DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-11,13-15, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takezawa et al. (US 2023/0140448).
In regards to claim 1, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
An electrolytic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor element (3 – fig. 3-4; [0043]) including anode and cathode foils (5 & 7 – fig. 4; [0044]) wound together with a separator (6 – fig. 4; [0044]) being interposed between the anode and cathode foils;
a case (2 – fig. 3; [0043]) that houses the capacitor element;
a sealing body (4 – fig. 3; [0043]) with which an opening of the case is sealed; and
a holding member (10 – fig. 3 & 6; [0043]) interposed between the capacitor element and the sealing body, the holding member holding an antioxidant that is more easily oxidized than the sealing body ([0061], [0049], & [0052-0054]).
In regards to claim 2, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, characterized in that the holding member is a sheet-shaped member that covers at least a part of a surface of the sealing body (fig. 3 & 6; [0058]).
In regards to claim 9, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, characterized in that the separator has a larger length than the anode foil or the cathode foil in a direction toward the holding member to come into pressure contact with the holding member (fig. 4-6).
In regards to claim 10, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, characterized in that the antioxidant includes at least one selected from a photooxidation inhibitor, a vitamin antioxidant, an amine antioxidant, a phenolic antioxidant, a phosphorus antioxidant, and a saccharide antioxidant ([0054]).
In regards to claim 11, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, characterized in that the holding member contains, as a base material, organic fibers, inorganic fibers, or resin fibers, or is constituted by a gelatinous medium ([0058]).
In regards to claim 13, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, characterized in that the holding member holds a solution including 2.5 to 20 wt% α-tocopherol serving as the antioxidant ([0052-0054]).
In regards to claim 14, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, characterized in that the capacitor element includes a conductive polymer layer formed therein ([0095-0096]).
In regards to claim 15, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
A method for producing an electrolytic capacitor, the method characterized by comprising:
a step of attaching a sealing body (4 – fig. 3 & 9; [0043]) to a capacitor element (3 – fig. 3-4; [0043]) including anode and cathode foils (5 & 7 – fig. 4; [0044]) wound together with a separator (6 – fig. 4; [0044]) being interposed between the anode and cathode foils, with a holding member (10 – fig. 3 & 6; [0043]) being interposed between the capacitor element and the sealing body, the holding member holding an antioxidant that is more easily oxidized than the sealing body ([0061], [0049], & [0052-0054]); and
a step of housing the capacitor element in a case (2 – fig. 3, 7, & 9; [0043]) and sealing an opening of the case with the sealing body.
In regards to claim 19, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
A holding member (10 – fig. 3 & 6; [0043]) included in an electrolytic capacitor characterized by including a capacitor element (3 – fig. 3-4; [0043]) including anode and cathode foils (5 & 7 – fig. 4; [0044]) wound together with a separator (6 – fig. 4; [0044]) being interposed between the anode and cathode foils, a case (2 – fig. 3; [0043]) that houses the capacitor element, and a sealing body (4 – fig. 3; [0043]) with which an opening of the case is sealed, the holding member being interposed between the capacitor element and the sealing body (fig. 3 & 6),
the holding member holding an antioxidant that is more easily oxidized than the sealing body ([0061], [0049], & [0052-0054]).
In regards to claim 20, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
The holding member according to Claim 19, characterized in that the antioxidant includes at least one selected from a photooxidation inhibitor, a vitamin antioxidant, an amine antioxidant, a phenolic antioxidant, a phosphorus antioxidant, and a saccharide antioxidant ([0052-0054]).
In regards to claim 21, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
The holding member according to Claim 19, characterized by containing, as a base material, organic fibers, inorganic fibers, or resin fibers, or being constituted by a gelatinous medium ([0058]).
In regards to claim 22, Takezawa ‘448 discloses
The holding member according to Claim 19, characterized by holding a solution including 2.5 to 20 wt% α-tocopherol serving as the antioxidant ([0052-0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP3002629U hereafter referred to as Elna Co. in view of Takezawa ‘448.
In regards to claim 1,
Elna Co. discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor element (3 – fig. 1; abstract) including anode and cathode foils wound together with a separator being interposed between the anode and cathode foils;
a case (2 – fig. 1; abstract) that houses the capacitor element;
a sealing body (5 – fig. 1; abstract) with which an opening of the case is sealed; and
a holding member (7 – fig. 1; abstract) interposed between the capacitor element and the sealing body. Elna Co. fails to disclose the holding member holding an antioxidant that is more easily oxidized than the sealing body.
