DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (JP 2012-249084 found in IDS dated 11/21/2024) in view of Kawamoto et al (2016/0282445) further in view of Wang et al (2018/0267132).
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 6. D1 teaches method, program and a terminal apparatus comprising: a processor, and non-transitory memory storing a program, wherein the program, when executed by the processor (page 3 wherein communication apparatus 300 comprising CPU, program, memory and antenna 104 which TX/RX high frequency signals), causes the processor to perform:
receiving (page 3 wherein communication apparatus 300 comprising CPU, memory and antenna 104 which TX/RX high frequency signals), from each communication apparatus of three or more communication apparatuses, a radio wave containing an apparatus identifier identifying the communication apparatus (page 3 wherein communication apparatus acquires received signal strength at the time of receiving base station information (e.g., signal strength information with MAC address or network name of the access point));
acquiring (pages 3-4 wherein communication apparatus 300 comprising CPU and memory for performing the steps in figure 6 wherein the communication apparatus receives signal strength from BS for a predetermine period … and determines if the BS is moving and/or fixed based on time series change of the received signal strength. Page 1 – and stores the BS information as “exclusion” information if the BS is moving and the information is not used for location determination of the communication apparatus … thereby display more accurate location of the communication apparatus (page 2) . The Examiner notes applicants have defined intensity acquisition unit as a processor and memory specification at figure 10, 0048, 0095, 0122);
determining (pages 3-4 wherein communication apparatus 300 comprising CPU and memory for performing the steps in figure 6 wherein the communication apparatus receives signal strength from BS for a predetermine period … and determines if the BS is moving and/or fixed based on time series change of the received signal strength. Page 1 – and stores the BS information as “exclusion” information if the BS is moving and the information is not used for location determination of the communication apparatus … thereby display more accurate location of the communication apparatus (page 2) . The Examiner notes applicants have defined movement judgment unit as a processor and memory specification at figure 10, 0048, 0095, 0122);
judging (pages 3-4 wherein communication apparatus 300 comprising CPU and memory for performing the steps in figure 6 wherein the communication apparatus receives signal strength from BS for a predetermine period … and determines if the BS is moving and/or fixed based on time series change of the received signal strength. Page 1 – and stores the BS information as “exclusion” information if the BS is moving and the information is not used for location determination of the communication apparatus … thereby display more accurate location of the communication apparatus (page 2) . The Examiner notes applicants have defined type judgment unit as a processor and memory specification at figure 10, 0048, 0095, 0122);
position-acquiring (pages 3-4 wherein communication apparatus 300 comprising CPU and memory for performing the steps in figure 6 wherein the communication apparatus receives signal strength from BS for a predetermine period … and determines if the BS is moving and/or fixed based on time series change of the received signal strength. Page 1 – and stores the BS information as “exclusion” information if the BS is moving and the information is not used for location determination of the communication apparatus … thereby display more accurate location of the communication apparatus (page 2 – notify user position using fixed base station information and not using moving base station information, page 4 – position information of a mobile AP having portability is not used) . The Examiner notes applicants have defined position acquisition unit as a processor and memory specification at figure 10, 0048, 0095, 0122); and
outputting (pages 3-4 wherein communication apparatus 300 comprising CPU and memory and display for performing the steps in figure 6 wherein the communication apparatus receives signal strength from BS for a predetermine period … and determines if the BS is moving and/or fixed based on time series change of the received signal strength. Page 1 – and stores the BS information as “exclusion” information if the BS is moving and the information is not used for location determination of the communication apparatus … thereby display more accurate location of the communication apparatus (page 2 – notify user position using fixed base station information and not using moving base station information, page 4 – position information of a mobile AP having portability is not used),
wherein (pages 3-4 wherein communication apparatus 300 comprising CPU and memory for performing the steps in figure 6 wherein the communication apparatus receives signal strength from BS for a predetermine period … and determines if the BS is moving and/or fixed based on time series change of the received signal strength. Page 1 – and stores the BS information as “exclusion” information if the BS is moving and the information is not used for location determination of the communication apparatus … thereby display more accurate location of the communication apparatus (page 2 – notify user position using fixed base station information and not using moving base station information, page 4 – position information of a mobile AP having portability is not used) . The Examiner notes applicants have defined position acquisition unit as a processor and memory specification at figure 10, 0048, 0095, 0122).
