Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (US PGPUB 20180263066 A1, hereinafter Chiang (3066)) in view of Chiang et al. (US 20220400360 A1, hereinafter Chiang (0360)).
Regarding Claim 1, Chiang (3066) teaches a method implemented at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: initiating a packet-switched call via a first radio access technology (RAT) (see sections [0050] –[0058], 2A,2B,&3 “read as the eNodedB, as part of RAN/RAT, provides LTE radio coverage that enables the UE to establish a communication session over the LTE network, after the LTE has successfully attached to the LTE network and completed IMS registration, the user initiates a communication session (e.g. a call) by dialing a phone number”),
starting a plurality of session initiation protocol (SIP) timers responsive to initiating the call (sees sections [0050]- [0058], FIGS. 2A,2B, &3 “In paragraph [0053] read as at step 310, the UE determines which SIP session setup timers should be used for the call setup based on the selected setup procedures. It identifies the appropriate timers by matching the trigger and termination events associated with the SPI INVITE procedures sent from the UE to the IMS core (using the SIP INVITE method from the UE 100 to the IMS core 102)”).
Chiang (3066) fails to explicitly suggest responsive to at least one condition being present with initiation of a fallback process for the call, restarting a set of the plurality of SIP timers for the fallback process.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Chiang (0360) teaches responsive to at least one condition being present with initiation of a fallback process for the call, restarting a set of the plurality of SIP timers for the fallback process (see sections [0031], [0033] “in operation 122 of FIG. 1, In response to sending SIP request using the SIP REGISTER method, the originating UE 100 may restart the first timer 104(1) (Timer F) at 118. (sending a new SIP REGISTER request causes the UE to restart Timer, which starts counting again from its full duration until a response is received or the timer expires”, [0019] Furthermore, in instances where the preferred network (e.g., 4G, 5G, etc.) is unavailable or unusable for any reason, legacy networks, if available, may be used as a fallback protocol, such as by using a circuit-switch fallback (CSFB) mechanism”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of Chiang(3066) with Chiang (0360) to include by restarting a set of the plurality of SIP timers for the fallback process thereby, the use of timer improves the user experience overall by shortening the wait time to establish the communication session, thereby providing a more stable telecommunications network as taught by Chiang (0360) (see section [0014]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chiang(3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Chiang(3066) teaches each SIP timer has a corresponding default timer duration (see section [0033], FIG. 1A “A timer value defines a period of time (e.g., N seconds) after which the timer 112 will expire, as measured from starting the timer 112 at 114. The timer value may be specified in any suitable unit of time (e.g., seconds, milliseconds, minutes, etc.).
Chiang (3066) fails to teach restarting a SIP timer of the set comprises restarting with a starting duration equal to a sum of the default timer duration and an offset.
Chiang (0360) teaches restarting a SIP timer of the set comprises restarting with a starting duration equal to a sum of the default timer duration and an offset (see section [0057] FIG. 4 “read as 414 the device (e.g., the UE 100) may start/ restart a second timer 104(2) (Timer F1) in response to the user making the call attempt, the first period of time (e.g., N seconds) of the first timer 104(1) may be longer than the second period of time (e.g., P seconds) of the second timer 104 after”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of Chiang (3066) with Chiang (0360) to include by restarting a SIP timer of the set comprises restarting with a starting duration equal to a sum of the default timer duration and an offset, thereby providing a more stable telecommunications network as taught by Chiang (0360) (see section [0014]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 2, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches the offset is the same for each SIP timer of the set (see section [0060], FIG. 3 “if multiple different timers 112/212 were started at block 316 by the occurrence of a common trigger event, those multiple timers 112/212 can be monitored in parallel for respective timeouts. In the multiple timer scenario, each timer 112/212 can have a different timer value, or multiple timers 112/212 can have the same timer value”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 2, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches the offset for one SIP timer of the set differs from the offset for another SIP timer of the set (see section [0060], FIG. 3 “if multiple different timers 112/212 were started at block 316 by the occurrence of a common trigger event, those multiple timers 112/212 can be monitored in parallel for respective timeouts. In the multiple timer scenario, each timer 112/212 can have a different timer value, or multiple timers 112/212 can have the same timer value”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches the set is the plurality of SIP timers (see section [0060], FIG. 3 “multiple different timers 112/212 were started at block 316 by the occurrence of a common trigger event, the multiple timer scenario, each timer 112/212 can have a different timer value, or multiple timers 112/212 can have the same timer value”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches the first RAT is a Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) RAT (see section [0023] “The originating UE 100 is configured to utilize various radio access networks (RANs) and/or radio access technologies (RATs) in order to access the IMS core 102, UEs that are 5G New Radio (NR)-compliant UEs are configured to prefer attachment to corresponding networks, which offer relatively high data-rate throughput as compared to available legacy networks”).