Takezawa ‘448 discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising: a capacitor element (3 – fig. 3-4; [0043]) including anode and cathode foils (5 & 7 – fig. 4; [0044]) wound together with a separator (6 – fig. 4; [0044]) being interposed between the anode and cathode foils; a case (2 – fig. 3; [0043]) that houses the capacitor element; a sealing body (4 – fig. 3; [0043]) with which an opening of the case is sealed; and a holding member (10 – fig. 3 & 6; [0043]) interposed between the capacitor element and the sealing body, the holding member holding an antioxidant that is more easily oxidized than the sealing body ([0061], [0049], & [0052-0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an antioxidant as taught by Takezawa ‘448 into the capacitor of Elna Co. to obtain a capacitor with improved anti-aging properties.
In regards to claim 2,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized in that the holding member is a sheet-shaped member that covers at least a part of a surface of the sealing body (fig. 1 of Elna Co.).
In regards to claim 3,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized by comprising: a pair of extraction lead terminals (4 – fig. 1; [0011] of Elna Co.) disposed below the capacitor element, the extraction lead terminals each extending from a corresponding one of the anode and cathode foils ([0011] of Elna Co.),
wherein the sealing body has a pair of through holes (6 – fig. 2; [0011] of Elna Co.) formed therein, through which the respective extraction lead terminals are passed, and
the holding member has a pair of insertion holes formed therein, into which the respective extraction lead terminals are inserted (fig. 2; [0014] of Elna Co.).
In regards to claim 5,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized in that a diameter of the insertion holes is 0.5 to 2 times a diameter of the extraction lead terminals ([0014] of Elna Co.).
In regards to claim 6,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized by comprising: a pair of extraction lead terminals (4 – fig. 1; [0011] of Elna Co.) disposed below the capacitor element, the extraction lead terminals each extending from a corresponding one of the anode and cathode foils ([0011] of Elna Co.),
wherein the sealing body has a pair of through holes (6 – fig. 2; [0011] of Elna Co.) formed therein, through which the respective extraction lead terminals are passed, and
the holding member has a pair of cuts formed therein, through which the respective extraction lead terminals are passed (fig. 2; [0014] of Elna Co. – it is noted that a hole constitutes a cut).
In regards to claim 8,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized by comprising: a pair of extraction lead terminals (4 – fig. 1; [0011] of Elna Co.) disposed below the capacitor element, the extraction lead terminals each extending from a corresponding one of the anode and cathode foils ([0011] of Elna Co.),
wherein the sealing body has a pair of through holes (6 – fig. 2; [0011] of Elna Co.) formed therein, through which the respective extraction lead terminals are passed, and
the holding member has a pair of cutouts formed therein, the cutouts fitting to the respective extraction lead terminals (fig. 2; [0014] of Elna Co. – it is noted that a hole constitutes a cutout).
In regards to claim 9,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized in that the separator has a larger length than the anode foil or the cathode foil in a direction toward the holding member to come into pressure contact with the holding member (fig. 4-6 of Takezawa ‘448).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the holding member of Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 to pressure contact with the separator as taught by Takezawa ‘448 to obtain a capacitor with improved vibration resistance.
In regards to claim 10,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized in that the antioxidant includes at least one selected from a photooxidation inhibitor, a vitamin antioxidant, an amine antioxidant, a phenolic antioxidant, a phosphorus antioxidant, and a saccharide antioxidant ([0054] of Takezawa ‘448).
In regards to claim 11,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized in that the holding member contains, as a base material, organic fibers, inorganic fibers, or resin fibers, or is constituted by a gelatinous medium ([0013] of Elna Co.).
In regards to claim 13,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized in that the holding member holds a solution including 2.5 to 20 wt% α-tocopherol serving as the antioxidant ([0052-0054] of Takezawa ‘448).
In regards to claim 14,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized in that the capacitor element includes a conductive polymer layer formed therein ([0095-0096] of Takezawa ‘448).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a conductive polymer as taught by Takezawa ‘448 in the capacitor of Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 to pressure contact with the separator as taught by Takezawa ‘448 to obtain a capacitor with reduced ESR.
In regards to claim 15,
Elna Co. discloses a method for producing an electrolytic capacitor, the method characterized by comprising:
a step of attaching a sealing body (5 – fig. 1; abstract) to a capacitor element (3 – fig. 1; abstract) including anode and cathode foils wound together with a separator being interposed between the anode and cathode foils, with a holding member (7 – fig. 1; abstract) being interposed between the capacitor element and the sealing body; and
a step of housing the capacitor element in a case (2 – fig. 1; abstract) and sealing an opening of the case with the sealing body. Elna Co. fails to disclose the holding member holding an antioxidant that is more easily oxidized than the sealing body.
