DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, clams 1, 3, 5-9, 11-17, and 19-22, in the reply filed on 9/9/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority did not check Box IV which indicates the absence of a “lack of unity of invention”. Applicant further states Groups I and Group II depend on each other and are inexorably linked that would not cause a search burden. This is not found persuasive because although the written opinion indicated an absence of a lack of unity of invention, The invention of claim 1 is suggested by WO2004/085558 because the concentration ranges taught by WO2004/085558 overlap those recited in claim 1 (as set forth in the Requirement for Restriction/Election dated 7/30/2026). As such there is a shared technical featured suggested by the prior art and therefore unity of invention is lacking. Furthermore, a search burden is not considered while restricting under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 11-17 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention because:
Claims 3, 5-9, 11-17 and 20-22 recites the limitation "The" coating composition in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and therefore the scope of the claim is unclear. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as "The 2K clearcoat coating composition".
Claims 1, 8, 12, and 19 set forth a molecular weight range but do not specify the units. For purposes of examination the units will be interpreted as g/mol.
Claim(s) 3, 5-9, 11-17, and 19-22 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they ultimately depend on claim 1 and therefore inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 11-17, 15-16, and 19-22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN105612227 to Nakamizu et al. (hereinafter ‘227, as found on the IDS dated 11/21/2024) in view of WO2020194928 to Nakamizu et al. For the purposes of examination, citations for ‘227 are taken from a machine translation equivalent of the document obtained from the European Patent Office website in October 2026. For the purposes of examination, citations for WO2020194928 are taken from the US equivalent US20220177716 to Nakamizu (hereinafter ‘716).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 11-13, 15-16, 19, 20, ‘227 teaches a transparent coating composition [0104] that is a two-component coating [0111] comprising 25-95 parts of hydroxyl containing acrylic resin (A1) with a hydroxyl value of 70-200 mg KOH/g and a glass transition temperature below -30°C [0031] with a molecular weight of 5,000 to 33,0000 [0072] (reading on all limitations of component (A) in claims 1, 3, 5, 19, and 20); 5-75 parts of hydroxyl containing acrylic resin (A2) with a hydroxyl value of 30-200 mg KOH/g, a glass transition temperature of -30-75°C [0032] (reading on all limitations of component (B) and (B-2) in claims 1, and 11-13); and a curing agent polyisocyanate compound (B) [0029] (reading on crosslinker (C) comprising at least one polyisocyanate). Additionally, the ratio of 25-95 parts (A1) and 5-75 parts (A2) read on the ratio between components (A) and (B) in the range of 6:1 to 1:2.
‘227 is silent regarding the crosslinker further comprising at least one amino resin.
However, ‘716 teaches a clear coat paint [0226] comprising a combination of crosslinking agents (A2) [0112] such as polyisocyanate compounds and amino resins [0087], wherein the amino resins are melamine resins [0106] (reading on claim 16) within the range of 0.5-40 parts by mass [0111] (reading on claim 15). ‘227 and ‘716 are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely coating compositions comprising crosslinked hydroxyl based resins.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a amino resin crosslinking agent in the amount taught by ‘716 into ‘227’s clearcoat composition.
The motivation would have been that an amount of 0.5-40 parts by mass contribute water resistance and finished appearance to the resulting coating [‘716, 0111].
Regarding Claim(s) 6-9, and 22, the component (B-1) of claims 6-9 and 22 is considered an optional embodiment because claims 6-9 and 22 depends on claim 1 and claim 1 recites a Markush group for the component (B) including (B-1) or (B-2). ‘227 in view of ‘716 teaches the clearcoat composition of claim 1, wherein the component (B) is (B-2), [0032]. As such, the limitations of claims 6-9 and 22 are considered to be met because claims 6-9 and 22 are further narrowing an optional embodiment (Component (B)) and claim 1 is rejected by a different component (B), i.e., (B-2).
Regarding Claim(s) 14, ‘227 in view of ‘716 teaches the 2K clearcoat coating composition of claim 1, wherein it is appropriate to select an equivalent ratio of isocyanate groups and hydroxyl groups in the range of 0.8-1.5 [‘227, 0099] thereby reading on the ratio range of 1.6:1 to 0.7:1.
Regarding Claim(s) 17, ‘227 in view of ‘716 teaches the 2K clearcoat coating composition of claim 1, comprising a hydroxyl-containing polyester resin [‘227, 0038].
Regarding Claim(s) 21, ‘227 in view of ‘716 teaches the 2K clearcoat coating composition of claim 1, wherein the first resin comprises hydroxyalkyl groups having 4-9 carbons [‘227, 0066].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11-17, and 19-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 15-20 of co-pending Application No. 19/131,807 in view of Nakamizu (CN113474427, hereinafter ‘227). Co-pending application teaches a 2K clearcoat composition comprising two hydroxyl group comprising resins [claim 1] at 15-75% and 2-25% [clam 11] with a Tg in the range of 10-80°C [claim 2] and molecular weights in the range of 3,500 to 12,000 [claim 4].
Copending application 19/131,807 does not explicitly teach one of the resins having a Tg of from -80°C to 0°C.
However, Nakamizu (CN113474427, hereinafter ‘227) teaches a low Tg hydroxyl-containing acrylic resin with a Tg of below -30°C [‘227, 0059]. Copending application 19/131,807 and ‘227 are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely coating compositions comprising crosslinked hydroxyl based resins.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to decrease the Tg of the first hydroxyl alkyl resin.
The motivation would have been that a low Tg hydroxyl-containing acrylic resin creates a coating with excellent scratch resistance, hardness, appearance, and adhesion [427’ , 0068].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
should be directed to Devin Darling whose telephone number is (703) 756-5411. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-5:00.
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ARRIE L REUTHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764