DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024, 02/26/2025 and 02/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/21/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure filed on 11/21/2024 is accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) (page 1 paragraph [0001] of the present application) in view of Chiang (US 20210160720 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, AAPA discloses a user equipment (UE) communicatively coupled to a server and including one or more processors and a memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing executable instructions configured to manipulate the one or more processors (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0001] of the present application “To determine which cellular networks are available for connection, user equipment (UE) uses neighboring cell lists received from cellular networks that identify cells of cellular networks potentially available for connection”) receive, at the UE, a cell list based on location information of the UE from a database, wherein the cell list is generated from a plurality of neighboring cell lists from a plurality of cellular networks, select a cell from the cell list and camp on the selected cell (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0001] of the present application “To determine which cellular networks are available for connection, user equipment (UE) uses neighboring cell lists received from cellular networks that identify cells of cellular networks potentially available for connection. From the neighboring cell lists, the UE selects a cell to camp on based on, in part, the radio access technology (RAT) preferences associated with the UE. That is to say, the UE selects a cell of a cellular network associated with an RAT that is preferred by the UE to camp on. However, neighboring cell lists received from some cellular networks do not list every cell potentially available for connection within an area. These omissions arise from network vendors not upgrading the RATs used by a cellular network, a lack of communication between cellular networks, and cellular networks not supporting handoffs to certain RATs, to name a few. Such omissions can result in the UE not being able to connect to a cellular network using a preferred RAT which can potentially lower data throughput, increase transmission latency, and negatively impact user experience”). AAPA doesn’t disclose a crowdsourced server and crowdsourced cell list and crowdsourced database. Chiang discloses a user equipment (UE) communicatively coupled to a server and including one or more processors and a memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing executable instructions configured to manipulate the one or more processors (figure 1 and 8) a crowdsourced server and crowdsourced cell list and crowdsourced database (Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0015] , [0021]. [0031] “FIG. 1 illustrates an example crowdsourcing technique for building a knowledge base of cell information (sometimes referred to herein as a “cell map”) about cells that are observed by mobile devices at various geolocations throughout a geographical area“ … “By collecting crowdsourced cell information from a large number of mobile devices, the remote system is able to build a knowledge base of cell information (a “cell map”), and such a cell map may indicate cells that were observed by one or more mobile devices from various geolocations. In this sense, cell identifiers and/or frequencies of observed cells may be associated with particular geolocations in the cell map. The cell map may, additionally, or alternatively, store “bindings” between neighbor cells based on a common geolocation from which a pair of cells have been observed by one or more mobile devices.” … “Whether a single mobile device builds such a cell map in local memory of the mobile device, and/or whether a remote system builds such a cell map through crowdsourcing, over time, one can appreciate that a substantial collection of cell information about observed cells over a geographical area(s) may be stored and made accessible to a given mobile device (from local memory of the mobile device and/or via access to the central database of the remote system). In the case of crowdsourced cell information collected by the remote system, one can appreciate that such a remote system can potentially amass a large number of data points regarding geolocations, cells observed from those geolocations, and/or bindings between multiple neighboring cells, which can be made accessible to mobile devices for download and/or caching in local memory of the mobile devices, and for utilization by the mobile devices to improve their ability to recall cells that were observed (by themselves and/or by other mobile devices) during a previous visit(s) to a given geographical location” … “Crowdsourcing has advantages of building a more robust cell map by virtue of more mobile devices being used in more diverse geolocations.” … “. In the crowdsourcing example, the remote system 108 may aggregate the collected cell information 106 from multiple mobile devices 102 to create a knowledge base of cell information 106, sometimes referred to herein as a “cell map” 120. As its name implies, the cell map 120 conveys information regarding the whereabouts of the cells 100 that were observed by the mobile devices 102, and the cell map 120 can do this by associating the cells 100 with geolocations 110 where the cells 100 were observed by one or more mobile devices 102, and/or by associating (or establishing a “binding” between) multiple neighbor cells 100 that may be observable from a common geolocation.”)
