DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 -5, 9 -10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuta et al. (JP 2021156761 A.) relied on machine translation, and in view of Saito et al. (US 20150055923 A1.).
As per claim 1, Yuta et al. teach
A control device comprising (Yuta et al., para 20, processing device 4 which outputs the refractive index):
a processor that (a processing unit, page 5, claim 1, page 8, para 9): identifies a position of a marker in a multi-core fiber (Yuta et al., para 6, determining the position of the marker based on the refractive index of the cladding. Para 9, an imaging device 22 identifies the position of the marker through the optical fiber by two different intensity of the captured images of the side surface of the optical fiber, Then the conversion unit performs the inverse conversion of the optical fiber to output a refractive index. According to claim 10, the optical fiber is a multi-core optical fiber. Based on the refractive index distribution, the position of a marker is determined).
controls an alignment mechanism to align the multi-core fiber such that the position of the marker satisfies a predetermined condition (Yuta et al., paras 20- 21, Fig. 3, a control mechanism to align the optical fiber. The imaging unit captures the images YA and YB and XA and XB. The processing device 4 outputs the refractive index with a replacement process of the captured images described in para 20. In Fig. 3, the numerals 51 and 52 indicates the variation in the refractive index due to the marker. The processing unit determines the position of the marker based on the refractive index distributions which are X+, X- Y+ and Y-. The determination unit is performing a rotational alignment of the optical fiber 5 based on the position of the marker. Therefore, the alignment of the optic fiber 5 with respect to the refractive index to set the position of the marker in an end surface according to fig. 3 satisfies the predefined condition).
Although Yuta et al. teach the position of the marker in the side surface of the multi-core fiber, Yuta et al. do not teach identifies end surface of a multi-core fiber.
In the same field of endeavor, Saito et al teach
identifies end surface of a multi-core fiber (Saito et al, para 65, Fig. 1(b), identifying the observed end surface of the multi-core fiber 1 with the dispositions of the marker 7 from an arbitrary line-symmetric axis of the cores 3, also see Fig. 3., para 88, multicore fibers 40a and 40b have been aligned through central axes or central core positions and then rotated relatively to be aligned with position of the cores 3.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the alignment mechanism taught by Yuta et al. and to include the alignment mechanism taught by Saito et al. This would have been obvious because both Yuta et al. and Saito et al. teach a control alignment mechanism to identify the position of a marker in a surface of a multi-core fiber. By implementing Saito et al.’s alignment process with disposition of a marker, it will be possible to identify which one of the end surfaces of the multicore fiber the observed end surface is (Saito et al, para 65, Fig. 1(b), Fig. 3, para 88).
As per claim 2, the combination of Yuta et al. and Saito et al. teach
The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor further identifies a position of a marker in an end surface of an additional multi-core fiber, and in the controlling of the alignment mechanism, the processor aligns the multi-core fiber with respect to the additional multi-core fiber such that the position of the marker of the multi-core fiber relative to the position of the marker of the additional multi-core fiber satisfies the predetermined condition (Yuta et al., page 7, para 2, multicore fiber (MCF) includes plurality of cores, and the fusion splicer of the MCF is configured to perform both rotational and cross sectional alignment. Therefore, it will be able to connect the multiple corresponding cores. This process will allow us to adjust the rotational phase of the MCF. Also see para 9, 20-21 for the alignment process. Para 22, the optical fiber 5 is rotated in a predefined amount to adjust the measurement and the alignment process described in para 9, 20-21 are repeated. Also see, Saito et al., para 61-62, aligning the multicore fiber 1 with respect to fiber 7, In this process the refractive index of marker 7 is set to lower than the refractive index of cladding 5 to increase the difference between the marker 7 and cladding 5. This discrimination will allow the alignment process to reduce the light transfer from cores 3 to marker 7. The refractive index of cladding 5 is used as a predetermined condition and based on that the alignment is adjusted).
As per claim 3, Yuta et al. teach
The control device according to claim 2, wherein in the controlling of the alignment mechanism, the processor aligns the multi-core fiber with respect to the additional multi-core fiber such that the multi-core fiber is connected to the additional multi-core fiber via a general connection (Although Yuta et al. described an alignment process for the optic fiber 5 in para 20-21 and Fig. 3, Yuta et al. did not mention clearly connecting two optic fibers with a general connection.).