D1 does not explicitly teach acquiring and using time-series of radio wave intensities for three or more communication apparatuses.
Kawamoto teaches UE receives radio wave intensities of radio waves received by a plurality of access points and associates the received radio wave intensities with access point identifiers and uses the information to determine if the UE is moving or stationary (abstract and 0018, figure 2 and 0026-0029 at step S100 – measure radio wave intensities R1 to Rn of measurable access points and step S101 store the measured radio wave intensities associated with identifiers in memory, figure 7 and 0059-0061 where radio wave intensities for SIX access points (e.g., three or more communication apparatuses) is shown). UE associates the received MAC addresses with the radio wave intensities (0041). Figure 5, 0045-0047, 0049 depicts the terminal apparatus is stopped if the time-series radio wave intensities of radio wave 1 and radio wave 2 have not changed (see figure 5 – Stay at A site, under stationary status) and the apparatus is moving if the time-series radio wave intensities of radio wave 1 and radio wave 2 have changed (see figure 5 – Moving from A to B). Kawamoto teaches radio wave intensities from plural access points are compared with each other (0050) which improves location accuracy).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include radio wave intensities from a plural of access points as taught by Kawamoto in order to display a more accurate location of the UE.
Regarding amendment 2/18/2026. Applicant amends and argues prior art does not teach determining, by using the time-series radio wave intensities of each of the three or more communication apparatuses, that movement of the terminal apparatus is stopped if the time-series radio wave intensities of the two or more communication apparatuses have not changed.
Wang teaches receiving RF intensities from at least three or more communication apparatuses (0028, figures 4A and 5A – wherein RSSI for at least three nodes 1, 2, 3 are obtained in time-series) wherein the RF intensity information includes identities of each of the at least three nodes (0028). In another embodiment, as shown in figures 4B and 5B, if the object M (e.g., terminal apparatus) stays (e.g., determine that movement of the UE is stopped) or blocks the wireless link, the RSSI value between the radio nodes 1 and 3 is returned to stable (e.g., not changed) (0028). By using at least three or more nodes with node identifiers, enables for more accurate positioning determination of the UE (0029). Figure 6A depicts at least 6 nodes may be used (0030). As can be seen, by using more RF nodes, provides for more accurate positioning and motion detection (0031).
It would have been extremely obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of Kawamoto to use multiple RF time-series information with node identifier(s) as taught by Wang in order to more accurately determine if the UE that was moving is now stopped thereby proving for more accurate location determination.
Regarding claim 2. D1 teaches wherein the position-acquiring comprises acquiring the movement of the terminal apparatus is “stopped” (pages 3-4 wherein communication apparatus 300 comprising CPU and memory for performing the steps in figure 6 wherein the communication apparatus receives signal strength from BS for a predetermine period … and determines if the BS is moving and/or fixed based on time series change of the received signal strength. Page 1 – and stores the BS information as “exclusion” information if the BS is moving and the information is not used for location determination of the communication apparatus … thereby display more accurate location of the communication apparatus (page 2 – notify user position using fixed base station information and not using moving base station information, page 4 – position information of a mobile AP having portability is not used).
Wang teaches receiving RF intensities from at least three or more communication apparatuses (0028, figures 4A and 5A – wherein RSSI for at least three nodes 1, 2, 3 are obtained in time-series) wherein the RF intensity information includes identities of each of the at least three nodes (0028). In another embodiment, as shown in figures 4B and 5B, if the object M (e.g., terminal apparatus) stays (e.g., determine that movement of the UE is stopped) or blocks the wireless link, the RSSI value between the radio nodes 1 and 3 is returned to stable (e.g., not changed) (0028). By using at least three or more nodes with node identifiers, enables for more accurate positioning determination of the UE (0029). Figure 6A depicts at least 6 nodes may be used (0030). As can be seen, by using more RF nodes, provides for more accurate positioning and motion detection (0031).
