DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/24 has been acknowledged and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “connection member” in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a mount unit in claim 1 (2000 @ figure 1).
a resonance unit in claim 1 (3000 @ figure 1).
a resonance module in claim 1 (3700 @ figure 1 and paragraph [81]).
a fixing module in claim 5 (2100 @ figure 1).
a first fixing module in claim 5 (2100a @ figure 1).
a second fixing module in claim 5 (2100b @ figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2025/0237595) hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1; Kim discloses a particle measuring device (100 @ figure 1) comprising:
a mount unit (300 @ figure 1) fixing a flow cell (200 @ figure 1); and
a resonance unit (400 @ figure 1) disposed behind the mount unit (300 @ figure 1), the resonance unit (400 @ figure 1) forming a resonance space (cavity 420 @ figures 1 and 8-9) that is open forward and rearward,
wherein the resonance unit (400 @ figures 1 and 8-9) includes:
a case (410 @ figures 1 and 8-9) disposed behind the mount unit (300 @ figure 1) and facing the resonance space (410 @ figures 1 and 8-9); and
a resonance module (430 @ figures 13-14) including a resonance plate (411, 412 @ figure 13-14) connected to the case (410 @ figures 1 and 8-9). See figures 1-14
Regarding claim 2; Kim discloses the case (410 @ figures 13-14) includes an accommodation opening (440 @ figures 13-14) accommodating the resonance plate (411, 412 @ figures 13-14), and wherein an end of the resonance plate (411, 412 @ figures 13-14) is fixed to the case (410 @ figures 13-14). See figures 1-14
Regarding claim 3; Kim discloses an end of the resonance plate (411, 412 @ figures 13-14) is coupled to the case (410 @ figures 13-14) to form a fixed end, and wherein another end of the resonance plate (411, 412 @ figures 13-14) forms a free end.
Regarding claim 4; Kim discloses the resonance plate (411, 412 @ figures 13-14) resonates by an acoustic wave of a specific frequency band (paragraph [0057]: e.g., A frequency of the acoustic signal corresponding to a size of nanoparticles to be measured may be referred to as a “natural frequency”. For example, the natural frequency may be included in the specific frequency band. For example, when the resonance frequency is close to the natural frequency, the resonance unit 400 can effectively amplify the acoustic signal resulting from the nanoparticles to be measure).
Regarding claim 21; Kim discloses further comprising a connection member (21 @ figure 13) connecting the resonance plate (411, 412, 420 @ figure 13) to the case (410 @ figure 13), wherein an end of the resonance plate (411, 412, 420 @ figure 13) is fixed to the connection member (21 @ figure 13) and forms a fixed end (430 @ figure 13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails discloses or render obvious a particle measuring device comprising all the specific elements with the specific combination including the mount unit includes a fixing module including a first fixing module and a second fixing module, wherein the first fixing module and the second fixing module are positioned in front of the resonance unit and are horizontally disposed with the flow cell interposed therebetween, and wherein the case includes: a first side case disposed behind the first fixing module; and a second side case disposed behind the second fixing module in set forth of claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Buermann et al (US 2019/0055598) discloses an apparatus can include a vessel, a reference surface, a preload, a scan actuator, and a transmitter. The reference surface can form a structural loop with a detector.
2) Masuda (US 2018/0372612) discloses a flow cell including a flow channel through which a sample fluid and a sheath fluid flow, a sample flow channel that introduces the sample fluid into the flow channel, and at least one sheath flow channel that introduces the sheath fluid into the flow channel.
/SN/
June 18, 2026
/SANG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877