In the same field of endeavor, Saito et al. teach a general connection between two optical fibers. Therefore, Saito et al. teach the additional multi-core fiber via a general connection (Saito et al., paras 61-62, aligning the multicore fiber 1 with respect to fiber 7, In this process the refractive index of marker 7 is set to lower than the refractive index of cladding 5 to increase the difference between the marker 7 and cladding 5. This discrimination will allow the alignment process to reduce the light transfer from cores 3 to marker 7. The refractive index of cladding 5 is used as a predetermined condition and based on that the alignment is adjusted, also see paras 64- 65 for a general process of connecting the cores. Also see paras 88, 94 describes using fusion method with electrode to fuse the multicore fiber together. Para 95, Fig. 9(a) and 9(b), the multicore fibers 40(a) and 40 (b) are aligned through the central axis and then rotated to align with cores 3. The lights are applied towards a perpendicular direction of arrows A and B. The monitors 15a and 15b observe the profiles of light from the respective direction to adjust the outermost position. See Fig. 4. The above process of fiber 1, fiber 7 and 40(a) and 40(b) with fusion method with other alignment teaches the general connection.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the alignment mechanism taught by Yuta et al. and to include the alignment mechanism taught by Saito et al. This would have been obvious because both Yuta et al. and Saito et al. teach a control alignment mechanism to identify the position of a marker in surface of a multi-core fiber. By implementing Saito et al.’s alignment process with disposition of a marker, the additional multi-core fiber can be added through a general connection (Saito et al, paras 61-62, 65, 88, 94).
As per claim 4, the combination of Yuta et al. and Saito et al. teach
The control device according to claim 2, wherein in the controlling of the alignment mechanism, the processor aligns the multi-core fiber with respect to the additional multi-core fiber such that the multi-core fiber is connected to the additional multi-core fiber via an inverted connection (Yuta et al. claim 1, claim 11, para 9, describes Abel inverse conversion of the phase image of each imaging directions to obtain a refractive index distribution of the optical fiber. The conversion allows the distribution to invert from orthogonal directions to longitudinal direction. Then para 16 -19, describe how the Abel inverse transform the optical fibers to refractive index distribution, Para 20 describes the connection, also see, Saito et al., para 88, 94 describes using fusion method with electrode to fuse the multicore fiber together. Para 95, Fig. 9(a) and 9(b), the multicore fibers 40(a) and 40 (b) aligned through the central axis and then rotated to align with cores 3. The lights are applied in the perpendicular direction of arrows A and B, and monitors 15a and 15b observe the profiles of light from the respective direction to adjust the outermost position. Based on the alignment method described in paras 61-62 and connection method described in paras 88,94,95, the connection of the two optical fibers can be adjusted based on the position alignment of the marker 7 with respect to the cladding 5. It could be inverted or aligned).
As per claim 5, the combination of Yuta et al. and Saito et al. teach
The control device according to claim 2, wherein the processor further determines whether a connection to be conducted between the multi-core fiber and the additional multi-core fiber is a same-type end surface connection or a different-type end surface connection (Saito et al, para 65, determining the end surface. “As the foregoing describes, the marker 7 is disposed at a position shifted from an arbitrary line-symmetric axis of the cores 3 on the cross-sectional surface so that even when only one marker 7 is provided, it is possible to identify which one of the end surfaces of the multicore fiber 1 the observed end surface is.”).
in the controlling of the alignment mechanism, the processor: upon determining that the connection is the same-type end surface connection, aligns the multi-core fiber with respect to the additional multi-core fiber such that the multi-core fiber is connected to the additional multi-core fiber via a general connection (Saito et al. paras 61-62, describing connecting of two optical fibers with the disposition marker 7 in respect to cladding 5,aligning the multicore fiber 1 with respect to fiber 7, In this process the refractive index of marker 7 is set to lower than the refractive index of cladding 5 to increase the difference between the marker 7 and cladding 5. This discrimination will allow the alignment process to reduce the light transfer from cores 3 to marker 7. The refractive index of cladding 5 is used as a predetermined condition and based on that the alignment is adjusted), and
upon determining that the connection is the different-type end surface connection, aligns the multi-core fiber with respect to the additional multi-core fiber such that the multi-core fiber is connected to the additional multi-core fiber via an inverted connection (Saito et al., para 88, 94 describes using fusion method with electrode to fuse the multicore fiber together. Para 95, Fig. 9(a) and 9(b), the multicore fibers 40(a) and 40 (b) aligned through the central axis and then rotated to align with cores 3. The lights are applied in the perpendicular direction of arrows A and B, and monitors 15a and 15b observe the profiles of light from the respective direction to adjust the outermost position. Based on the alignment method described in paras 61-62 and connection method described in paras 88,94,95, the connection of the two optical fibers can be adjusted based on the position alignment of the marker 7 with respect to the cladding 5. It could be inverted or aligned).
