DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the hard film does not have a diffraction peak intensity corresponding to an AlN having a hexagonal closest-packed structure in an intensity profile of a selected area diffraction pattern using a transmission electron microscope". The claim is describing elements that are NOT part of the invention thus it is unclear what the scope of the claim is.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the hard film does not have a diffraction peak intensity corresponding to an AlN having a hexagonal closest-packed structure in an intensity profile of a selected area diffraction pattern using a transmission electron microscope". The claim is describing elements that are NOT part of the invention thus it is unclear what the scope of the claim is and if any of the claimed elements are part of the claimed tool or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (PGPub 2002/0168552) in view of Sasaki (PGPub 2020/0198017).
Re Claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a coated cutting tool comprising: a substrate; and a hard film that is formed on the substrate, wherein the hard film is a nitride in which with respect to a total amount of metal elements (including a metalloid), Al is 60 at% or more and 70 at% or less, Ti is 20 at% or more and 40 at% or less, and one or more selected from W, Cr, Ta, Nb, Zr, Mo, and V are 1 at% or more and 10 at% or less, and with respect to a total amount of metal elements (including metalloid) (Ex. 1 in Table 1; Ex. 1 in Table 19; Ex. 1 in Table 21; claim 1), a nitrogen element (para. 25), and an Ar element (para. 25), and a crystal structure of the hard film is a face-centered cubic lattice structure (Ex. 1 in Table 1; para. 104-105), and a half-value width of an X-ray diffraction peak of a (111) plane is 0.750 or more and 0.95° or less (claim 9). Yamamoto does not disclose Ar is contained in an amount of 0.01 at% or more and 0.15 at% or less. However, Sasaki teaches Ar is contained in an amount of 0.01 at% or more and 0.15 at% or less (para. 44, 46; claim 1). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize Ar in this amount, as taught by Sasaki, for the purpose of optimal cleaning (bombardment treatment) of the tool (para. 67) and also since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Re Claim 2, Yamamoto discloses the half-value width of the X-ray diffraction peak of the (111) plane of the hard film is 0.78° or more and 0.95° or less (claim 9). Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Re Claim 3, as best understood, Yamamoto discloses the hard film does not have a diffraction peak intensity corresponding to an AlN having a hexagonal closest-packed structure in an intensity profile of a selected area diffraction pattern using a transmission electron microscope (claim 1).
Re Claim 4, as best understood, Yamamoto discloses the hard film does not have a diffraction peak intensity corresponding to an AlN having a hexagonal closest-packed structure in an intensity profile of a selected area diffraction pattern using a transmission electron microscope (claim 1).
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799