the fallback process is an Evolved Packet System (EPS) Fall Back (EPSFB) process (see section [0043] “ the response 216(1) that stops the timer 212 is a response 216(1) from the MME 204 that is requesting setup of the dedicated EPS bearer. The response 216(1) may be in the form of a RRC connection response from the MME 204, and may initiate setup of the dedicated EPS bearer”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches starting the plurality of SIP timers comprises starting the plurality of SIP timers responsive to transmitting a SIP INVITE message by the UE to a first network via the first RAT (see section [0032] “call setup timer 112 of FIG. 1A is an example timer that is triggered when the originating UE 100 sends a SIP INVITE (to IMS core) as a setup procedure 110(1) of one or more initial setup procedures 110. As the name implies, a SIP INVITE is a SIP request that uses SIP as the signaling protocol”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 8, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches the at least one condition comprises receiving a Release with Redirect message from the first network (see sections [0042]- [0045] FIGS. 2A and 2B “the trigger event can comprise receiving a SIP 183 response that includes SDP information from the IMS core 202 (first network), read as timer is stopped when UE receives an RRC connection response from MME, requesting setup of the dedicated EPS bearer, that the termination event (i.e., the response 216(1) from the MME 204 for requesting setup of the dedicated bearer)”).
a determination that a second network can support the packet-switched call (see section [0024] “the originating UE 100 sends an attachment request by performing registration for services via both a legacy (i.e., circuit-switch (non-LTE)) network and a LTE (i.e., packet-switched) network”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches the first RAT is a Fourth Generation Long Term Evolution (4G LTE) RAT (see section [0023] “the originating UE 100 is configured to utilize various radio access networks (RANs) and/or radio access technologies (RATs) in order to access the IMS core 102. UEs that are fourth generation (4G) LTE-compliant are configured to communicate”),
the fallback process is a Circuit Switched Fall Back (CSFB) process (see section [0023] “the preferred network (e.g., 4G, 5G, etc.) is unavailable or unusable for any reason, legacy networks, if available, may be used as a fallback protocol, such as by using a circuit-switch fallback (CSFB) mechanism”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more sets of executable instructions (see section [0084] “ the computer-readable memory 604 comprises non-transitory computer-readable memory, Computer-readable memory 604, removable storage 606 and non-removable storage 608 are all examples of non-transitory computer-readable storage media”),
the one or more sets of executable instructions configured to manipulate at least one processor of a user equipment to perform the method of claim 1 (see section [0018] “one or more processors and one or more memories, as well as non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, by one or more processors perform various acts “).
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (US PGPUB 20180263066 A1) and Chiang et al. (US 20220400360 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shahidi et al. (US 20080198871 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 1, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) fails to teaches the set of one or more SIP timers includes at least one of a SIP RequestTimeout timer or a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer.
Shahidi teaches the set of one or more SIP timers includes at least one of a SIP RequestTimeout timer or a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer ((see sections [0056], [0057], FIG.4 “Flow control module 28 may establish a plurality of RLP flows 34 (where there are inactivity timers for the RLP flows) that correspond to different QoS reservations or commitments, QoS reservations that specify a commitment to specific traffic parameters (e.g., bandwidth, latency, loss, etc.), e.g., a VoIP application, a video telephony application, or other application that utilizes a media transport protocol such as real-time transport protocol (RTP)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) with Shahidi to include by the set of one or more SIP timers includes at least one of a SIP RequestTimeout timer or a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer, thereby reduce the likelihood of an inadvertent release of the air interface resources before all of the data flows have become inactive as taught by Shahidi (see section [0008]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 8, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) fails to teaches the at least one condition comprises expiry of a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer following a failure to establish a dedicated bearer for the packet-switched call by the first network, a failure to receive a Release and Redirect message from the first network, and a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet-switched call using the first RAT
Shahidi teaches the at least one condition comprises expiry of a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer following a failure to establish a dedicated bearer for the packet-switched call by the first network, a failure to receive a Release and Redirect message from the first network, and a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet-switched call using the first RAT (see section [0039] “read as flow control module 28 may activate a first RLP flow (e.g., RLP flow 34A) (where there are inactivity timers for the RLP flows) used by call management module 30 to exchange call control messages, such as one or more SIP requests and responses, with other devices, the third RLP flow is used by one or more applications to send data using a first QoS reservation to establish a plurality of data flows”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) with Shahidi to include by the at least one condition comprises expiry of a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer following a failure to establish a dedicated bearer for the packet-switched call by the first network, a failure to receive a Release and Redirect message from the first network, and a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet-switched call using the first RAT, thereby reduce the likelihood of an inadvertent release of the air interface resources before all of the data flows have become inactive as taught by Shahidi (see section [0008]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (US PGPUB 20180263066 A1) and Chiang et al. (US 20220400360 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of AGARWAL AMAN (WO 2022039496 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) teaches all the limitations of claim 8, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) fails to teaches the at least one condition comprises failing to receive a Release with Redirect message before expiry of a SIP RequestTimeout timer of the plurality of SIP timers and a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet-switched call using the first RAT.