As per claim 9, the combination of Yuta et al. and Saito et al. teach
A fusion splicer comprising (Yuta et al. para 20, processing device 4 which outputs the refractive index): the control device according to claim 2 (Yuta et al., a processing unit, page 5, claim 1, page 8, para 9); and the alignment mechanism (paras 20- 21, Fig. 3, Yuta et al. describes a control mechanism to align the optical fiber. The imaging unit captures the images YA and YB and XA and XB. The processing device 4 outputs the refractive index with a replacement process of the captured images described in para 20. In Fig. 3 the numerals 51 and 52 indicates the variation in the refractive index due to the marker. The processing unit determines the position of the marker based on the refractive index distributions which are X+, X- Y+ and Y-. The determination unit is performing a rotational alignment of the optical fiber 5 based on the position of the marker. Therefore, the alignment of the optic fiber 5 with regard to the refractive index to set the position the marker in an end surface according to fig. 3 satisfies the predefined condition).
As per claim 10, the combination of Yuta et al. and Saito et al. teach
A connector connection device comprising: the control device according to claim 6 (Yuta et al. para 20, processing device 4 which outputs the refractive index, para 25, the alignment connector rotates and aligns MCF based on the position of the marker determined by the measurement device,; and
the alignment mechanism (paras 20- 21, Fig. 3, Yuta et al. describes a control mechanism to align the optical fiber. The imaging unit captures the images YA and YB and XA and XB. The processing device 4 outputs the refractive index with a replacement process of the captured images described in para 20. In Fig. 3 the numerals 51 and 52 indicates the variation in the refractive index due to the marker. The processing unit determines the position of the marker based on the refractive index distributions which are X+, X- Y+ and Y-. The determination unit is performing a rotational alignment of the optical fiber 5 based on the position of the marker. Therefore, the alignment of the optic fiber 5 with regard to the refractive index to set the position the marker in an end surface according to fig. 3 satisfies the predefined condition).
As per claim 12, Yuta et al. teach
A non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions causing the processor in the control device according to claim 1 to execute (Yuta et al., claim 12, para 25, a computer to operate as the processing device):
identifying the position of the marker surface of the multi-core fiber (Yuta et al.,para 9, an imaging device 22 identifies the position of the marker in a multi core as the fiber optic by two different intensity of the captured images of the side surface of the optical fiber, Then the conversion unit performs the inverse conversion of the optical fiber to output a refractive index According to Claim 10, the optical fiber is a multi-core optical fiber. Based on the refractive index distribution, the position of a marker is determined).; and
controlling the alignment mechanism to align the multi-core fiber such that the position
of the marker satisfies the predetermined condition (paras 20- 21, Fig. 3, Yuta et al. describes a control mechanism to align the optical fiber. The imaging unit captures the images YA and YB and XA and XB. The processing device 4 outputs the refractive index with a replacement process of the captured images described in para 20. In Fig. 3 the numerals 51 and 52 indicates the variation in the refractive index due to the marker. The processing unit determines the position of the marker based on the refractive index distributions which are X+, X- Y+ and Y-. The determination unit is performing a rotational alignment of the optical fiber 5 based on the position of the marker. Therefore, the alignment of the optic fiber 5 with regard to the refractive index to set the position the marker in an end surface according to fig. 3 satisfies the predefined condition)
Although Yuta et al. teach the position of the marker in the side surface of the multi-core fiber, Yuta et al. do not teach identifies end surface of a multi-core fiber.
In the same field of endeavor, Saito et al teach
identifies end surface of a multi-core fiber (Saito et al, para 65, Fig. 1(b), identifying the observed end surface of the multi-core fiber 1 with the dispositions of the marker 7 from an arbitrary line-symmetric axis of the cores 3, also see Fig. 3. Para 88, multicore fibers 40a and 40b have been aligned through central axes or central core positions and then rotated relatively to be aligned with position of the cores 3.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the alignment mechanism taught by Yuta et al. and to include the alignment mechanism taught by Saito et al. This would have been obvious because both Yuta et al. and Saito et al. teach a control alignment mechanism to identify the position of a marker in surface of a multi-core fiber. By implementing Saito et al.’s alignment process with disposition of a marker, it will be possible to identify which one of the end surfaces of the multicore fiber the observed end surface is (Saito et al, para 65, Fig. 1(b), Fig. 3, para 88).
Claim 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuta et al. (JP 2021156761 A.) relied on machine translation., and in view of Saito et al. US (20150055923 A1.), and further in view of Bennett et al. (US 9696513 B2).
