DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 21 November 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,3,10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jun Li et. al (2009 Twenty-Fourth Annual IEEE Applied Power Electronics Conference and Exposition; hereafter “Li”).
-Regarding claim 1:
Li discloses:
A method for driving an active neutral point clamped (ANPC} circuit (Figure 1) of a converter, comprising: determining an output state switching sequence of the ANPC circuit (Table I,II, III), aiming at an inner transistor (Fig. 1; Sa2, 3, sb2,3, and Sc2,3) and an outer transistor (Fig. 1; Sa1, 4, sb1,4, and Sc1,4) among switching transistors in the ANPC circuit of the converter bearing a switching loss within two half switching cycles of a switching cycle (I would say that all of the transistors that are turned on or off during the switching cycle will bear a switching loss, and it is well-within the skill of the person of ordinary skill in the art ; paragraph I; “It uses active neutral-point clamped switches in traditional three-level NPC inverter to solve the inherent drawback of NPC topology – unbalanced loss distribution among the switching devices.”), respectively; and generating control signals for the switching transistors (paragraph III A; “Therefore, the reference signal and carrier signals need not change, and the output voltage is not reduced.” and “using phase voltage as three-phase symmetrical reference signals, the line-to-line voltage should be used.”) in the ANPC circuit based on the output state switching sequence, and outputting the control signals (table I,II,III).
-Regarding claim 2:
Li discloses:
The method for driving an ANPC circuit of a converter according to claim 1, wherein the determining an output state switching sequence of the ANPC circuit (Table I,II, III), aiming at an inner transistor (Fig. 1; Sa2, 3, sb2,3, and Sc2,3) and an outer transistor (Fig. 1; Sa1, 4, sb1,4, and Sc1,4) among switching transistors in the ANPC circuit of the converter bearing a switching loss within two half switching cycles of a switching cycle (I would say that all of the transistors that are turned on or off during the switching cycle will bear a switching loss, and it is well-within the skill of the person of ordinary skill in the art. ; paragraph I; “It uses active neutral-point clamped switches in traditional three-level NPC inverter to solve the inherent drawback of NPC topology – unbalanced loss distribution among the switching devices.”), respectively comprises: determining zero-level output states of the output state switching sequence within the two half switching cycles of the switching cycle (Table I; switching state) of the ANPC circuit, the zero-level output states comprising a first zero-level output state in which the inner transistor bears the switching loss and a second zero-level output state in which the outer transistor bears the switching loss (Table I; switching state).
-Regarding claim 3:
Li discloses:
The method for driving an ANPC circuit of a converter according to the method for driving an ANPC circuit of a converter according to wherein before the determining an output state switching sequence of the ANPC circuit, the method further comprises: combining with an objective of balancing an on-state loss borne by the inner transistor (table II; on-off sequence of Sa2, 3, ; paragraph I; “It uses active neutral-point clamped switches in traditional three-level NPC inverter to solve the inherent drawback of NPC topology – unbalanced loss distribution among the switching devices.”).
-Regarding claim 10:
Li discloses:
The method for driving an ANPC circuit of a converter according to claim 1,wherein the generating control signals for switching transistors in the ANPC circuit based on the output state switching sequence (paragraph III A; “Therefore, the reference signal and carrier signals need not change, and the output voltage is not reduced.” and “using phase voltage as three-phase symmetrical reference signals, the line-to-line voltage should be used.”, table I,II,III), and outputting the control signals comprises: generating, for each of the switching transistors in the ANPC circuit, the control signal for the switching transistor based on on-off states of the switching transistor in the respective output states in the output state switching sequence (table I,II,III), and outputting the control signals; or generating, for each of the switching transistors in the ANPC circuit, the control signal for the switching transistor by comparing with a carrier wave (paragraph III; “ the reference signal and carrier signals need not change, and the output voltage is not reduced.”), aiming at achieving the output state switching sequence, and outputting the control signals.
-Regarding claim 12:
Li discloses:
The converter according to claim 11, wherein a quantity of the switching transistors in the ANPC circuit is six (Fig. 1; Sa1-6 at each ANPC), wherein a first switching transistor, a second switching transistor, a third switching transistor, and a fourth switching transistor among the six switching transistors are connected in series in sequence (Fig. 1; Sa1-4); a terminal of the first switching transistor is connected to a positive electrode of a direct- current side of the ANPC circuit (Fig. 1; Sa1), and a terminal of the fourth switching transistor is connected to a negative electrode of the direct-current side of the ANPC circuit (Fig. 1; Sa4); the first switching transistor and the fourth switching transistor serve as two outer transistors (Fig. 1; Sa1, Sa4) of the ANPC circuit; a connection point of the second switching transistor and the third switching transistor is connected to an alternating-current side (Fig. 1; node A) of the ANPC circuit; and the second switching transistor and the third switching transistor serve as two inner transistors (Fig. 1; Sa2 , Sa3) of the ANPC circuit; and a connection point of the first switching transistor and the second switching transistor is connected to a neutral point of the direct-current side of the ANPC circuit via a fifth switching transistor (Fig. 1; Sa1, 2, 5 and node o); a connection point of the third switching transistor and the fourth switching transistor is connected to the neutral point of the direct-current side of the ANPC circuit via a sixth switching transistor (Fig. 1; Sa3, 4, 6 and node o); and the fifth switching transistor and the sixth switching transistor serve as two clamping transistors (Fig. 1; Sa5, Sa6) of the ANPC circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun Li et. al (2009 Twenty-Fourth Annual IEEE Applied Power Electronics Conference and Exposition; hereafter “Li”) in view of Ryota Asakura et. al (US20250202384A1; hereafter “Ryota”).
-Regarding claim 11:
Li discloses:
A converter, comprising: a main circuit; and a controller; wherein the main circuit comprises at least one active neutral point clamped (ANPC) circuit (Fig. 1; three ANPC circuits);
However, Li does not disclose a controller for the multiple ANPC circuits.
Ryota, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
“and the main circuit is controlled by the controller (Fig. 1; controller), and the controller is configured to perform the method for driving an ANPC circuit”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Li such that a commonly used switching circuit controller described in Ryota is applied to the three-level ANPC converter. Doing so allows for improving control of switching transistors in the three-level ANPC converter.
-Regarding claim 13:
Ryota discloses:
The converter according to claim 11, wherein a quantity of the ANPC circuit in the main circuit is three (Fig. 1; 21,22,23); and direct-current sides of the ANPC circuits are connected in parallel (Fig. 1; parallel connection to DC source) to each other, and the alternating-current side of each of the ANPC circuits serves as a phase of an alternating-current side (Fig. 1; U,V,W phase of Load) of the main circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
-with respect to claim 4:
the prior art in Li discloses the claimed invention in basic claim but do not further disclose about a third zero-level output state in which a phase current flows into or flows out of a bridge arm through two parallel-connected branches.
Conclusion
/SEUNG HO CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838