DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024, 1/21/2025, 8/14/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (Enhanced Total internal reflection using low-index nanolattice materials; Vol. 42, No.20/ October 15, 2017/ Optics Letters).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses Zhang discloses a composite material (a nanolattice material integrated between high-index media comprises a composite material; Abstract) comprising: a porous periodic nanolattice layer (nanolattice materials with periodic architectures comprise a porous nanolattice layer; Abstract); and a continuous layer (a high index material of a multilayer stack comprises a continuous layer; Abstract; page 4126, first full paragraph); wherein the continuous layer is disposed on the porous periodic nanolattice layer (the high index material comprising the continuous layer.is disposed on the porous periodic nanolattice layer; page 4126, first full paragraph); wherein the porous periodic nanolattice layer has a first refractive index (the porous periodic nanolattice layer has a refractive index between 1 and 1.3, which comprises a first refractive index; page 4123, second full paragraph) and the continuous layer has a second refractive index (the high-index material has a refractive index greater than the porous periodic nanolattice layer, and the refractive index of the high-index material comprises a second refractive index; page 4123, first and second full paragraphs); wherein the first refractive index and the second refractive index are different (because the high-index material has a refractive index greater than the porous periodic nanolattice layer, the first refractive index and the second refractive index are different; page 4123, first and second full paragraphs); wherein the porous periodic nanolattice layer comprises a plurality of pores defined by a nanolattice formed of hollow members (the pores are defined by hollow members depicted in Fig. 1(b) and that are mathematically modeled as rectangular tubes; page 4124, Fig. 1(b) and fifth full paragraph), the plurality of pores being periodic; and wherein the hollow members comprise a wall defining an interior void space [e.g., arranged in an ordered array] (the nanolattice material is periodic, meaning that the plurality of pores are periodic, e.g., arranged in an orderly array; page 4123, second full paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the composite material of claim 1, wherein the first refractive index is from 1 to 1.35; the second refractive index is from 1 to 4; the difference between the first index and the second refractive index and the second refractive index is 0.5 or more; or a combination thereof (the refractive index of the porous periodic nanolattice layer (i.e., the first refractive index) is between 1 and 1.3; page 4123, second full paragraph).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 10, 11, 13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 25, 27, 32, 38, 40, 44, 65, and 72 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Conclusion
Chang (20190369294) is being cited herein to show a reference that discloses some similar features to that of the claimed invention.
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872