DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 12464546 B2) in view of Abedini (US 2019/0289502 A1), further in view of Freda (US 20260012846 A1) and Dees (US 20230345456 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Lee discloses a relay communication scheme in which a wireless node receives sidelink data from multiple devices, stores the data in buffers, transmits a buffer status report, receives a resource or grant indication from a peer wireless node, and transmits buffered relay data using the granted resource. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Lee therefore teaches relay-side reporting and resource-based transmission control by a network-side node. However, Lee does not expressly disclose receiving configuration information associated with a sidelink relay network including a set of relay UEs and a set of destination UEs, nor does Lee expressly disclose a queue report message indicating both one or more channel characteristics and queue information. Abedini discloses resource partitioning in an integrated access and backhaul network based on traffic type, including resource configuration by a scheduler or access node and allocation of resources based on reports. Abedini further teaches that the report may include a buffer status report, a channel quality measurement report, a beam quality measurement report, an interference measurement report, or any combination thereof. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Abedini therefore teaches that a report may include both queue/buffer information and channel-characteristic information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Abedini because both references are directed to wireless relay communication and resource allocation based on reported status information, and because including channel-characteristic information together with queue information in the reporting framework would have predictably improved scheduling and resource allocation decisions by providing the network with more complete information regarding relay conditions and traffic status. However, Abedini does not expressly disclose the sidelink relay network context or the relay UE/destination UE arrangement recited in claim 1. Freda discloses sidelink relay network operation, including relay WTRUs, remote WTRUs, mode-based resource allocation, and coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Freda therefore teaches the sidelink relay network context and the use of relay and destination nodes in a sidelink environment. It would have been obvious to further apply the teachings of Freda because Freda supplies the sidelink relay network architecture and network-controlled relay coordination needed to implement the report-based allocation framework of Lee and Abedini in a sidelink relay setting. Such a modification would have amounted to a predictable use of known relay and sidelink communication elements according to their established functions. However, Freda does not expressly disclose the specific queue report content taught by Abedini, namely a queue report message indicating both channel characteristics and queue information. Dees discloses relay communication devices that report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. Dees therefore reinforces the use of relay-side queue or buffer information to drive resource scheduling. It would have been obvious to further combine the teachings of Dees because Dees confirms that relay-reported queue or buffer information may be used by the network to determine resource allocation, thereby further supporting the claimed use of a queue report message as a basis for selecting a group of resources for communicating with destination UEs. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Lee, Abedini, Freda, and Dees render obvious the subject matter of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that a relay-related report may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as mode-based resource allocation and coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Freda therefore discloses, or at least renders obvious, a scheduling mode associated with the sidelink relay network. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these teachings because doing so would have predictably improved resource allocation and scheduling in a sidelink relay communication system.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that a relay-related report may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to transmit the configuration information to the one or more destination nodes via sidelink channels because Freda teaches a sidelink relay network in which relay and destination UEs communicate over sidelink, and transmitting configuration information to destination nodes would have been a predictable and useful way to coordinate relay operation and resource allocation.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Lee teaches relay-side buffer reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include relay nodes in the relay network based on a respective relay buffer size being greater than a buffer threshold because the cited references teach selecting and scheduling relay communication resources based on buffer status and capacity, and doing so would have predictably improved relay resource management and scheduling efficiency.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to establish, based on the configuration information, a sidelink communication link with the one or more destination nodes via the one or more respective sidelink channels because Freda teaches a sidelink relay network in which relay and remote UEs communicate over sidelink, and configuring such a link based on network-provided information would have been a predictable and useful way to coordinate relay operation and resource allocation.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a second relay node to the set of relay nodes or a destination node to the set of destination nodes based on receiving the relay network message because the cited references collectively teach network-controlled relay coordination, relay participation based on reported status, and dynamic resource allocation within a sidelink relay system.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to remove a second relay node from the set of relay nodes or a destination node from the set of destination nodes based on receiving the relay network message because the cited references collectively teach network-controlled relay coordination and allocation of relay resources based on reported status, and it would have been a predictable design choice to exclude nodes that are unsuitable for participation or no longer meet relay/network conditions.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to transmit the queue report message to the network node on an uplink channel via a buffer status report because Lee, Abedini, and Dees collectively teach relay-side status reporting to a network-side node for scheduling and resource allocation. It would further have been obvious for the queue information to indicate a group of relay buffer sizes at the first relay node, each associated with a respective destination node, because Dees teaches buffer-capacity-based reporting from a relay device and Abedini teaches that buffer-related reports may be used to inform resource allocation decisions.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to transmit the queue report message to other relay nodes via sidelink channels because Freda teaches sidelink relay-network communication among relay nodes and remote nodes, and using sidelink for relay-to-relay reporting would have been a predictable and useful way to coordinate relay operation. It would further have been obvious for the queue information to indicate a group of relay buffer sizes at the first relay node, each associated with a respective destination node, because Lee, Abedini, and Dees collectively teach relay-side buffer/status reporting used to inform network scheduling and resource allocation.