As per claim 6, the combination of Yuta et al and Saito et al. teach
The control device according to claim 1, wherein in the controlling of the alignment mechanism (Yuta et al., para 20, processing device 4, which outputs the refractive index, paras 20- 21, and Fig. 3, Yuta et al. describes a control mechanism to align the optical fiber. The imaging unit captures the images YA and YB and XA and XB. The processing device 4 outputs the refractive index with a replacement process of the captured images described in para 20. In Fig. 3, the numerals 51 and 52 indicates the variation in the refractive index due to the marker. The processing unit determines the position of the marker based on the refractive index distributions which are X+, X- Y+ and Y-. The determination unit is performing a rotational alignment of the optical fiber 5 based on the position of the marker. Therefore, the alignment of the optic fiber 5 with respect to the refractive index to set the position of the marker in an end surface according to Fig. 3 satisfies the predefined condition)
The combination of Yuta et al. and Saito et al. do not teach
the processor aligns the multi-core fiber with respect to a connector housing such that the position of the marker with respect to a position of a key of the connector housing satisfies the predetermined condition.
In the same field of endeavor, Bennett et al. teach
the processor aligns the multi-core fiber with respect to a connector housing such that the position of the marker with respect to a position of a key of the connector housing satisfies the predetermined condition (Bennett et al.,abstract, col. 5, lines 6- 20, Fig. 1, fiber optic connectors can be assembled to the multicore fiber, MCF component 10 with optical core elements comprising core elements 14,15,16, and 17 contained within a common outer cladding 11. The outer cladding is covered by a coating system 12 comprising coatings 12a and 12b. The coating system 12 comprising 12a and 12b teaches the housing of the connector. Also see, col. 5, lines 23-27, Fig. 11, A fiber optic connector can be attached to MCF component 10, and the connector is keyed to align core elements 14 and 15. Also see, col. 12, lines 43-46, Span connector 26, and Key 27 in Fig. 12 and Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the alignment mechanism taught by Yuta et al. and to include the alignment mechanism taught by Saito et al. and Bennett et al. This would have been obvious because the combination of Yuta et al., Saito et al. and Bennett et al. teach a control alignment mechanism to identify the position of a marker in surface of a multi-core fiber. By implementing Bennett et al.’s alignment process with attachment of a housing connector with key alignment, it will be possible to identify the position of the marker in an end surface of a multi -core fiber and protect it with housing connector with coating (Bennett et al., abstract, col. 5, lines 6- 20, Fig. 1, Fig. 11).
As per claim 7, the combination of Yuta et al and Saito et al. teach
The control device according to claim 6 (Yuta et al., para 20, processing device 4 which outputs the refractive index), wherein in the controlling of the alignment mechanism paras 20- 21, Fig. 3, Yuta et al. describes a control mechanism to align the optical fiber. The imaging unit captures the images YA and YB and XA and XB. The processing device 4 outputs the refractive index with a replacement process of the captured images described in para 20. In Fig. 3, the numerals 51 and 52 indicates the variation in the refractive index due to the marker. The processing unit determines the position of the marker based on the refractive index distributions which are X+, X- Y+ and Y-. The determination unit is performing a rotational alignment of the optical fiber 5 based on the position of the marker. Therefore, the alignment of the optic fiber 5 with respect to the refractive index to set the position of the marker in an end surface according to fig. 3 satisfies the predefined condition,
The combination of Yuta et al. and Saito et al. do not teach
the processor aligns the multi-core fiber with respect to the connector housing such that a symmetry axis of cores in the end surface of the multi-core fiber overlaps an axis line of the connector housing determined based on the position of the key (Bennett et al., col. 11, lines 57-67: col. 12, lines 1-46, Fig. 10-Fig. 13, a reference line L2 is a line of symmetry with MCF 20 with 180 degrees of bending. Also see Fig. 13, the symmetrical line L2 with 180 degrees aligned with the position of key 27 and with angle beta in a symmetrical line.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the alignment mechanism taught by Yuta et al. and to include the alignment mechanism taught by Saito et al. and alignment mechanism with respect to connector key taught by Bennett et al. This would have been obvious because the combination of Yuta et al., Saito et al. and Bennett et al. teach a control alignment mechanism to identify the position of a marker in surface of a multi-core fiber and align the position of fiber with respect to it. By implementing Bennett et al.’s alignment process with respect to the key connector, the overlapping multicore fiber can align symmetrically with respect to the key position which will make the alignment more precise (Bennett et al., col. 11, lines 57-67: col. 12, lines 1-46, Fig. 10-Fig. 13).
As per claim 8, the combination of Yuta et al and Saito et al., and Bennett et al. teach
The control device according to claim 7, wherein in the controlling of the alignment mechanism, the processor aligns the multi-core fiber with respect to the connector housing such that the marker is positioned at a side closer to the key (Bennett et al., col. 11, lines 57-67: col. 12, lines 1-46, Fig. 10- Fig. 13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the form 892.
/ROKEYA SHAWALI ALAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2118
/SCOTT T BADERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2118