AAPA and Chiang are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA the Crowdsourcing technique disclosed by Chiang. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have to building a more robust cell map (Chiang paragraph [0015]) (see also AAPA “the UE not being able to connect to a cellular network using a preferred RAT which can potentially lower data throughput, increase transmission latency, and negatively impact user experience”). See also KSR. In the KSR case, the Court stated that in certain circumstances what is obvious to try is also obvious, such as where "there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem, and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." Regarding hindsight, the Court found that "[r]igid preventive rules that deny fact finders recourse to common sense . . . are neither necessary under our case law nor consistent with it." The Court stated that "familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes," analogizing an obvious invention to the fitting together of pieces to a puzzle. The Court in this regard further stated that the person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, and not "an automaton."
Regarding claims 9 and 20, AAPA discloses a database communicatively coupled to a user equipment (UE) and including one or more processors; and a memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing executable instructions configured to manipulate the one or more processors (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0001] of the present application “To determine which cellular networks are available for connection, user equipment (UE) uses neighboring cell lists received from cellular networks that identify cells of cellular networks potentially available for connection”) receive, at the database, a respective neighboring cell list from a plurality of cellular networks, determine a cell list from the received neighboring cell lists and transmit the cell list to the UE based on location information associated with the UE (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0001] of the present application “To determine which cellular networks are available for connection, user equipment (UE) uses neighboring cell lists received from cellular networks that identify cells of cellular networks potentially available for connection. From the neighboring cell lists, the UE selects a cell to camp on based on, in part, the radio access technology (RAT) preferences associated with the UE. That is to say, the UE selects a cell of a cellular network associated with an RAT that is preferred by the UE to camp on. However, neighboring cell lists received from some cellular networks do not list every cell potentially available for connection within an area. These omissions arise from network vendors not upgrading the RATs used by a cellular network, a lack of communication between cellular networks, and cellular networks not supporting handoffs to certain RATs, to name a few. Such omissions can result in the UE not being able to connect to a cellular network using a preferred RAT which can potentially lower data throughput, increase transmission latency, and negatively impact user experience”). AAPA doesn’t disclose a crowdsourced database and a crowdsourced cell list. Chiang discloses a database communicatively coupled to a user equipment (UE) and including one or more processors; and a memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing executable instructions configured to manipulate the one or more processors (figure 1 and 8) a crowdsourced database and a crowdsourced cell list (Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0015], [0021], [0031] “FIG. 1 illustrates an example crowdsourcing technique for building a knowledge base of cell information (sometimes referred to herein as a “cell map”) about cells that are observed by mobile devices at various geolocations throughout a geographical area“ … “By collecting crowdsourced cell information from a large number of mobile devices, the remote system is able to build a knowledge base of cell information (a “cell map”), and such a cell map may indicate cells that were observed by one or more mobile devices from various geolocations. In this sense, cell identifiers and/or frequencies of observed cells may be associated with particular geolocations in the cell map. The cell map may, additionally, or alternatively, store “bindings” between neighbor cells based on a common geolocation from which a pair of cells have been observed by one or more mobile devices.” … “Whether a single mobile device builds such a cell map in local memory of the mobile device, and/or whether a remote system builds such a cell map through crowdsourcing, over time, one can appreciate that a substantial collection of cell information about observed cells over a geographical area(s) may be stored and made accessible to a given mobile device (from local memory of the mobile device and/or via access to the central database of the remote system). In the case of crowdsourced cell information collected by the remote system, one can appreciate that such a remote system can potentially amass a large number of data points regarding geolocations, cells observed from those geolocations, and/or bindings between multiple neighboring cells, which can be made accessible to mobile devices for download and/or caching in local memory of the mobile devices, and for utilization by the mobile devices to improve their ability to recall cells that were observed (by themselves and/or by other mobile devices) during a previous visit(s) to a given geographical location” … “Crowdsourcing has advantages of building a more robust cell map by virtue of more mobile devices being used in more diverse geolocations.” … “In the crowdsourcing example, the remote system 108 may aggregate the collected cell information 106 from multiple mobile devices 102 to create a knowledge base of cell information 106, sometimes referred to herein as a “cell map” 120. As its name implies, the cell map 120 conveys information regarding the whereabouts of the cells 100 that were observed by the mobile devices 102, and the cell map 120 can do this by associating the cells 100 with geolocations 110 where the cells 100 were observed by one or more mobile devices 102, and/or by associating (or establishing a “binding” between) multiple neighbor cells 100 that may be observable from a common geolocation.”) AAPA and Chiang are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA the Crowdsourcing technique disclosed by Chiang. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have to building a more robust cell map (Chiang paragraph [0015]) (see also AAPA “the UE not being able to connect to a cellular network using a preferred RAT which can potentially lower data throughput, increase transmission latency, and negatively impact user experience”). See also KSR. In the KSR case above.