AGARWAL AMAN teaches the at least one condition comprises failing to receive a Release with Redirect message before expiry of a SIP RequestTimeout timer of the plurality of SIP timers (see sections [73], [74] “read as the UE sends a SIP INVITE message, waits for a response using Timer, fallback to 4G if the timer expires or a temporary SIP failure occurs, and continues the 5G VoNR call if a response arrives before the timer expires”),
a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet-switched call using the first RAT (see section [93] “503 Service Unavailable", and the number of SIP Server Failure Responses "501/502/503" in response to transmitting the "SIP INVITE" message to the network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) with AGARWAL AMAN to include the at least one condition comprises failing to receive a Release with Redirect message before expiry of a SIP RequestTimeout timer of the plurality of SIP timers and a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet-switched call using the first RAT thereby, in 5G communication systems, development for system network improvement is under way based on advanced small cells, cloud Radio Access Networks (RANs), ultra-dense networks, device-to-device (D2D) communication, wireless backhaul, moving network, cooperative communication as taught by AGARWAL AMAN (see section [2] in Background-Art).
Claims 13,16,18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (US PGPUB 20180263066 A1) and Chiang et al. (US 20220400360 A1), and further in view of NAIK et al. (US 20220369197 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Chiang (3066) teaches initiate a packet-switched call via a first radio access technology (RAT) (see sections [0050] - [0058], 2A,2B, &3 “read as the eNodedB, as part of RAN/RAT, provides LTE radio coverage that enables the UE to establish a communication session over the LTE network, after the LTE has successfully attached to the LTE network and completed IMS registration, the user imitates a communication session (e.g. a call) by dialing a phone number”),
start a plurality of session initiation protocol (SIP) timers responsive to initiating the call (sees sections [0050]- [0058], FIGs. 2A,2B, &3 “[0053] read as at step 310, the UE determines which SIP session setup timers should be used for the call setup based on the selected setup procedures. It identifies the appropriate timers by matching the trigger and termination events associated with the SPI INVITE procedures sent from the UE to the IMS core (using the SIP INVITE method from the UE 100 to the IMS core 102)”).
Chiang (3066) fails to explicitly suggest responsive to at least one condition being present with initiation of a fallback process for the call, restarting a set of the plurality of SIP timers for the fallback process, a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one modem, at least one processor coupled to the at least one modem, at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory storing one or more sets of executable instructions configured to manipulate one or both of the at least one modem or the at least one processor.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Chiang (0360) teaches responsive to at least one condition being present with initiation of a fallback process for the call, restarting a set of the plurality of SIP timers for the fallback process (see sections [0031], [0033] “in operation 122 of FIG. 1, In response to sending SIP request using the SIP REGISTER method, the originating UE 100 may restart the first timer 104(1) (Timer F) at 118. (sending a new SIP REGISTER request causes the UE to restart Timer, which starts counting again from its full duration until a response is received or the timer expires”, [0019] Furthermore, in instances where the preferred network (e.g., 4G, 5G, etc.) is unavailable or unusable for any reason, legacy networks, if available, may be used as a fallback protocol, such as by using a circuit-switch fallback (CSFB) mechanism”),
a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one modem (see sections [0025], [0045] “the modem of the device may be used to determine that an attempt to establish a communication session has been made at block 304”),
at least one processor coupled to the at least one modem (see sections [0025], [0045] “the modem of the device may be used to determine that an attempt to establish a communication session has been made at block 304”),
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory storing one or more sets of executable instructions configured to manipulate one or both of the at least one modem or the at least one processor (see section [0013] “systems and devices comprising one or more processors and one or more memories, as well as non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, by one or more processors perform various acts and/or processes”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify Chiang(3066) with Chiang (0360) to include by restarting a set of the plurality of SIP timers for the fallback process with modem to access network with communicate with hardware thereby, the use of Timer improves the user experience overall by shortening the wait time to establish the communication session, thereby providing a more stable telecommunications network as taught by Chiang (0360) (see section [0014]).
Combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) fails to explicitly suggest at least one radio frequency (RF) transceiver, at least one RF antenna array configured to support a plurality of radio access technologies (RATs), at least one RF transceiver, and the at least one RF antenna array.
NAIK teaches at least one radio frequency (RF) transceiver (see section [0044] “the wireless transceiver 10 may include a baseband processing device 11, a Radio Frequency (RF) device 12”),
at least one RF antenna array configured to support a plurality of radio access technologies (RATs) (see section [0044] “the wireless transceiver 10 may include a baseband processing device 11, a Radio Frequency (RF) device 12, and antenna 13, wherein the antenna 13 may include an antenna array for beamforming”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of Chiang(3066) and Chiang (0360) with NAIK to include one radio frequency (RF) transceiver, at least one RF antenna array configured to support a plurality of radio access technologies (RATs), at least one RF transceiver, and the at least one RF antenna array, thereby to more efficiently perform the baseband signal processing, including Analog-to-Digital Conversion (ADC)/Digital-to-Analog Conversion (DAC), gain adjusting, modulation/demodulation, encoding/decoding, and so on as taught by NAIK (see section [0045]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Chiang (3066) , Chiang (0360) and NAIK teaches all the limitations of claim 13, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches each SIP timer has a corresponding default timer duration (see section [0033], FIG. 1A “A timer value defines a period of time (e.g., N seconds) after which the timer 112 will expire, as measured from starting the timer 112 at 114. The timer value may be specified in any suitable unit of time (e.g., seconds, milliseconds, minutes, etc.).
Chiang (3066) fails to teach restarting a SIP timer of the set comprises restarting with a starting duration equal to a sum of the default timer duration and an offset
Chiang (0360) teaches restarting a SIP timer of the set comprises restarting with a starting duration equal to a sum of the default timer duration and an offset (see section [0057] FIG. 4 “read as 414 the device (e.g., the UE 100) may start/ restart a second timer 104(2) (Timer F1) in response to the user making the call attempt, the first period of time (e.g., N seconds) of the first timer 104(1) may be longer than the second period of time (e.g., P seconds) of the second timer 104 after”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify Chiang (3066) with Chiang (0360) to include by restarting a SIP timer of the set comprises restarting with a starting duration equal to a sum of the default timer duration and an offset, thereby providing a more stable telecommunications network.as taught by Chiang (0360) (see section [0014]).
Regarding claim 18, Chiang the combination of Chiang (3066) , Chiang (0360) and NAIK teaches all the limitations of claim 13, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches starting the plurality of SIP timers comprises starting the plurality of SIP timers responsive to transmitting a SIP INVITE message by the UE to a first network via the first RAT (see section [0032] “call setup timer 112 of FIG. 1A is an example timer that is triggered when the originating UE 100 sends a SIP INVITE (to IMS core) as a setup procedure 110(1) of one or more initial setup procedures 110. As the name implies, a SIP INVITE is a SIP request that uses SIP as the signaling protocol”).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Chiang (3066) , Chiang (0360) and NAIK teaches all the limitations of claim 18, In addition, Chiang (3066) teaches the at least one condition comprises receiving a Release with Redirect message from the first network (see sections [0042]- [0045] FIGS. 2A and 2B “the trigger event can comprise receiving a SIP 183 response that includes SDP information from the IMS core 202 (first network), read as timer is stopped when UE receives an RRC connection response from MME, requesting setup of the dedicated EPS bearer, that the termination event (i.e., the response 216(1) from the MME 204 for requesting setup of the dedicated bearer)”),
a determination that a second network can support the packet-switched call (see section [0024] “the originating UE 100 sends an attachment request by performing registration for services via both a legacy (i.e., circuit-switch (non-LTE)) network and a LTE (i.e., packet-switched) network”).
Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (US PGPUB 20180263066 A1), Chiang et al. (US 20220400360 A1), and further in view of NAIK et al. (US 20220369197 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Shahidi et al. (US 20080198871 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chiang (3066), Chiang (0360) and NAIK teaches all the limitations of claim 13, the combination of Chiang (3066), Chiang (0360) and NAIK fails to teach the set of one or more SIP timers includes at least one of a SIP RequestTimeout timer or a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer
Shahidi teaches the set of one or more SIP timers includes at least one of a SIP RequestTimeout timer or a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer (see sections [0056], [0057], FIG.4 “Flow control module 28 may establish a plurality of RLP flows 34 (where there are inactivity timers for the RLP flows) that correspond to different QoS reservations or commitments, QoS reservations that specify a commitment to specific traffic parameters (e.g., bandwidth, latency, loss, etc.), e.g., a VoIP application, a video telephony application, or other application that utilizes a media transport protocol such as real-time transport protocol (RTP)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of Chiang(3066), Chiang (0360) and NAIK with Shahidi to include by the set of one or more SIP timers includes at least one of a SIP RequestTimeout timer or a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer thereby, reduce the likelihood of an inadvertent release of the air interface resources before all of the data flows have become inactive as taught by Shahidi (see section [0008]).
Regarding claim 21, Chiang the combination of Chiang (3066), Chiang (0360) and NAIK teaches all the limitations of claim 18, the combination of Chiang (3066), Chiang (0360) and NAIK fails to teaches the at least one condition comprises expiry of a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer following a failure to establish a dedicated bearer for the packet-switched call by the first network, a failure to receive a Release and Redirect message from the first network, and a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet-switched call using the first RAT.
Shahidi teaches the at least one condition comprises expiry of a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer following a failure to establish a dedicated bearer for the packet-switched call by the first, a failure to receive a Release and Redirect message from the first network, a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet-switched call using the first RAT (see section [0039] “read as flow control module 28 may activate a first RLP flow (e.g., RLP flow 34A) (where there are inactivity timers for the RLP flows) used by call management module 30 to exchange call control messages, such as one or more SIP requests and responses, with other devices, the third RLP flow is used by one or more applications to send data using a first QoS reservation to establish a plurality of data flows”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of Chiang(3066), Chiang (0360) and NAIK with Shahidi to include by the at least one condition comprises expiry of a SIP Quality of Service (QoS) Reservation timer following a failure to establish a dedicated bearer for the packet-switched call by the first network, a failure to receive a Release and Redirect message from the first network, and a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet-switched call using the first RAT, thereby reduce the likelihood of an inadvertent release of the air interface resources before all of the data flows have become inactive as taught by Shahidi (see section [0008]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (US PGPUB 20180263066 A1), Chiang et al. (US 20220400360 A1), and further in view of NAIK et al. (US 20220369197 A1 as applied to claims 13 & 18 above, and further in view of AGARWAL AMAN (WO 2022039496 A1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Chiang (3066), Chiang (0360) and NAIK teaches all the limitations of claim 18, the combination of Chiang (3066) and Chiang (0360) and NAIK fails to teaches the at least one condition comprises failing to receive a Release with Redirect message before expiry of a SIP RequestTimeout timer of the plurality of SIP timers and a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet- switched call using the first RAT
AGARWAL AMAN teaches the at least one condition comprises failing to receive a Release with Redirect message before expiry of a SIP RequestTimeout timer of the plurality of SIP timers (see sections [73], [74] “read as the UE sends a SIP INVITE message, waits for a response using Timer, fallback to 4G if the timer expires or a temporary SIP failure occurs, and continues the 5G VoNR call if a response arrives before the timer expires”),
a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet- switched call using the first RAT (see section [93] “503 Service Unavailable", and the number of SIP Server Failure Responses "501/502/503" in response to transmitting the "SIP INVITE" message to the network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of Chiang(3066), Chiang (0360) and NAIK with AGARWAL AMAN to include the at least one condition comprises failing to receive a Release with Redirect message before expiry of a SIP RequestTimeout timer of the plurality of SIP timers and a determination that the UE is unavailable to support the packet- switched call using the first RAT thereby, in 5G communication systems, development for system network improvement is under way based on advanced small cells, cloud Radio Access Networks (RANs), ultra-dense networks, device-to-device (D2D) communication, wireless backhaul, moving network, cooperative communication as taught by AGARWAL AMAN (see section [2] in Background-Art).
Conclusion
/ARTIBEN JAIMIN PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2645
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645