Regarding claim 3. D1 teaches wherein the position-acquiring
Intensity-acquiring communication apparatuses judged to be fixed terminals in the judging The Examiner notes applicants have defined position acquisition unit as a processor and memory specification at figure 10, 0048, 0095, 0122);
location-determining apparatus identifiers, acquired in the intensity-acquiring , from a location information storage unit that stores three or more pieces of location information each containing position information regarding a specific location and radio wave intensities at the specific location for each of apparatus identifiers of two or more fixed terminals (pages 3-4 wherein communication apparatus 300 comprising CPU and memory for performing the steps in figure 6 wherein the communication apparatus receives signal strength from BS for a predetermine period … and determines if the BS is moving and/or fixed based on time series change of the received signal strength. Page 1 – and stores the BS information as “exclusion” information if the BS is moving and the information is not used for location determination of the communication apparatus … thereby display more accurate location of the communication apparatus (page 2 – notify user position using fixed base station information and not using moving base station information, page 4 – position information of a mobile AP having portability is not used) . The Examiner notes applicants have defined position acquisition unit as a processor and memory specification at figure 10, 0048, 0095, 0122); and
acquiring The Examiner notes applicants have defined position acquisition unit as a processor and memory specification at figure 10, 0048, 0095, 0122).
D1 does not teach radio wave intensities of the three or more communication apparatuses … and a similarity condition.
Kawamoto teaches UE receives radio wave intensities of radio waves received by a plurality of access points and associates the received radio wave intensities with access point identifiers and uses the information to determine if the UE is moving or stationary (abstract and 0018, figure 2 and 0026-0029 at step S100 – measure radio wave intensities R1 to Rn of measurable access points and step S101 store the measured radio wave intensities associated with identifiers in memory, figure 7 and 0059-0061 where radio wave intensities for SIX access points (e.g., three or more communication apparatuses) is shown). UE associates the received MAC addresses with the radio wave intensities (0041). Figure 5, 0045-0047, 0049 depicts the terminal apparatus is stopped if the time-series radio wave intensities of radio wave 1 and radio wave 2 have not changed (see figure 5 – Stay at A site, under stationary status) and the apparatus is moving if the time-series radio wave intensities of radio wave 1 and radio wave 2 have changed (see figure 5 – Moving from A to B). Kawamoto teaches radio wave intensities from plural access points are compared with each other (0050) which improves location accuracy). Kawamoto teaches retrieving a radio wave intensity pattern (e.g., similarity condition) that is nearest to a combination of these radio waves intensities (0060-0062).
Wang teaches receiving RF intensities from at least three or more communication apparatuses (0028, figures 4A and 5A – wherein RSSI for at least three nodes 1, 2, 3 are obtained in time-series) wherein the RF intensity information includes identities of each of the at least three nodes (0028). In another embodiment, as shown in figures 4B and 5B, if the object M (e.g., terminal apparatus) stays (e.g., determine that movement of the UE is stopped) or blocks the wireless link, the RSSI value between the radio nodes 1 and 3 is returned to stable (e.g., not changed) (0028). By using at least three or more nodes with node identifiers, enables for more accurate positioning determination of the UE (0029). Figure 6A depicts at least 6 nodes may be used (0030). As can be seen, by using more RF nodes, provides for more accurate positioning and motion detection (0031).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include radio wave intensities from a plural of access points as taught by Kawamoto and/or Wang in order to quickly look up the UE location by using a RF fingerprint database (e.g., similarity condition) of radio intensities from a plurality of access points and display the location of the UE based on a RF fingerprint lookup.
2. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Kawamoto and Wang further in view of Mendis (2012/0040653).