Regarding claim 2, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, AAPA also discloses comparing the cell list to a neighboring cell list to identify one or more cells not identified in the neighboring cell list and selecting the cell from the one or more cells not identified in the neighboring cell list based on a radio access technology (RAT) priority list (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0001] of the present application “The UE selects a cell to camp on based on, in part, the radio access technology (RAT) preferences associated with the UE. That is to say, the UE selects a cell of a cellular network associated with an RAT that is preferred by the UE to camp on.”) Chiang also discloses cell list to identify one or more cells not identified in the neighboring cell list and ((Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0015] , [0021]-[0023], [0031] “In the crowdsourcing example, the remote system 108 may aggregate the collected cell information 106 from multiple mobile devices 102 to create a knowledge base of cell information 106, sometimes referred to herein as a “cell map” 120) and comparing the cell list to a neighboring cell list to identify one or more cells not identified in the neighboring cell list and selecting the cell from the one or more cells not identified in the neighboring cell list based on a radio access technology (RAT) priority list (Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0015], [0021]-[0023], [0031] “Each cell 100 may be associated with a particular radio access technology (RAT), or a combination of different RATs. In an illustrative example, the cell 100(1) may be associated with both 4G LTE and 5G RATs (as indicated in FIG. 1), and the cell 100(2) may be exclusively associated with a 4G LTE RAT (as indicated in FIG. 1). In this manner, a given mobile device 102 may employ whichever type of RAT is associated with the cell 100 to which the given mobile device 102 is attached”)
Regarding claim 3, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 2, AAPA also discloses the selected cell is associated with a fastest available RAT identified in the RAT priority list (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0001] of the present application “These omissions arise from network vendors not upgrading the RATs used by a cellular network, a lack of communication between cellular networks, and cellular networks not supporting handoffs to certain RATs, to name a few. Such omissions can result in the UE not being able to connect to a cellular network using a preferred RAT which can potentially lower data throughput, increase transmission latency, and negatively impact user experience.”) Chiang also discloses selected cell is associated with a fastest available RAT identified in the RAT priority list (Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0015], [0021]-[0023], [0031] “Each cell 100 may be associated with a particular radio access technology (RAT), or a combination of different RATs. In an illustrative example, the cell 100(1) may be associated with both 4G LTE and 5G RATs (as indicated in FIG. 1), and the cell 100(2) may be exclusively associated with a 4G LTE RAT (as indicated in FIG. 1). In this manner, a given mobile device 102 may employ whichever type of RAT is associated with the cell 100 to which the given mobile device 102 is attached”)
Regarding claim 4, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, AAPA also discloses the releasing a connection to a cell currently camped on by the UE (AAPA page 1 paragraph [0001] of the present application “the UE selects a cell to camp on based on, in part, the radio access technology (RAT) preferences associated with the UE. That is to say, the UE selects a cell of a cellular network associated with an RAT that is preferred by the UE to camp on”) Chiang also discloses releasing a connection to a cell currently camped on by the UE (Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0015], [0021]-[0023], [0031] “Each cell 100 may be associated with a particular radio access technology (RAT), or a combination of different RATs. In an illustrative example, the cell 100(1) may be associated with both 4G LTE and 5G RATs (as indicated in FIG. 1), and the cell 100(2) may be exclusively associated with a 4G LTE RAT (as indicated in FIG. 1). In this manner, a given mobile device 102 may employ whichever type of RAT is associated with the cell 100 to which the given mobile device 102 is attached”)
Regarding claim 5, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, Chiang also discloses n response to the UE camping on a first cell of a cellular network, transmitting the location information of the UE to the crowdsourcing database (Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0015], [0021]-[0023], [0031] “In an example process, a mobile device may send, to a remote system, a request for cell information about cells in a given geographical area. For example, this request may include a location associated with the mobile device and/or a location associated with a user account of a user of the mobile device, and the remote system may return location-specific cell information that is specific to the location included in the request for cell information”)
