DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes the implied phrase “according to an embodiment”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 11 – for clarity the word “the” after the word “causes” should be deleted.
Claims 2-18 are objected to due to dependence from claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a pressure reducing device in claim 1
a refrigerant circulation device in claim 1
a cooling unit in claim 5
a gas supply device in claim 11
a heat medium circulation device in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawano (US 9,683,762).
As to claim 1, Kawano discloses a cooling system 1B comprising:
a container 21 that includes an outflow port and an inflow port and stores liquid refrigerant;
a pressure reducing device 31 that is connected to the outflow port and is capable of adjusting pressure in the container 21 to be lower than an atmospheric pressure by sucking gas from the container 21 through the outflow port; and
a refrigerant circulation device 200 that includes a refrigerant flow path 15 to be connected to the pressure reducing device 31 and the inflow port and causes refrigerant in liquid form (i.e. the liquid refrigerant in storage 12) liquefied from the gas sucked from the container 21 to flow into the container through the inflow port;
the cooling system cooling a temperature control target with the refrigerant in the container (col. 9, lines 13-18).
As to claim 2, Kawano discloses the pressure reducing device including
a gas flow path 32 connected to the outflow port;
a gas suction pump 31 provided in the path 32 to suck gas from the container 21 in to the path 32; and
a reservoir tank 12 connected to path 32 that stores gas and liquid refrigerant; and
the refrigerant flow path 15 is connected to the reservoir tank 12.
As to claim 3, the liquid in tank 12 can flow to container 21 (Fig. 1B) and thus the pressure in tank 12 is higher that in the container 21. Also the tank 12 stores liquid refrigerant (Fig. 1B).
As to claim 4, the refrigerant circulation device includes a circulation pump 13 that sucks liquid refrigerant from tank 12.
As to claim 6, Kawano discloses use of a buffer tank 17 as claimed (Fig. 5).
As to claim 7, Kawano discloses a heat exchanger 14 in the refrigerant flow path.
As to claim 15, Kawano discloses a heat medium circulation device comprising a heat exchanger 26 in the container 21 (Fig. 1B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawano as applied above.
As to claim 5, Kawano does not explicitly teach a cooling unit as claimed. However, Official Notice is taken that use of a cooling unit to cool discharged refrigerant gas is a common and typical feature of a cooling system that would have been obvious to use in conjunction with the gas flow path of Kawano for the purpose of ensuring desired refrigerant temperatures are achieved.
As to claim 8, Kawano is silent regarding the positioning of the reservoir tank 12 in relation to the buffer tank 17. However, it would have been an obvious design choice to modify the reference by having the tank 12 above the tank 17 as claimed, since applicant has not disclosed that having such a configuration provides any unexpected result, and it appears that the system would perform equally well with any reasonable tank configuration.
As to claims 9-10, Kawano teaches an electric pump but is silent regarding pump control or a flow valve with associated control. However, Official Notice is taken that providing a flow control valve as well as controlling pump speed and valve openings in response to detected parameters is a common and typical feature of a cooling system that would have been obvious to use in conjunction with the pump of Kawano for the purpose of ensuring desired conditions are achieved.
As to claims 16-17, Kawano is silent regarding specific refrigerant properties. However, selection of a refrigerant with the specific claimed boiling point and GWP of a refrigerant is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that certain refrigerant properties will provide effective system operation. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a refrigerant with the claimed properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763