integer divisor of the second predetermined number, this is further limiting functional language and, the recitation of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional language, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device of Bolea contains all of the structural components of the claim, is capable of sensing the signal based on cycles of the clock signal, and is therefore capable of sensing it at a predetermined number of cycles which can be an integer multiple or an integer divisor of the second predetermined number; see MPEP 2114(I) and In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2s at 1432.
Regarding claim 11, Bolea teaches wherein the sensing circuit continues to sense the signal between stimulation pulse trains (“Nerves innervating muscles that are involved with inspiration, such as the hypoglossal nerve, have been shown to have greater electrical activity during apnea or hypopnea. This signal cannot be easily measured while simultaneously stimulating the same nerve. One method of stimulating and sensing using the same lead is to interleave a sensing period within the stimulation pulse bursts during the duty cycle. In other words, the sensing period may occur between pulses within the stimulation pulse train. This approach may be used with electrodes/leads that directly stimulate and alternately sense on a nerve involved with inspiration or on a muscle involved with inspiration or a combination of the two. The approach may allow sensing of apnea/hypopnea, as well as therapeutic stimulation.” ¶[0421]).
Regarding claim 13, Bolea teaches wherein the sensing circuit begins to sense for a physiologic signal of the patient at a fourth predetermined number of cycles after the beginning of a previous stimulation pulse of the stimulation pulse train.
Regarding the limitation of the sensing circuit senses a physiologic signal of the patient beginning a fourth predetermined number of cycles after the beginning of a previous stimulation pulse of the stimulation pulse train, the recitation of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional language, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device of Bolea contains all of the structural components of the claim, is capable of sensing the signal based on cycles of the clock signal, and is therefore capable of sensing it at the claimed predetermined number of cycles; see MPEP 2114(I) and In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2s at 1432.
Regarding claim 14, Bolea teaches wherein the third predetermined number of cycles is less than the fourth predetermined number of cycles.
Regarding the limitation of wherein the third predetermined number of cycles is less than the fourth predetermined number of cycles, the recitation of functional language must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional language, then it meets the claim. In this case, the device of Bolea contains all of the structural components of the claim, is capable of sensing the signal based on cycles of the clock signal, and is therefore capable of sensing it at the claimed predetermined number of cycles; see MPEP 2114(I) and In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2s at 1432.
Regarding claim 15, Bolea teaches wherein the physiologic event of the patient comprises inspiration or expiration (“Stimulation is generated by an implantable neurostimulator (INS) 1100, synchronized with inspiration as measured by the respiration sensing lead (RSL) 1200 using bio-impedance, and delivered to the hypoglossal nerve by a stimulation lead (STL) 1300.” ¶[0423]).
Regarding claim 16, Bolea teaches wherein the physiologic signal comprises a muscle signal (“The respiration sensing lead 1200 is designed to measure bio-impedance” ¶[0432] and “Changes in impedance are calculated by dividing the change in voltage by the excitation current, which correspond to movement of the diaphragm and lung to produce a signal indicative of respiratory activity.” ¶[0437]).
Regarding claim 17, Bolea teaches wherein each stimulation pulse of the stimulation pulse train comprises a cathodic portion and an anodic portion (“The excitation signal may comprise a 10 Hz biphasic constant current pulse, with the positive and negative phases of each biphasic pulse” ¶[0461]).
Regarding claim 18, Bolea teaches wherein the stimulation pulse train outputted to the nerve of the patient is configured to innervate the tongue and soft palate of the patient (“a nerve electrode may be attached to a specific branch of the hypoglossal nerve innervating the genioglossus muscle” for the tongue ¶[0162] and “activation of the genioglossus serves to apply tension to the styloglossus and the glossopharyngeal aspects of the superior pharyngeal constrictor muscle” ¶[0688]).
Regarding claim 19, Bolea teaches wherein the implantable medical device is configured to treat sleep disordered breathing (“The embodiments described herein relate to devices, systems and associated methods for treating sleep disordered breathing.” ¶[0003]).