Regarding claim 6, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, Chiang also discloses in response to the UE moving a predetermined distance, transmitting the location information of the UE to the crowdsourcing database (Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0015], [0021]-[0023], [0031] “In an example process, a mobile device may send, to a remote system, a request for cell information about cells in a given geographical area. For example, this request may include a location associated with the mobile device and/or a location associated with a user account of a user of the mobile device, and the remote system may return location-specific cell information that is specific to the location included in the request for cell information”)
Regarding claims 7 and 10, AAPA and Chuang disclose claims 1 and 9, Chiang also discloses in global positioning system (GPS) coordinates of the UE and wherein the crowdsourced cell list is based on the GPS coordinates (Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0016], [0021]-[0023], [0031] “Crowdsourcing has advantages of building a more robust cell map by virtue of more mobile devices being used in more diverse geolocations. . The cell information accessible to a mobile device may inform the mobile device about one or more cells the mobile device can expect to encounter at a given geolocation. For example, if the mobile device determines that a current GPS location of the mobile device matches (e.g., is at least within a threshold distance from) a geolocation(s) specified in the cell information accessible to the mobile device,”)
Regarding claims 8 and 11, AAPA and Chuang disclose claims 1 and 9, Chiang also discloses in location information of the UE includes a cell identifier identifying a first cell currently camped on by the UE and wherein the crowdsourced cell list is based on the cell identifier (Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0016], [0021]-[0023], [0031] “In some embodiments, the mobile device may update cell information in local memory of the mobile device by storing a cell identifier associated with the discovered cell, a frequency associated with the discovered cell, and, in some cases, a signal strength associated with the discovered cell (as measured by the mobile device). The cell identifier, the frequency, and/or the signal strength may be associated with a geolocation that corresponds to a current Global Positioning System (GPS) location of the mobile device at a time at which the identifier, frequency, and/or signal strength information is obtained by the mobile device. In some embodiments, the mobile device may send updated cell information to a remote system that maintains a larger cell map in a central database. By collecting crowdsourced cell information from a large number of mobile devices, the remote system is able to build a knowledge base of cell information (a “cell map”), and such a cell map may indicate cells that were observed by one or more mobile devices from various geolocations. In this sense, cell identifiers and/or frequencies of observed cells may be associated with particular geolocations in the cell map,”)
Regarding claim 12, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, Chiang also discloses a smartphone (Figure 1 paragraphs [0001]-[0015], [0021]-[0023], [0031] “Mobile devices, such as smart phones, are configured to access a cellular network via cells” ... ” An individual mobile device 102 may be implemented as any suitable mobile computing device configured to communicate over a wireless network, including, without limitation, a mobile phone (e.g., a smart phone), a tablet computer, a laptop computer, a portable digital assistant (PDA), a wearable computer (e.g., electronic/smart glasses, a head-mounted display (HIVID), a smart watch, fitness trackers, etc.), and/or any similar mobile device 102.”)
Regarding claim 13, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, Chiang also discloses a tablet, mobile hotspot, personal computer, or router (Figure 1 paragraphs [0001]-[0015], [0021]-[0023], [0031] “Mobile devices, such as smart phones, are configured to access a cellular network via cells” ... ” An individual mobile device 102 may be implemented as any suitable mobile computing device configured to communicate over a wireless network, including, without limitation, a mobile phone (e.g., a smart phone), a tablet computer, a laptop computer, a portable digital assistant (PDA), a wearable computer (e.g., electronic/smart glasses, a head-mounted display (HIVID), a smart watch, fitness trackers, etc.), and/or any similar mobile device 102.”)