Regarding claim 4. D1 teaches wherein the
The Examiner notes applicants have defined type judgment unit as a processor and memory specification at figure 10, 0048, 0095, 0122); and
The Examiner notes applicants have defined position acquisition unit as a processor and memory specification at figure 10, 0048, 0095, 0122).
D1 does not explicitly teach acquiring and using time-series of radio wave intensities for three or more communication apparatuses.
Kawamoto teaches UE receives radio wave intensities of radio waves received by a plurality of access points and associates the received radio wave intensities with access point identifiers and uses the information to determine if the UE is moving or stationary (abstract and 0018, figure 2 and 0026-0029 at step S100 – measure radio wave intensities R1 to Rn of measurable access points and step S101 store the measured radio wave intensities associated with identifiers in memory, figure 7 and 0059-0061 where radio wave intensities for SIX access points (e.g., three or more communication apparatuses) is shown). UE associates the received MAC addresses with the radio wave intensities (0041). Figure 5, 0045-0047, 0049 depicts the terminal apparatus is stopped if the time-series radio wave intensities of radio wave 1 and radio wave 2 have not changed (see figure 5 – Stay at A site, under stationary status) and the apparatus is moving if the time-series radio wave intensities of radio wave 1 and radio wave 2 have changed (see figure 5 – Moving from A to B). Kawamoto teaches radio wave intensities from plural access points are compared with each other (0050) which improves location accuracy).
Wang teaches receiving RF intensities from at least three or more communication apparatuses (0028, figures 4A and 5A – wherein RSSI for at least three nodes 1, 2, 3 are obtained in time-series) wherein the RF intensity information includes identities of each of the at least three nodes (0028). In another embodiment, as shown in figures 4B and 5B, if the object M (e.g., terminal apparatus) stays (e.g., determine that movement of the UE is stopped) or blocks the wireless link, the RSSI value between the radio nodes 1 and 3 is returned to stable (e.g., not changed) (0028). By using at least three or more nodes with node identifiers, enables for more accurate positioning determination of the UE (0029). Figure 6A depicts at least 6 nodes may be used (0030). As can be seen, by using more RF nodes, provides for more accurate positioning and motion detection (0031).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include radio wave intensities from a plural of access points as taught by Kawamoto and/or Wang in order to display a more accurate location of the UE.
D1 in view of Kawamoto and Wang do not explicitly teach a
Mendis teaches obtaining and storing RF fingerprint data of a place (0007, figure 6C and 0087-0090) and enables the user to input (e.g., accept position information) the name of the place to uniquely identify each location/place into the UE (0057 – place check-in data input by user, 0077 – build RF fingerprint data for place 404 using the check-in data that was input by the user, 0084-0085 – user enters name of venue, 0086 – the user may select from a list of venue choices or manually enter the venue name at check-in).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of Kawamoto and Wang to include a user input unit as taught by Mendis allowing the user to customize an RF fingerprint data base which makes it easier for user to recognize his/her location when displayed.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2015/0334677) Patil et al teaches obtaining RSSI with node identifier(s) (0017) and a change in a signal characteristic, such as RSSI, for example, from different beacon signals OVER TIME may provide an indication if the UE is stationary, slow moving, or fast moving (0052).
---(10,524,225) Boross et al teaches determining the heading of a UE using TIME-SERIES data collected. For example, determine that the UE’s three last known RSSI measurements were similar (e.g., have not changed) (and from this determination that the UE was not moving when last seen).
---(2005/0136845) Masuoka et al also teaches determine if the UE is moving (e.g., the RSS values will increase or decrease). When the UE is stationary, these RSS values should not change significantly (0183).
---(2015/0358781) Chen teaches storing RF fingerprint data which includes location information, radio wave intensities for at least THREE access points (see figure 7), name of access point, and threshold values.
---(2018/0295599) Bitra et al teaches using RSSI values to classify access points as moving or stationary (0053, 0057).
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646