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious for the donor network node to allocate the group of resources among the set of relay nodes based on an order of transmissions determined by channel characteristics and queue information because the cited references teach resource allocation and scheduling based on channel state and buffer status. It would further have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider additional scheduling inputs such as donor-node queue information or prior transmission history as routine and predictable factors in determining transmission order in a relay communication system.
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to coordinate with other relay nodes to allocate the group of resources because the cited references teach network-controlled relay coordination and resource allocation based on reported status. It would further have been obvious to allocate resources based on a respective priority of each relay node because prioritizing traffic or nodes in a scheduling framework is a predictable and routine way to manage limited communication resources in a relay network.
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reserve one or more slots based on channel occupancy time sharing and to coordinate with other relay nodes to allocate the group of resources based on respective reserved slots because the cited references teach coordinated relay resource allocation and scheduling in a shared wireless environment, and reserving slots for relay transmissions would have been a predictable way to manage access to communication resources.
Regarding claims 19 and 25, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit a relay network message indicating configuration information to the group of relay nodes, receive from each relay node a queue report message indicating channel characteristics and queue information, and transmit a resource allocation message based on the received queue reports because the cited references collectively teach network-controlled relay coordination, relay status reporting, and allocation of communication resources in a sidelink relay system. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Lee, Abedini, Freda, and Dees render obvious the subject matter of claim 19.
Regarding claims 20 and 26, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the configuration information to indicate an interval for transmitting the queue report message because the cited references teach network-configured relay reporting and scheduling, and controlling the timing of queue reports would have been a predictable and routine way to manage reporting overhead and resource allocation in a sidelink relay network.
Regarding claim 21 and 27, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the sidelink relay network to include a set of relay nodes based on the respective relay buffer size of each relay node being greater than a buffer threshold because the cited references teach using relay buffer information to control allocation and scheduling, and threshold-based inclusion of relay nodes would have been a predictable and routine way to manage relay participation in a resource-limited sidelink relay network.
Regarding claims 22 and 28, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the respective queue report message to be received via a buffer status report because the cited references teach relay-side status reporting for resource allocation. It would further have been obvious for the queue report message to indicate a group of relay buffer sizes, each associated with a respective destination node, because the cited references teach using relay buffer information to inform scheduling and allocation decisions in a sidelink relay network.
Regarding claims 23 and 29, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine an order of transmissions based on channel characteristics and queue information because the cited references teach scheduling and resource allocation using such reported status information. It would further have been obvious for the resource allocation message to indicate an allocation of resources based on the order of transmissions because ordering transmissions is a predictable way to prioritize access to limited wireless resources in a relay network.
Regarding claims 24 and 30, Lee teaches relay-side reporting and grant-based transmission by a network-side node. See Lee, claim 1; ¶¶ 121-145, 142-152. Abedini teaches that relay-related reports may include buffer status information and channel-characteristic information, and that such reports are used for resource allocation. See Abedini, ¶¶ 0146, 0165, 0195. Freda teaches sidelink relay network operation involving relay WTRUs and remote WTRUs, as well as coordination between relay nodes and the network. See Freda, Abstract; ¶¶ 0071-0078, 0088-0094, 0139-0144, 0152-0161. Dees further teaches that relay devices report buffer capacity information to an access device and that the access device schedules communication resources based on the relay-reported information. See Dees, ¶¶ 0008-0018, 0063-0069, 0079-0081, 0086-0090, 0098-0104, 0140-0149, 0158-0164, 0208. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each relay node to establish sidelink communication links with destination nodes based on configuration information because the cited references collectively teach configured relay-network operation, sidelink communication, and network-controlled coordination of relay transmissions.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464