Regarding claim 14, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, Chiang also discloses an idle mode (Figure 1 paragraphs [0066] “For example, “idle mode” may be a mode where the mobile device 102 is not actively conducting a communication session (e.g., a voice call) over the cellular network. A mobile device 102, such as a smart phone, is often in idle mode when a user 208 carries the mobile device 102 in his/her pocket or purse without using the mobile device 102 (e.g., the screen is locked and the mobile device 102 is not being used)”)
Regarding claim 15, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, Chiang also discloses a connected mode (Figure 1 paragraphs [0040] “and/or determining that the mobile device 102 has transitioned from an airplane mode to a cellular communication mode (e.g., when a user 208 takes the mobile device 102 out of airplane mode, the mobile device 102 may check the cell information 106)”)
Regarding claim 16, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, AAPA also discloses a UE is configured to camp on a cell based on an operating mode of the UE (AAPA paragraph [0001] “To determine which cellular networks are available for connection, user equipment (UE) uses neighboring cell lists received from cellular networks that identify cells of cellular networks potentially available for connection. From the neighboring cell lists, the UE selects a cell to camp on based on, in part, the radio access technology (RAT) preferences associated with the UE. That is to say, the UE selects a cell of a cellular network associated with an RAT that is preferred by the UE to camp on.”) Chiang also discloses a UE is configured to camp on a cell based on an operating mode of the UE (Figure 1 paragraphs [0040] “and/or determining that the mobile device 102 has transitioned from an airplane mode to a cellular communication mode (e.g., when a user 208 takes the mobile device 102 out of airplane mode, the mobile device 102 may check the cell information 106)”)
Regarding claim 17, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, AAPA also discloses UE is configured to camp on a cell based on an RAT associated with the cell (AAPA paragraph [0001] “To determine which cellular networks are available for connection, user equipment (UE) uses neighboring cell lists received from cellular networks that identify cells of cellular networks potentially available for connection. From the neighboring cell lists, the UE selects a cell to camp on based on, in part, the radio access technology (RAT) preferences associated with the UE. That is to say, the UE selects a cell of a cellular network associated with an RAT that is preferred by the UE to camp on.”) Chiang also discloses UE is configured to camp on a cell based on an RAT associated with the cell (Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0015], [0021]-[0023], [0031] “Each cell 100 may be associated with a particular radio access technology (RAT), or a combination of different RATs. In an illustrative example, the cell 100(1) may be associated with both 4G LTE and 5G RATs (as indicated in FIG. 1), and the cell 100(2) may be exclusively associated with a 4G LTE RAT (as indicated in FIG. 1). In this manner, a given mobile device 102 may employ whichever type of RAT is associated with the cell 100 to which the given mobile device 102 is attached”).
Regarding claim 18, AAPA and Chuang disclose claim 1, Chiang also discloses the crowdsourcing database is configured to periodically poll a cellular network for a neighboring cell list Figure 1 paragraphs [0013]-[0015], [0021], [0031] “In the crowdsourcing example, the remote system 108 may aggregate the collected cell information 106 from multiple mobile devices 102 to create a knowledge base of cell information 106, sometimes referred to herein as a “cell map” 120. As its name implies, the cell map 120 conveys information regarding the whereabouts of the cells 100 that were observed by the mobile devices 102, and the cell map 120 can do this by associating the cells 100 with geolocations 110 where the cells 100 were observed by one or more mobile devices 102, and/or by associating (or establishing a “binding” between) multiple neighbor cells 100 that may be observable from a common geolocation.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Su (US 20170019846 A1) discloses intelligent PLMN Selection for Link Budget Limited Wireless Devices.
Sheikh (US 20230098894 A1) discloses multi-band multi-rat cell search.
Zhang (US 20150351021 A1) discloses device-type specific preferred.
/JUAN A TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634