DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hitachi (JP-H06-291631).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 2 of Hitachi discloses an electronic control unit comprising:
a microcontroller [1]
a power semiconductor element [Q1]
a gate drive circuit that generates a gate drive current of the power semiconductor element on a basis of a command from the microcontroller [3-5]
wherein the gate drive circuit detects a change in an output voltage of the power semiconductor element to detect start of an on/off operation of switching, increases a gate drive current in a process of the switching in an on state and before reaching a peak voltage, and decreases the gate drive current in a process of the switching in an off state and before reaching the peak voltage [Figure 3; paragraphs 18-22]
Regarding claim 3, Figure 2 of Hitachi discloses wherein the gate drive circuit has a delay circuit that adjusts a timing from detection of the start of the on/off operation to increase or decrease of the gate drive current [Figure 3; paragraphs 18-22].
Regarding claim 4, Figure 2 of Hitachi discloses wherein the gate drive circuit is a constant current drive system or a constant voltage drive system [Figure 3; paragraphs 18-22].
Regarding claim 6, Figure 2 of Hitachi discloses a gate driving method of a power semiconductor element, comprising:
a step of detecting a change in a voltage between a drain terminal and a source terminal of a power semiconductor element to detect start of an on/off operation of switching [Figure 3; paragraphs 18-22]
a step of increasing a gate drive current in a process of the switching when the power semiconductor element is in an on state and before reaching a peak voltage [Figure 3; paragraphs 18-22]
a step of decreasing the gate drive current in a process of the switching when the power semiconductor element is in an off state and before reaching the peak voltage [Figure 3; paragraphs 18-22]
Regarding claim 8, Figure 2 of Hitachi discloses wherein a timing from detection of the start of the on/off operation of the power semiconductor element to increase or decrease of the gate drive current is delayed by a predetermined time [Figure 3; paragraphs 18-22].
Regarding claim 9, Figure 2 of Hitachi discloses wherein the gate driving method is either a constant current drive system of performing gate driving with a constant current or a constant voltage drive system of generating a gate drive current with a drive voltage and a resistor [Figure 3; paragraphs 18-22].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi (JP-H06-291631).
Regarding claim 2, Figure 2 of Hitachi does not explicitly disclose wherein the gate drive circuit has capacitive coupling that detects an output voltage of the power semiconductor element.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Hitachi by using a capacitive coupling to detect an output voltage as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well-known in the art to use capacitors to filter signals and would have been a matter of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Figure 2 of Hitachi does not explicitly disclose wherein a change in the voltage between the drain terminal and the source terminal of the power semiconductor element is detected by using capacitive coupling.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Hitachi by using a capacitive coupling to detect an output voltage as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well-known in the art to use capacitors to filter signals and would have been a matter of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/TOMI SKIBINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842