Regarding claims 26 and 28, Bolea and Nelson do not disclose wherein a time between receiving the start signal and beginning the first stimulation pulse of the stimulation pulse train varies based on when the start signal is received, and wherein the third predetermined number of cycles between the previous sensing of the signal and the first stimulation pulse remains constant.
Keller teaches that when the counter reaches a certain count, a signal is provided which causes a cardiac stimulator pulse to be provided. At the same time the counter is reset and again begins counting the oscillator pulses. Additionally, there is disclosed the digital demand concept, in which the counter is reset upon the sensing of a natural heartbeat, and the digital refractory concept, in which the output is inhibited for any certain time after the provision of a cardiac stimulating pulse or the sensing of a natural beat. To provide demand mode operation, the counter is reset in response to spontaneous cardiac signals thereby to prevent stimulation when the heart is functioning normally (Col. 2, ln. 15-18). (Therefore, the pulse wave starts at a constant count after the sensing period.) This type of pacer is often provided with circuitry which simulates the refractory delay period of the heart. The reason for including such delay circuitry is that a spontaneous electrical signal which appears a short time after delivery of an artificial pulse is ineffective to pump blood, either because the natural refractory period of the heart caused the heart to ignore the spontaneous pulse or because the ventricle has not had time following the previous beat to be refilled with blood (Col 1, ln. 33-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to keep the third predetermined number of cycles between the previous sensing of the signal and the first stimulation pulse constant as taught by Keller in the device of Bolea and Nelson in order to prevent stimulation when the heart is functioning normally. In the case where the stimulation does not occur until a start signal occurs as is the case in Bolea, the time between the start signal and the stimulation pulse would vary based on when the last sensing signal was acquired.
Regarding claims 27 and 29, Bolea teaches wherein the event detector is configured to generate the start signal at any time (Fig. 63B “electronic circuitry 1130 contained in the INS 1100 enables…determination of the trigger point for stimulation” ¶[0457]; “The Default Algorithm block represents one or more pre-set trigger algorithms pre-programmed into the INS or physician programmer.” ¶[0329]; the event detector generates the start at any time since it occurs at physiological events which occur at any time).
Bolea also teaches during a session, the start of stimulation may be delayed by a programmable delay, subject to patient preference (¶[0516]; therefore, the stimulation circuit is capable of outputting the stimulation pulses based on the clock signal, it is capable of stimulating at every predetermined number of cycles starting when indicated to start, and capable of delaying stimulation); however Bolea and Nelson do not disclose wherein the stimulation circuit waits to begin the first stimulation pulse of the stimulation pulse train such that the third predetermined number of cycles between the previous sensing of the signal and the first stimulation pulse remains constant (“During a session, the start of stimulation may be delayed by a programmable delay, subject to patient preference.” ¶[0516]; therefore, the stimulation circuit is capable of outputting the stimulation pulses based on the clock signal, it is capable of stimulating at every predetermined number of cycles starting when indicated to start).
Keller teaches that when the counter reaches a certain count, a signal is provided which causes a cardiac stimulator pulse to be provided. At the same time the counter is reset and again begins counting the oscillator pulses. Additionally, there is disclosed the digital demand concept, in which the counter is reset upon the sensing of a natural heartbeat, and the digital refractory concept, in which the output is inhibited for any certain time after the provision of a cardiac stimulating pulse or the sensing of a natural beat. To provide demand mode operation, the counter is reset in response to spontaneous cardiac signals thereby to prevent stimulation when the heart is functioning normally (Col. 2, ln. 15-18). (Therefore, the pulse wave starts at a constant count after the sensing period.) This type of pacer is often provided with circuitry which simulates the refractory delay period of the heart. The reason for including such delay circuitry is that a spontaneous electrical signal which appears a short time after delivery of an artificial pulse is ineffective to pump blood, either because the natural refractory period of the heart caused the heart to ignore the spontaneous pulse or because the ventricle has not had time following the previous beat to be refilled with blood (Col 1, ln. 33-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to cause the stimulation pulse to wait after receiving the start signal so as to keep the third predetermined number of cycles between the previous sensing of the signal and the first stimulation pulse constant as taught by Keller in the device of Bolea and Nelson in order to prevent stimulation when the heart is functioning normally.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.N.C./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796