Takezawa ‘448 discloses a method for producing an electrolytic capacitor, the method characterized by comprising: a step of attaching a sealing body (4 – fig. 3 & 9; [0043]) to a capacitor element (3 – fig. 3-4; [0043]) including anode and cathode foils (5 & 7 – fig. 4; [0044]) wound together with a separator (6 – fig. 4; [0044]) being interposed between the anode and cathode foils, with a holding member (10 – fig. 3 & 6; [0043]) being interposed between the capacitor element and the sealing body, the holding member holding an antioxidant that is more easily oxidized than the sealing body ([0061], [0049], & [0052-0054]); and a step of housing the capacitor element in a case (2 – fig. 3, 7, & 9; [0043]) and sealing an opening of the case with the sealing body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an antioxidant as taught by Takezawa ‘448 into the capacitor of Elna Co. to obtain a capacitor with improved anti-aging properties.
In regards to claim 16,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized in that: the capacitor element includes a pair of extraction lead terminals (4 – fig. 1; [0011] of Elna Co.) each extending from a corresponding one of the anode and cathode foils; and
in the step of sealing the opening of the case with the sealing body,
the extraction lead terminals are each inserted into a corresponding one of a pair of insertion holes formed in the holding member (fig. 2; [0014] of Elna Co.), and
the extraction lead terminals inserted in the respective insertion holes are each passed through a corresponding one of a pair of through holes (6 – fig. 2; [0011] of Elna Co.) formed in the sealing body.
In regards to claim 17,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized in that: the capacitor element includes a pair of extraction lead terminals (4 – fig. 1; [0011] of Elna Co.) each extending from a corresponding one of the anode and cathode foils; and
in the step of sealing the opening of the case with the sealing body,
the extraction lead terminals are each passed through a corresponding one of a pair of cuts formed in the holding member (fig. 2; [0014] of Elna Co. – it is noted that a hole constitutes a cut), and
the extraction lead terminals inserted in the respective cuts are each passed through a corresponding one of a pair of through holes (6 – fig. 2; [0011] of Elna Co.) formed in the sealing body.
In regards to claim 18,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 further discloses characterized in that: the capacitor element includes a pair of extraction lead terminals (4 – fig. 1; [0011] of Elna Co.) each extending from a corresponding one of the anode and cathode foils; and
in the step of sealing the opening of the case with the sealing body,
the extraction lead terminals are each fit to a corresponding one of a pair of cutouts formed in the holding member (fig. 2; [0014] of Elna Co. – it is noted that a hole constitutes a cutout), and
the extraction lead terminals inserted in the respective cutouts are each passed through a corresponding one of a pair of through holes (6 – fig. 2; [0011] of Elna Co.) formed in the sealing body.
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 Brennan (US 2,676,287)
In regards to claim 4,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 fails to discloses characterized in that the holding member has a cut formed therein, the cut extending from at least one of the insertion holes to an edge of the holding member.
Brennan ‘287 discloses a disc member (20 – fig. 3) for an electrolytic capacitor formed between a capacitor element and sealing member (seen in fig. 1 & 6) with leads (4 & 5 – fig. 1 & 6) passing therethrough; the disc member has a pair of insertion holes (23 – fig. 3) formed therein, into which the respective extraction lead terminals are inserted, characterized in that the disc member has a cut (21 – fig. 3) formed therein, the cut extending from at least one of the insertion holes to an edge of the disc member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the holding member of Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 to include cuts extending from an end of the holding member to the insertion hole as taught by Brennan ‘287 as such a design is taught to be an alternative to having just holes (fig. 4 of Brennan ‘287).
In regards to claim 7,
Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 fails to discloses in that at least one of the cuts extends to an edge of the holding member.
Brennan ‘287 discloses a disc member (9 – fig. 3) for an electrolytic capacitor formed between a capacitor element and sealing member (seen in fig. 1 & 6) with leads (4 & 5 – fig. 1 & 6) passing therethrough; the disc member a pair of cuts (10 – fig. 1 & 5) formed therein, through which the respective extraction lead terminals are passed; characterized in that at least one of the cuts extends to an edge of the holding member (fig. 1 & 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the holding member of Elna Co. as modified by Takezawa ‘448 to include cuts extending from an end of the holding member as taught by Brennan ‘287 as such a design is taught to be an alternative to having just holes (fig. 4 of Brennan ‘287).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) characterized in that the holding member is bonded to the sealing body with an adhesive that swells with an electrolyte solution with which the separator is impregnated (claim 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2009/0195965 – fig. 1 JP11121303A – fig. 2
JP2009212175A – fig. 3 US 3,243,668 – fig. 1
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847